2017 Draft thread

What I like about Bailey is that he's got a good wiggle when leaving congestion and maintains his acceleration while doing it. His first instinct is also to get his arms up when doing it which means of he is tackled he can get the ball out. It's a nice combo to have and it complements the mix we have. We have some inside ball winners in matho, berry and I think Keays longer term, and outside runners in allison, Cameron, Cox but we still lack that link player when looking longer term. Mccluggage can be one, but he's a little different in style. Bailey is ideal to play that role with his skills too and offers another option in there.

I'm still massively concerned by his kicking though. Looks horrible. Hopefully we would set up someone outside more often that he can feed though. Still even if he's kicking into F50 it's not so bad given the fact that it will have come in very quickly. It's the pace of movement that makes danger look like a more effective kick than he actually is

Fogarty is the prototype small pressure forward, a tackling machine. 9.3 tackles a game at Champs; 9.7 tackles a game at TAC cup.
Tac cup CP 78 (45%) UP 96; 25 possessions per game average.
Champs CP 23 (38 %) up 36; 19 possessions per game average

Fogarty gets the ball more than Rayner at both levels, so is hardly outside, which I realise you acknowledge.
It's interesting to compare Fogarty's stats with Rayner, who only beats Fogarty in the contested possession ration and goals kicked, from a quick sqizz.

Fogarty is a midfielder and plays his best footy in the midfield. Contested numbers are fine.

May start up forward, as guys need time to develop before spending time in the midfield. He was required to have some time up forward in the championships, due to the sheer number on midfielders selected. This is the reason why his numbers were down in that competition. That said for the draft machine to have him thrown in amongst the forwards is factually incorrect & misleading. How many small forwards get those numbers in the TAC Cup?

Fogarty has been hugely underrated all season & it is now that he starting to get some recognition on the back of whispers that he will be drafted earlier than the Group BF think. The kid can play in his own right & is beyond just a play thing for Rayner's amusement.

I'm happy with Jarrod Berry, currently at 192cms and 84kgs as being that strong bodied mid going forward - Fogarty and Bailey seem smart fills from this draft and then we see where we fall come next years super draft. THEN BRING ON 2019!!!!

Yeah, this. It's also worth remembering Mathieson is nearly 188cm too, and Witherden (186cm) and Allison (193cm) will spend time through the midfield in the future as well, potentially permanently. That's not even taking Rayner into consideration. How many big midfielders do we really need? Bailey and Fogarty look like good picks from a list balance point of view IMO.

Fogarty is a beauty and i really hope we grab him. I was only comparing him to Bailey when it was questioned why we would be grabbing both at 15 and 18 when they are of a similar height. I was just saying i don't see a problem as they are different type of players, Bailey being an inside midfielder. For what it's worth though, i would think our recruiting staff see Fogarty becoming a midfielder down the track. He's played midfielder most of they year, with stints in the forward line (hence his high numbers). I would have been surprised if Rayner had a higher possession count, considering he plays a higher percentage in the fwd line.
Yeah Fogarty + Bailey seems a bit like doubling down on guys who'll compete with Keays, Mathieson and Lyons for 2nd string midfield spots to me. Surely Brander would have to be very tempting if he's there at 18.

Bailey has the Ablett like physical gifts. Strong hips, a change of direction almost instantly and ability to go from standing to max pace in 3 or 4 steps. Skills need work also his inside work as well isn't exactly great especially when he tends to just throw his head down and seemingly look at the ground while trying to run through 2 or 3 blokes. Loses focus a bit but for pick 18 it's worth a punt.

Yeah Fogarty + Bailey seems a bit like doubling down on guys who'll compete with Keays, Mathieson and Lyons for 2nd string midfield spots to me. Surely Brander would have to be very tempting if he's there at 18.

Leave us right out of taking Brander, he is not what we need another Schache who gets the sooks

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

I think, like Jarrod Berry, Lachlan Fogarty will be considered a huge steal this time next year if we end up with him at pick 15.
Admittedly when I was watching the u18 games this year I wasn' looking out for the likes of Fogarty. Going over the footage on youtube he really does do everything well. From what I've saw from a few vids is his kicking is very good, he has nice awareness, tackles like a maniac, and some pace to add to the mix. Will compliment our current team very well IMO.

Was just reading that Cam Rayner is considered ‘marketable’. What’s marketable about him exactly? Is he going to kick impossible goals from the pocket and then do hand stands or something?

High energy player who is fun to watch, and has a clear love for the game.

So assuming that all rumours and phantoms are on the mark and we do take Rayner, does anybody know what his speed and agility are like? Will he be able to break through packs and a win a final in his first year?

Those qualities are very important to our footy team right now. Let's hope the recruiters get it right this time.

Fogarty is a midfielder and plays his best footy in the midfield. Contested numbers are fine.

May start up forward, as guys need time to develop before spending time in the midfield. He was required to have some time up forward in the championships, due to the sheer number on midfielders selected. This is the reason why his numbers were down in that competition. That said for the draft machine to have him thrown in amongst the forwards is factually incorrect & misleading. How many small forwards get those numbers in the TAC Cup?

Fogarty has been hugely underrated all season & it is now that he starting to get some recognition on the back of whispers that he will be drafted earlier than the Group BF think. The kid can play in his own right & is beyond just a play thing for Rayner's amusement.
Yeah you're right, a midfielder, who will start as a small forward for us. There's no guarantee he'll still be available at 15 with Longmire and Sydney interviewing him this week. Higgins might be the other option, who also did well in the midfield and as a small forward.

I don't want Brander either, but I would be all over Oscar Allen at 15, because of his character and because long term he is one who strikes me with the ability to be that big-bodied midfielder. In the short term, he is a great 3rd tall option.

Someone very decent will be available at 15.

So assuming that all rumours and phantoms are on the mark and we do take Rayner, does anybody know what his speed and agility are like? Will he be able to break through packs and a win a final in his first year?

Those qualities are very important to our footy team right now. Let's hope the recruiters get it right this time.
The recruiters have never got it wrong, well not in my lifetime anyway. Other clique members might have longer memories.
I think Rayner will win us AFLX. He's as fast as a speeding bullet, able to jump tall buildings with a single bound, et cetera...

Yeah you're right, a midfielder, who will start as a small forward for us. There's no guarantee he'll still be available at 15 with Longmire and Sydney interviewing him this week. Higgins might be the other option, who also did well in the midfield and as a small forward.

I don't want Brander either, but I would be all over Oscar Allen at 15, because of his character and because long term he is one who strikes me with the ability to be that big-bodied midfielder. In the short term, he is a great 3rd tall option.

Someone very decent will be available at 15.
Let's hope Fogarty tanked his interview with the Swans so he can be with Rayner. I reckon he would... I would if I was in his shoes. If you are going to move interstate make it with a best mate.

Can’t you go watch 3 minutes of highlights and form your own opinion like everybody else.

Anyway, the answers are yes and yes.

It's like a shitty Hollywood remake years later trying to recapture the magic and failing.

I'm pretty sold on Lachlan Fogarty with pick 15 now but I'd love for Aiden Bonar to somehow slip to pick 18. High risk high reward type obviously but gee his potential is through the roof, particularly if he is able to develop into a mid. It would be so handy having a midfielder with his aerial ability. He'd be similar to the Bont in that regard. We'd probably need Jarrod Brander to go in the 11-17 range for that to be any chance of happening. My dream draft scenario would be-

1 Rayner
15 Fogarty
18 Bonar
Late 30's bid for Ballenden which we match with 40
44 Petruccelle

Unlikely to happen but would be fantastic.

Nice pisstake:thumbsu::)

I believe you forgot his ability to shake a tag...

I am not the biggest fan of Fogarty. Solid citizen type of player who plays behind too much at the contest. I would prefer he hunted the ball more at rucks rather than letting his man get it and then tackling him. Not seeing a huge upside with him.

so Quigley , who would you wish for as an extractor a tough inside mid at those picks ? and if available would you draft Allan

Without digging too deep I think this is a direct rip of the former Port recruiter's list that was a guest on the Junktime AFL podcast. The guy was interesting to listen to but seemed slightly out of touch on Pick 1 which had a flow on effect. Having said that, he has been pretty accurate in the past. Worth a listen, if at least to get introduced to a fun comedy AFL podcast and the thought processes and gossip that a former professional recruiter has about this draft. https://itunes.apple.com/au/podcast...ozenbachs-michael-chamberlin/id837646341?mt=2

2017 Draft thread