2017 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

Surplus of quality talls is the best trade currency you can get.

If we keep taking them and developing them well we can own the first round of the draft for years to come.

Too true.

GWS has got some great leverage by stockpiling them.

EDIT: just realised that's pretty much what AFLQLD said already:$

They will have pick 2 once we beat them in the last round.
Bottom sides often win in the last few rounds when the pressure is off. Carlton a reasonable chance to beat Hawks and North also to beat Saints this week. I think we will need to win both games to avoid the spoon. Hope we do, but it's a long way from certain yet.

Bottom sides often win in the last few rounds when the pressure is off. Carlton a reasonable chance to beat Hawks and North also to beat Saints this week. I think we will need to win both games to avoid the spoon. Hope we do, but it's along way from certain yet.
Reckon we are a good chance of getting ahead of the suns. They are likely to cop to beltings from Essendon still in finals race & percentage critical & our mates the flat trackers in Adelaide will prob be 80+. Only 6pct in it between them n us.

One win & we won't get the spoon. Just don't know who will

Bottom sides often win in the last few rounds when the pressure is off. Carlton a reasonable chance to beat Hawks and North also to beat Saints this week. I think we will need to win both games to avoid the spoon. Hope we do, but it's along way from certain yet.

Yeah, I agree.

We are not masters of our own destiny yet.

Neither North or Carlton are totally diabolical and it's not a given they they will both lose their last 2 games.

The Saints are basically shot birds and North are a fair chance to knock them off..

This draft is very top heavy with inside and outside mid sized and small mids.

There's only one genuine first round KPP and one genuine ruck this year. Then a project tall, and a couple of third tall sized prospects towards the back of the first round.

I reckon a lot of the projected lower placed teams will be looking at next years draft for talls.

Richmond will hand over their dignity this off-season for anyone 6'5 or above, and many clubs have mismanaged their lists recently, it could be a plum spot to be.
Hopefully we get a late pick for Jono Freeman, I wonder how many Pies remember that 4 goal game against them?
Richmond are supposedly after Levi Casboult. Hopefully they get him and they then wont be so desperate for a tall forward.

how will we fit all these highly rated talls into the team? So strange that next year Schache could seriously be depth if what I saw from Connor against the Swans in anything to go by. KPP depth is insane.
actually in my opinion we have a shallow list and further think we could draft any number of players from this so called weak draft and they potentially and probably would be better than half our list.we need pervasive depth to cover for: people leaving, acls, breaks, achillies and calves, 2nd year blues, groins, depression, concussions, loss of form etc-short and long term injuries.call it insurance.the game is much harder now and the competition is much closer.however look at stkilda and melbourne-the good teams know to get "up" to beat them, they study them more etc.who really knows what our team will look like in 5 years time.will our top 6 be great enough to carry our bottom 6

no more mediocrity,good to great players only.be bold and brave come delisting and drafting

ps in my team lists going forward close walker skinner even mcstay and gardiner are considered KP depth only

Exactly this. No better draft currency than having quality KPFs excess to needs.

Not purely with KPFs, but GWS have been using this strategy for a couple of years - turn over some of those original sweet, sweet early picks regularly (the ones they don't need) and keep the good picks coming. They can milk it for a decade yet. Then they have a steady flow from their academy as well.

If we get some good currency out of our academy then we should do the same.
hi agree completely and hope we can barter with GWS again this year.its interesting that both schache and mcstay have 2 yr deals, from the press and podcasts it was apparent that both had suitors with money and will be back one day.

actually in my opinion we have a shallow list and further think we could draft any number of players from this so called weak draft and they potentially and probably would be better than half our list.we need pervasive depth to cover for: people leaving, acls, breaks, achillies and calves, 2nd year blues, groins, depression, concussions, loss of form etc-short and long term injuries.call it insurance.the game is much harder now and the competition is much closer.however look at stkilda and melbourne-the good teams know to get "up" to beat them, they study them more etc.who really knows what our team will look like in 5 years time.will our top 6 be great enough to carry our bottom 6

no more mediocrity,good to great players only.be bold and brave come delisting and drafting

ps in my team lists going forward close walker skinner even mcstay and gardiner are considered KP depth only
How is this year any different to every other year then in regards to "depression, concussion, form, blues, acls" etc etc
Your comment about drafting any number of players from this "weak draft" would probably be better than half our list is ridiculous.
I also wouldn't say Melbourne and St Kilda are "good teams" either. Saints won't be in the top 8 this year.

Also, McStay is a fantastic defender and I personally would be surprised if Skinner doesn't make it. Injuries the only way to stop him. I can understand the others being depth, altho Walker is a good stop gap as is Gardiner

briztoon cotter101 Do either of you know anything about Campbell Walker? He has been impressive in the reserves the last two weeks, named in the bests, kicking goals as a small forward. Did he have an injury in his draft year? Is he a rookie chance for us? Thanks in advance.

Can't say I really know much about him. If you head over to our NEAFL thread, I'm sure some of the regular reserves watchers will be able to give you some thoughts.

p.s. I really shouldn't be mentioned in the same breath as cotter101. I'm just a pretender and know it. I follow the various draft boards on BF and elsewhere and just parrot what is said by the guys who actually go out and watch games and write up match reports and player profiles.

Not one person can see every player and every game live. Not even those working for clubs. Everyone has to rely on footage and other people's thoughts to a certain extent, even at club level.

Certainly nothing better than seeing them play live though to piece together an opinion.

Richmond will hand over their dignity this off-season for anyone 6'5 or above, and many clubs have mismanaged their lists recently, it could be a plum spot to be.

Hopefully we get a late pick for Jono Freeman, I wonder how many Pies remember that 4 goal game against them?

Footscray may be interested for an earlier pick perhaps?

Brett Anderson's latest mock 10 (not rankings but what he's hearing through clubs / recruiters):

1. Cerra (Bris)
2. Rayner (Carl)
3. Dow (North)
4. LDU (GCS)
5. Naughton (Freo)
6. Brander (Pies)
7. Stephenson (Saints)
8. Coffield (Saints)
9. Hayes (Essen)
10. Fogarty (Dogs)

Pick 1 will be Carltons. Can't see us losing to North at the Gabba. We will have pick 3, possibly even pick 4 depending on how GC go.

We won't jump the Suns. Not even if they lose both remaining games by 60 points and we loose to Dees by 30 and beat North by 30. We'd have to beat North by 60 loose to Dees by less then 30 and have the Suns loose both their remaining games by 60.

Beating North is no sure thing, also Carlton would be a sneaky chance to get up this weekend.
I'm predicting pick 2 will be ours.

Beating North is no sure thing, also Carlton would be a sneaky chance to get up this weekend.
I'm predicting pick 2 will be ours.

They're tanking mate. I.e., they will be in the game until the final quarter, but will somehow lose the game. Hope we finish last only to spite those flogs

We won't jump the Suns. Not even if they lose both remaining games by 60 points and we loose to Dees by 30 and beat North by 30. We'd have to beat North by 60 loose to Dees by less then 30 and have the Suns loose both their remaining games by 60.
Didn't we beat sun's by 60. They will have at least one 100pt belting to finish

Their last game is at Adelaide Oval against flat track kings, Port. Likely chance for an absolute walloping.