List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Prospects

Constable sounds like he would be competing with Bont, Macrae and our other good insiders for a position. So not sure at either 9 or 16.

...unless you subscribe to the theory that the Bont would be great at FF or CHF.

He played on the ball at Oakleigh in spurts and I was very impressed with him in there. He certainly has the skill set to be a midfielder IMO. He seems to be able to get his arms free often, has good vision and possess reasonably quick hands in tight. The only reason why he didn't spend long periods in there, is because his endurance is not good enough at this stage. He did have a knee injury during the year which may have had something to do with that.

I rate him very highly, higher then what most people it seems. I think there's a lot of upside there.
I'm big on him too, which you may be able to tell

No, I mean the dialogue all season has been that there are four clear standouts. I get that the gap has closed, but Cerra seems to be the one falling in everybody's mocks/rankings and nobody seems to be able to explain why that is.
I reckon it's perceived lack of upside. I don't particularly agree but you never hear people talk about his potential like you do other players around his range. I feel there's this idea he's a touch vanilla too, which I think just comes down to lack of acceleration. Again I think it's just perception, and the reason people are picking him as the one to fall out.

I doubt Brander goes that high. Likely to be Brayshaw instead.

Also, Naish is unlikely to be bid on until at least our pick 16.
Disagree completey..

Brander may go as early as 2... Fremantle would be very keen on him the more I think about it... the will likely get him at 5.. if not the Pies at 6... otherwise he'll fall in our lap as the Saints will go Midfield types.

As for Naish.. I think Pick 9 is about right and I wont be suprised if we bid dependant on who had fallen off our list to then... either way.. Rich only need P.17 equivalency to match a P.9 bid... they will do that without hesitation.

Heard a Brander radio interview during trade week where he was asked if any coaches had spoken to him... interestingly he said Bevo was the only coach to sit in on his combine interview.

Perhaps he may fall to our 1st and be too much to pass up.. despite our need for a crafty small forward.. and some outside pace and link up..

Brander can play Fwd&Bck and we all know how much Bevo loves versatile players.

Disagree completey..

Brander may go as early as 2... Fremantle would be very keen on him the more I think about it... the will likely get him at 5.. if not the Pies at 6... otherwise he'll fall in our lap as the Saints will go Midfield types.

As for Naish.. I think Pick 9 is about right and I wont be suprised if we bid dependant on who had fallen off our list to then... either way.. Rich only need P.17 equivalency to match a P.9 bid... they will do that without hesitation.
Brander won't even got top ten IMO

Heard a Brander radio interview during trade week where he was asked if any coaches had spoken to him... interestingly he said Bevo was the only coach to sit in on his combine interview.

Perhaps he may fall to our 1st and be too much to pass up.. despite our need for a crafty small forward.. and some outside pace and link up..

Brander can play Fwd&Bck and we all know how much Bevo loves versatile players.
Surely not now that we grabbed Schache.

So for all you guys -- where does Richards go ?
Is 16 too bigger reach for him ?

Surely not now that we grabbed Schache.
You may be right... personally I'd like a creative small forward or a gun midfielder.. but if the best Key Position is still avail and our other references are taken... I wont be surprised if we take him..

Brander and Fogarty are similar.. both could go any position in Top 10... have a feeling one will slide to us..

After watching lot of You Tube packages if the players.. I would agree with Buckenara's summation of Fogarty being the best player.. he played the U.18 carnival with a knee injury.. if it wasnt for that would be touted clear no.1 imo.. hopefully he is still around at 9

So for all you guys -- where does Richards go ?
Is 16 too bigger reach for him ?

I'd be willing to take him at pick 9, but it would depend on how things fall on draft night. Most have further back, like around that pick 16 mark.

Knightmare's write up on James Worpel makes him sound like the kind of contested ball winner with pace that would improve our midfield.

He's also very down on Brander, says he drops too many easy marks.

Worpel is quite a poor kick and lacks a bit of composure. Generally he just bangs it on the boot without looking. I don't really understand why he has him placed that high.

I can understand why he has Brander so low and why there's a difference of opinion on him though. He's the best player in this draft at his best IMO, but I don't think he always shows up mentally in games which is a concern. He's had some big bags kicked against him, in the champs and even at school level footy. Apparently Nathan Murphy kicked 7 goals playing against him for instance. And up forward in one game I saw him play live, he got an absolute belting by a defender that's listed at 186cm. He had 4 possessions for the game and never looked threatening. There's really no excuse for him to be playing that poorly in games. He hasn't had an injury concerns that I'm aware of either.

I like Petruccelle at 16 he is more of a risk but has plenty of upside. May take a little longer to develop but if we take a more polished player with pick 9 (cofield) then it is very possible

Yeah Petruccelle really looks like a Dalrymple type pick, even if its a reach taking him at 16. Also the name fits the pattern: Bontempelli, Liberatore, Lipinski, Petruccelle

Heres one for the numeroligists... if coffield is available we should take him because
1. His position (Silky half back)
2. His Vic metro number (25)
3. Who did we lose this year with the numbers 2 and 5 at half back?

Just a bit of fate coming towards us if you ask me :)

My new prediction for pick 9 is that Fremantle take Fogarty at 5 and St Kilda take Bonar at 8 or 9, leaving us one of the top current perceived top 7. As for who exactly that is I have no idea, but some are less likely than others.

Davies-Uniacke - I reckon he goes pick 1 but even if not little to no chance to get to us.
Rayner - The other one I don't see having much chance of sliding. Any of the six clubs above us would love him except maybe Brisbane.
Dow - Would have to fall far, past a few likely teams to get to us. But it's possible. Hard to tell, depends how teams like Fremantle, Carlton and North rate him compared to the other pure mids (LDU, Cerra, Brayshaw).
Cerra - Same as with Dow, would have to be passed on by a few, and it all depends how they each rate him compared to the others. He feels like the kind of player who might be the 2nd favourite for a few teams which means if things go right he might get past.
Stephenson - Not a bad chance I reckon, as I feel he has less broad appeal than others (ie. some clubs will like him and others not so much). Still, expect at least one club above us will love him, North probably the biggest chance.
Coffield - Collingwood apparently very into him, as they don't have as much of a need for pure mids as other clubs. Best chance for us would be them taking Brander or Naughton instead but I'd be surprised. Also could see St Kilda taking him. Still, one of the more likely to last.
Brayshaw - Probably the most likely but apparently St Kilda have spent a lot of time on him and are keen. Might not be as keen if a Dow or Cerra lasts to them though.

Even if it's not Fogarty/Bonar getting taken before our pick, plenty of time for someone else to bolt. Pick 9 is starting to feel like a really good spot to be. Will make draft day exciting as we'll just have to wait and see who lasts.

Also who the hell knows this will change heaps by draft day anyway. Some of these might even fall well outside the top ten. Larger point is that pick 9 is starting to look like a good spot to be. I also think 16 is a bit of a sweet spot as well, by the way - there's more than 16 players I'd be happy with.