2017 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

LDU seems a safer choice at pick 1. I wonder how much thought will go into our post Beams, Rocky and Zorko midfield mix when hopefully we have Matho, Keays, Berry, McCluggage, etc. running through our midfield.

A lot. We're in very safe hands.

Dow is the one I hope builds into a legitimate top pick. Ticks all the boxes just needs a bit more consistency and to get a bit more of the ball. Just love the way he attacks the contest and is quick to react albeit his disposals are a bit scrappy at times.
Dow looks quite agricultural with his disposal but typically gets the right result, although I would say his kicks are quite loopy. Hopefully he can flatten them out with a bit of work. Besides Rayner he appears the best 1v1 player in this crop and his work at stoppages is terrific. I love how he's always on the move at a stoppage and hits the ball at speed. And then when he wins possession he has that Dangerfield-like burst to get away.

LDU is more of a bull but he just looks like he will slot in seamlessly at AFL level. His decision-making and vision are excellent, and he probably uses the ball better than Dow (although neither are perfect). Additionally, he uses both sides of his body to good effect and his non-preferred looks very natural. While LDU does have a similar ability to burst away from stoppage Dow's probably quicker (at least on the eye test). Other areas LDU takes the points are: marking overhead, versatility & class. He obviously struggled for consistency throughout the champs but he still averaged 22D compared to Dow's <20.

If I was picking I'd go LDU but would be happy with either at no. 1.
I think both summations hit the nail on the head in regards to these players. The more I look at Zac Bailey the more I see a lot I like and actually wouldn't put him that far behind in output than Dow. The advantage I believe that Baikey has is that he has had less opportunity in regards access to coaching such as Dow and others and think that he will have a big upside. Both he and Andy Bradshaw in looking to learn more about in the latter part of the season and think both could be handy picks.

Some familiar names in this list of NEAFL prospects:
Oskar Baker (Aspley)
The flying winger has some real X-factor and is a smoky for the draft. Just 19, 'The Ginger Ninja' loves to take the game on between the arcs and has speed to hurt the opposition. Still a work in progress, Baker is capable of going forward and kicking goals.

Darcy Baron-Hay (Sydney University)
The former Swans academy member has been a quality key defender this season after playing most of his junior footy as a forward, taking on the likes of AFL star Jon Patton and acquitting himself well. A solid finish to the year could put him back on the radar.

Hayden Bertoli-Simmonds (Redland)
The former Lions Academy player won the NEAFL Rising Star last year and is having another strong campaign. At 21, the in-and-under midfielder is the club's youngest ever captain, is still improving and works both ways.

Nathan Cooper (Sydney University)
The athletic key defender is a great size at 195cm and 93kg and at just 19 has plenty of time to develop. Spent time with the Swans development squad last year where he was a member of their losing NEAFL Grand Final side, and represented the League in this year's win over Tasmania.

Jordan Harper (Canberra Demons)
The midfielder is currently sitting eighth in the NEAFL's MVP award after finishing second last year, and starred for the representative side with 33 touches in their win over Tassie. The former NEAFL team of the year representative attended last year's draft combine and is still only 23.

Jordan Keras (Southport)
The competition's standout player this season, Keras is averaging 36 disposals and 9.5 clearances at 75 percent efficiency in the midfield. In his second season at Southport since moving from Geelong, Keras has incredible endurance that could easily match it at AFL level and a hunger to find the ball that's hard to match.

Xavier Richards (Sydney University)
The former Sydney forward shocked the footy world when he walked away from an AFL contract at the end of last season and landed in the NEAFL, where he represented the League against Tasmania in July. Still has the attributes to play at the top level and might be worth another look.

Jack Rolls (Redland)
Overcame knee tendinitis early in the year to again be having a strong impact at NEAFL level. The former AFL and Lions Academy midfielder has just turned 19 and received a Rising Star nomination for the third year straight. Rolls has a high workrate, can find the ball, and has steadily improved his disposal efficiency, which has previously been a knock.

Adam Sambono (NT Thunder)
A truly untapped talent, Sambono started the NEAFL season in white-hot form, with his uncanny goalsense proving difficult to match up on. A late-comer to organised footy, Sambono is from a remote community in the Northern Territory, is wiry, and has freakish skills. The 20-year-old earned selection in the competition's representative team and was granted special permission to play in the Allies under-18 team.

I think both summations hit the nail on the head in regards to these players. The more I look at Zac Bailey the more I see a lot I like and actually wouldn't put him that far behind in output than Dow. The advantage I believe that Baikey has is that he has had less opportunity in regards access to coaching such as Dow and others and think that he will have a big upside. Both he and Andy Bradshaw in looking to learn more about in the latter part of the season and think both could be handy picks.

If we went LDU at pick 1; do you think Bailey would be a reach at Ports pick (say pick 15)?

Just watched his highlights. Bailey doesn't seem that quick. Is probably quicker than Matho or Keays though. Disposal a worry. But the way he bursts out of contests was impressive. Could maybe start as a small forward.

I think Brayshaw will rise as the year goes on. Was pretty damn impressive in his last champs game on the comeback from injury. I like Bailey too, the problem I think is there will be better options at 15/18 respectively. But would happily take him if the opportunity presented

The fact he's from the NT and boards in Adelaide might work in his favour as opposed to Vic Metro players or anyone from Adelaide or Perth

Cheers mate, see that Dow has been starting to get some decent recognition lately, reads as a great prospect and someone that could interest us.

I like the LDU rating, I see a lot of discussion on this thread as a possible selection for us, but I think our likely pick is a little too early for him.

Thanks Cotter. If you can be bothered, I'd be interested to hear a bit more about your thoughts on Dow.

I only watched bits and pieces of the champs, but the impression I get is that a lot of seasoned watchers were fairly disappointed with the standard. Intuitively, I'd expect that the near consensus top 2 (Rayner and LDU) aren't as fixed up at the top as they might've been in a different year. I can imagine a scenario where a new contender emerges late.

I watch LDU and I think safe, solid B grade type at best. Nothing wrong with B grade players and generally, your doing pretty well if you pick one up. I think Dow has more potential than any other midfielder in the draft, bar maybe Rayner.

Previously, I've generally been one to disagree with the majority about the depth's of upcoming drafts. I'm left a little disappointed with the quality and depth of this one though.

On Dow, he's a hard working inside midfielder that possesses speed and agility. Whilst his kicking is far from elite, I find him to generally be a reliable user of the ball by foot. He's not ever going to cut teams up with his disposal, he'll be cutting them up with his break away speed from congestion. Pushes hard defensively and unlike most highly rated inside players, he has a decent outside game as well. The other encouraging sign is his ability to push forward and get on the scoreboard.

If anyone else here has met with him, I'm sure they'll agree that he is a pretty level headed kid with a sense of direction. Doesn't strike me as a home sick type, off face value anyway.

I haven't seen an inside midfielder as well rounded as Dow come through the junior ranks for a while. Genuinely believe he will be a star.

Definitly heard a few things round draft watchers on Dow. Really hope he has a big 2nd half of he season. Pick 1 should be a star and while LDU is safe in the way that he is gonna be a good player, l would rather take more risk in the very high potential type. We have a good development system of coaches now so l would back them in. Starting to lead towards Dow but would like to see more of him

Pick 1 should be a star but rarely is.

Look at the last decade; McGrath, Weitering, McCartin, Boyd, Whitfield, Patton, Swallow, Scully, Watts, Kreuzer and Gibbs.

A few A graders or potential A graders but not too many really standout footballers. Also not too many risky selections.

Look at the last decade; McGrath, Weitering, McCartin, Boyd, Whitfield, Patton, Swallow, Scully, Watts, Kreuzer and Gibbs.

A few A graders or potential A graders but not too many really standout footballers. Also not too many risky selections.
Yes but with the quality at the top or lack thereof, we have options. We could have LDU but whether he is going to be an A grader or not is debateable. I personally would pick Rayner, IF, we were in Victoria. Dow has breakaway speed which we need and can go in the midfield. Few other options but at this stage 3 likely top 1 picks

Pick 2 last 10 years- Taranto, Schache, Petracca, Kelly, O'Rourke, Coniglio, Bennell, Trengrove, Natanui, Cotchin, Gumbleton,
Pick 3 last 10 years- McCluggage, Mills, Brayshaw, Billings, Plowman, Tyson, Day, Martin, S.Hill, Masten.

Best in the first round IMO and pick they went at, I'll leave 2016/15 way too early- Lever (14), Kelly (2), Wines (7), Greene (10), Lynch (Suns 11), Martin (3), Hurley (5), Dangerfield (10).

Shows how hard it is to get it right and that pick 1 is probably over rated. You are better off trading one for two picks like we did last year.

While trading pick 1 comes with it's risks I think this year would be a great time to down trade it for another first round selection somehow. I reckon a few clubs would be all over Rayner as a potential game winner. I like him as a player but something about him screams flight risk to me. You hear every year clubs are willing to put the top pick on the trade table but nothing ever eventuates so no doubt we'll be seeing what clubs have to offer.

Pick 2 last 10 years- Taranto, Schache, Petracca, Kelly, O'Rourke, Coniglio, Bennell, Trengrove, Natanui, Cotchin, Gumbleton,
Pick 3 last 10 years- McCluggage, Mills, Brayshaw, Billings, Plowman, Tyson, Day, Martin, S.Hill, Masten.

Best in the first round IMO and pick they went at, I'll leave 2016/15 way too early- Lever (14), Kelly (2), Wines (7), Greene (10), Lynch (Suns 11), Martin (3), Hurley (5), Dangerfield (10).

Shows how hard it is to get it right and that pick 1 is probably over rated. You are better off trading one for two picks like we did last year.
Not sure I agree with this. If there's a pattern here, it's that clubs try to minimise risk with pick 1 as much as they look for star potential.

Agree, he has worked his way , and earned every position. I think his acceleration and temperament, are outstanding.He adds value in a way others in contention, bar Stephenson, do not.

I watch LDU and I think safe, solid B grade type at best. Nothing wrong with B grade players and generally, your doing pretty well if you pick one up. I think Dow has more potential than any other midfielder in the draft, bar maybe Rayner.

Previously, I've generally been one to disagree with the majority about the depth's of upcoming drafts. I'm left a little disappointed with the quality and depth of this one though.

On Dow, he's a hard working inside midfielder that possesses speed and agility. Whilst his kicking is far from elite, I find him to generally be a reliable user of the ball by foot. He's not ever going to cut teams up with his disposal, he'll be cutting them up with his break away speed from congestion. Pushes hard defensively and unlike most highly rated inside players, he has a decent outside game as well. The other encouraging sign is his ability to push forward and get on the scoreboard.

If anyone else here has met with him, I'm sure they'll agree that he is a pretty level headed kid with a sense of direction. Doesn't strike me as a home sick type, off face value anyway.

I haven't seen an inside midfielder as well rounded as Dow come through the junior ranks for a while. Genuinely believe he will be a star.
Obviously Leon Harris has good knowledge of him,so hes well placed!

Yes but with the quality at the top or lack thereof, we have options. We could have LDU but whether he is going to be an A grader or not is debateable. I personally would pick Rayner, IF, we were in Victoria. Dow has breakaway speed which we need and can go in the midfield. Few other options but at this stage 3 likely top 1 picks
Yeah,I'm very much on the side of line breaking match winners,with real acceleration, this is our big midfield deficiency, and so Bailey, Dow and Stephenson are good value for us at this point.

If we could pull off a trick like last year ,which got us say,both Bailey and Dow or Stephenson, that would be great.