2017 Draft thread

QLD time table.

Combine & Draft show on Fox Sports at 4:30pm. Seriously not worth watching once they start talking their mock draft.

Draft show starts at 5:30pm. Actual draft starts at 6pm. Not sure if Gil will dribble on for 10 minutes to begin the draft.
So a whole lot of bullshit until about 5:45. I've got foxtel,but might head down to the Lions club at Springwood with a mate to watch. Can't think of anywhere else that's likely to be playing it.

So assuming that all rumours and phantoms are on the mark and we do take Rayner, does anybody know what his speed and agility are like? Will he be able to break through packs and a win a final in his first year?

Those qualities are very important to our footy team right now. Let's hope the recruiters get it right this time.
You're not as subtle as you think you are

Is the draft on FTA in qld?
No. Foxfooty, Foxtel Now, AFL Live Pass. They're your options.

If you don't have any of them, SEN radio from your computer/phone (any internet radio app will do) and follow along on the draft machine online. The draft machine usually runs 5 seconds in front of SEN though, so you often find out the pick before the audio stream announces it.

Draft start time 6pm Brisbane time. Gil will start it 2-3 minutes late to make sure everyone's watching, and then talk for 5 minutes, so call it 6:10-6:15 when number 1 will be announced.

No. Foxfooty, Foxtel Now, AFL Live Pass. They're your options.

If you don't have any of them, SEN radio from your computer/phone (any internet radio app will do) and follow along on the draft machine online. The draft machine usually runs 5 seconds in front of SEN though, so you often find out the pick before the audio stream announces it.

Draft start time 6pm Brisbane time. Gil will start it 2-3 minutes late to make sure everyone's watching, and then talk for 5 minutes, so call it 6:10-6:15 when number 1 will be announced.
And the first round takes forever.

His last one had Clark at 15 which was always a pipe dream.

I'd take Starcevich at 45. No idea about Ainswerth but Starcevich looks quality. Or Balta who looks a better option to Payne.

Super slide for Balta but a lot of posters are saying he has attitude issues. Quite a few of those guys who could be in that range interest: Worpel, Garner, Petrucelle, Miers. Maybe even Constable? Would be worth a crack then, regardless of how slow he is.

And the first round takes forever.
True dat.

Of course, we actually care what happens in the first round. It's not like our first pick is in the 40s.

I tend to find though, that clubs will generally ask for the extra 2 mins at their 2nd pick, not their first. Logically, with the first pick, it's just the top name remaining on your list. With the second pick, it's combining that info with who you got at your first pick, so there's more thinking there.

The logic, of course, being that clubs take ages because they get the attention during that window. Which I don't think works as well in AFL as it does in something like the NFL or NBA, where there's a long gap, and they do talk about the team. Here, they tend to review the last pick instead, so effectively, they're giving airtime to other teams when they stall.

Super slide for Balta but a lot of posters are saying he has attitude issues. Quite a few of those guys who could be in that range interest: Worpel, Garner, Petrucelle, Miers. Maybe even Constable? Would be worth a crack then, regardless of how slow he is.

Really hoping we still have a pick in the early or mid 40s. Like you say there's a few worth a punt being discussed as available in that range of picks.

Where Ballenden goes and who, if anyone, we are able to take after that may end up being where the surprises come for Lions supporters tonight.

http://www.espn.com.au/afl/story/_/...every-round-knightmare-full-afl-phantom-draft

Knightmare's final draft is out and one more phantom that has us picking Rayner, Fogarty and Bailey. Our first non academy 3rd round pick should be an interesting one.
I find Knightmare's phantom draft interesting. That his first two rounds are very similar to the main phantom drafters.

He goes to great pains to say he doesn't read other draft columnists, etc. And during the season his rankings can at times vary significantly from others (Twomey, Anderson, Balmer, etc), but then come back inline at the next monthly update. He does get a fair amount of props from others with his player assessments, and willing to stick to his opinions and player ratings. I'm not sure how much he talks to recruiters and clubs, compared to others. It's commonly mentioned that Balmer and the AFL Draft Central team see more games and players out of all the media and "amateur" draft followers.

I actually really like the Noah Answerth selection. He is my late smokey hope if Worpel is gone with our late pick. I have Answerth down as my next selection for North in the Lions board phantom draft.

His last one had Clark at 15 which was always a pipe dream.

I'd take Starcevich at 45. No idea about Ainswerth but Starcevich looks quality. Or Balta who looks a better option to Payne.

Answerth got a fair amount of attention for the back half of his under age season last year. HBF that people thought would eventually move in to the midfield. Very fast. Injured in his second game this year and was out for the season. Has been back in training for two months I believe.

Another small backman would probably strike a good balance with the other picks. 2 forward/mids to develop into midfielders, a raw, explosive midfielder, a key forward/second ruck, a key back and a rebounding back but at that pick you probably just go best available or take a bit of a risk on someone who might not have shown much but has potential.

our draft wouldn't be complete without us taking a highly rate underager who dropped due to injury in his draft year. Seems to be our mo

Reckon Fogarty goes to Sydney.

Yeah, they seem pretty interested, Longmire had him round to his place this week so you'd think that would be a fair indication he's high on their list. Would be just our luck to have the guy we want go one pick before we can get him. I guess with this draft being so open you never know though. I'm hoping he gets to us. I want the Raygarty combo now.

2017 Draft thread