List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Prospects

My new prediction for pick 9 is that Fremantle take Fogarty at 5 and St Kilda take Bonar at 8 or 9, leaving us one of the top current perceived top 7. As for who exactly that is I have no idea, but some are less likely than others.

Davies-Uniacke - I reckon he goes pick 1 but even if not little to no chance to get to us.
Rayner - The other one I don't see having much chance of sliding. Any of the six clubs above us would love him except maybe Brisbane.
Dow - Would have to fall far, past a few likely teams to get to us. But it's possible. Hard to tell, depends how teams like Fremantle, Carlton and North rate him compared to the other pure mids (LDU, Cerra, Brayshaw).
Cerra - Same as with Dow, would have to be passed on by a few, and it all depends how they each rate him compared to the others. He feels like the kind of player who might be the 2nd favourite for a few teams which means if things go right he might get past.
Stephenson - Not a bad chance I reckon, as I feel he has less broad appeal than others (ie. some clubs will like him and others not so much). Still, expect at least one club above us will love him, North probably the biggest chance.
Coffield - Collingwood apparently very into him, as they don't have as much of a need for pure mids as other clubs. Best chance for us would be them taking Brander or Naughton instead but I'd be surprised. Also could see St Kilda taking him. Still, one of the more likely to last.
Brayshaw - Probably the most likely but apparently St Kilda have spent a lot of time on him and are keen. Might not be as keen if a Dow or Cerra lasts to them though.

Even if it's not Fogarty/Bonar getting taken before our pick, plenty of time for someone else to bolt. Pick 9 is starting to feel like a really good spot to be. Will make draft day exciting as we'll just have to wait and see who lasts.

Also who the hell knows this will change heaps by draft day anyway. Some of these might even fall well outside the top ten. Larger point is that pick 9 is starting to look like a good spot to be. I also think 16 is a bit of a sweet spot as well, by the way - there's more than 16 players I'd be happy with.
If we get one of Fogarty, Coffield, Cerra or Bonar at 9 I’ll b happy. One of 9/16 needs to be a general forward I feel. We have plenty of tall timber up forward, some mids that can go through there but I’d like a specialist forward.

I'd like one too. Fogarty I wouldn't mind at 9 (although many here would disagree). Bonar too, as you said. Also Murphy is a good forward but might move into the midfield, and if we got him at 9 I imagine we'd hope he does. Allen at 16 an option too. Houlahan an option at 16 as a medium forward. Higgins as a small forward. Plenty of chances at a medium-small forward if we want that.

After watching lot of You Tube packages if the players.. I would agree with Buckenara's summation of Fogarty being the best player.. he played the U.18 carnival with a knee injury.. if it wasnt for that would be touted clear no.1 imo.. hopefully he is still around at 9

If we want a Stringer replacement, he looks the package. If that is the case, go for him.

We interviewed him at the combine

We interviewed a lot of players though, Naish just mentioned as one club though to someone.
Just listened to The Drill podcast and Sam Landsberger says the Dogs really like Naish and expects us to make a bid. Didn't state if we would at 9.

Some here rate him the second best

I rate him the third or fourth best

After LDU and Stephenson

Expecting North to either pick Cerra or play it safe with Brayshaw
I rate Cerra the very best. Doubt North will get him though, I feel Stephenson will be available at 4 and there is no way he's getting past North.

Thus why I took Stephenson in our mock

I think North are a real vanillla side, they are crying out for someone like Stephenson.

After watching lot of You Tube packages if the players.. I would agree with Buckenara's summation of Fogarty being the best player.. he played the U.18 carnival with a knee injury.. if it wasnt for that would be touted clear no.1 imo.. hopefully he is still around at 9
Completely disagree. His production is inconsistent at best, and I don't buy the argument that he was poor at the Champs because of his knee injury. He played. If it was hampering him to any great extent he wouldn't have played, simple as that. It's not a good enough excuse for his disappointing performances - it may have been an annoyance but definitely not any major hindrance.

He has mediocre acceleration, little ball-winning ability, average skills and no clear best position. At not one point this year has he shown anything remotely conducive to consistently good production. I rate him as a second round talent, no higher.

Dalrymple will have a plan A,B and C with 9 and 16.
Interesting situation with two teams ahead of us with 2 picks each before us and one team with one early and one pick straight after our pick. There will be a slider or two.

Amartey at our first rookie pick would be awesome
I'm not particularly keen on Amartey or Owens. Both sledged a mate of mine at a basketball game on the weekend, Amartey called him fat, got shut up after he brought up the missed shot. Also know Amartey didn't mind little off-the-ball hits in school footy.

Doesn't sound like much to me. Certainly not enough to pass on someone at a rookie pick.

Yeah, it's not a big thing, I'm just personally slightly dissuaded towards them. Neither are top blokes.

I think you'd work out quickly if they had problems when they are interviewed imo.

As for sledging and having a bit of an off the ball stoush, who hasn't?

We traded away two second round selections and a valuable 2nd round pick in next year's draft for pick 16. I would seriously question what the heck the club was doing if we reached for a guy like Houlihan. That's not smart at all.

Does anyone think we might take Billy Gowers at 25?

Bit of a stretch maybe but I rate him more than Hannan and Long who both went in the 20s

Yeah Petruccelle really looks like a Dalrymple type pick, even if its a reach taking him at 16. Also the name fits the pattern: Bontempelli, Liberatore, Lipinski, Petruccelle

Im pretty wary of players whose main asset is speed and 'have to work on their kicking'

Yeah Petruccelle really looks like a Dalrymple type pick, even if its a reach taking him at 16. Also the name fits the pattern: Bontempelli, Liberatore, Lipinski, Petruccelle
Disagree. Dalrymple has pretty successfully stayed away from the overrated types who have one or two elite athletic traits without any real game sense, especially at early picks. He looks at guys with clear potential and strong improvement through the season, which is different to taking players who are athletically excellent but not footballers. Petruccelle isn't anything like the type of speculative pick Bontempelli was or Macrae was. They finished the season on fire, really showcasing rapid improvement in a semi-elite environment - Petruccelle hasn't shown anything near those levels of production.

We traded away two second round selections and a valuable 2nd round pick in next year's draft for pick 16. I would seriously question what the heck the club was doing if we reached for a guy like Houlihan. That's not smart at all.
Houlahan is a decent general forward, upgrade on Dickson in
an athletic sense and good kick.