List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Needs...

I'm not saying that at all. Players can work on their flaws and improve.

But clearly the players you listed are not #1 pick material, which means the players aren't as good as the #1 pick prospects. What is it about their game, relative to the best players, that makes them not in contention for an early pick?

I'm not sure why you're skirting the question. I'm just asking what the players flaws are, like if they are slow, bad kicks, soft, etc.
I see Bicks never answered this properly. Let me assist.

Late ND - Ethan Penrith 180cm 78kg - HBF/Wing/HFF, A real favourite of mine, elites speed, great defensive pressure, tackling machine, think Charlie Cameron!!! One player I'd be ecstatic about if he landed at the Crows. Edit : And better foot skills.
Poor reading of the play

Late ND - Jordan Johnston 185cm 78kg - Medium Forward/Midfielder, X Factor Forward, Outstanding Aerialist with sticky hands, innate goal sense, long penetrating kick, played some midfield late in the season and did well in there as well. Personally I'd have no qualms taking him at pick 39 as I've seen up close what he's capable of.
Lazy

Late ND - Trent Mynott 185cm - 75kg - Balanced mid, loves the hard stuff, good decision maker, good kick, could even go as high as the 3rd round, underrated IMO.
Slow as a wet weekend

Late ND - Tom North 184cm 85kg -
Balanced midfielder, good overhead, long left foot, elite endurance, another that's a bit underrated IMO.
Alledged underworld links

Late ND - Noah Answerth 184cm 79kg - mid/defender, injured his back earlier this year otherwise would have been in 2nd round contention going on 2016 form.
Wheelchair-bound

Rookie - Flynn Appleby 186cm 81kg - Lock down medium defender, can play on smalls or talls.
Still in year 10, due to repeating years 4 and 5

Rookie - LLoyd Meek 202cm 106kg - Ruckman, big strong lad, very good skill set for a big fella and covers the ground well, good contested mark, taps to advantage, 2nd best Ruck in the TAC behind Sam Hayes, played 3VFL games against AFL listed Ruckmen and made the bests in two of those games.
Raised by wolves - unable to speak. Can understand basic commands

Rookie - Jordan Butts 196cm 81kg- KPD/KPF, youngest player in this draft, will need time and development but has all the tools, good overhead, very athletic, elite endurance, just needs to put on some beef, heaps and heaps of upside given his age and light build.
Girlfriend is a 27 year old school teacher at Melbourne Grammar who hosts her own reality TV show

Starcevich looks pretty good at 39 too, 187cm 88kg with speed, power and neat skills. What is everyone’s thoughts on him? Still there at 39? Does he burn the ball sometimes? What’s his endurance like?

Great effort. Of those after our pick, Spargo and CCJ stand out most to me. Team needs aside, I would jump at Spargo at 39, and CCJ has fallen significantly, but as a mobile ruck/fwd, he could very well turn heads in 5 years or so.

Do you rate Spargo lower due to his disposal and size? For mine, his footy brain should put him in the box seat for anyone who needs a productive small fwd/mid.
Spargo's an interesting one. He has a great footy brain and very nice athleticism. Think his height will be a decent issue for him in regards to pushing into the midfield, though - IMO his ceiling will be a Caleb Daniel-type (which is still a very nice player, not sure if he's the type we need, though). His lack of exposed form this year hasn't helped, either

Apparently CCJ could fall late/rookie

Starcevich looks pretty good at 39 too, 187cm 88kg with speed, power and neat skills. What is everyone’s thoughts on him? Still there at 39? Does he burn the ball sometimes? What’s his endurance like?
Yep really like him. Reckon he's got a great all-round game. Only problem is his lack of accumulation this year, averaged around 14 disposals at WAFL Colts level. I reckon he'll be able to develop this enough to become a player who is not only damaging whenever he touches the ball, but also finds it enough to be able to impact

Think kulak was being a bit tongue in cheek, especially during the last half of that post

Of course!
Actually, he did brilliantly, keeping the reader in two minds by starting off with defects that could have been true, then building up nicely to a climax where it was clear that the whole thing was fun.

Just a question Wayne - how have you come to the conclusion that it is a weak draft?
I haven't really ...just quoting the so called experts

I actually thought the standard of the U18's was better than last year ......i'd say more even, rather than the "franchise" players ......but you just never know until 2-3 years later

Callum Twomey's credibility is really taking a hit with the "Total Recall" series on afl.com.au. He obviously watches a lot on under age footy and no doubt has solid connections within the industry but if the Total Recall series is anything to go by, his eye for talent is really poor. In the 2008 edition, Twomey has picked Liam Picken and Zaharakis ahead of guys like, Lynch, Jacobs, Rockliff and Bruest and scoffed at Nick Bowen for rating Sloane and Hannebrey higher than Sidebottom. Every episode so far he has made some extremely questionable calls - Nick Bowen is much better. I am not sure that I trust his player rankings so much anymore - although I am sure his rankings are formed mostly by speaking to others.

I’ve said it before, watching a lot of football does not make you a good judge of talent, not even close.

Callum Twomey's credibility is really taking a hit with the "Total Recall" series on afl.com.au. He obviously watches a lot on under age footy and no doubt has solid connections within the industry but if the Total Recall series is anything to go by, his eye for talent is really poor. In the 2008 edition, Twomey has picked Liam Picken and Zaharakis ahead of guys like, Lynch, Jacobs, Rockliff and Bruest and scoffed at Nick Bowen for rating Sloane and Hannebrey higher than Sidebottom. Every episode so far he has made some extremely questionable calls - Nick Bowen is much better. I am not sure that I trust his player rankings so much anymore - although ruckmen I am sure his rankings are formed mostly by speaking to others.
To be fair - all clubs had Jacobs not draftable and Picken and Zaharakis are very good 1st choice players so he hasn't really missed there . How many rucks get taken in main draft ?

Sidebottom is also an elite player by position

Got any better examples of misses ?

To be fair - all clubs had Jacobs not draftable and Picken and Zaharakis are very good 1st choice players so he hasn't really missed there . How many rucks get taken in main draft ?

The series is about retrospectively picking the top 10 of the draft. Twomey is saying that he thinks Picken is a better player than Lynch, Jacobs, Rockliff, etc. If he truly believes that then I find it hard to trust him when he says draftee A is better than draftee B.

If we were going to get a tall, I’m sure we’d grab Naughton over Brander in that scenario
Why ? ......Brander is quick & has a great "one grab" set of hands .....think Brander has been talked down a bit in a group think mentality

Yes he's not aggressive / physical ......but neither was Reiwoldt

That fashion has only appeared in the last 5 years ......when Jacobs was drafted Ruckmen were taken in the main draft

How Jacobs was not drafted is simply amazing .....if you had watched his U18 Championships, he clearly had superior tap skills

The series is about retrospectively picking the top 10 of the draft. Twomey is saying that he thinks Picken is a better player than Lynch, Jacobs, Rockliff, etc. If he truly believes that then I find it hard to trust him when he says draftee A is better than draftee B.
Well we are not dealing in definites here , you reckon clubs don't get it wrong as well . He's not god but I think you're being a bit harsh . If you rate a player and he becomes a good player but others are better it's not a massive fail

Look at all clubs that didn't select Fyfe . The ones that still got a good player would be content but ones that didn't turn out would be kicking themselves more

He was right in thinking Picken would be a very good player , I would hardly call it a miss . Ditto Sidebottom

I’ve said it before, watching a lot of football does not make you a good judge of talent, not even close.
Absolutely correct .......you can watch one game & see obvious talent .....players don't change their playing style / tricks from one game to another

Watch them too far out & you miss the development .....watch 3-4 months out & you see what each recruiter see's .......but that eye for talent, is not conditional on how much you see ....that's like saying if you watch more games, it makes you a better judge :p

Why ? ......Brander is quick & has a great "one grab" set of hands .....think Brander has been talked down a bit in a group think mentality

Yes he's not aggressive / physical ......but neither was Reiwoldt
He also has upside having been playing cricket and not doing proper pre seasons which show IMO , also too much school football where he doesn't need to be physical

He could thrive in full time enviro

List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Needs...