List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Prospects

Did whomever trained with us last year get picked up by us or anyone else? Curious to know how often the guys we get preseason actually end up drafted?

I don't think we had anyone train with us last year.

To my knowledge these are the boys we've had at the club

Jake Stringer
Dallas Willsmore (rookie listed Hawthorn)
Cameron Conlon (undrafted)
Duom Dawarm (undrafted)
Liam Duggan (West Coast first round pick)
James Parsons (rookie listed Geelong)
Sam Skinner (Brisbane)

We haven't of lot of good kids at the club apart from Stringer, Duggan and to a lesser degree Skinner. I think we get a good look at two good prospects this year though.

Just watched some vision of Cameron Rayner - yep officially my early favourite. Explosive, tough, skilful. Can see him becoming more a midfielder who can rest forward and make an impact.

Does he play for the Jets? The best Jets prospect will be my favorite, I'm thinking we might trade or package the pick next year to.

There are a couple of Jets this year who look good Rayner looks like a gun and I think he will go quite high.

De Koning's old man played for us (not enough for f/s). Lachie Fogarty's brother played in our VFL premiership a few years back.

There are a couple of Jets this year who look good Rayner looks like a gun and I think he will go quite high.

De Koning's old man played for us (not enough for f/s). Lachie Fogarty's brother played in our VFL premiership a few years back.
De Koning and Fog are hardcore dogs fans from my understanding

Anyone seen Darcy Fogerty from SA play? Watched some footage - looks a great prospect, should go very high.

Hoping we can net another first rounder this year somehow, the top end talent of this draft looks like real quality.

It's a shame about Fogarty's bro, he was a pressure machine for us back in 2014 and was damn good in the grand final.

I don't think we had anyone train with us last year.

To my knowledge these are the boys we've had at the club

Jake Stringer
Dallas Willsmore (rookie listed Hawthorn)
Cameron Conlon (undrafted)
Duom Dawarm (undrafted)
Liam Duggan (West Coast first round pick)
James Parsons (rookie listed Geelong)
Sam Skinner (Brisbane)

We haven't of lot of good kids at the club apart from Stringer, Duggan and to a lesser degree Skinner. I think we get a good look at two good prospects this year though.
We also had Sier at the club who was picked up by Collingwood in the ND

Anyone seen Darcy Fogerty from SA play? Watched some footage - looks a great prospect, should go very high.

Hoping we can net another first rounder this year somehow, the top end talent of this draft looks like real quality.

know him personally and he is going to be an absolute ripper! Top country kid with his head screwed on!

it's up to you to get into his head so he tanks interviews and work on his defensive side of his game

Some footage i found on YouTube from the u17 all stars game - thought it would be handy to throw it in here for easy access:

Darcy Fogarty

Cameron Rayner

Joel Garner

Charlie Spargo

Lochie O'Brien

Some footage i found on YouTube from the u17 all stars game - thought it would be handy to throw it in here for easy access:

Darcy Fogarty

Cameron Rayner

Joel Garner

Charlie Spargo

Lochie O'Brien

Darcy Fogarty is an incredible talent. Super smooth off both feet, strong in the contest, can play midfield and forward. Looks like a carbon copy of Bontempelli out there.

2017 TAC Cup practice match schedule:

Home team Away team Date Time Venue
Dandenong Stingrays FC Intra club 05/02/17 9:00AM Frankston Oval
Calder Cannons FC Murray Bushrangers FC 12/02/17 11:00AM Rams Arena
Calder Cannons FC Murray Bushrangers FC 12/02/17 1:00PM Rams Arena
Dandenong Stingrays FC Intra club 12/02/17 8:30AM Frankston Oval
Dandenong Stingrays FC Sandringham Dragons FC 12/02/17 10:00AM Frankston Oval
Dandenong Stingrays FC Sandringham Dragons FC 12/02/17 12:00PM Frankston Oval
Eastern Ranges FC Murray Bushrangers FC 17/03/17 6:00PM Rams Arena
Calder Cannons FC Northern Knights FC 18/02/17 12:00PM Rams Arena
Calder Cannons FC Northern Knights FC 18/02/17 2:00PM Rams Arena
Gippsland Power FC Sandringham Dragons FC 19/02/17 10:00AM Churchill Football Ground
Gippsland Power FC Sandringham Dragons FC 19/02/17 12:00PM Churchill Football Ground
Murray Bushrangers FC Dandenong Stingrays FC 19/02/17 10:00AM Punt Road Oval
Murray Bushrangers FC Dandenong Stingrays FC 19/02/17 12:00PM Punt Road Oval
Murray Bushrangers FC Dandenong Stingrays FC 19/02/17 2:00PM Punt Road Oval
Calder Cannons FC Western Jets FC 25/02/17 10:00AM Rams Arena
Oakleigh Chargers FC Western Jets FC 25/02/17 12:00PM Victoria Park
Calder Cannons FC Western Jets FC 25/02/17 12:00PM Rams Arena
Calder Cannons FC Western Jets FC 25/02/17 2:00PM Rams Arena
Eastern Ranges FC Gippsland Power FC 26/02/17 10:00AM Don Road Sporting Complex
Eastern Ranges FC Gippsland Power FC 26/02/17 12:00PM Don Road Sporting Complex
Eastern Ranges FC Gippsland Power FC 26/02/17 2:00PM Don Road Sporting Complex
Murray Bushrangers FC Bendigo Pioneers FC 04/03/17 10:00AM Punt Road Oval
Murray Bushrangers FC Bendigo Pioneers FC 04/03/17 12:00PM Punt Road Oval
Murray Bushrangers FC Bendigo Pioneers FC 04/03/17 2:00PM Punt Road Oval
Calder Cannons FC Eastern Ranges FC 04/03/17 12:00PM Rams Arena
Calder Cannons FC Eastern Ranges FC 04/03/17 2:00PM Rams Arena
Dandenong Stingrays FC Gippsland Power FC 05/03/17 10:00AM Frankston Oval
Dandenong Stingrays FC Gippsland Power FC 05/03/17 12:00PM Frankston Oval
Dandenong Stingrays FC Gippsland Power FC 05/03/17 2:00PM Frankston Oval
Western Jets FC Oakleigh Chargers FC 05/03/17 10:00AM Rams Arena
Western Jets FC Oakleigh Chargers FC 05/03/17 12:00PM Rams Arena
Western Jets FC Oakleigh Chargers FC 05/03/17 2:00PM Rams Arena
Calder Cannons FC Northern Knights FC 18/03/17 12:00PM Rams Arena
Calder Cannons FC Northern Knights FC 18/03/17 2:00PM Rams Arena
Bendigo Pioneers FC Western Jets FC 19/03/17 10:00AM Epsom Huntly Rec. Reserve
Bendigo Pioneers FC Western Jets FC 19/03/17 12:00PM Epsom Huntly Rec. Reserve
Bendigo Pioneers FC Western Jets FC 19/03/17 2:00PM Epsom Huntly Rec. Reser

Northern Knights Preview (2017 prospects in spoiler tab)

http://websites.sportstg.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-3020-0-0-0&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=52748959

TOP 2017 NAB AFL DRAFT PROSPECTS:

Nick Coffield (18 games, ave. 13 disposals in 2016): “Nick’s an intercept-marking, rebounding backman with very good speed and agility. He has a really good, long, penetrating right foot. We’re probably going to challenge him to be the best intercept, rebounding backman in the TAC Cup this year. He’s always played footy but he’s also been a pretty high-level basketball player as well. He goes to school at the footy factory out at Whitefriars where he’s the football captain – he also has good leadership skills.”

Patrick Naish (nine games, ave. 17 disposals and four marks in 2016): “Patrick possesses the ability to run and carry with the football and we think he’s going to be a good inside-50, goal-assist type of player this year. He has a beautiful long, penetrating right foot kick. He’s really improved his running – both his sprint and endurance – over the off-season and become a bit more powerful. He’s father-son eligible for Richmond (see below for more) and in the AFL Academy.”

Ethan Penrith (17 games, ave. 13 disposals and four tackles in 2016): “Ethan had a really good season last year predominantly as a rebounding, running small backman. He possesses an elite sidestep and burst from the contest, and really good run-and-carry ability. He’s an exciting type of player and will definitely catch the eye throughout the course of the year. He shows good leadership and is a good character. He’s indigenous and has done a lot of training with Carlton over the pre-season through their Next Generation Academy.”

Jack Petruccelle (two games, four goals in 2016): “Jack’s really exciting and has incredible athleticism. He was in the AIS Academy for basketball but has set his sights on football in 2017. He’ll probably play as a half forward type of player who can get up the ground and then use his pace to find space and really take the game on. He’s been working on developing his game sense and his kicking in the off-season and we’re really excited to see what he can do at TAC Cup level.”

POTENTIAL SURPRISE PACKETS:

Joel Naylor (seven games, ave. 10 disposals and four marks in 2016): “Joel’s a really strong-bodied key-position player and a really long, penetrating left-foot kick. His intercept/contested marking and ability to hit kicks that others can’t are probably his points of difference. We think he can have a real impact at either end of the ground.”

Marcus Lentini (pictured - 13 games, nine goals, ave. 24 disposals in 2016): “Marcus really came on last year. During the middle part of the season he had three games of 30, 33 and 36 disposals as a midfielder. He’s had a really good off-season working hard on his kicking and ball use, and has been in the gym getting fitter, stronger and faster.”

Alex Federico (eight games, ave. 12 disposals in 2016): “Alex has really good endurance and overhead marking ability. He’s a versatile player who has been training as a midfielder after playing the majority of last year down back.”

CONFIRMED OVER-AGE PLAYERS:

Adam Tomaro (11 games, ave. 17 disposals and four marks for the Oakleigh Chargers in 2016): “Adam missed his whole bottom-age year at Oakleigh with a shoulder reconstruction. He played games for the Chargers when he was available last year but had an outstanding school season with Marcellin where he captained a premiership. He’s a good overhead mark, a really smooth mover and is a beautiful user of the football. We’re going to work on developing him as an inside midfielder who can then spread really hard from the contest and use his skill and his smarts on the outside.”

Sam Binion (15 games, nine goals, ave. 11 disposals and three marks in 2016): “Sam missed his whole bottom-age year with glandular fever and a foot injury and he also missed the 2016 pre-season. He played more as a key-position player last year but with his athletic attributes we see him as a big, strong inside midfielder.”

Matthew Harman (eight games, ave. five disposals and five hitouts in 2016): “Matthew’s a 200cm ruckman. He’ll get every opportunity to ruck for us and we think he can be a real improver – similar to Chas Roberts last year when he played some good footy as a 19-year-old ruckman. He’s played district cricket previously but he’s decided to give football a good run.”

Jamison Shea (17 games, nine goals, ave. 16 disposals and five marks in 2016): “Jamison played a fair bit of footy for us last year but was pretty lightly-framed; he’s put on eight kilos over the off-season through our strength and conditioning program. He’s a smooth-moving, really good link-up forward who’ll work really hard to be a marking player all around the ground.”

Bendigo Pioneers Preview

http://websites.sportstg.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-3020-0-0-0&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=52748982

Jarrod Brander (four games, 10 goals, ave. 13 disposals and six marks in 2016): “Jarrod’s clearly one of our leading draft candidates. He’s a key forward/key defender and he’s attending Geelong Grammar on a scholarship for cricket and football. He’s part of the AFL Academy.”

Lochie O’Brien (pictured - five games, ave. 24 disposals and seven marks in 2016): “Lochie’s a left-foot half back/outside midfielder who’s counted as a fairly strong draft prospect. He played for Vic Country in the U18 Championships last year as a bottom-ager. He’s in the AFL Academy and on a scholarship to Geelong Grammar.”

Paddy Dow (eight games, ave. 22 disposals in 2016): “Paddy’s a hard-working inside midfielder and another Geelong Grammar scholarship holder. He won the school team’s best-and-fairest in 2015 and 2016 and became the only Year 10 student to have ever won the award in the history of the school in 2015. He was recently included into the AFL Academy.”

Brent Daniels (three games, four goals, ave. 20 disposals and five tackles in 2016): “Brent’s a smaller defender who can play through the middle and up forward, so he’s probably more of a hybrid sort of player. He was a Vic Country U16 player in 2015 and had a meniscus injury last year so he hardly played any footy. He’s fit and raring to go this year and we think he’s a good draft possibility.”

Kane Farrell (16 games, ave. 17 disposals and four marks in 2016): “Kane’s a half back/inside midfielder with an excellent kick and we reckon he’s a pretty strong draft prospect. He attends Bendigo Senior Secondary College and is involved in our specialised football program there. He’s in the AFL Academy as well.”

Angus Schumacher (15 games, ave. 14 disposals in 2016): “Angus is a medium-sized half back/half forward who will probably play through the midfield as well. He’s a pretty good sort of player and is probably one of those ones AFL clubs are speculating on a little bit.”

Cooper Jones (nine games, six goals, ave. 16 disposals and five marks in 2016): “Cooper had a bad run of injuries last year. He represented Vic Country in the U18 Championships. He’s a medium-sized half back/half forward and we think he has draft prospects, but he just needs to get his body right. He’ll be a later starter this year – he’ll probably be ready to go in about June but we’re not too concerned about that, as we had Fergus Greene drafted last year and he only played the last three games for us.”

Riley Burns (three games, ave. nine hitouts in 2016): Riley’s 203cm – probably the tallest kid we’ve had for a long while. We got him here as part of trying to develop some of our tall boys and we’re really keen to see how he develops in our environment and under our training conditions.”

Western Jets Preview

http://websites.sportstg.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-3020-0-0-0&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=52749032

Cameron Rayner (pictured - eight games, 17 goals, ave. 18 disposals, four marks and four tackles in 2016): “Cameron had a really good year as a bottom-age player to the point where he played himself into the AFL Academy right at the finish. He’s strongly built, very hard at the football and a terrific competitor. He has a penetrating kick, is excellent over his head and is a versatile type of player who we’ll be working really hard with to ensure he becomes a very effective inside midfielder. There’s no question he can take a mark and kick a goal, but he’s about 189/190cm so he’s a great size to be a midfielder.”

Lachlan Fogarty (five games, ave. 24 disposals and eight tackles in 2016): “Lachie’s very highly skilled, an excellent decision-maker, and really, really competitive. He needs to build a bigger tank but certainly has a capacity to get to where the ball is around the ground. He was our best player in his 16-year-old season in 2015 when he represented Vic Metro. He’s also a member of the AFL Academy.”

Tristan Xerri (11 games, 13 goals, ave. seven disposals, two marks and 11 hitouts in 2016): “Tristan’s a late developer – we picked him up halfway through 2016. He’s over 200cm tall, a good athlete, very mobile, excellent below his knees and very capable over his head. He can not only get it in the air but also on the ground so he’s going to be a bit of an all-rounder, and at that height with the potential to grow a little bit more, we think he’ll be someone that’s right in contention.”

Nick Stuhldreier (15 games, ave. 17 disposals and four marks in 2016): “Nick had a fantastic season last year as a bottom-age player and received our Best First-Year Player Award. He has a fantastic attitude, a great desire to succeed, a fantastic work ethic and is someone who has fantastic leadership qualities.”

Luke Hitch (14 games, ave. 12 disposals and four tackles in 2016): “Luke is a fantastic competitor, really hard at the footy, never gives up and is capable of being a small defender. We’ll also try to run him through the midfield to give him that opportunity.”

Josh Mould (no games in 2016): “We’re looking forward to seeing Josh play this year. He suffered a stress fracture of the foot which was really nasty and took a while to diagnose, and he missed all of last year and a fair part of 2015 trying to get over it. His training has been outstanding so if he can strike a little bit of confidence early in the year and play a couple of good games, he’ll put himself into contention.”

Riley Ham (nine games, ave. six disposals and 11 hitouts in 2016): “Riley’s a big boy who, along with Tristan Xerri, got an opportunity in the middle of last year. He had a couple of really good games playing at centre half forward and if he can play well again this year, he’ll give himself some sort of chance.”

Judah Dundon (eight games, six goals, ave. 19 disposals in 2016): “He was absolutely flying as a 17-year-old in 2015 but had to have a plate inserted into his forearm and that was the end of his season. At the start of last year he was full of confidence but got a fracture in his tibia. He played eight or nine games in the middle of the season and started to get a bit of form back, but then exactly the same injury occurred in his other leg so that was the end of his season. If he can find some really good form, we think he’ll be a good player.”

Harrison Bult (eight games, ave. nine disposals and three marks in 2016): “Harrison’s a tall, athletic, mobile centre half back. He played for Penleigh and Essendon Grammar School last year so didn’t play a lot of TAC Cup footy.”

Brock McGregor (seven games, four goals, ave. 12 disposals, five marks and 17 hitouts in 2016): “Brock’s had a back issue for a long time now but he’s training really well at the moment. He’s a power forward. He also played for Penleigh and Essendon Grammar School last year and didn’t play a lot of TAC Cup footy.”

Matthew Volkanovski (four games, ave. six disposals and 15 hitouts in 2016): “Matthew’s a big boy who’s played very little football. He’s a 202/203cm ruckman.”

Alex Bouris (four games, ave. nine disposals in 2016): “Alex played early on last year but hurt the medial ligament in his knee and missed pretty much the rest of the season. He showed a bit of promise playing at centre half forward. He’s a mobile, lead-up forward who’s good over his head and a nice left-foot kick.”

Aaaaand :

Jacob Smith: Bottom-age son of Rohan (300 AFL games for the Western Bulldogs from 1992-2006).