List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Prospects

Yeah mate, continue speaking on behalf of marginalised people and telling them they should be honoured to be racially profiled by you.
No one will win this convo regardless of views

He's a geniune midfielder, and his production this year has been very good. Crucial member of Carey's success this year in school footy. Nothing fancy, just a solid player who has few weaknesses. I'd like him as a rookie selection; even if he doesn't have a very high ceiling, he's someone who we could easily plug into our depth stocks who could come up to senior level and contribute. It also appears he's a Dogs supporter, photos show him getting all up in the red, white and blue on GF day last year.
It is nice that there have been a few games where he has floated forward and kicked a bag. If he becomes something of goal kicking workhorse mid (ala Picken) he wouldn't be a bad rookie selection.

http://m.afl.com.au/news/2017-08-31/afl-academy-adds-development-list-for-talls

THE NAB AFL Academy has introduced a 'development list' of tall draft prospects as it aims to cater to the growing demands for key position players at the next level.

The League on Thursday announced its level one academy group, which will consist of 22 players eligible for the draft in 2019.

It also named its first development list squad of eight players in a move that was first signaled to clubs earlier this year.

"In addition to the NAB AFL Academy level one group, the AFL has introduced a new development list to meet the needs of the industry comprising of taller players aiming to play in the ruck or key positions in the AFL," the League's national and international talent manager Kevin Sheehan said.

Included in the level one squad, which was picked after the mid-year NAB AFL Under-16 Championships, is Hewago Paul Oea, who played in the recent International Cup for Papua New Guinea.

Noah Anderson, the son of former Saint and Hawk Dean, is among seven representatives from Vic Metro in the squad after a promising under-16s carnival.

Anderson is viewed as one of the top talents in the 2019 draft pool, but isn't eligible to either St Kilda or Hawthorn as a father-son pick as Dean did not play 100 games for either club.

The academy will come together for its first camp in Melbourne in December. The level two squad, featuring players eligible for the 2018 draft, will be released later in the year following the NAB AFL All Stars game in Grand Final week.

Level one NAB AFL Academy
NSW/ACT: Liam Delahunty (Coolamon), Josh Rayner (Willoughby/Mossman – Sydney Swans academy)

Queensland: Connor Budarick (Broadbeach), Hewago Paul Oea (Papua New Guinea/Port Moresby)

South Australia: Kysaiah Pickett (Woodville-West Torrens/Port Districts), Dylan Stephens (Norwood/Walkerville), Cameron Taheny (Norwood/Eastern Ranges)

Vic Country: Sam Flanders (Gippsland Power/Fish Creek), Brodie Kemp (Bendigo Pioneers/Echuca), Caleb Serong (Gippsland Power/Warragul), Cooper Stephens (Geelong Falcons/Colac), Hayden Young (Dandenong Stingrays/Somerville)

Vic Metro: Noah Anderson (Oakleigh Chargers/Boroondara), Emerson Jeka (Western Jets/Altona), Jack Mahoney (Sandringham Dragons/St Kevin's College), Fischer McAsey (Sandringham Dragons/East Brighton), Jamieson Rossiter (Eastern Ranges/Rowville/Rowville Sports Academy), Matt Rowell (Oakleigh Chargers/Boroondara), Dylan Williams (Oakleigh Chargers/Surrey Park)

Western Australia: Rhai Arn Cox (East Perth/Mt Lawley), Luke Jackson (East Fremantle/Bullcreek Leeming), Devon Robertson (Perth/Aquinas College)

Development list: Jack Buller (WA/Claremont/Christchurch Grammar), Matthew Conroy (QLD/Townsville/Gold Coast academy), Andrew Courtney (Vic Metro/Sandringham Dragons/Beaumaris), Anthony Davis (WA/Claremont/Hale), Aaron Gundry (Vic Country/Bendigo Pioneers/Sandhurst), Harry Ireland (Tasmania/Hobart City), Bigoa Nyuon (Vic Country/Dandenong Stingrays/Rowville Sports academy), Jeremy O'Sullivan (Vic Metro/Calder Cannons/St Bernard's)

I am a marginalised person and i was profiling no one as once you
yourself are marginalised you tend not to do the same to others.

This is the same as saying you have a gay cousin so you can't possibly be homophobic. It's a really weak defence. If you're comparing indigenous players to exclusively other indigenous players then yes, its profiling. If you also assert that they must worship those same players due to their ethnicity its even worse. Its 100% racial profiling and casual racism and regardless of your ethnicity or nationality you're not excused.

Talking about big games on the weekend. Look at Charlie Thompson's from Oakleigh

43 disposals, 14 contested possessions, four marks, five tackles, four clearances, eight inside 50s, five goals and two score assists.

Now that is a good day out...

183cm inside mid who can go forward and kick goals. Just looked up a few things and he sounds like the sort of player we like.

I have watched about half of that game online. He certainly gets into great positions forward of the ball. Just kept getting it at half forward (thought he was playing half forward!) Chargers dominated that game and he just kept being part of the attacking chains. I didn't think he was that great in the contest BUT there was not much competition from the other team. He must have good endurance and skills looked really sound.
Commentators kept saying 'Thompson again'.
*Note: early on I had the sound off and didn't know which player was who. Hoped that he was Matthew Day and having a Day out!

This is the same as saying you have a gay cousin so you can't possibly be homophobic. It's a really weak defence. If you're comparing indigenous players to exclusively other indigenous players then yes, its profiling. If you also assert that they must worship those same players due to their ethnicity its even worse. Its 100% racial profiling and casual racism and regardless of your ethnicity or nationality you're not excused.
Try watching NT football and indigenous players and then ask
yourself who do you compare them to if not the players that
came before them. Not everything has to have a racially based
motivation unless you want it too. Now i have to get back to
my old episodes of "On the buses", "Mind your language" and
"Love thy neighbour". This is the draft thread you might want
to get used to the statement He plays like "X" and guess what
sometimes it's a compliment.

Would like to talk a bit about the South Australians since we have drafted at least one in each of the last few drafts and there doesn't appear to be much talk about them. Could be quite a few fall in around our 2nd and 3rd picks.

I'm curious to get people's thoughts on Nathan Kreuger, Jordan Houlihan, Harrison Petty, Andrew McPherson and Charlie Ballard in particular.

Do any of these hold any interest to you? Would you place a bid on Jackson Edwards at our 2nd pick? Anyone I've missed that you want to talk about?

Personally I like McPherson at our 2nd. He's got good skills and composure. He impressed me as a 17 year old last year and I think he would go higher if injury didn't stuff his year. He had 31 disposals in the SANFL reserves on his return from injury last week.

I wouldn't be against Kruegar at our 2nd as well, has a lot of untapped potential. He seems to get thrown around in different positions a fair bit, but I think he would make a good 3rd tall in defence playing an Easton Wood role. In the U17's all star game, he was used in this role and he was very good on the intercept.

Houlihan is finishing off the year well, so could be in the frame at our 2nd now. I had him pegged more at our 3rd though.

Ballard I'd only look at our 3rd I think. Has a lot of upside as he's only really played school footy.

Harrison Petty I haven't really seen enough of to form an opinion. Anyone seen much of him? He had 26 disposals and 15 marks in the SANFL reserves this week. Seems to be a big improver.

Would like to talk a bit about the South Australians since we have drafted at least one in each of the last few drafts and there doesn't appear to be much talk about them. Could be quite a few fall in around our 2nd and 3rd picks.

I'm curious to get people's thoughts on Nathan Kreuger, Jordan Houlihan, Harrison Petty, Andrew McPherson and Charlie Ballard in particular.

Do any of these hold any interest to you? Would you place a bid on Jackson Edwards at our 2nd pick? Anyone I've missed that you want to talk about?

Personally I like McPherson at our 2nd. He's got good skills and composure. He impressed me as a 17 year old last year and I think he would go higher if injury didn't stuff his year. He had 31 disposals in the SANFL reserves on his return from injury last week.

I wouldn't be against Kruegar at our 2nd as well, has a lot of untapped potential. He seems to get thrown around in different positions a fair bit, but I think he would make a good 3rd tall in defence playing an Easton Wood role. In the U17's all star game, he was used in this role and he was very good on the intercept.

Houlihan is finishing off the year well, so could be in the frame at our 2nd now. I had him pegged more at our 3rd though.

Ballard I'd only look at our 3rd I think. Has a lot of upside as he's only really played school footy.

Harrison Petty I haven't really seen enough of to form an opinion. Anyone seen much of him? He had 26 disposals and 15 marks in the SANFL reserves this week. Seems to be a big improver.
Ballard interests me purely because he's a 195cm wingman, I think that'd be fun to work with. Could be useful as a bail out mark up the ground.

Only want any of these late though, I'd be hoping for more at our second.

Ballard interests me purely because he's a 195cm wingman, I think that'd be fun to work with. Could be useful as a bail out mark up the ground.

Only want any of these late though, I'd be hoping for more at our second.

So you've seen a bit of Petty? What's the knock?

South Australians haven't really been of much interest to me of recent times. I think we've hit the jackpot in Young and Williams with late picks, and if there's one on offer who Dal likes, I'd be all for it, but 26 is a good pick, I'd be very wary of using it on a speculative SA player. Their talent development is remarkably weak. There will be some very good talent available at 26 that will surpass guys like Houlihan, Petty and Kreuger.

Constable is similar to types we have taken top 10 in the past. BA has him ranked at 3.

Hayes - who takes rucks this early now day
Garner - The other possibility. Want to see how his contested game stacks up though.
Brayshaw - exactly like 90% of our midfield group
Hey who is BA btw?

South Australians haven't really been of much interest to me of recent times. I think we've hit the jackpot in Young and Williams with late picks, and if there's one on offer who Dal likes, I'd be all for it, but 26 is a good pick, I'd be very wary of using it on a speculative SA player. Their talent development is remarkably weak. There will be some very good talent available at 26 that will surpass guys like Houlihan, Petty and Kreuger.

I wouldn't take either Kreugar and Houlihan at our 2nd personally. I think Kreugar has a lot to work with though and I'd be ok if the club took a punt on him at our 2nd.

So what's the knock on Petty? Is he just not that talented?

Petty is in the top 3 KPD's in this draft imo.

Would you be ok if we got him at our 2nd pick say if he continued to put in good performances?

I wouldn't take either Kreugar and Houlihan at our 2nd personally. I think Kreugar has a lot to work with though and I'd be ok if the club took a punt on him at our 2nd.

So what's the knock on Petty? Is he just not that talented?

Would you be ok if we got him at our 2nd pick say if he continued to put in good performances?
I haven't seen a heap of Petty, so mine isn't the most reliable assessment, I just reckon there would be guys slightly better than Petty at 26. Maybe he can prove me wrong, I'll take a second look at his footage. It's not about his shortcomings, more just that I rate others around that mark a bit higher.

The way SA play the champs is strange, the coach plays to win. Even if it hurts the chances of highlighting his players, I'd rather be the coach that gets a lot of my players drafted rather than the win...but that's just my feeling on that matter.

Anyone know the prospects of drafting Callan wellings, Lloyd Meek, Aiden Domic and Jordan Johnston, and even anythinh on Elliot Lamb? All from GWV rebels

I know that Domic has been spoken too by Essendon, Geelong and Port, not sure if we've spoken to him though.