2017 Draft thread

Should we take brayshaw at 1, and the more i read the more i like the idea, id be inclined to take his brother hamish as well if he is still available later in the draft. Hamish has overcome the injuries that cursed his draft year last year when highly rated and could really be a gem. Oldest brother Will is based in brisbane with the army so they would be comfortable up here. With andrew and hamish brayshaw, both midfielders, ballenden and payne boosting our tall stocks front and back, we could the look at something different with picks 15 and 18. A small fwd/mid or half fwd, higgins, miers, bonar, fogarty, whoever. It certainly opens up our options.
Whatever 44 becomes after bidding, or 52, should be enough to get Payne and Hamish Brayshaw. I reckon one of 15 /18 could be easily used on a small forward like Higgins, Miers or Lachlan Fogarty. 15 is the really interesting pick that we could use on a midfield slider, especially if Coll, Adel, WC or someone else take talls. One of Hunter Clark, Oscar Allen or Aiden Bonar might slide to 15 and would give our midfield a different look.

I like the Brayshaw, Allen, Petrucelle combo. Two safe picks in areas of need and a project with elite potential. Maybe a little high for Petrucelle but that sort of speed is rare and there aren't many players with elite qualities at that point in this draft IMO.

Would be happy with Rayner, L Fogarty, O'Brien too, but I think the quality of mids is a little thinner in the teens than other options we might have there.

Not sure Allen or O'Brien get to those picks either...can it just be Friday already???

Which player would be a better fit for us out of Bailey and Constable at 18?

Kennedy and Watson were father/sons drafted in the 3rd round, I doubt many expected them to have great careers at the time. For every player who improves their endurance to the standard required to play midfield, there will always be plenty more who don't.
Got nothing to do with where they were drafted , they examples of players who had no tank to start with.

Whilst I'm not on the Rayner bandwagon for a few reasons(mind you, things may have changed and I hope they have), I'll back the club in if they go down that path.

The personnel we have off field is the best we've had in a long time. Keep the faith.
What are your thoughts on Brayshaw cotter?
My recollection is that Cripps rose in the rankings as the draft got closer, rather than dropped.
This could also be the case, maybe all the 'how did he drop so far?' talk has confused me.

7pm EDST, tv coverage due to stat at 6:30.

Got excited there for a second ... until I checked the broadcast guide ... I guess you mean TV coverage as in Foxtel?

Another evening of hitting refresh and listening to the radio on draft night it is then!

I'd personally say Bailey by some distance.

Yeah, I'm liking him. Ticks a lot of boxes, Northerner and you would think he could tidy up his kicking/finishing a bit in AFL system.

Got excited there for a second ... until I checked the broadcast guide ... I guess you mean TV coverage as in Foxtel?

Another evening of hitting refresh and listening to the radio on draft night it is then!

Yeah, on Fox Footy. You'll probably be able to find a stream online on the day somewhere.

I've got foxtel,but am looking to go watch the draft out with a mate somewhere and have a beer. Anyone got any safe bets for places televising it? Lions club at Springwood surely,but another option wouldn't hurt.

Which player would be a better fit for us out of Bailey and Constable at 18?
Constable is really slow and not a great endurance runner, but he's a big bodied mid with clean hands, good vision and a long & accurate kick. If he can build his tank, he would be a good fit for us as an inside ball winner. I see Bailey as more of a flanker long term which we don't really need at the moment considering we have a decent amount of depth there.

Constable is really slow and not a great endurance runner, but he's a big bodied mid with clean hands, good vision and a long & accurate kick. If he can build his tank, he would be a good fit for us as an inside ball winner. I see Bailey as more of a flanker which we don't really need at the moment considering we have a decent amount of depth there.

Makes sense and we could certainly use a big bodied mid with clean hands but it's a big if in regards to Constable building that tank. If he can't improve his tank and ground coverage from stoppages then he would probably be pretty similar to Lester but without the ability to impact in other roles around the ground. I think Bailey looks like he'd be a mid down the line. The Zorko comparisons are getting thrown around a bit and there's certainly similarities.

ahem *coughs*Worpel*coughs*
Forgotten man. I still like him. Hard to believe how much he's slid. Would be perfectly happy with him at 18 but picking him up with one of those 3 3rd rounders we've got would be ideal. Does seem to be the consensus opinion he's sliding pretty deep.

Constable>Worpel

Similar players, both are big inside bulls with good hands, but Constable is a better user by foot and has the versatility to play forward and back also. Worpel is a poor mans Constable for mine.

Forgotten man. I still like him. Hard to believe how much he's slid. Would be perfectly happy with him at 18 but picking him up with one of those 3 3rd rounders we've got would be ideal. Does seem to be the consensus opinion he's sliding pretty deep.
That's 3 of us at least who think Worpel would be a great get. He has two years of good form, which impresses our recruiters. Would be a good blend with Brayshaw at 1, but if we could pick him up after Ballenden, it would be fabulous.

Constable>Worpel

Similar players, both are big inside bulls with good hands, but Constable is a better user by foot and has the versatility to play forward and back also. Worpel is a poor mans Constable for mine.
I don't disagree with that to much. I'd back Worpel up forward over Constable. But they are two different style of players, playing a similar role. Worpel is a head over the ball, power player that follows the contest. Where as Constable is a tall skilled player(185cm to 190cm) stoppage player. The big difference is that Worpel has the endurance and speed that Constable does not.

Worpel doesn't sound like a poor man to me. Constable had impressive stats at the champs, but I'm not sure how many of them were contested possessions. Will check out when I have time.

I think Constable's endurance can be easily improved when he gets into an AFL environment. When he builds a good tank he will be one hell of a player, just about the complete package apart from his speed. Could potentialy be a Patrick Cripps type. He's also Andrew Brayshaws best mate having played with him in the juniors. Those 2 would be a great combo with pick 1 and 18 in my opinion.

Constable>Worpel

Having consumed as much vid highlights of the two as I believe is possible, I agree with you.

Constable looks bigger, stronger and generally more skilful than Worpel to my eye.If we go Rayner with Pick 1 , Constable almost becomes an imperative for us

I'd be happy with something like Rayner,Constable and Bailey with our first three picks

2017 Draft thread