List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Needs...

Milera played games in his first year, so did Lever, and Matt Crouch, Gooch played a game and will likely play quite a few next year.

Not sure where you got that from

Lever and Crouch were under different coaches, and at a time when we weren't considered a flag contender.

Milera and Gooch will possibly be the ones keeping our draftees out of the side. More likely is that Gibson and Mackay keep Gooch out of the side until 2019.

Pyke got us to a GF so he's no mug, but he does have a very Ross Lyon approach to playing youth though.

Whoever we pick up in this draft won't be playing a single game at AFL level in 2018, nor in 2019 in all likelihood. Mature aged recruits being the exception as Pyke seems to like them.

We need to be thinking of 3+ years ahead with our picks, which is why I would be looking for a KPF with either #12 or 39. In two years time Tex will most likely be just about cooked, so it's not a bad time to start developing a replacement in the SANFL.

Next year is when we should be looking for a kpf with one of our firsts.

Tex cooked at 29?

Um what
he will be closer to 30 and not far off

Don't reckon he will have a long career with the injuries he carries

Not being quick or agile or a great contested mark means he may be in danger of falling off cliff fast like Whitnall did ( after being a gun earlier in his career)

I disagree. If we can grab Darcy Fogerty ay pick 12, I think he could be given a go across the half back flank to fill in for Smith.

Disagree with the suggestion Pyke only plays nature aged players as Lever, Milera and McGovern have been given a go under him.
Darcy Fogarty is so far off being able to do that - you'd be surprised how far off

Not gonna happen that he fits into smiths spot

he will be closer to 30 and not far off

Don't reckon he will have a long career with the injuries he carries

Not being quick or agile or a great contested mark means he may be in danger of falling off cliff fast like Whitnall did ( after being a gun earlier in his career)
If he keeps playing the role he's in, I don't reckon we have to worry that much. He relies a lot on his skills in his current role, not necessarily playing as a pack-crashing, deep KPF. This shouldn't wear him down too much

Don't count his ablity to play different roles out. He can perform as an attacking half back.
Going to take him a few years to develop the higher intensity running to be able to do that role or the Lynch role

Brodie runs high Ks at repeat speed Darcy long way off with his running , won't be able to get there in 1 pre season

Later on yes will be very versatile

You're dreaming if you think Nick Coffield could come straight into AFL and replace Brodie Smith immediately, the chances of that would unlikely at best. Another little problem Coffield will likely be off the table at Pick 12.
I did not say he would play round one. I said we need more players of his type. ****ing negative nancy you are knightmare wannabe.

If he keeps playing the role he's in, I don't reckon we have to worry that much. He relies a lot on his skills in his current role, not necessarily playing as a pack-crashing, deep KPF. This shouldn't wear him down too much
Problem is it takes good movement , he's already slow . Lose a yard and he won't keep up . Reckon he will be well past it by 31

Mate, his tank is miles off AFL level at this point, one pre-season won't be enough, his best hope for games would be in a managed scenario where he'd likely need to be rested/rehabbed throughout the season.
Yes . He will make Greenwood look fit this year

He will have to be managed like Greenwood was this year and won't be as effective straight up IMO

I disagree, there are quite a few of the likely 1st round picks in this draft that will be capable of contributing at AFL level if given the opportunity. IMO Luke Davies-Unakie, PaddyDow, Cam Rayner, Hunter Clark, Jack Higgins, Andrew Brayshaw, Lochie O'Brien would be ready to go week 1 even Aaron Naughton could play the 3rd tall role already if they get through the pre-season unscathed. Guys like Charlie Constable, Darcy Fogarty and Aiden Bonar are all physically developed enough to be contributors too but will need work on their tank/endurance so will probably be managed throughout the year and be all the better next year. Outside the 1st round James Worpel is a certainty to get games as will Dylan Moore and there will be others just like every draft.
It actually wouldn't surprise to see coffield play some good footy next year from half back , similar to smiths first season

Won't be in midfield though unless some cameos on wing

List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Needs...