2017 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

Getting a bit like that but still 4 months to go. Rayner, LDU and Stephenson gotta be the top 3 on the big board.
If the 3 of them end up pretty even on our board on draft night I hope we go with the one with the biggest X factor eg. Rayner or Stephenson over LDU.

We'll take Darcy Fogarty as our annual injured slider with Ports pick.:)

Cameron Rayner 16 disposals, 7 marks, 4 tackles, 3 clearances, 3 inside-50's, 5 goals.

Jack Higgins 29 disposals, 6 marks, 6 tackles, 5 clearances, 4 inside-50's.

Jaidyn Stephenson 28 disposals, 3 marks, 5 tackles, 2 clearances, 3 inside-50's, 5 goals.

Cameron Rayner 16 disposals, 7 marks, 4 tackles, 3 clearances, 3 inside-50's, 5 goals.

Jaidyn Stephenson 28 disposals, 3 marks, 5 tackles, 2 clearances, 3 inside-50's, 5 goals.
If draft night was tonight who would you take at number 1?

What about comparing Rayner as a forward this year as opposed to Ainsworth last year.
Similar players or different.

Always liked Stephensen. Much like McCluggage last season I haven't really rated Rayner as a top 5 pick but you can not ignore what he's done so far. If we could somehow get both our forward line for the next few seasons will be absolutely insane with X-factor and potential until they are big enough to play extended midfield minutes. Hipwood, Stephensen and Rayner. Wow.

What about comparing Rayner as a forward this year as opposed to Ainsworth last year.
Similar players or different.
Rayner is 187cm so a bigger, stronger and more powerful player than Ainsworth. Cameron Rayner reminds me a lot of Christian Petracca but I understand why people compare him to Dusty. All three of them are big, strong, athletic, powerful half forward flankers who are capable of playing as midfielders who can go forward and dominate.

Watching Vic metro on record now. Rayner looking irresistible.

If we did draft Rayner first, not a chance would I consider drafting Ballenden with one of our first 3 picks.

Vic Metro full of talent. Some of them are exciting, but very raw and need to work on their skills. Coffield looked very clean and composed.

Rankine looking good for next year. Has ben S.A's best over the series.

Watching Vic metro on record now. Rayner looking irresistible.

If we did draft Rayner first, not a chance would I consider drafting Ballenden with one of our first 3 picks.

Vic Metro full of talent. Some of them are exciting, but very raw and need to work on their skills. Coffield looked very clean and composed.

Rankine looking good for next year. Has ben S.A's best over the series.

You're so anti Ballenden. You'd better get used to us picking him mate.

I'm not anti Ballenden. I just feel anything in the first 25 picks is overpaying. And we have greater list needs.

I agree that we have greater list needs, but if he is a concensus top 15 pick and can come to us for relatively cheap, we'd be silly to say no. At worst we have some good trade currency in two years, at best we have the best forward line in the comp in a few years

Rayner has been my favourite player in this years draft since last year so I'm going to say him but others may disagree.
Hey lionshine, I understand that they're different players but who was more impressive in their draft year, Rayner or Mcluggage?

You'd be better off asking one of the regular Vic draft watchers on the draft and trading board as I haven't seen much this year. I did see a fair bit last year though and Hugh McCluggage produced one of the better junior footy seasons from any midfielder over the past decade I reckon winning Vic Country's MVP, winning the Morrish Medal in the TAC Cup and kicking 4 goals in the All Star match. He was outstanding.

From what I have seen from Rayner this year though and the reports coming through from all his games across the Academy matches, TAC Cup matches, school footy and the U18 carnival, he is shaping up nicely as one of the better draft prospects in recent times. If you placed Rayner in last years draft pool at this time last year I think people would have been debating between Rayner and McCluggage for pick 1.

I think Rayner will spend the majority of his time playing in the forward line for his first couple of years at AFL level even if he improves his endurance drastically. I actually think list fit wise in the short term we could use Rayner more as a forward than as a midfielder anyway. Whilst we've got the likes of Beams, Rockliff, Zorko, Robinson ect. we don't exactly need another midfielder but we do need another dangerous forward option.

It could work out perfectly having Rayner roaming inside our forward 50 for the next few years making an instant impact as a dangerous forward whilst he develops his game and works on his fitness before moving into more of a full time midfield role once the likes of Beams, Rockliff and Robinson retire.

What was Cerra like around the ground? Liked what I saw from him at stoppages but focused on others when the ball left. Does he spread and move well?
Classy kid,but not our top 2,talent runs deep in this side,and he'll get picked up youd
From the horses mouth today.....quote....we are looking at MIDS....quote 2....Ballendon, has a long way to go.

Classy kid,but not our top 2,talent runs deep in this side,and he'll get picked up youd

From the horses mouth today.....quote....we are looking at MIDS....quote 2....Ballendon, has a long way to go.

Recruiters are smart to get people whispering that we aren't hot on Ballenden. Strategic.

I wasn't looking at him for our pick (at this stage anyway) just looking at what a kid that looked good was like around the ground

I agree that we have greater list needs, but if he is a concensus top 15 pick and can come to us for relatively cheap, we'd be silly to say no. At worst we have some good trade currency in two years, at best we have the best forward line in the comp in a few years

And he's a local. I'd be amazed if we looked this gift horse in the mouth.

Hi all.
I used to be Crows supporter (since inception) but frankly they are w***ers on that board.
Also I have just moved to Brisbane so figure I should support the local team.
FWIW you guys seem much more balanced. Those Crows supporters whinge about everything even when their team is close to top. I have had enough of them. I am now Bjorn Again.

Anyway I am not so sure we will pick Ballenden. His champs have not been great but he improved a little in last game.
He is also being played out of position makes me think the coach is not impressed either.
We have a few promising forwards already so I suspect we will go mainly for midfielders in this draft.

PS. Lions should have beaten Essendon last game so I reckon we have a shot this w/e.