2017 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

Outside chance in that we're 1 of 3 eligible, but it sounds like Sydney has the inside run as he's lived there and been around the club a lot already.

North can offer the whole Melbourne clubland experience if he's looking to get away from home.

Would love to be wrong, but not sure what our pitch would be against that.
A genuinely exciting up-and-coming list - which should at least put us ahead of North, especially if they win the spoon and fail to land Kelly & Martin after the club's very public pursuit.

But I think you're right. Sydney seems the one

A genuinely exciting up-and-coming list - which should at least put us ahead of North, especially if they win the spoon and fail to land Kelly & Martin after the club's very public pursuit.

But I think you're right. Sydney seems the one
Is Nick Blakey next year though?

Even if he doesn't nominate us we might be able to draft him anyway.

With Darcy Fogarty out for the rest of the season due to minor knee surgery. Is there a chance he could fall to our Port pick?

On SM-G925I using BigFooty.com mobile app
Personally I think even before his surgery he would have been around that mark. He has been very poor this year and still confused as to why some are still saying he is a top 10 pick. On performance he'd be lucky to be top 25. IIRC he had a game where he only got like 4 touches playing minutes in the midfield...

Outside chance in that we're 1 of 3 eligible, but it sounds like Sydney has the inside run as he's lived there and been around the club a lot already.

North can offer the whole Melbourne clubland experience if he's looking to get away from home.

Would love to be wrong, but not sure what our pitch would be against that.
Hey mate, choose our club. Our facilities are so ****ing shit that our training room literally flooded last year.

Personally I think even before his surgery he would have been around that mark. He has been very poor this year and still confused as to why some are still saying he is a top 10 pick. On performance he'd be lucky to be top 25. IIRC he had a game where he only got like 4 touches playing minutes in the midfield...
I reckon he's been struggling with a knee for a while. They never let on about how bad it really is & how much ability does a 17yo have to play through injury?

I watched him play a SANFL game a month before the carnival and he played mostly forward 50 wasn't doing a lot of running up the ground so I have a suspicion they were managing him.

Makes him hard to judge true draft position, would be a good pickup with our second pick IMO

I reckon he's been struggling with a knee for a while. They never let on about how bad it really is & how much ability does a 17yo have to play through injury?

I watched him play a SANFL game a month before the carnival and he played mostly forward 50 wasn't doing a lot of running up the ground so I have a suspicion they were managing him.

Makes him hard to judge true draft position, would be a good pickup with our second pick IMO
I think he would be a fair way down the order,certainly hope we dont match any bids in our top 3 or 4 on his behalf.

I'm not convinced and there is zero supporting evidence, but this guy thinks Blakey will pick Brisbane (for whatever that's worth) . http://www.sportingnews.com/au/afl/...key-father-son-rule/85qfvkdmcruu19tv9dahi8nf3

Spoke to someone close to Nick who is in the know - Sydney the most likely, but definitely considering North Melbourne. Doesn't really have Brisbane in his frame of mind.

Of course things can change, but thought you guys would want to know from someone who knows rather than 'AFL insider' !

Spoke to someone close to Nick who is in the know - Sydney the most likely, but definitely considering North Melbourne. Doesn't really have Brisbane in his frame of mind.

Of course things can change, but thought you guys would want to know from someone who knows rather than 'AFL insider' !

Yeah. Seemed more likely. Ta.

IMG_2627.PNG Anyone seen the Fox Footy article by Jake Niall saying how we would look at options to trade pick one if it was an exceptional deal ( if we finish bottom - which I don't think we will)?

Interesting reading the comments on this article on the FF Facebook page.... stumbled on this from Rayner...

Sensing a strong sense of sarcasm that he's not all that heartbroken with the idea? Or is it just me?

Heard KB on a footy show tonight say that a northern club was offering Dustin 13 mil over 10 yrs. Hope it is not us.

View attachment 396771 Anyone seen the Fox Footy article by Jake Niall saying how we would look at options to trade pick one if it was an exceptional deal ( if we finish bottom - which I don't think we will)?

Interesting reading the comments on this article on the FF Facebook page.... stumbled on this from Rayner...

Sensing a strong sense of sarcasm that he's not all that heartbroken with the idea? Or is it just me?
Yeah he said we were open to any you beaut deals such as swapping pick 1 for stkilda s7 n 8