List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Prospects

That knee worries me with Bonar though.

I have come around a bit to Nathan Murphy. But still have him slightly behind Charlie Constable.
Plenty of players have done an ACL prior to being drafted and haven't done one since, I's say there's about as much chance of it reoccurring as a player being a failed pick anyway.

I have come around a bit to Nathan Murphy. But still have him slightly behind Charlie Constable.
I am now more confident with Murphy. Again, like Bonar, I like the fact that there's little he does wrong. His overhead marking is a definite strength, he moves well in traffic and his skills are clean. December birthday gives me hope that he should have quite a lot of room for improvement. I would be completely comfortable if we took him at 16, but 9 would be too high I feel. I don't see him as a midfielder and I doubt he will ever be much more than a 20+ possession player off a half-forward flank, which limits his ceiling, but I think he would become a really valuable role player up forward for us, in particular. Reckon we're passing on too many proven talents at 9, but if he lasts to 16 (which I suspect he won't), I would have no worries. I very much would prefer Bailey, L Fogarty or Richards, but I wouldn't despair.

Bonar is the hindsight pick. He will either be a top 5 on your list type player or a bust. I can't see anyone with a single first rounder taking him..... it sets you back too far if he busts.
"Hindsight pick", I like that

Just checked out Joel Garner... wouldnt be disappointed if he ends up being our p.16 either.. looks to be one of those types who plays better at higher levels of standard.. and a neat left foot...
We do need pace and Joel Garner is fast. But he's surely too old now. Surprised he left cricket actually

I want someone above us to take Bonar, helps again with our chances to get a slider.

Think he would be a good fit for Collingwood but agree with the poster who said a club with two picks in the first round might be more likely to take the risk, so Fremantle & the Saints.

Cerra/Coffield sliding to us would be brilliant,
then the hope would be Murphy/Richards/L Fogarty or Houlahan at 16.

Pretty clear your going to pick Constable in the BF draft.. i'll take Dal's pick at 9 if you dont mind... he wont be taking ole Charlie I assure you of that..

Bonar is the hindsight pick. He will either be a top 5 on your list type player or a bust. I can't see anyone with a single first rounder taking him..... it sets you back too far if he busts.
Hard to argue, there's a lot to like but a bit to lmprove on, I see him a 15 to 25 pick unless like you said some one with multiple picks takes a punt.

Pretty clear your going to pick Constable in the BF draft.. i'll take Dal's pick at 9 if you dont mind... he wont be taking ole Charlie I assure you of that..

Not necessarily.

I don't think anyone can really assume they really know what Dal will do. He could take Constable, he could take Murphy, he could take someone else.

Pick 9
Player Selection Order Preference;
Cerra
D.Fogarty
Brander
Bonar
Brayshaw
Coffield
Stephenson
Constable

Pick 16
Player Selection Order Preference;
Higgins
Murphy
Clark
O'Brien
Garner
L.Fogarty

Any of these player combinations will be great...

In my view we may well be heading toward a Mildura double in Brander & O'Brien..

But if we land more of an inside mid I'll be just as happy...

Its a great crop of players we may have to choose from..

Is at all possible Dal could pick someone outside the 15 odd blokes we are all recycling on here with P9 ?

Is there some obscure ,slow , 5 foot 10' , ginger nutted leftie crow eater up his sleeve somewhere ?

Is at all possible Dal could pick someone outside the 15 odd blokes we are all recycling on here with P9 ?

Is there some obscure ,slow , 5 foot 10' , ginger nutted leftie crow eater up his sleeve somewhere ?
Yes.. but that's for Pick 16 surely..

b28369de50b6a8047f9ddb5e428e6e76.jpg

Coffield/Bailey or Brayshaw/Richards would probably be best outcome in my opinion. Really want Brayshaw, just such a natural and complete player.

Would be more than happy with any of Clark, L Fogarty, Bailey or Richards at 16. Fogarty suits us to a tee

Agree about Bonar. I'm coming around to him quite a bit. Have had queries over his likelihood of translating his potential into form at AFL level, but the more I watch him it seems he has very few weaknesses. Overhead marking, versatility, size, athleticism, contested ball-winning and defensive efforts all highly impressive. Skills aren't elite but are by no means a deficiency. His range of elite traits allow me to worry less about his average production, which I could possibly attribute to his time out of the game.

I'm not sure about Bonar, aside of the injury history, I worry that he has a couple of key skill deficiencies for pick number 9 status. He does not appear to be a clean handler or have strong decision making skills. Perhaps at 16 but it looks to me as though there are a number of good players to pick from at that range. Lochie O'Brien has got me in. Murphy at 9 and O'Brien at 16 is my current dream list. That's right, I have decided (currently) that I like the prospect of Murphy ahead of Coffield, Cerra and Stephenson.

Sorry, I got my Lochie's mixed up, I meant Lachlan Fogarty.

Edit: spelled name incorrectly.

Why O'Brien? He has inconsistent production and his speed and kicking aren't nearly as good as people purport it to be. Not to mention the fact he's more outside than Andrew Gaff.

I, also, simply cannot fathom how anyone could rate Murphy over Cerra, Coffield and Stephenson. I rate those three as the three best in the entire pool. Cerra has no real discernible deficiencies (to my eye), excellent production, contested ball-winning skills, precise footskills and overhead ability, Coffield and Stephenson have elite pace, Coffield is the best kick in the pool and Stephenson has an incredible mix of electric forward goalkicking craft and production as a midfielder.

[edit] I see you meant Lachie Fogarty, so ignore the first paragraph. I am also a big fan of Fogarty at 16.

Why O'Brien? He has inconsistent production and his speed and kicking aren't nearly as good as people purport it to be. Not to mention the fact he's more outside than Andrew Gaff.

I, also, simply cannot fathom how anyone could rate Murphy over Cerra, Coffield and Stephenson. I rate those three as the three best in the entire pool. Cerra has no real discernible deficiencies (to my eye), excellent production, contested ball-winning skills, precise footskills and overhead ability, Coffield and Stephenson have elite pace, Coffield is the best kick in the pool and Stephenson has an incredible mix of electric forward goalkicking craft and production as a midfielder.

[edit] I see you meant Lachie Fogarty, so ignore the first paragraph. I am also a big fan of Fogarty at 16.

sorry, Gollo.

Murphy: just love the highlights reels. Clean hands, elite overhead, tall enough at 188cm and very mobile, not too skinny at 80kgs in his draft year, elite vision and disposal skills. Looks like a star forward to replace Stringer.

Well, how about one of Cerra, Coffield or Stephenson at 9 and Murphy at 16? Seriously, it is a smorgasbord and I don't know which bain marie to head for first. But it is fun trying to work it all out.

I'd be pretty happy with nearly any of the guys regularly getting suggested for our picks except probably Brander, that one would confuse and disappoint me to be honest.

OK, not having to worry about the Pieman in the off-season I had a spare hour or so to kill.

I've been trying to keep track of who's who in the top end of the draft (with a special interest in who might go at 9 and 16 of course). Unless I've missed some great links the AFL website doesn't seem to make it easy. Perhaps it's intentional so that we'll keep browsing lots and lots of their pages. Who knows, but I find it frustrating. There are probably some good resources elsewhere in BF but I thought it'd be good to have our own WB-flavoured one. Mind you I'm not above pinching material from anyone who's already done the hard yakka.

So I've compiled the following table of the top 25-30 candidates (based on CaptainMurphy 's "Wish List" OP and supplemented by Callum Twomey's top 25). I hope this might make it easier for people to keep track of players, especially for those like me who are only casual observers until we get closer to draft night ... or actually draft somebody.

It's a work in progress. I'm hoping we can run it a bit like a wiki (except I'll moderate the updates). I've populated it mostly with stuff I've got from Callum Twomey's top 25 but we can scratch his stuff if you think it's rubbish. There are obviously some blanks and there may be some errors or opinions you disagree with. If you let me know, either by posting here (preferable) or by PM-ing me I can keep the table up to date and flesh it out. I'll add the players' Highlights URLs as they come to my attention (please feel free to notify me of any). I'm happy to add new players too if you can provide me the data.

Anyone's offerings are welcome but in particular I'd appreciate the input of those who obviously watch the draft candidates much more closely than I do - Wizard17 , Gollo , Dannnnnnnnnn etc.

And of course if some table like this already exists somewhere, please let me know where and I'll happily delete the post!

Oscar Allen is bit hit & miss for goal, perhaps one of the negatives that I'd have to say as a big fan of his. His field kicking seems fine though, he also has a big tank for a forward to.
Not sure what he ran in the YoYo but I seem to recall that he ran around a level 14+ beep test.

A strength for Houlahan is his overhead marking, taken some nice hangers.

A weakness for Brander as a KPD he can lose track of his opponent pretty badly and a weakness for Rayner would be his endurance at the start of the year was very bad.

Oscar Allen is bit hit & miss for goal, perhaps one of the negatives that I'd have to say as a big fan of his. His field kicking seems fine though, he also has a big tank for a forward to.
Not sure what he ran in the YoYo but I seem to recall that he ran around a level 14+ beep test.

A strength for Houlahan is his overhead marking, taken some nice hangers.

A weakness for Brander as a KPD he can lose track of his opponent pretty badly and a weakness for Rayner would be his endurance at the start of the year was very bad.
Thanks Dav1d. I've added these (you may need to refresh page if you can't see them).

Being able to list what we think are weaknesses is especially useful, because people like Twomey don't like to mention them much. However we all know that key weaknesses can be critical in deciding whether a player is worth drafting and/or is a good fit for our list.

OK, not having to worry about the Pieman in the off-season I had a spare hour or so to kill.

I've been trying to keep track of who's who in the top end of the draft (with a special interest in who might go at 9 and 16 of course). Unless I've missed some great links the AFL website doesn't seem to make it easy. Perhaps it's intentional so that we'll keep browsing lots and lots of their pages. Who knows, but I find it frustrating. There are probably some good resources elsewhere in BF but I thought it'd be good to have our own WB-flavoured one. Mind you I'm not above pinching material from anyone who's already done the hard yakka.

So I've compiled the following table of the top 25-30 candidates (based on CaptainMurphy 's "Wish List" OP and supplemented by Callum Twomey's top 25). I hope this might make it easier for people to keep track of players, especially for those like me who are only casual observers until we get closer to draft night ... or actually draft somebody.

It's a work in progress. I'm hoping we can run it a bit like a wiki (except I'll moderate the updates). I've populated it mostly with stuff I've got from Callum Twomey's top 25 but we can scratch his stuff if you think it's rubbish. There are obviously some blanks and there may be some errors or opinions you disagree with. If you let me know, either by posting here (preferable) or by PM-ing me I can keep the table up to date and flesh it out. I'll add the players' Highlights URLs as they come to my attention (please feel free to notify me of any). I'm happy to add new players too if you can provide me the data.

Anyone's offerings are welcome but in particular I'd appreciate the input of those who obviously watch the draft candidates much more closely than I do - Wizard17 , Gollo , Dannnnnnnnnn etc.

And of course if some table like this already exists somewhere, please let me know where and I'll happily delete the post!

I think the issue with Clark's disposal is when he's under pressure. Actually a good kick off both feet when he has time, tends to rush it though when under the pump. Which is why you get conflicting reports.

I think he tries to bite off more than he can chew in an attempt to be more attacking at times which hurts him a little... Hes a good kick on both sides, can play inside and out and takes risks, also has a bit of mongrel and flair. Sign him up I say :-)