2017 Draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter dlanod

I think it's only going to get worse as well unfortunately. A lot of whispers about that Collingwood, Carlton and Hawks are going to be throwing a lot of cash around for Lynch. He's a loyal bloke but there's only so much shit someone can take...

Collingwood will do whatever they can to recruit both Lynch & Lever. Hiring Brian Waldron to assist with the bookkeeping for starters.

Levers going to melbourne

Lynch will be the interesting one next year, every club will come hard at him. Would suck for gold coast but they might get 1 & 2 in a super draft with the compo

They would rather keep Lynch at all costs... only a few players of his ilk come through every 'generation'. The thing with the Suns list is that there is still enough talent there to get them pushing top 8 easily just that the game plan Eade put in was outdated and the players are mentally fragile. A broom needs to be swept through the whole footballing department.

Whoever goes to coach that rabble has their work cut out for them that's for sure.

AFL needs some good people placed in that footy department, as they are only a few players walking out away from complete disaster.

Think they have talent but they need a game plan & leadership. If lynch won't sign a contract before start of next year then new coach should not go with him as captain. Imagine if their captain walks out next year. Would be awful for what they're trying to do

Whoever goes to coach that rabble has their work cut out for them that's for sure.

AFL needs some good people placed in that footy department, as they are only a few players walking out away from complete disaster.

Think they have talent but they need a game plan & leadership. If lynch won't sign a contract before start of next year then new coach should not go with him as captain. Imagine if their captain walks out next year. Would be awful for what they're trying to do

AFL has already stepped in. Mark Evans is now the CEO. Not too dissimilar to Greg Swann coming on board for us a couple of years back. You think that was by chance?

Yeah, my point was they need a lot more than him.

Football dept wise they have massive issues.

Dunno...There's strong talk that Gibbs may find his way back to Adelaide.

There was strong talk about that last year too ;)

Problem Adelaide have is that what might benefit them trade wise is meaningless as the player gets to pick where he wants to go.

He wants to go to VIC, I don't think he wants to go to a struggling club. Then there was the talk of a meeting with Melbourne which he came into his regular radio spot to deny, the journo still ran that it happened, so he quit his radio gigs. Melb has a few good bigger defenders which will allow him to keep the role he likes to play. He said no to the dogs cos they barely have 1 key defender under 30.

All signs to me are pointing to melbourne

There was strong talk about that last year too ;)

Problem Adelaide have is that what might benefit them trade wise is meaningless as the player gets to pick where he wants to go.

He wants to go to VIC, I don't think he wants to go to a struggling club. Then there was the talk of a meeting with Melbourne which he came into his regular radio spot to deny, the journo still ran that it happened, so he quit his radio gigs. Melb has a few good bigger defenders which will allow him to keep the role he likes to play. He said no to the dogs cos they barely have 1 key defender under 30.

All signs to me are pointing to melbourne

Wants to return to Vic....No doubt Melbourne have met with him....But, money talks all languages and with Thomas re doing his contract the Blues will throw heaps at him....Dees may struggle to match Carlton with an acceptable trade.

Obviously I haven't spent any time with Rayner to answer your first question.
But are you just going to ignore the fact that dozens people in the media who have met the kid have touted him as a flight risk?
Are you going to ignore the fact that one of our very own posters teaches at his school and he doesn't have the best reputation?
Are you going to ignore the fact that he runs an 11 beep test which most kids are doing by their mid teens?
Have you watched the interview where he's stoked that the beep test is out of the combine? (doesn't seem like great character to me)

As for the Jake Stringer comparison, yes that is absolutely a bad thing, why would we use pick 1 on a medium forward that can't go through the midfield? Maybe I could understand if we already had the midfield stocked, but we don't, so why would we go for a forward?

I sound like a broken record on the endurance, but I would be astounded if he becomes anything more than a 70:30 Forward. Take any group of teenagers with just average genetics, nothing special, just average and put them in the same environment that all the draftees have been in the last 2-3 years. They'd play/train a minimum of 3 times a week, well over the majority would be getting 11+ beep test results (Mathieson even got 12). I just don't think you understand how bad 11 is. When I was in year PE 11 at school quite a few years ago, I remember noting that every guy in the class ran 11+, many of which didn't even play sport.

I don't care how good he is, I just cannot get over the endurance, its laughably bad, I don't even know how it can be so bad when he would have played so much footy over the years, that just points to a combination of bad genetics and poor work ethic.
Have dozens of people in the media said he is a flight risk?

Is there somewhere that I can hear or see an article about this concern from someone in the know?

I have only seen the Big Footy Rumer mil peddling the reports about him being a flight risk, until someone on his inner circle confirms it i cannot really take it seriously.

If the off field rumours are false than Rayner is a no brainer... however he still comes with a risk with his apparent limited aerobic capacity.
The thing is I have not seen Dows beep test results so admittedly I think some may have jumped the gun on Rayner a bit in that regard... while I expect Dows would be higher I wouldn't have thought his aerobic capacity to be his strength. correct me if i'm wrong.

If the off field rumours are false than Rayner is a no brainer... however he still comes with a risk with his apparent limited aerobic capacity.
The thing is I have not seen Dows beep test results so admittedly I think some may have jumped the gun on Rayner a bit in that regard... while I expect Dows would be higher I wouldn't have thought his aerobic capacity to be his strength. correct me if i'm wrong.

Have dozens of people in the media said he is a flight risk?

Is there somewhere that I can hear or see an article about this concern from someone in the know?

I have only seen the Big Footy Rumer mil peddling the reports about him being a flight risk, until someone on his inner circle confirms it i cannot really take it seriously.
The rumours didn't start on bigfooty.

There are quite a few amateur scouts who go and watch the games and talk to recruiters and many of the kids.

This is where the rumours started.

I did ask Brett Anderson on twitter, and he hinted that Rayner would be a flight risk without saying it outright.

People in the media can not publicly talk about a lot of the shit they hear or see because the kids and recruiters will stop talking to them.

Where are the articles written about the kids where player X says he wants to go pick one, etc.

Most of the main draft articles don't get written until after trade period has finished. So until then, everything is mostly rumour and innuendo.

thanks for that. :thumbsu:

Seems a fairly ordinary result for a midfielder. Not poor but not great either. I wonder if he will be fit enough for some testing at the draft combine. Probably won't but it would have been great to see any improvements in his testing over the season.

The TAC Cup hold a preseason testing weekend. This is where the current figures are quoted from.

The NAB academy also do some testing on their USA trip while at the IMG academy, so some people have access to this data as well.

thanks for that. :thumbsu:

Seems a fairly ordinary result for a midfielder. Not poor but not great either. I wonder if he will be fit enough for some testing at the draft combine. Probably won't but it would have been great to see any improvements in his testing over the season.
I reckon Dow will test good. Bendigo isn't playing finals, so some of these kids will start training specifically for the combine.

From the outside, it looks like the AFL kids are starting to follow the USA basketball and gridiron trend, where once their season is over, the kids train for the pre draft combine.

13.13 is pretty good for someone with explosive acceleration. I'd rather he keep that aspect of his game before he gets into the professional system.

I don't know much about the beep test but have always had 14 in my head as a reasonable result for a midfielder with 15 and up reserved for the top notch runners.

A 13.13 is the level before a 14.1 so it's not a stretch to say if they were doing a beep test at the combine that he would run in the 14s considering he would have been training specifically for it in the post season.

From AFL Draft Central. Higgins is now perhaps more likely to go top 10 with this gong?

OAKLEIGH Chargers midfielder Jack Higgins has won the prestigious Morrish Medal for the best and fairest player of the 2017 TAC Cup home-and-away season. Previous winners of the Morrish Medal include top-five NAB AFL Draft picks Clayton Oliver (2015) and Hugh McCluggage (2016).
Higgins ran out as the winner with 22 votes at tonight’s TAC Cup vote count. Coming into the final round this weekend, Higgins averaged 24 disposals, six tackles, five marks and had booted 27 goals in 12 games.

In recent weeks, Higgins has transitioned from an inside ball winning midfielder to a small forward – with big success, booting seven goals from 13 disposals against the Bendigo Pioneers in Round 17. The AFL Academy and Vic Metro member has had a fantastic year and may find himself a top 10 selection on draft night. The Vic Metro MVP averaged 27 disposals, six tackles, six marks and five clearances throughout the NAB AFL Under 18 Championships in his top-age year. Higgins has been invited to the National combine.