2017 Draft thread

A Carlton poster on the D&T board in the "2017 draft rumours" thread has stated that we are expressing interest in Jack Petrucelle. He also said GWS are into him with one of their second round picks but it is highly unlikely he slips past one of our picks in the teens. This isn't the first time it has been said that we are interested in Petrucelle. Perhaps Fagan has requested we add some genuinely fast, line breaking players this off season because Petrucelle is just as fast as Charlie Cameron/Jason Johannisen. More than likely in the mix for our pick 18 selection.
A lot of players test fast at combines etc but don't seem to be able to transfer that to game day. I've had a look at a few of his video packages over the last 24 hours and he has serious pace and he uses it well in game day situations, can take a really good mark and his kicking while not elite is quite good.

I would probably rather Zac Bailey or Lachlan Fogarty at 18 but wouldn't be disappointed with Petruccelle.

If we took Rayner, Bonar and Petruccelle that would be some definite game breaker type players to add to our list.

Anyone else not sold on Bonar?

Seems to be shooting up the draft boards solely due to surname puns and the unknown factor. Ignoring the fact that the unknown factor is because he's already done an ACL... And we aren't renowned as having the best medical facilities in the league.

Has all the hallmarks for mine of a bigfooty bolter who ends up going in the 30s.

So correct me if I'm wrong but we have 6 senior list spots and 4 rookie list spots to fill?

Pick 1 from the outside looks to have become 2 horse race with Rayner seemingly leading LDU. (Those 'in the know' may say otherwise of course!)

Picks 15 looks to be a case of hoping a good midfielder slides with one of Clark, Constable, Bonar, Higgins being a chance seemingly. If a tall such as Brander or Oscar Allan as available that would be interesting. I'm a big fan of Oscar Allan personally.

Pick 18 is hopefully not required to match a Ballenden bid (doesn't look likely) so this will be our most interesting pick in a way. We might 'reach' for a Lachie Fogerty or Petrocelle or we might hope that another Midfielder slips.

After that is just a case of matching bids for Ballenden and Payne, and then seeing what our last pick is once we match academy bids.

If Ballenden is bid on late enough that 40 largely covers him with the discount, 44 might remain somewhere in that region and be enough to snare the likes of a James Worpel.

Rookie picks would be great for the likes of Sambono, Lachie Harris, Oskar Baker and perhaps Hamish Brayshaw.

So correct me if I'm wrong but we have 6 senior list spots and 4 rookie list spots to fill?

Pick 1 from the outside looks to have become 2 horse race with Rayner seemingly leading LDU. (Those 'in the know' may say otherwise of course!)

Picks 15 looks to be a case of hoping a good midfielder slides with one of Clark, Constable, Bonar, Higgins being a chance seemingly. If a tall such as Brander or Oscar Allan as available that would be interesting. I'm a big fan of Oscar Allan personally.

Pick 18 is hopefully not required to match a Ballenden bid (doesn't look likely) so this will be our most interesting pick in a way. We might 'reach' for a Lachie Fogerty or Petrocelle or we might hope that another Midfielder slips.

After that is just a case of matching bids for Ballenden and Payne, and then seeing what our last pick is once we match academy bids.

If Ballenden is bid on late enough that 40 largely covers him with the discount, 44 might remain somewhere in that region and be enough to snare the likes of a James Worpel.

Rookie picks would be great for the likes of Sambono, Lachie Harris, Oskar Baker and perhaps Hamish Brayshaw.
Mmmmmmmm Hamish Brayshaw is an interesting proposition...... opportunities to make his mark in the footy world away from his more fancied bros......don't know much about him n Afl.com have not listed us as clubs speaking to him. Young Lambert also looked accomplished in a game playing against our Neafl team. Worth a thought.

I think you're probably wrong with rookie spots. Eagles was an extra Cat B rookie, and there has been no indication that we will allowed an extra Cat B 2 years running. So likely 7 rookies, not 8. We have already committed to 4 rookies and also indicated that we are likely to redraft Claye Beams (Cat A) and Cian Hanley (Cat B). That only leaves one Cat B rookie spot... which could go to Oskar Baker as Queensland zone if not drafted (seems unlikely), but noone else that you mention as they would all be Cat A.

I also like Oscar Allan at 15 if he survives, as he has the versatility to play forward and also swing into the midfield. Would be great if we could get somone like Worpel or Miers with 2nd last pick and use last pick on Payne.

Sorry for intruding dudes but I'm building my draft at the moment and was wondering if Jack Payne had been committed to at your last live pick because I can't find any sources and I thought somebody would know. Thanks heaps to anyone who knows

We have nominated him, so he'll undergo the same bidding process like everyone else. I'm sure we'll take him with our last pick if he hasn't been bid on by that stage. Will be interesting though if a bid comes much earlier than we expected.

Conversely ... "Dad has missed only one game since his son moved to Melbourne – last year's under-17 NAB AFL All Stars game at Punt Road Oval. O'Brien knew how much it hurt his dad to miss the game, so in the warm-up on the ground had his iPhone headphones in and pretended to be listening to music. Instead, he gave Jason a call to say he was in the centre circle and looking forward to the game. He went on to kick two goals from 20 disposals in a bright display. "I broke down crying. It was really thoughtful," Jason said."

I was only joking but considering his dad pushed him to go to boarding school to help him succeed I doubt his father would stand in the way of him being taken by an interstate club to succeed. Based on that article you'd think Sydney has some interest. I'm sure he's just a proud pa who wants to watch his son play footy.

Nightmares phantom is up.
Has us taking Dow at 1, Clark at 15 and L. Fogarty at 18. Interesting, as I thought it was pretty much out of Rayner and LDU for pick 1.
Interesting times ahead
I would be pretty happy with that draft haul but yeah I thought it was down to LDU and Rayner as well. Personally I would actually prefer LDU myself.

Has us taking Dow at 1, Clark at 15 and L. Fogarty at 18. Interesting, as I thought it was pretty much out of Rayner and LDU for pick 1.
Interesting times ahead

Knightmare's phantom isn't the same thing as what is likely to happen.

Yeah I know that mate, but from what I've heard (simply talk on bigfooty, no inside word etc.), Dow wasn't really in the conversation anymore. Just thought it was interesting that he still has us taking him at 1. Fully expect the order to change before draft night though. Would love to pick up Clark at 15.

I don't think Knightmare has access to much inside word in his mocks, so it's purely his opinion on either what he thinks clubs should do or what he guesses clubs might do. They can be useful as a window in his opinion but I wouldn't use it to draw much of a bead on what's likely to happen. Twomey's effort tends to be more insider based as an alternate data point, for example.

Knightmare does great work but there is still so much movement to happen. Someone posted a link to his phantom two weeks out last year on the D & T board. From 40 picks 5 players went to the team he chose. Also 3 of those were academy players that went to their academy team.

I don't think Knightmare has access to much inside word in his mocks, so it's purely his opinion on either what he thinks clubs should do or what he guesses clubs might do. They can be useful as a window in his opinion but I wouldn't use it to draw much of a bead on what's likely to happen. Twomey's effort tends to be more insider based as an alternate data point, for example.

Definitely. He actually made a post about this today.

Interesting times ahead
Haven’t had a chance to look, and no disrespect to Knightmare, but I believe he’s been surpassed by Bishop.

Bishop does appear to get a fair bit of inside information from various clubs and players.

From AFL Draft Central Whispers article;

BRISBANE

Most people agree that the Brisbane Lions have made their decision on the number one selection. But just who it will be is the million dollar question? Majority of the talk for a few months is that it will likely be Vic Country midfielder Luke Davies-Uniacke, but talk from some continue to suggest that Cameron Rayner’s name can’t be ruled though. The Lions have shown in the past that they will prefer to take Vic Country players which means Paddy Dow will remain the conversation – but the feeling is that it’s most likely ‘LDU’. Brisbane Lions coach Chris Fagan is a big fan of Andrew Brayshaw and whether the Lions recruiters have a similar taste remains to be seen. Regardless of the Lions choice at No.1 – Charlie Constable is the player most likely to be selected at Pick 15. The strong bodied inside midfielder averaged 26 disposals and five marks for Vic Metro in the NAB AFL Under 18 Championships. Constable is school mates with Brayshaw & Davies-Uniacke – and would fit in well if they link up at the Lions. Western Jets midfielder Lachlan Fogarty is another name the Lions have shown interest in and he could be selected at Pick 15 or Pick 18. As a rookie selection, the Lions have been linked with Box Hill Hawks’ Sam Switkowski. The Lions will also likely match a bid from Jack Payne in the third or fourth round.

Ah OK thanks mate. Have always given a lot of credence to Knightmare's phantom, as I thought that he had a fair bit of inside info, but will look forward to seeing Twomey's draft.

Haven’t had a chance to look, and no disrespect to Knightmare, but I believe he’s been surpassed by Bishop.

Bishop does appear to get a fair bit of inside information from various clubs and players.

His quality re: Brisbane seems to be hit or miss though.

In general the phantom draft board (including KM) is useful for getting an idea about the various players and their strengths, weaknesses, and a wide range of where they might go, but their pick to player predictions are not very predictive.

From AFL Draft Central Whispers article;

BRISBANE

Most people agree that the Brisbane Lions have made their decision on the number one selection. But just who it will be is the million dollar question? Majority of the talk for a few months is that it will likely be Vic Country midfielder Luke Davies-Uniacke, but talk from some continue to suggest that Cameron Rayner’s name can’t be ruled though. The Lions have shown in the past that they will prefer to take Vic Country players which means Paddy Dow will remain the conversation – but the feeling is that it’s most likely ‘LDU’. Brisbane Lions coach Chris Fagan is a big fan of Andrew Brayshaw and whether the Lions recruiters have a similar taste remains to be seen. Regardless of the Lions choice at No.1 – Charlie Constable is the player most likely to be selected at Pick 15. The strong bodied inside midfielder averaged 26 disposals and five marks for Vic Metro in the NAB AFL Under 18 Championships. Constable is school mates with Brayshaw & Davies-Uniacke – and would fit in well if they link up at the Lions. Western Jets midfielder Lachlan Fogarty is another name the Lions have shown interest in and he could be selected at Pick 15 or Pick 18. As a rookie selection, the Lions have been linked with Box Hill Hawks’ Sam Switkowski. The Lions will also likely match a bid from Jack Payne in the third or fourth round.
Do we know who the author is?

2017 Draft thread