List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Prospects

I get why Paddy Dow is enticing, but I feel on the whole, Coffield would improve our team a lot more. I doubt Dow would be able to step straight into our midfield, where he offers the most damage by far, whereas I reckon we could plug Coffield straight onto half-back and he'd be able to use his excellent marking, speed and ball movement right from the get-go. We're more pressed for skills and speed on the outside than we are for ball-winners inside, now and for years to come.
Dow is more than just an extractor though, he's got that burst speed we are missing from contests. I think he'd be adding something year one and reckon he's got a huge ceiling so even more in the future.

But, surely, if Coffield is to make rapid gains on his contested ball-winning and transition into the midfield he would be a more worthwhile selection. Whether he can is up in the air, but he has quicker straight line speed than Dow and more size, so if he does, in fact, show signs as an inside midfielder his potential would be higher than Dow's. Even still, if he remains purely a rebounder and outside runner he will offer a great deal, but in my opinion, it's worth banking on Coffield's midfield potential.

Relying on a player to add a large component to his game when you draft him feels like a low-percentage move. That's a big "if". All we have to rely on with Dow is that the improvement he's already shown continues to a reasonable degree. Feels like he's on the right trajectory to me.

Oh no, I'm not saying we would be relying on it - rather that it would be a massive bonus if he could step into the midfield. I already think, personally, Coffield offers more than Dow in his current role, just that if he could transition into the midfield he would take his value even further. Having said that, I'm in no way against taking Dow, and think he'll absolutely be a terrific player, but if I had to choose out of the both of them I would go with Coffield.

Safe to say in an even draft Dal should pick a pretty handy player.
Hopefully Saints don't lose by over 6 goals and drop below us and have consecutive picks.

Gday lads. At what point does the quality in this draft drop away?

Seems like dogs have an opportunity to trade Webb for another second rounder or pick swap with GC. Not particularly interested in discussing the value of Webb. More so wondering how high we need to go to get a quality second pick in this draft? Ie do we chase GC's 21 or is late 20's still going to offer a quality player?

35-40 it'll drop right off, so we're in an okay position with a lot of players that will rise or get taken well before where they should have.

At about pick 45-50ish.

Some good picks in the rookie draft side of things.

I've had a year off watching future draftees by raising more of my own. Haven't seen shit this year.

Will the Champs games be shown again on Fox Footy or are they available somewhere on the AFL website?

I've had a year off watching future draftees by raising more of my own. Haven't seen shit this year.

Will the Champs games be shown again on Fox Footy or are they available somewhere on the AFL website?
They are available in the videos of each quarter, not sure how you find them but that's how I watched them

Not sure if Dow would still be there at our pick. If that is the case I would be hoping we select Nick Coffield. Im pretty sure a poster on here said he was a Dogs fan as well when i asked so that can only be a good thing.

Chargers debuted a big kid by the name of griffiths, I think 205 cm and +100kg today who the seemed to be a bit excited about, nephew of dean brogan.
Any idea how he went.

Never made him out to be high production. He is the silk.

Yes, he didn't turn it over once. All passes forward or low long switches. Only time he wasn't part of a string of possessions was when someone dropped an easy chest mark.
Didn't see any hardballs or tackles BUT he intercept marked well.

I was at Wangaratta today and got a good look at Coffield. He spent a bit of time all over and ended up kicking a couple goals. Was an ok game. Not impressed with him in the midfield. Not overly physical and doesn't possess quick, clean hands in traffic. I struggle to see him becoming a full time midfield. I think there's a decent chance he's available at our pick for that reason.

A few others I think worth mentioning

Ethan Penrith - Impressed me playing in defence before this. Played in attack today and kicked 4 goals. Was good through the midfield as well. Tackles hard, good kick, nice speed, composed. Doesn't appear to have many faults, would be great if he could find a bit more of the ball I guess. One I hope we look at later in the draft

Jordan Butts - Played mostly as a tall defender. Kept his opponents relatively quiet while Murray's defence was under siege. Got a bit of the ball and showed good run and carry. Took a couple good strong marks. Athletic sort with loads of upside and youngest player in the draft. One I think we might look at or maybe not since we already recruited a couple raw talls last year

Doultan Langlands - Has good speed and was used in a number of positions. Good game. Decision making not a big fan of today, can put some of his team mates in awkward positions. No sure if this is a habit with him otherwise would look at him.

Alex Fredrico - Nothing really special about him, but is just able to keep finding the ball on the inside and outside. Kicked a couple goals, has good hands in close and kicked it well. Not sure he's one for us but I like the kid

Jack Petruccelle - Had some great moments, with one awesome run. Won a bit of the ball in the midfield which was nice to see. Would be great if he was available in the 2nd round

As for the standard I thought it was pretty good which makes me wonder if the draft is as bad as what people are saying. This is my first TAC game I've seen live all year though, might look different in the finals.

Anderson seems to believe Fremantle will take Naughton, personally I rate Allen ahead of him
IF they want to go local

Anderson seems to believe Fremantle will take Naughton, personally I rate Allen ahead of him
IF they want to go local
Naughton has been playing for Peel alongside some of their AFL listed players and doing a good job there, I can see the appeal.

Ahh that makes sense, thanks for clearing it up.

He also rates Constable really highly, I was watching a lot of his highlights last night. Solid with everything he does and seems like he has a real good size to him as well.