2017 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

Skip to 1:08 to see a glimpse of what Cam Rayner can offer.

I know the knock on him is his endurance but supposedly clubs aren't too concerned with this facet as it is something that can be built when they get to an AFL club.

Been given this a bit of thought, but our 2018 first round pick might carry a fair bit of currency by the end of the TAC cup season.

I wonder if the 2017 Hawthorn first round pick, owned by St Kilda would be gettable this year.

At this stage, the top end of the 2018 draft is looking to be dominated by KPP's, a Sydney academy kid and next generation academy kids.

If we could trade our 2018 first round pick and this years Port pick for this years Hawthorn pick plus St Kilda's 2018 first round pick, I would strongly consider it.

Been given this a bit of thought, but our 2018 first round pick might carry a fair bit of currency by the end of the TAC cup season.

I wonder if the 2017 Hawthorn first round pick, owned by St Kilda would be gettable this year.

At this stage, the top end of the 2018 draft is looking to be dominated by KPP's, a Sydney academy kid and next generation academy kids.

If we could trade our 2018 first round pick and this years Port pick for this years Hawthorn pick plus St Kilda's 2018 first round pick, I would strongly consider it.
We can't trade our next year's pick. It could be #1 again & st Kilda could be as low as #14

next year's 1st round will be super valuable its sounding like a strong draft we wanna have an early selection there.

There's still plenty to play out with the closeness of the ladder
Still hoping the port pick improves & think we can still get 2 good players in that we like before a bid comes on ballenden. Without compromising our position in 2018

We can't trade our next year's pick. It could be #1 again & st Kilda could be as low as #14

next year's 1st round will be super valuable its sounding like a strong draft we wanna have an early selection there.

Still hoping the port pick improves & think we can still get 2 good players in that we like before a bid comes on ballenden. Without compromising our position in 2018
But we can look forward to a 2018 deathriding StKilda thread. How good would that be? The mods probably think it's too quiet around here anyway.

Yeah we will probably deathride them to a GF

Perhaps the trade should be just give us your 1st round pick for nothing & we will deathride you to glory

As this season progresses and also from last year I am getting more and more of a sense that Ballenden will not be a first round pick and if he does it will be quite late. Currently we have 1, Port's (12/15) and 17. I believe that we will be able to almost use all three but definitely the first two besides one for Ballenden. I don't feel that giving our 2018 pick for one this year is a smart move, one for what I have already stated and two because the value of the player that we most probably will acquire will be higher than one of this year.

My thinking also for who we should acquire for our first pick is also being swayed by the high possibility of using the first two and the third on others besides the Ballenden.

Fagan and Noble have made it clear,that they are not committing to Ballendon until the whole talent base is much clearer.

Why not? and the likelihood that it is a top 3 pick is a big part of the reason why I would consider trading it for pick 2 this year.

If there was no go home factor, the possibility of walking away from this years draft with LDU and Cameron Rayner with our first two picks would be a big win. We would essentially be using or 2018 pick on Rayner and getting him in to our system a year early.

I know it is early to be talking about 2018 picks and players, but this exactly what club scouts and recruiting teams do when discussing trading a future pick.

The top 2018 players at this stage look to be KPF Max King and KPD Ben King, Sydney academy Utility Nic Blakey, SA's KPP Jack Lukosius, and North Melbourne next gen Tassie mid Tarryn Thomas.

Best player available at pick 1 or 2 could very well be a KPP which we are sorted for, or tied to another club.

Two kids I am interested in in next years draft are Izak Rankine from SA and Sam Walsh from the Geelong Falcons.

Well you have to say you're assessing the talent but I'm confidently betting we match a bid on ballenden especially as he looks to be sliding as all our acedemy kids seem to.

I wouldn't trade next year's pick as there are too many unknowns. Too much of a gamble for mine. Draft talent can fluctuate there might be 3 gun mids at the top of the list come draft time. Plus I expect St Kilda could easily make finals- many had them doing that this year.

Plus if it does turn out to be #1 (let's hope not) but it will hold more value once there are names to be put against it at end of next year. We could still trade it next year if be happier doing it with a bit more certainty.

With you on Rankine, saw him play a couple of weeks ago. Only had about 10 touches but the fact he is playing senior SANFL a full 2 years before draft is super impressive.

Edit - the quotes disappeared but you'll figure it out :)

Well you have to say you're assessing the talent but I'm confidently betting we match a bid on ballenden especially as he looks to be sliding as all our acedemy kids seem to.

I wouldn't trade next year's pick as there are too many unknowns. Too much of a gamble for mine. Draft talent can fluctuate there might be 3 gun mids at the top of the list come draft time. Plus I expect St Kilda could easily make finals- many had them doing that this year.

Plus if it does turn out to be #1 (let's hope not) but it will hold more value once there are names to be put against it at end of next year. We could still trade it next year if be happier doing it with a bit more certainty.

With you on Rankine, saw him play a couple of weeks ago. Only had about 10 touches but the fact he is playing senior SANFL a full 2 years before draft is super impressive.

Edit - the quotes disappeared but you'll figure it out :)

So can we put you on official Izak Rankine watch for the next 18 months?

No small forwards excite me in this years draft, but Rankine does for next year.

Fagan and Noble have made it clear,that they are not committing to Ballendon until the whole talent base is much clearer.
Had a feeling it might go this way. KPF is not a huge need for us and would rather use as many selections as possible on mids. We should still match if it's where we rate him though.

Have never seen either play, but the two I'm most interested in are Luke Davis Uniakle and O'Brien. Would suit our needs perfectly, UDL (intnentional typo) as the complete midfielder and O'Brien to add some outside speed and class to our midfield. If we could manage these two and Ballenden that would be close to perfect in my book.

Oh and im still a bit sweet on Motlop as a F.A too.

Had a feeling it might go this way. KPF is not a huge need for us and would rather use as many selections as possible on mids. We should still match if it's where we rate him though.
There was an interesting segment on 'On The Couch' tonight about how goals are scored and in last 10 yrs or so forward pressure goals have increased from 30 or so% to 40 or so. That's at least a 10% increase and with this they were commenting on the supposed death of the KPF due to this. Brownie did state that in finals footy you did near at least one to provide that link or to be able to bring it to ground at least. We already have Schache and Hipwood and I'm not sure playing three talls would work. I'm looking forward to seeing Ballenden play this weekend (Fox Footy) and throughout the season to see what his true position will be. There is the discussion as a ruck/forward. From his output from last year and this so far I just think he's been overhyped but wouldn't be dissapointed to be wrong.

So can we put you on official Izak Rankine watch for the next 18 months?

No small forwards excite me in this years draft, but Rankine does for next year.
Haha I only go to glenelg games so will only catch him a handful of times.

Rankine was running around against Fogarty & Martini 2 weeks ago So just happened to be a good game for spotting draftees.

As this season progresses and also from last year I am getting more and more of a sense that Ballenden will not be a first round pick and if he does it will be quite late. Currently we have 1, Port's (12/15) and 17. I believe that we will be able to almost use all three but definitely the first two besides one for Ballenden. I don't feel that giving our 2018 pick for one this year is a smart move, one for what I have already stated and two because the value of the player that we most probably will acquire will be higher than one of this year.

My thinking also for who we should acquire for our first pick is also being swayed by the high possibility of using the first two and the third on others besides the Ballenden.
Nothing surer. Richmond will bid on Ballenden with one of their first round picks. If he makes it that far.

Sambono... really hope we take a punt. Seen a few NT games kid just knows where to find the goals. Has the appetite to succeed and I reckon he would fit in really well with our young list. Helps lift our indigenous profile too, tippa succeeding is huge for the tiwi islands. Sambono not only wants to succeed but wants to show his community that you can make it to the big leagues. Gonna be a star that kid. Real level head on his shoulders. Would be happy to take him pick 1. Only played his first organised game 5 years ago or something ridiculous like that, such a slight build making grown men look stupid out there.

Sooo much development left in him I'm surprised I haven't seen his name thrown around more.

Sambono... really hope we take a punt. Seen a few NT games kid just knows where to find the goals. Has the appetite to succeed and I reckon he would fit in really well with our young list. Helps lift our indigenous profile too, tippa succeeding is huge for the tiwi islands. Sambono not only wants to succeed but wants to show his community that you can make it to the big leagues. Gonna be a star that kid. Real level head on his shoulders. Would be happy to take him pick 1. Only played his first organised game 5 years ago or something ridiculous like that, such a slight build making grown men look stupid out there.

Sooo much development left in him I'm surprised I haven't seen his name thrown around more.
Would u take Jeff Garlett at pick 1?
I'd still pick him up after round 1..

Rookie draft you would imagine but that what it is there for and he also does fill a need.