2017 Draft rumours

Let it go. It's just a bit of banter mate.

Oh so when banter is given back it’s all too serious.

Bottom line is that questions are still given about what have Fremantle as a club contributed to WA. It’s status as a club was given on back of WC success, which it hasn’t gotten close to matching. No flags, only heartache to 66% of ur supporters, who supported wce beforehand.

Ha-ha lets see who can handle the banter.

It's probably not a great sign off the bat that he's following Carlton and it's senior players on Twitter. Doesn't really scream "I am a professional who is ready to play anywhere" to me.
Instagram. Can you blame him? who would want to go all the way to Bisbane or Freo when you can stay in Melb with family & friends?? Cam Polson is the only Carlton player he is following.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

LDU is covering all bases. He had his team trade his man Hodgy to Brisbane. Also made his mum buy a house up there.

He also made Freo draft Blakely 2 years ago as a future surfing buddy.

And he made Carlton send his Peninsula mate Weitering down to mentor him all this year.
That kid's a ****en Nostradamus

Bottom line is that questions are still given about what have Fremantle as a club contributed to WA. It’s status as a club was given on back of WC success, which it hasn’t gotten close to matching. No flags, only heartache to 66% of ur supporters, who supported wce beforehand.

Fremantle contributed half your premiership sides in 92 and 94 so put a cork in it....anyway I have no rumours, but enjoy reading the thread.

Just over a fortnight to go then we will all be out of our misery.

Nah. The recruiters will pick guys we haven't heard of and we'll be convinced our 3 minute video knowledge is superior to their knowledge and thus our misery will be increased

Stick to the topic Susan.

I got no rumours, but I desperately hope Cerra manages to slip to #5. Not liking the chances though.

On SM-G955F using BigFooty.com mobile app

For the good of the Brisbane Lions I hope they don’t select Rayner because I genuinely have no doubt whatsoever he’ll be out at the earliest opportunity. Neither he nor LFogarty the Western Jets are interested in moving interstate.

I think we just have to back ourselves in and select the best player. If that is Rayner then we select him. The reality is Schache was quite keen on moving to Brisbane but once up here couldn't handle being away from home. You never know how the players will settle once they arrive at the club. Rayner may have a strong preference to remain in Vic but what if once he gets to Brisbane he really enjoys the weather/lifestyle, gets along with all the boys and finds himself a Brisbane based girlfriend? All of a sudden life is looking good in Brisbane and he wants to stay here. We'd be kicking ourselves if we drafted a lesser talent because they appeared to be a lesser go home risk and they ended up requesting a trade after 2 years anyway.

You'd be kicking yourself even harder if he leaves after the signs were there..

Exactly. Brisbane can be forgiven for Schache as Schache said all the right things about wanting to stay in Brisbane if he was drafted there, but Rayner is a very different story, as Brisbane will only have themselves to blame when he leaves, because he will leave.

SOunds like he is trying to manipulate the draft by implying to recruiters that he is going to be back in Melbourne at the earliest opportunity if they draft him. In all honesty I wish players like that were ineligible for the draft entirely.

On a more realistic note. Brisbane would be nuts to draft him.

I've seen you post similar things a few times now, and I'm not sure where you're getting your intel from but I can categorically say this is not true.

Sure, Rayner has said he would prefer to stay in Melbourne all things being equal. Spoiler - every top prospect this year would have said something similar. Who's first preference would be to move away from friends and family at 18?

But of all of the kids who have some hesitations moving away, I firmly believe that Rayner is one of the least to worry about. He's a very confident, surprisingly mature kid who is ready to take on any challenge, and has assured the Lions that he would give it everything he has if they take him.

Will he fit in and stay up here? It's impossible to know until it actually happens. Up until now, moving interstate is just an abstract concept for these kids. Perfect proof is that we took Sam Mayes in the top 10 in 2012, who out of all of the top draftees we've taken in recent years was the most nervous, apprehensive, and reluctant about the move. Yet he's the one who's ended up sticking around.

I can assure you that Rayner has given absolutely no indications that he would look to go back as soon as possible if drafted, and instead has actually suggested the opposite. Like other Paul Connors clients, he would be a very good chance of signing a two year extension off the bat to give it a proper go.

The one reason I have complete confidence drafting Rayner (if we go that way) is his personality. Schache was very quiet and always so unsure of himself. He had very little passion or conviction in his personality. Not a lot of grit. Probably the most naturally talented footballer we've drafted in years, but ultimately it didn't work out for him on or off field because of that lack of intensity and resolve. James Aish was largely the same. Rayner is the polar opposite of that - I completely believe that he has the conviction and passion to succeed up here.

Trust me, there is nobody in the country more aware and frustrated by our retention problems than the club's recruiting team. It's probably their greatest professional struggle. Can you imagine how many meetings, reviews, and analyses the Lions would have done in recent years about this? It's been the greatest problem threatening the club's long term future, they are so comprehensively across every facet of it at this stage.

If we do decide to take Rayner at pick 1, I would have enormous confidence that he was a good chance at sticking around.

Well for a start, unlike WCE, we haven't had to be bailed out by taxpayers money from the state government.

I've seen you post similar things a few times now, and I'm not sure where you're getting your intel from but I can categorically say this is not true.

Sure, Rayner has said he would prefer to stay in Melbourne all things being equal. Spoiler - every top prospect this year would have said something similar. Who's first preference would be to move away from friends and family at 18?

But of all of the kids who have some hesitations moving away, I firmly believe that Rayner is one of the least to worry about. He's a very confident, surprisingly mature kid who is ready to take on any challenge, and has assured the Lions that he would give it everything he has if they take him.

Will he fit in and stay up here? Who knows - you can only ever figure these things out when they happen. Up until now, moving interstate is just an abstract concept for these kids. Perfect proof is that we took Sam Mayes in the top 10 in 2012, who out of all of the top draftees we've taken in recent years was the most nervous, apprehensive, and reluctant about the move. Yet he's the one who's ended up sticking around.

I can assure you that Rayner has given absolutely no implications that he would look to go back as soon as possible if drafted, and instead has actually suggested the opposite. Like other Paul Connors clients, he would be a very good chance of signing a two year extension off the bat to give it a proper go.

The one reason I have complete confidence drafting Rayner (if we go that way) is his personality. Schache was very quiet and always so unsure of himself. He had very little passion or conviction in his personality. Not a lot of grit. Probably the most naturally talented footballer we've drafted in years, but ultimately it didn't work out for him on or off field because of that lack of intensity and resolve. James Aish was largely the same. Rayner is the polar opposite of that - I completely believe that he has the conviction and passion to succeed up here.

Trust me, there is nobody in the country more aware and frustrated by our retention problems than the club's recruiting team. It's probably their greatest professional struggle. Can you imagine how many meetings, reviews, and analyses the Lions would have done in recent years about this? It's been the greatest problem threatening the club's long term future, they are so comprehensively across every facet of it at this stage.

If we do decide to take Rayner at pick 1, I would have enormous confidence that he was a good chance at sticking around.

But..but instagram and twitter says Carlton fans

We are only stating the facts. He has followed the Blues on Instagram.. No other club (apart from the club he barracks for *) he is also also atively following by liking some of their posts. Makes you wonder. They all have to be seen saying the right things, doesn't guarantee he means what he says.

Lace out get rid of that sent from using Tapatalk crap please.

while we are one players following clubs on Insta, Twitter etc...Ryley Stoddart follows WCE and liked several WCE posts....
He has also liked some of my posts over the year so yeah not sure that means much :p

In reference to this I think:

http://www.watoday.com.au/afl/frema...h-two-topten-draft-picks-20171108-gzhqna.html

I feel like gouging my eyes out after reading one of these Haggers articles.

I wouldn't pick Naughton at 5 if i was Freo...no one seems to rate him quite that high so it would be a reach just because he's from WA AND they chose Logue with pick 9 last year.

I don't think picking 2 KPD's in 2 consecutive years with top 10 picks is a great list management decision.

Will he fit in and stay up here? It's impossible to know until it actually happens. Up until now, moving interstate is just an abstract concept for these kids. Perfect proof is that we took Sam Mayes in the top 10 in 2012, who out of all of the top draftees we've taken in recent years was the most nervous, apprehensive, and reluctant about the move. Yet he's the one who's ended up sticking around.

I can assure you that Rayner has given absolutely no indications that he would look to go back as soon as possible if drafted, and instead has actually suggested the opposite. Like other Paul Connors clients, he would be a very good chance of signing a two year extension off the bat to give it a proper go.

I hope you do take Rayner because i want Carlton to draft a pure midfielder and all the options are exactly that in Dow/LDU/Cerra. I'd be happy with any of those 3 to build our midfield.

I reckon Brisbane's midfield is in pretty good shape with quite a lot of older (but not too old) blokes you can still play high level footy and a bunch of young up and coming mids already...plus you can add more with your multiple picks around 20. Rayner would be a good fit for your list in terms of the type of player he is as a forward with X-factor and his competitive, outgoing personality.

I wouldn't pick Naughton at 5 if i was Freo...no one seems to rate him quite that high so it would be a reach just because he's from WA AND they chose Logue with pick 9 last year.

I don't think picking 2 KPD's in 2 consecutive years with top 10 picks is a great list management decision.

Agree, I definitely wouldn’t want him at 5 if I was a freo fan. I am hoping though that a few talls like Naughton go early so that there is more midfielders at our pick 13.

Seriously mate, calm down. It's a draft rumours forum. You don't need to be this triggered.

As for draft rumours, I read that former Eagle Mitch Brown is nominating for the draft. Still hard to believe he's still only 28. No idea if anyone is interested though.

I highly doubt the most profitable club in Australia was bailed out with taxpayer money
You probably aren't old enough or are too delusional to know what a basket case your club was when you first joined the Afl even with all the ludicrously generous concessions you were given.

You sure you’re not getting confused with your own club there buddy?

WC’s first 6 years produced 4 top 4 H&A finishes and a premiership.

Should we take a look at Freo’s first 6 years results, with their generous concessions they were given?