List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Prospects

http://m.afl.com.au/news/2017-07-05/u18-top-prospect-brander-leads-allies-to-thrilling-upset

ALLIES forward Jarrod Brander produced his best performance of the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships, playing a commanding role up forward in his side's upset three-point win over Vic Metro at Simonds Stadium on Wednesday.

The thrilling 11.10 (76) to 10.13 (73) victory, which was confirmed when Swans academy-listed player Jack Hardman kicked a clever goal around the corner with just over a minute to play, was the Allies' first win and Vic Metro's first loss of the Championships.

Regardless, Metro's 3-1 record across the Carnival was enough for them to claim back-to-back Division One titles for the first time since 2002.

At 194cm and 89kg, Brander, a possible top-10 draft pick from the Bendigo Pioneers, has a real presence about him and it showed out in the way he attacked the footy in the air against Metro.

Brander constantly hit up at the football, displaying his power and athleticism by taking nine marks and finishing with three goals from 16 touches, including an important one that put his side back in front in the final term.

Brander spent the first two games of the Championships playing as a key defender but can legitimately play at both ends of the ground.

Allies midfielder Zac Bailey, who hails from the Northern Territory but plays with Norwood in the SANFL, was prominent through the middle, with his work rate and burst away from stoppages evident in his team-high 23 disposals.

Connor Ballenden, a member of the Brisbane Lions' academy, reinforced the Allies' defence when he went down there in the second half, playing an important intercept role and distributing the footy with a powerful leg.

Potential Richmond father-son selection Patrick Naish and Andrew Brayshaw, the younger brother of Melbourne's Angus, were the pick of the Metro players.

Naish, the son of former Tiger Chris, who played 143 games in the yellow and black, gathered 26 disposals in a classy display through the midfield, while Nick Coffield ended the match with a game-high 29 touches.

As a small midfielder, Brayshaw (22 disposals and five inside 50s) is an no-fuss type of player but his cleanness at ground level and ability to not waste his possessions was noticeable, particularly in the first half.

Will Sutherland, who continues to stamp himself as the leading tall forward in this year's draft class, booted two goals in the third quarter as Metro took a five-point lead into the final change.

It was a see-sawing final term as the lead changed hands five times and when possible No.1 draft choice Cameron Rayner booted his third goal with less than three minutes remaining in the contest, Metro looked to have sewn the game up.

But the Allies fought hard to work the footy down to their end of the ground and Hardman bobbed up in the right place at the right time to sink the match-winning goal after an excellent front and square crumb.

VIC METRO 2.3 3.9 6.11 10.13 (73)
ALLIES 1.2 3.5 6.6 11.10 (76)

GOALS
Vic Metro: Rayner 3, Sutherland 2, Hayes 2, Higgins 2, Brayshaw
Allies: Dixon 3, Brander 3, Bailey, Crossley, Sambono, Lane, Hardman

BEST
Vic Metro: Naish, Brayshaw, Coffield, Higgins, Hayes, Cerra
Allies: Bailey, Brander, Crossley, Dawson, Dixon, Ballenden

I'm sick of these journalists taking multiple choices for who the number one pick will be, just pick one already.

For once we have a scenario where the players at the top of the order have something to prove at the combine if they want to go pick 1. Makes the combine more interesting than it has been in the past.

What did you think of Petruccelle at the Champs James?

I still really like him & Coffield but I can see Coffield rising up the draft order; athletic, skilled & can find the ball...

Dow, Cerra, Sutherland, Balta, Brander ..I could go on
There sure are a lot of players who could fit into a role for us

Still the back half of the season to go. McGrath and Taranto ramped their claims up in the TAC Cup finals, as could any draftee this year at TAC Cup, WAFL, SANFL or local footy level in a finals environment. Don't really see the combine amounting to much, except for the really elite athletes.

What did you think of Petruccelle at the Champs James?

I still really like him & Coffield but I can see Coffield rising up the draft order; athletic, skilled & can find the ball...

Dow, Cerra, Sutherland, Balta, Brander ..I could go on
There sure are a lot of players who could fit into a role for us
Petruccelle I felt was played out of position a bit due to the depth of Metro. He struggled to get the right depth on his kicks a lot from what I saw especially in his last game. Few bad turnovers missing easy targets by foot. I still like his potential but will have to clean up this aspect of his game and finish the season well.
I can also see Coffield rising for sure. Looks comfortable all round the ground which to me says he will have no issues playing more midfield as his career progresses. Also has the added luxury of being able to start his career at half back and have an impact there. Chooses attacking options with his kicking and moves the ball quickly, picking good targets by foot without needing much time to think about it. His ability to understand the tempo of the game and control it stood out. Can move it quickly to rebound but also has composure and knows when to slow it down.

Still the back half of the season to go. McGrath and Taranto ramped their claims up in the TAC Cup finals, as could any draftee this year at TAC Cup, WAFL, SANFL or local footy level in a finals environment. Don't really see the combine amounting to much, except for the really elite athletes.
Back half of the season will see players emerge for sure, others may stand out a little more but I believe with the strength of this group majority already stand out in the TAC cup already. I disagree with most that say this year's pool is shallow, I think it's really good. Top prospects are starting to realise that the combine often hurts their stock rather than increasing it and yes usually those that emerge are the really athletic types. Top prospects may participate in the things they are good at but I reckon a lot will end up 'injured' and miss the testing. Can see Rayner doing no endurance testing unless he strongly believes he has improved it and wants to show it.

From what I've seen of Petruccelle he will go late first to mid second. Has a few too many question marks on him despite the obvious talent.

Coffield will go top 10. Could see Constable go high too.

Want to try and find a few bigger bodied mids somewhere in this draft as well as forwards.

Would be nice if CCJ was available at our second.

Would Oscar Allen be worth while looking at come our second as well? That is of course if he's available

Dow interests me greatly to, but I need to see his kicking a lot more because a lot of the time I've seen him kick it has just been clearing it from a contest. His running goals were impressive to, but want to see instances where he's finding a team mate.

Personally I think Coffield is the best ball user in this draft & if he isn't the very best, then he's damn close.

Would Oscar Allen be worth while looking at come our second as well? That is of course if he's available

Dow interests me greatly to, but I need to see his kicking a lot more because a lot of the time I've seen him kick it has just been clearing it from a contest. His running goals were impressive to, but want to see instances where he's finding a team mate.

Personally I think Coffield is the best ball user in this draft & if he isn't the very best, then he's damn close.
If Allen was at our second it would be a no brainer. He is the sort of forward we need. A roaming CHF who is a straight kick at goal.

So what combination of players do you like for our first two, if we got Coffield at our first & Balta at our second. I might get a 'little' excited if we made any decent trades on top of that for next season

Williams & Coffield duo...oh man

From what I've seen of Petruccelle he will go late first to mid second. Has a few too many question marks on him despite the obvious talent.

Want to try and find a few bigger bodied mids somewhere in this draft as well as forwards.

I'm just sorely hoping we can snag Coffield at our first. Him or Cerra. Not too sure who else I'd really like around the 8-12 mark. Second pick, I agree with you and Dav1d, should be a taller option, and I really, really like Balta and Allen too. This pick, I reckon, would have to be late first or early second if we want a chance at one of those two. I'm not big on CCJ - more pure ruckmen don't seem to be overly efficacious as early picks, i.e. why English was taken high, his points of difference - and have question marks over his dominance in the ruck. Just generally, others for us I'm big on are Ling, Miers, Dow, Moore, Fogarty, Dreher, North and I'm keen to see more vision of Naughton and Stuhldreier.

I am not big on CCJ either, I like his one grab overhead marking skill but I don't like the way he kicks it at all and I don't want a Levi Casboult that doesn't dominate the ruck and isn't a reliable kick, especially at goal. Saw in the last game too Crossley looked better than Sam Hayes. Hayes is a little positionless and Crossley had a big game in the ruck working hard and showing off cleanliness below his knees. Wouldn't be going for any of these guys in the first 2 rounds at least.

Agree on perruccelle, Coffield and Constable. Constable I would have higher if he flattened out his kicking a little bit. Some of his switches seemed to hang in the air for an eternity. Still a good prospect though. Wondering where Coffield sits vs. LDU after the champs. LDU contested possession rate was only about 33% and he went missing at times. Also didn't make AA.

Darcy Fogarty please.

Who is the best bigger bodied, clean kicking mid. I want him.

Seems like at the moment our midfield really lacks hurt factor. Dahl, Macrae, Hunter... the only midfielder we have that can break a game open by foot is Bontempelli. Even more reason to hope we end up with Coffield.

What do you like about him?

Had bit of a down year so far
Haven't seen much of him, just like what I've read. Sounds like a powerful footballer.

He's not really that bigger-bodied, or a true midfielder, but either way we NEED him. Cerra fits the description more, and I think we should definitely target him for our first if Coffield is off the board.

Fair enough, I think 190cm & 80kg+ with his frame is plenty big enough

And it isn't the size of the player that counts, it's how you use them ;)

Maybe not a true midfielder, but personally I think I've seen some of his best football been produced in the midfield.

I don't mind the like of Cerra either, obviously not as keen on him as I am on Coffield though.