2017 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

If Schache leaves do we take the potentially best KPF in Brander or take Ballenden? Both maybe?

A Hipwood, Brander and ruck-forward of Ballenden would be amazing but I have a feeling the way footy is going that teams won't be able to carry 3 talls in the forward lines... even 2 these days is slowly being phased out possibly?
Sorry to intrude. Imo you guys should be grabbing Fogarty ahead of Brander and going with Ballenden. Fogarty has the size and skill to be a Stringer type forward/mid which is perfect for a 3rd tall forward imo.

Hipwood as your main man
Ballenden as 2nd forward/ruck
Fogarty as third tall forward/rotating mid

Has the potential to be a ripper forward line. Got my first real look at Hipwood on Sunday and I reckon he's a gem. Close to the most exciting young tall forward prospect in the league imo, streets ahead of Schache.

Sorry to intrude. Imo you guys should be grabbing Fogarty ahead of Brander and going with Ballenden. Fogarty has the size and skill to be a Stringer type forward/mid which is perfect for a 3rd tall forward imo.

Hipwood as your main man
Ballenden as 2nd forward/ruck
Fogarty as third tall forward/rotating mid

Has the potential to be a ripper forward line. Got my first real look at Hipwood on Sunday and I reckon he's a gem. Close to the most exciting young tall forward prospect in the league imo, streets ahead of Schache.
There have been these discussions about how a future forward line would look with those three. The only problem is that we are so desperate for midfielders.

That's why I think Fogarty is such a good fit. He's more than capable of playing as an inside mid, and being bloody good at it I might add. He's going to cause a lot of headaches for opposition teams in the future. He's my first choice if available for the Pies to draft, but I think he'll be gone by our pick unless the landscape dramatically shifts during the national champs.

I'm confused. Form my view, we have the following that some time or other play in the midfield: Beams, Zorko, Rockliff, Robinson, Keays, McLuggage, Matheson, Berry, Taylor. Thats 9 players. Why do we need more mids right now?

27 and above: Beams, Zorko, Rockliff, Robinson
20 and below: Keays, McLuggage, Matheson, Berry, Taylor

What happens in a few years when we lose the older guys?
Especially given the 5 young guys you mentioned are a long way off being consistent, all-round midfielders.

The first four you list are towards their peak now and will likely be on the way down when the rest of our side is peaking.

Of the others, only Keays and Berry look like full-time mids to me. Mathieson could get there but needs to improve his running and ball use.

McCluggage looks like he has a role there, but I'd have said Mid/HF and Taylor more HF/mid.

I'm excited about all of those prospects, but I think our need for midfield depth is pretty clear and immediate.

The first four you list are towards their peak now and will likely be on the way down when the rest of our side is peaking.

Of the others, only Keays and Berry look like full-time mids to me. Mathieson could get there but needs to improve his running and ball use.

McCluggage looks like he has a role there, but I'd have said Mid/HF and Taylor more HF/mid.

I'm excited about all of those prospects, but I think our need for midfield depth is pretty clear and immediate.
Can you do the same sort of review of our backline and then say that we need mids first? Interested firstly in your review and secondly in your opinion of what we need most atm.

I actually think that it is our outside run and speed from the contest that we need to address immediately. Inside grunt and clearances we are doing ok. But we need to spread more from those contests Rather than just booting it long. If we had a bit of speed on the wings would be ideal and speedy small forwards.

Can you do the same sort of review of our backline and then say that we need mids first? Interested firstly in your review and secondly in your opinion of what we need most atm.

Key backs: Andrews, Skinner, Frost and McStay
Small-medium defenders: Gardiner, Cutler, Mayes, Rich, Paparone, Harwood, Cox, Hinge, Allison plus Robertson

I actually think that it is our outside run and speed from the contest that we need to address immediately. Inside grunt and clearances we are doing ok. But we need to spread more from those contests Rather than just booting it long. If we had a bit of speed on the wings would be ideal and speedy small forwards.
Bingo. Berry is going to be a BIG mid when he fills out. Our greatest priority should be players with leg speed on the outside and/or good ball using outside mids.

Then again, I could see Allison/Cox making a considerable year-two jump.

Missing MRobbo & Bundy from the mids there.

Missing NRobbo from the defenders.
Someone tell me why we need mids more than defenders right now. Seems like we have a good bunch of mids RIGHT NOW , BUT, defenders are in very very short demand. Poor bloody Harris has the rough end of the stick every week.

An 18 year old key back isn't going to help Harris much.

You don't draft players to fix the team RIGHT NOW.

Hopefully Skinner is going to come through & he is a good size for CHB. Think Walker still has a role down back as he continues to learn his new gig. A more experienced backman maybe at it looks like we pulled a dud with Frost when we could have got L Dunn.

Most often when you are drafting, you are looking where you're going to need players ready in 2 or 3 years time, or KPP in 4 or 5 years time.

In regards to mids, you genuinely need 9 or 10 quality guys that cover all the positions. We still need at least a genuine ball winner, outside pace, and a fast small forward.

If we lose Schache, a third tall who can rotate through the middle would be good as well.

An 18 year old key back isn't going to help Harris much.

You don't draft players to fix the team RIGHT NOW.
You come out with some comments that really give me a chuckle often jackess...thank you.
Moving on..... do we need mids or do we need backs right now as a matter of priority? or even, do we need forwards? why are mids the priority in the draft? I dont undertsand why mids are the main focus.

I personally see a small forward as our biggest need. We have a few young promising mids but zero small forwards with talent. Not saying we should select the best small forward in the draft at pick 1... unless of course our recruiters rate them the best prospect. Also think we also need a smart lead up 3rd or 4th forward as well and a rebounding defender with pace. Of course we need talented midfielders as well... actually we pretty much need everything except young key talls. I guess that's why we are favourite to win the spoon.

You come out with some comments that really give me a chuckle often jackess...thank you.
Moving on..... do we need mids or do we need backs right now as a matter of priority? or even, do we need forwards? why are mids the priority in the draft? I dont undertsand why mids are the main focus.

Again. You don't draft for right now.

Again. Look above. Very little midfield talent under the age of 27.

Again. Many young defenders on our list. I'm confident we can find 6 or 7 that will play there long term.

Look at any draft. Most high picks are midfielders because they have more upside. So unless you're filling a need it's probably best to go with a midfielder.

You can also turn midfielders or forwards into defenders as we've seen with Mayes, Rich, NRobbo, etc.

Maybe read a post and not just ignore it.

You take out 2-3 of those guys with injury and there's not much else there. Any teams starting midfield looks ok on paper, but midfield depth is another matter. Also on that list are a fair few similar types. I think we need two things in our midfield, some more top line quality and more importantly some more diversity. I'd like to see us grab another KPD as well but it wouldn't be my most pressing need when we're talking about the draft, especially when talking about trying to support out KPD's right now.

Remember this isn't an overall list management discussion, its a draft discussion.

mids and small forwards are the top of our want list. We need mids because you need depth. these days you have 1 ruck, maybe 2 key forwards and backs. that leaves 13 spots on the field. you might have a couple of 3rd tall types, maybe a utility type. so you are looking at about 10 mids on field, plus your bench.

so not including inuries, you want 10-14 mids. when you start taking depth into consideration, probably 14-20 midfield type players on the list. we would currently struggle to fill that, not considering we need to replace a few of our topline mids in over the next 5 years. also, it is debatable as to if a few of our current ones are up to the job and will remain on the list.

We need everything; period.
True, but for better or worse (and I actually think better) we need to stick with Close and Freeman in support of Hipwood and throw everything at picking up a decent midfield. A crumbing forward might be good, but I wouldn't go looking for one, but would re-purpose a kid that we had picked as a possible midfielder that didn't quite make it. My mantra is midfield, midfield, midfield. In the meantime we should also develop our back line with what we have.

I worry about the lack of support both Harris & Hippy receive. Especially when 1 is20 years old & the other is 19. They are breakable & just because they are qlders doesnt mean they are certaintys to stay if not looked after
True, but for better or worse (and I actually think better) we need to stick with Close and Freeman in support of Hipwood and throw everything at picking up a decent midfield. A crumbing forward might be good, but I wouldn't go looking for one, but would re-purpose a kid that we had picked as a possible midfielder that didn't quite make it. My mantra is midfield, midfield, midfield. In the meantime we should also develop our back line with what we have.
Hippy

I worry about the lack of support both Harris & Hippy receive. Especially when 1 is20 years old & the other is 19. They are breakable & just because they are qlders doesnt mean they are certaintys to stay if not looked after

Hippy
I agree, but it is the quick ball from the midfield into our defensive 50 that is putting the extra pressure on Harris.
And alternatively the slow ball movement and shitty deliver into our forward line that puts the pressure on Hippy.
Therefore we need to get as much class and speed and good decision makers into our midfield and onto the wings as soon as we can to make their job so much easier.
And in turn to take a bit of the pressure off.