List Mgmt. 2017 Draft Prospects

Zaine Cordy, Lewis Young, Marcus Adams say high.

Hi guys. Zaine, you can leave, you were F/S.

Young and Adams are both proably good picks. So thats his exposed form for quality talls in 8 drafts. Its not huge, is it?

Talia and Collins are more of a worry because they were taken relatively early, and Collins looks off the pace. There is still time.

I think he is improving as a drafter over time. pick 9 will be his earliest spent on a tall.

From Cal Twomey's live chat thing, there was a question that Twomey answered but has since been deleted. Anyone see it? He basically threw up the usual names at pick 16, but also mentioned we are interested in Liam Ryan at pick 16. Bit strange.
I'd take him in a heartbeat, I'd also take the punt with Stephenson if he feel to us... Go hard or go home baby!!!!!

Morris won't be around when Naughton is ready for seniors. Young...well we'll see. Still not convinced he or Cordy will play as one of our long-term key defenders. Both have been owned by the good key forwards. Both will probably play a lot of AFL footy for us and the long-term might see Young eventually take over one key post from Trengove and Naughton or Adams filling the other role in two or three years.

I'm not advocating that we should take Naughton. Just saying that I don't think it would be a strange decision to do so, even considering our current list composition. Already having a number of key defenders on the list doesn't mean that any of them will be a high quality 100+ gamer in that position.
Ouch.....

So are we getting Naughton? Him appearing in both late phantoms makes me think that this is nearly locked in.

Naughton is growing on me big time.... There's a shit load to like about him, he's athletically gifted with heaps of improvement ahead of him, heaps of footy nous, super competitive and confident.... Throw in he's a good mark and can play one on one and you have the makings of a very good defender. If Dal calls his name tomorrow I'm claiming him :-)

I am warming to Naughton. You have to go beyond the fact he is excellent aerially, the right height and has a good physique. You have to see that he is very attacking in his approach, he is quick and likes to anticipate, intercept, play on and run. He is like a bigger version of our great cartel of rebounding half backs. In summary, I am saying that if we take him at pick 9 it will be because he is an attacking weapon at CHB.

Twomey now has us passing on Nathan Murphy and taking Higgins at 16, while Matt Balmer still has us taking Murphy with Higgins already gone.

Twomey's late mail draft has us taking Higgins at 16 with Murphy still on the board. I am quite impressed by Higgins but I hope we take Murphy if he is there at that pick. Looks a rare talent to me, I would have thought he would be snapped up before 16, but we'll see.

So are we getting Naughton? Him appearing in both late phantoms makes me think that this is nearly locked in.
How often are the phantoms correct down to #9? Not too often I'd reckon.

IMO there's way too much obsession here with what the commentators are saying.

Yes Naughton's undoubtedly a possibility but I think we could end up with almost any of those rated between about 4 and 20 when Dalrymple gets his turn.

Fletcher Roberts and Collins would be worried by our first pick (id say lock it in now would you all?). Basically tells them they're cooked.

Would we get Naughton at 16 that's the critical question?

How often are the phantoms correct down to #9? Not too often I'd reckon.

IMO there's way too much obsession here with what the commentators are saying.

Yes Naughton's undoubtedly a possibility but I think we could end up with almost any of those rated between about 4 and 20 when Dalrymple gets his turn.

Yeah but when he’s pretty much the one common pick in every phantom and they all seem absolutely convinced that we’ll be taking him it gets you worried

I wouldn't get too caught up in this all anything could happen. Collingwood badly need quality KPD so they could take Naughton at their first.

But does Buckley know this yet ?? Not convinced he does, he hasn't been there long enough to figure it out yet.... ;)

I feel like the bigger meltdown I have about this the more of a gun he'll be (ala Bont and Aish)

SO NO ruddy WAY WE SHOULD GET NAUGHTON TOO MANY TALLS WHY WE NO PICK MIDS AND STEPHENSON!! GRRRR!!

He is already playing senior WAFL and playing damn well. Naughton looks like a gun. If Collingwood pass him up it is going to pretty funny when they are leaking like a sieve down back.
But does Buckley know this yet ?? Not convinced he does, he hasn't been there long enough to figure it out yet.... ;)
There has to be some sort of secret agent trying to bring that club down from within lol

Maybe Collingwood will get us one back for "stealing" Bontempelli & take Naughton before us

Would make me curious who we'd have next in line, Higgins at 16 would be a bargain & I am no big Higgins fan

My real issue with Naughton is that for someone who will only make the grade as an attacking KPD (in my opinion), he is so, so haphazard as a ball user.

Naughton has really underwhelmed me with his one-on-one capacity at the Champs. I cannot see him becoming a lockdown defender of any sort at AFL level. That's fine - intercept-marking talls are absolutely welcome in today's game - but when he has these major deficiencies in his attacking play in that he is a poor distributor and not someone who runs with the ball, I see his ceiling being lowered quite significantly.

With this being said, if we take Naughton I would not be surprised if he becomes a successful player for us in the long run. He's acquitted himself well to WAFL footy and has solid athletic traits in addition to elite overhead marking capacity which should hold him in good stead at AFL level. Taking him at 9, however, would be to overlook so many likely prospects who have greater ceilings and would add so much more to our team that we lack. Naughton's role is not a role which we need filled.

sooo... less than 24 hours to go.

A few days of melts, (shock, anger, denial) then some gloomy reflection (guilt, sorrow & depression) then some analysis of video clips, interviews and stories about the new recruits (acceptance, engagement).

So after a week of that, what'll we do next? Maybe watch a bit of cricket?

Maybe watch a bit of cricket?
giphy.gif

Maybe Collingwood will get us one back for "stealing" Bontempelli & take Naughton before us

Would make me curious who we'd have next in line, Higgins at 16 would be a bargain & I am no big Higgins fan
This is very dependent on who else is available at that point, as well as our list structure and Higgins' fit into that. I think, pre-emptively, Higgins will underwhelm both of those categories. I'd consider Murphy, Bailey, Stoddart, Richards and Fogarty all as chances to be available at 16, and to take Higgins over them would be a mistake, I believe. Additionally, Higgins is a type of player which adds very little to our team which we need. He is a slow, goalkicking ball-winner who is undersized. Goalkicking is an issue for us but this is primarily because we lack outside speed to deliver into our forward line constantly and effectively. Higgins doesn't solve this, and his defensive pressure inside 50 isn't a key strength of his.

While I back Dal over myself, Naughton and Higgins would make me sick (until they start ripping it up obviously).

Higgins is short, we're well-stocked for KPPs and there are players available at our picks that address our glaring needs. Naughton and Higgins nooooo.