2017 Draft thread

Fair enough. Pre-listed international players are due by this Friday 2pm, so that should clear it up, though it seems like I'm the only one with any doubts. It's a bummer if he has to be cat A. Really makes pick 52 redundant.

Not really. Pick 52 would still be live if Ballenden is bid on before or at pick 25, as our replacement pick for giving up 40 and 44 will drop further back than pick 52.

Found this article from August, quoting the relevant bit. (Not sure if it has been quoted before, apologies if so):

"Two youngsters from Donegal GAA, Jason McGee and Eoghan “Ban” Gallagher have taken a trip to Australia to trial for the Brisbane Lions. The Lions have taken a chance on top-level Gaelic talent before, most notably with the Hanley brothers, Pearce and Cian, the latter of whom is still on the team’s international rookie list (Pearce was traded to the Gold Coast Suns last offseason). Although Cian Hanley’s AFL career has been marred by injuries thus far, he could be a catalyst at the club to see if Gallagher and McGee could make the transition to Aussie rules.

For full article: http://www.worldfootynews.com/article.php/20170823212543604
Does suggest that we might already have Cian Hanley down as Cat A, given we can only have one Irish player as Cat B

From what I’ve seen, he’s got a decent all round game. He can win the footy in tight, his kicking and decision making are reasonable, he can take a grab and he’s known as a leader. Maybe there’s a knock on his athleticism or endurance that I’m not aware of or maybe he just lacks a defining attribute?

I actually get a Berry vibe from him, both in terms of playing style and attitude.

I'm biased as I've had some dealings with Joel at TAC level, but it is most likely his lack of one defining attribute. But as a young man and footballer, he can't be faulted. Old head on young shoulders and deserves every accolade he's earned so far and should carve an excellent AFL career for himself.

Keep an eye out for his younger brother, Todd, as well!

Not really. Pick 52 would still be live if Ballenden is bid on before or at pick 25, as our replacement pick for giving up 40 and 44 will drop further back than pick 52.
Sure, but not necessarily live if Ballenden bid on later than 25, which seems more likely to me. Ideally we should have the same number of picks as list spots, but I guess it covers a range of possibilities. It's possible that the decision on Claye Beams and/or Cian Hanley hasn't been finally made and depends on what happens with who is available later in the draft and how we rate them.

To be honest it's hard to get too concerned about potentially having to pass on pick 52 or later in a consensus shallow draft, as demonstrated by just about all clubs bar West Coast trying to trade out of it. :)

While I'm sure there will be good players taken after that pick, the odds are strongly against it.

Sure, but not necessarily live if Ballenden bid on later than 25, which seems more likely to me. Ideally we should have the same number of picks as list spots, but I guess it covers a range of possibilities. It's possible that the decision on Claye Beams and/or Cian Hanley hasn't been finally made and depends on what happens with who is available later in the draft and how we rate them.
I'm not sure I am following your line of thinking.

We are taking the same number of picks to the draft as we have list spots. 6.

But I am not sure the club is planning to draft 6 players at the national draft. As another poster mentioned before in a reply to Nunez, my guess is the club drafts 5 players and passes on our sixth pick, dropping out of the draft. What this does is make an extra rookie list spot available and create flexibility going in the next years offseason, trade and draft period.

There has been a bit of speculation and discussion on the trade and draft board that quite a few clubs will pass on later picks, running with shorter senior lists to create cap and draft flexibility next year.

Also in regards to Eagles rookie status.
The Lions inserted legitimacy into Eagles' extraordinary AFL journey on Friday when they revealed they were retaining 2016's The Recruit winner on their rookie list for next year.

He will remain a category B rookie, but his advanced age – he turns 28 in February – suggests coach Chris Fagan believes he can make a senior impact next year, possibly alongside Harris Andrews.

http://www.lions.com.au/news/2017-10-27/eagles-journey-continues

I'm not sure I am following your line of thinking.

We are taking the same number of picks to the draft as we have list spots. 6.

At the moment we have three Cat A rookies - Hinge, McInerney and Barrett. We have also indicated we'll re-draft Hanley and Beams, both of whom it's suspected will end up as Cat A rookies as result. That means we've effectively already reserved five Cat A rookie spots. That means we will have to leave the ND with only 39 senior listed players, and in order to do that we have to pass on a live pick next Friday. Otherwise we'd have 40 senior listed players and therefore only four Cat A rookie spots.

As a result that pick isn't really "live" under the normal sense, because we won't be able to use it without changing our previously expressed plans (which is also possible though probably unlikely) and passing on either Beams or Hanley.

At the moment we have three Cat A rookies - Hinge, McInerney and Barrett. We have also indicated we'll re-draft Hanley and Beams, both of whom it's suspected will end up as Cat A rookies as result. That means we've effectively already reserved five Cat A rookie spots. That means we will have to leave the ND with only 39 senior listed players, and in order to do that we have to pass on a live pick next Friday. Otherwise we'd have 40 senior listed players and therefore only four Cat A rookie spots.

As a result that pick isn't really "live" under the normal sense, because we won't be able to use it without changing our previously expressed plans (which is also possible though probably unlikely) and passing on either Beams or Hanley.

The way I figured things was we only intended to draft 5 players at the ND, but needed 6 picks, in particular the three latter picks, to cover the possibility of Ballenden being bid on just after pick 17, so we have enough points to match bids on both Ballenden and Payne.

From what I’ve seen, he’s got a decent all round game. He can win the footy in tight, his kicking and decision making are reasonable, he can take a grab and he’s known as a leader. Maybe there’s a knock on his athleticism or endurance that I’m not aware of or maybe he just lacks a defining attribute?

I actually get a Berry vibe from him, both in terms of playing style and attitude.
I'm a huge fan of Berry mate, so IMO any comparison to him is a good one. We need more of these type of blokes around the club. Thanks for the reply. I'll have to take a greater look at his highlights and videos.

I'm biased as I've had some dealings with Joel at TAC level, but it is most likely his lack of one defining attribute. But as a young man and footballer, he can't be faulted. Old head on young shoulders and deserves every accolade he's earned so far and should carve an excellent AFL career for himself.

Keep an eye out for his younger brother, Todd, as well!

Cheers for that.

The "lack of one defining attribute" goes into the basket with "lacks X factor", "vanilla" or "low impact per possession" - if that's the only thing wrong with a player, then I reckon the player will be OK. If someone is skilled enough, tough enough, smart enough, quick enough and fit enough, then you take them.

After being down a bit on this draft I'm finding it one of the more interesting based on the evenness from about pick 8 to pick 30. While the top-end talent isn't as strong, us having pick 15 & 18 is a good position to be in.

I know I will be howled down here but what IF Payne is bid on before Ballenden. Big quality defenders are hard to find. Guys like Balta, Naughton, Brander probably are all fine defenders but Payne is someone I see as capable playing on the Giant forwards in the future........if they will still exist in the future. Teams like Geelong with Lonegan and Talor about to retire.....Sydney Grundy about to retire....Freemantle thingamajig retired and Bulldogs perennially looking for a big bod down back .....not to mention Adelaide looking for revenge and the Suns ??????????????????. Will we match? I hope so. A case of drafting for needs rather than best available.

I really like the look of Zac Bailey and Lachlan Fogarty, will be an interesting decision if both are available at pick 15 and/or 18.

I'm leaning slightly towards Bailey.

There's a lot to like about Bailey. Has really good breakaway pace, excellent evasion skills , tackles hard and often and seems to be adept with his handballing in traffic.

The main concern I would have is with his field kicking which is almost invariably slow, high and loopy. Because it lacks in penetration, the target player looks like he is always under pressure

Once again, opinion gleaned solely from highlight vids and packages.

I know I will be howled down here but what IF Payne is bid on before Ballenden. Big quality defenders are hard to find. Guys like Balta, Naughton, Brander probably are all fine defenders but Payne is someone I see as capable playing on the Giant forwards in the future........if they will still exist in the future. Teams like Geelong with Lonegan and Talor about to retire.....Sydney Grundy about to retire....Freemantle thingamajig retired and Bulldogs perennially looking for a big bod down back .....not to mention Adelaide looking for revenge and the Suns ??????????????????. Will we match? I hope so. A case of drafting for needs rather than best available.
Ballenden bid 29 or later, Payne bid 38 or later (if at all) is my prediction. Very clear that you are Payne's No 1 supporter though and I hope he turns out to be the giant defender you see him becoming.

There's a lot to like about Bailey. Has really good breakaway pace, excellent evasion skills , tackles hard and often and seems to be adept with his handballing in traffic.

The main concern I would have is with his field kicking which is almost invariably slow, high and loopy. Because it lacks in penetration, the target player looks like he is always under pressure

Once again, opinioin gleaned solely from highlight vids and packages.

I think that is a very coachable thing (field kicking). I look at Allison who was thought to only have the long bomb in his kit nail some strong bullet passes and that is only in year 1 of his career. I think there's a lot more to it than just getting signed etc, but that is a pretty good fault to have if it's your only fault.

2017 Draft thread