2017 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

We've actually been doing really well with clearances with year. I wonder if there is a stat on forward half tackle count though.. especially forward 50. I think we will be struggling with that, also 1%ers, pressure acts etc in the forward half. We need to improve that aspect IMO.
I am talking about draft players not our current players. Although l know we have been good in clearances, we are still missing that bull, SPP, Oliver, Cripps type.

I agree with you there mate we could really use a big contested ball winning mid. Oliver was a late riser so one could come to the fore by years end, however, at this stage there isn't really a bull inside midfielder in the Oliver/Cripps mould in discussions as a top draft pick. Rayner sort of fits the bill but is more of a midfielder/forward in the Martin/Petracca mould. Darcy Fogarty I suppose fits that description but can he move into the midfield full time or will he be more of a pinch hitting type similar to Stringer?

Luke Davies-Uniacke is a talented contested ball winning, inside mid but different in style to the real bull/brute force types. Some very talented midfield prospects already at the top of the draft class this year though and more will rise which is exciting for us considering we need talented, young midfielders and we are likely to have a top 4 pick.

Could be another draft where drafting a couple of players from the one team looks good.

Cameron Rayner & Lachlan Fogarty from Western Jets, or Luke Davies-Uniacke & Hunter Clark.

Round 5 TAC Cup stats-

Eastern Ranges-
Jaidyn Stephenson 13 disposals, 1 goal, 4 tackles.

GWV Rebels-
Thomas Berry 18 disposals, 4 tackles.

Jordan Johnston 17 disposals, 6 goals, 9 marks, 5 tackles.

Aiden Domic 17 disposals, 1 tackle.

Dale Cox 8 disposals, 2 behinds, 2 marks, 2 tackles.

Murray Bushrangers-
Daniel Johnston 21 disposals, 6 goals, 5 marks, 3 tackles.

Oakleigh Chargers-
Jack Higgins 28 disposals, 7 marks, 8 tackles.

Toby Wooller 19 disposals, 7 marks, 5 tackles.

Geelong Falcons-
Cassidy Parish 24 disposals, 2 goals, 3 marks, 5 tackles.

Gryan Miers 19 disposals, 3 goals, 4 behinds, 5 marks, 6 tackles.

James Worpel 17 disposals, 13 tackles.

Harry Benson 20 disposals, 1 goal, 10 tackles.

Dandenong Stingrays-
Tom De Koning 11 disposals, 1 goal, 4 marks, 5 tackles.

Hunter Clark 18 disposals, 3 marks, 4 tackles.

Calder Cannons-
Ben Caluzzi 29 disposals, 6 marks, 5 tackles.

Dylan Landt 30 disposals, 1 goal, 7 marks, 5 tackles.

Bendigo Pioneers-
Brent Daniels 25 disposals, 1 goal, 3 marks, 5 tackles.

Kane Farrell 22 disposals, 2 marks, 4 tackles.

Northern Knights-
Jack Petruccelle 13 disposals, 2 goals, 6 tackles.

Nick Coffield 34 disposals, 1 goal, 6 marks, 4 tackles.

Ethan Penrith 22 disposals, 7 marks, 2 tackles.

Sandringham Dragons-
Hamish Brayshaw 27 disposals, 13 tackles.

Gippsland Power-
Aidan Quigley 24 disposals, 1 goal, 5 marks, 13 tackles.

Irving Mosquito 6 disposals, 2 goals, 2 tackles.
Spargo,a multiple goal scoring b.o.g for M G S against Xavier.I thought he was a stand out last year...very fast ,hard and smart,a natural....will be there at the finish.Excellent breeding.

Luke Power on Road to the Draft this week.

http://www.afl.com.au/draft/road-to-the-draft
Interesting that Luke Power sees both Rayner and Fogarty as being big bodied mids in the future. I was listening to a SANFL podcast with Fogarty and he sees himself hopefully growing a couple of more cm's and being a KPP. Both are guns though and we'll be around that mark to have a look at both. Their main knock is endurance but that is the one thing that can be built over time.

Unfortunately for some weird reason our links don't work on Big Footy. Can find the link here via google shortner: goo.gl/HX3wor or via the Tweet.

AFLDraftCentral hi guys up for a bit of a discussion/explanation about your rankings?

First up, how do you rate the top end players from this years draft compared with the previous couple of drafts? The top end of last years draft wasn't rated as strong as the top end group from 2015 by a few draft commentators.

Last year, word was getting around that the top end of this years draft crop would be dominated by talls, but right now, it's looking like another strong group of mids will dominate the top of the first round. Do you expect some of the talls outside the top 10 to push up during the U18 Champs?

How deep, in regards to quality players, to you believe this draft will go. For example, last years draft was said to go 30 picks deep for good quality players?

AFL Academy coach Luke Power said he see's Jarrod Brander as more a KPD than a KPF. What makes you think he's better suited up forward?
Has Brander shown enough this early in the season to be ranked #1, or is he holding number the #1 spot more on reputation and future projection?

I am very interested in why you have Luke Davies-Uniacke at #2 and Cameron Rayner at #7. How good could LDU be? I would have thought Rayner would be ranked higher, is it his beep test and lack of endurance keeping him down?

Big jump for Adam Cerra to #6. Is he in the discussion as one of the elite midfielders this year?

From a Lions perspective, would it take much for Connor Ballenden to slide, or would it be more a case of players would have to jump him? He got big wraps from Cal Twomey and Luke Power, but some of the Brisbane academy watchers question whether he should be rated so high.

Have you seen anything of Jack Payne from the Lions academy at all?

Looking towards 2018, what type of midfielders are Sam Walsh and Tom Berry?

There's a nice multi-layered typo in that draft central write-up of Davis-Uniacke: "Is powerful and loaths the contested situations."

I've seen little/nothing of this draft group, but as we need midfield depth and small forwards I feel like Spargo might be appealing now he's in the open pool. Vic country kid as well.

AFLDraftCentral hi guys up for a bit of a discussion/explanation about your rankings?

Thanks for the questions - Matt Balmer here answering.

First up, how do you rate the top end players from this years draft compared with the previous couple of drafts? The top end of last years draft wasn't rated as strong as the top end group from 2015 by a few draft commentators.

I think it's probably a little similar to last year - though I'm not sure many expected some of last years top draftees to slot into the AFL and make an impact early days. 2015 had more academy picks inside the top 15-16 compared with 2016 & what will be 2017 which did impact this somewhat. At the moment - I don't think this year is as strong as we may have thought about 12 months ago.

Last year, word was getting around that the top end of this years draft crop would be dominated by talls, but right now, it's looking like another strong group of mids will dominate the top of the first round. Do you expect some of the talls outside the top 10 to push up during the U18 Champs?

12 months ago all the talk was it would be talls, but for most of the talls predicted early on they haven't progressed as some would've expected. Brander has been solid - but I think 12 months ago we would've expected he would've been kicking bags of goals for example. Likewise with Connor Ballenden who has been quiet bar his game on Saturday this season.

I think some of the talls outside the top 10 have a chance of coming inside it - Noah Balta is one raw athletic tall who needs to find his feet. Oscar Clavarino as a tall defender seems most likely to be a selection in the back half of the first round onwards. Nathan Kreuger is another who has been outstanding in snippets - but we havent seen it all together. I would however not expect any others outside that to climb into the top 10.

How deep, in regards to quality players, to you believe this draft will go. For example, last years draft was said to go 30 picks deep for good quality players?

I think we would've said last year was a bit deeper than 30, maybe more 40 picks. I reckon some players who went in the 30s/40s last year you could make a case would be close to breaking into the Top 20. The depth in this pool drops away after about 30 picks - even myself struggling to fill 25 with confident players I have of making the grade and probably could add 5-10 more names that I'd draft before I'd consider passing picks.

AFL Academy coach Luke Power said he see's Jarrod Brander as more a KPD than a KPF. What makes you think he's better suited up forward?
Has Brander shown enough this early in the season to be ranked #1, or is he holding number the #1 spot more on reputation and future projection?

I left it as Key Forward/Key Defender, I think he can play both. I like Luke Power think he is probably more suited to playing in defence, his game in the school boy APS v AGSV last year (in one of his rare appearances). I think he can play either and he will do both throughout this year, as I've seen him play good games at both ends since he was an Under 16.

I don't think he's shown enough completely in 2017 to rank him at 1 - but if I had the draft today I'm taking him at 1 because I know what he is capable and have seen him play in the past few years. So more based not on reputation - but how I view it. I don't need to be swayed by others - I see more of the games than them anyway so I can form my own opinions. It's been a tough start with cricket, injury, school footy, GWS Academy, Bendigo Pioneers training - to mix into the start of one busy month .

I am very interested in why you have Luke Davies-Uniacke at #2 and Cameron Rayner at #7. How good could LDU be? I would have thought Rayner would be ranked higher, is it his beep test and lack of endurance keeping him down?

Would be very very surprised if LDU isn't drafted in the top five and speaking with clubs on the weekend - that's where they view him too. How good could he be? He could well contend for the number one pick and if he stays fit I expect him to be in the conversation. He's had injury issues in the past few seasons hence why not many have heard of him/seen him play.

Rayner's endurance is what keep him down and because I like a few others better. Whilst his power and explosiveness is outstanding, if you can run in the AFL you're going to struggle. Rhys Mathieson was talked about as a high draftee for a long time - but ran a 12.5 at combine and slipped. Rayner's 11.10 doesn't fill me with confidence & the fact he has never been an endurance runner makes me question how much it can improve throughout this season.

Big jump for Adam Cerra to #6. Is he in the discussion as one of the elite midfielders this year?

Not really a big jump - Another who is always talked about highly with those in the know. He played in the TAC Cup as a 16 yr old in 2015 and was very good but injured his knee last year hence why not too many have seen him play. Easily been one of the best in the TAC Cup this season and blitzed the Vic Metro trial. Definitely one of the elite midfielders this year and another who would be unlikely to fall outside the top 10 and well could be a chance for No.1.

From a Lions perspective, would it take much for Connor Ballenden to slide, or would it be more a case of players would have to jump him? He got big wraps from Cal Twomey and Luke Power, but some of the Brisbane academy watchers question whether he should be rated so high.

I think he's had the worst month possible for a player of his calibre (taking out his game on the weekend). His skills are very good and his performances last year don't just suddenly count for nothing. It's going to be very hard to see him sliding outside the top 20 type of thing - Talls always struggle in the AFL Academy games - just due to the lack of game time & the fact it was wet in Game 1 at the MCG. Had a few injury niggles affecting him in the U18 Academy Series. He's a serious player - just had a rough month.

Yep saw him against Northern Territory. Will have some vision on our YouTube channel at some point later this week or next week. Good intercept marker, showed some promise against a weak time mind you. Real test will be Allies once he is exposed to better opposition.

Both outside midfielders. Walsh was very good in the AFL Academy game at the MCG, while Berry has showed some dash on the wing for the GWV Rebels. Would have both in conversation for the 1st-2nd round at the moment - would have Walsh ahead though.

Thanks for the questions - Matt Balmer here answering.

I think it's probably a little similar to last year - though I'm not sure many expected some of last years top draftees to slot into the AFL and make an impact early days. 2015 had more academy picks inside the top 15-16 compared with 2016 & what will be 2017 which did impact this somewhat. At the moment - I don't think this year is as strong as we may have thought about 12 months ago.

12 months ago all the talk was it would be talls, but for most of the talls predicted early on they haven't progressed as some would've expected. Brander has been solid - but I think 12 months ago we would've expected he would've been kicking bags of goals for example. Likewise with Connor Ballenden who has been quiet bar his game on Saturday this season.

I think some of the talls outside the top 10 have a chance of coming inside it - Noah Balta is one raw athletic tall who needs to find his feet. Oscar Clavarino as a tall defender seems most likely to be a selection in the back half of the first round onwards. Nathan Kreuger is another who has been outstanding in snippets - but we havent seen it all together. I would however not expect any others outside that to climb into the top 10.

I think we would've said last year was a bit deeper than 30, maybe more 40 picks. I reckon some players who went in the 30s/40s last year you could make a case would be close to breaking into the Top 20. The depth in this pool drops away after about 30 picks - even myself struggling to fill 25 with confident players I have of making the grade and probably could add 5-10 more names that I'd draft before I'd consider passing picks.

I left it as Key Forward/Key Defender, I think he can play both. I like Luke Power think he is probably more suited to playing in defence, his game in the school boy APS v AGSV last year (in one of his rare appearances). I think he can play either and he will do both throughout this year, as I've seen him play good games at both ends since he was an Under 16.

I don't think he's shown enough completely in 2017 to rank him at 1 - but if I had the draft today I'm taking him at 1 because I know what he is capable and have seen him play in the past few years. So more based not on reputation - but how I view it. I don't need to be swayed by others - I see more of the games than them anyway so I can form my own opinions. It's been a tough start with cricket, injury, school footy, GWS Academy, Bendigo Pioneers training - to mix into the start of one busy month .

Would be very very surprised if LDU isn't drafted in the top five and speaking with clubs on the weekend - that's where they view him too. How good could he be? He could well contend for the number one pick and if he stays fit I expect him to be in the conversation. He's had injury issues in the past few seasons hence why not many have heard of him/seen him play.

Rayner's endurance is what keep him down and because I like a few others better. Whilst his power and explosiveness is outstanding, if you can run in the AFL you're going to struggle. Rhys Mathieson was talked about as a high draftee for a long time - but ran a 12.5 at combine and slipped. Rayner's 11.10 doesn't fill me with confidence & the fact he has never been an endurance runner makes me question how much it can improve throughout this season.

Not really a big jump - Another who is always talked about highly with those in the know. He played in the TAC Cup as a 16 yr old in 2015 and was very good but injured his knee last year hence why not too many have seen him play. Easily been one of the best in the TAC Cup this season and blitzed the Vic Metro trial. Definitely one of the elite midfielders this year and another who would be unlikely to fall outside the top 10 and well could be a chance for No.1.

I think he's had the worst month possible for a player of his calibre (taking out his game on the weekend). His skills are very good and his performances last year don't just suddenly count for nothing. It's going to be very hard to see him sliding outside the top 20 type of thing - Talls always struggle in the AFL Academy games - just due to the lack of game time & the fact it was wet in Game 1 at the MCG. Had a few injury niggles affecting him in the U18 Academy Series. He's a serious player - just had a rough month.

Yep saw him against Northern Territory. Will have some vision on our YouTube channel at some point later this week or next week. Good intercept marker, showed some promise against a weak time mind you. Real test will be Allies once he is exposed to better opposition.

Both outside midfielders. Walsh was very good in the AFL Academy game at the MCG, while Berry has showed some dash on the wing for the GWV Rebels. Would have both in conversation for the 1st-2nd round at the moment - would have Walsh ahead though.

Thanks for taking the time to answer all the questions. Some very good insight, especially for those of us (i.e.me) who only get to see youtube clips and read match reports, etc.

I don't think I've seen him play or if I have I wasn't paying attention but I like what I've read of Adam Cerra. A midfielder who finds the footy and uses it well. I might ask some of the regular TAC Cup watchers in the draft and trade board what their thoughts on him are.

Edit: I've watched him at least once as he played in the 2015 TAC Cup Grand final.

A nice article on Cerra-

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/leader/...r/news-story/d16d24b7ade90a1d3fa78120c79e1b9f

IF ADAM Cerra had dropped off AFL recruiters’ radar, he has certainly found his way back on it.

The versatile Eastern Ranges midfielder has started this TAC Cup season in blistering form, averaging 26 touches, seven handball receives, six marks and four tackles a game to quickly grab the attention of AFL talent scouts.

The 17-year-old (188cm, 85kg) played only the final two games of the Ranges’ 2016 season after missing the bulk of the year with a meniscus injury in his right knee.

However, he has wasted no time in reminding recruiters of the talents he showcased as a 15-year-old when he burst on the scene during the Ranges’ finals campaign in 2015.

His performances this year have confirmed his status as a potential top pick in this year’s draft.

While he missed selection in the AIS-AFL Academy, so did Sandringham Dragons duo Andrew McGrath and Tim Taranto and they were the top two picks in last year’s draft. Cerra may well follow suit.

“It is just a start so I hope I hold some consistency throughout the year and keep playing good footy,” Cerra said.

“I was able to get through a full pre-season, which set me up well for the start of the year.”

Eastern Ranges talent manager Len Villani said the club realised from those finals performances in 2015 they had a special talent on their hands.

“A kid, who yeah has a talent, but over and beyond, makes sure he is able to capitalise on that by doing absolutely everything right,” Villani said.

While on the sidelines, rather than dwell on not playing, Cerra, a product of the successful Norwood Football Club, used his time away from the game to work on his deficiencies and added 7kg to his frame.

“He is just class, makes time stand still, can play multiple roles inside and outside, he can go down back and is good overhead,” Villani said.

“They way he has presented himself is a credit to him because it has held him in good stead and his body is robust now and he is strong and confident.

“His footy does the talking for him because he oozes class.”