2017 Draft thread

I am not the biggest fan of Fogarty. Solid citizen type of player who plays behind too much at the contest. I would prefer he hunted the ball more at rucks rather than letting his man get it and then tackling him. Not seeing a huge upside with him.
Better than letting your man get it and not tackling him I suppose.
But on a serious note, his highlights (yes, I know they are just highlights), show he has the ability to win his own ball. I also get the sense that he will be a part-time mid for a while yet which you would expect anyway for a youngster with a slightish frame.
The thing with Fogarty is that he isn't a flashy type, more a workman which is not to say he lacks skill. I will be honest and say I have been at a few of his matches this year and not noticed him particularly until going through my photos later. As against others (particularly Rayner of course), who tend to do the more noticeable things. I value your expertise in these things but for my part he is ranked about right in the 13 to 20 range and I would be happy with him at 15 and be even happier at 18 given I would love us to snag Higgins at 15 if he were still available. I also like Miers but not at those picks unfortunately.

So far based off the information out there, I see these is how the draft will go:

1. Brisbane Lions – Cameron Rayner
2. Fremantle – Adam Cerra
3. Carlton – Paddy Dow
4. North Melbourne – Darcy Fogarty
5. Fremantle – Luke Davies-Uniacke
6. Collingwood – Aaron Naughton
7. St Kilda – Andrew Brayshaw
8. St Kilda – Nick Coffield
9. Western Bulldogs – Hunter Clark
10. Carlton – Ed Richards
11. GWS Giants – Aiden Bonar
12. Adelaide – Jack Higgins
13. West Coast – Lochie O’Brien
14. Sydney Swans - Oscar Allen
15. Brisbane Lions - Jaidyn Stephenson
16. Western Bulldogs – Nathan Murphy
17. Richmond - Jarrod Brander
18. Brisbane Lions – Lachlan Fogarty
19. Gold Coast - Zac Bailey

So far based off the information out there, I see these is how the draft will go:

3. Carlton – Paddy Dow
The information l have read on here is that we aren't drafting Stephensen, we will get Fogarty at 15 IF Sydney don't get him with 14 first

so Quigley , who would you wish for as an extractor a tough inside mid at those picks ? and if available would you draft Allan

I wouldn't necessarily go for a tough extractor but Bailey at 18 would fill that role pretty well and we do have a few who can do that already amongst our younger players if you have confidence that they will develop. Tim Kelly I like as previously mentioned but there is the issue of him not wanting to leave WA. I would prefer Higgins if he was there.

I think the value is more likely to be on the outside and O'Brien is one I would like there. I note that fail rate of outside players produced by Champion Data but I note the guy he is most often compared to is Gaff and he is an exception. It also lumps O'Brien into the midfield group and not the back flank where he played at least half his time this year.

I would have no problem taking Allan as I see him as being similar to Darling and it is worth noting that if Darling was not so important up forward he had the potential when drafted to play in the midfield. Allan also has that potential. He will cover a lot of ground no matter where he is playing and will act as another flanker even if he is nominally a CHF on the sheet.

The information l have read on here is that we aren't drafting Stephenson, we will get Fogarty at 15 IF Sydney don't get him with 14 first
That might be true, but midfielders will be on the Lions's recruiting agenda these draft. If a top 5 prospect midfielder like Stephenson is available at pick 15 then I reckon we will select him.

AFL Talent Manager, Kevin Sheahan was exhorting clubs to get all the expert medical information available on Stephenson and not rely on hearsay or broadbrush rumours.

Reckons it's "all clear".

Unless Sheahan is pushing his barrow for some unknown reason, there doesn't seem to be any reason why he (in his position) would downplay a serious condition, if it exists.

His Eastren Rangers coach also going in to bat for him:

Don't regret it: Ranges coach warns recruiters

Marc McGowan November 24, 2017

Darren Bewick on Jaidyn Stephenson

THE COACH of the TAC Cup's most-wanted list has warned AFL recruiters to overlook match-winner Jaidyn Stephenson at their peril.

Club officials are still frantically pouring over Stephenson's medical results after becoming aware of a heart irregularity at the NAB AFL Draft Combine in October.

It is the biggest talking point for Darren Bewick's talent-laden Eastern Ranges and the draft in general.

The Ranges are in rarified air, with the potential for double-digit draftees on Friday night, headlined by silky midfielder and possible No.2 pick Adam Cerra.

Only four clubs – Port Adelaide Magpies with 11 in 1992 and Western Jets and Northern Knights (both 1994) and Claremont (1991) with 10 – have achieved that in the national draft's 31-year history.

Stephenson may slide into the late teens after once being considered a top-five selection, with premier Richmond doing its due diligence in the chance he is available at pick 17.

But Bewick said the drama about Stephenson's health was a gross overreaction and that the forward-midfielder had X-factor and could "win a game off his own boot".

AFL.com.au understands Stephenson's family has a history of the heart condition and played high-level sport without an issue.

"I'd suggest the clubs passing him up will regret it in three or four years' time when they see him running around," the dual Essendon premiership star told AFL.com.au.

"Jaidyn's not showing any sign of anything.

"He's one of our hardest workers on the track and he plays a very explosive game, so if it was going to be a problem then we would have seen it and it would have affected his footy.

^^^^^^

I put this on the Pick 1 thread.

3. Carlton – Paddy Dow
That would be the dream. To get Rayner, Fogarty and Stephenson in the same draft would be huge. Rayner and Stephenson could easily turn out to be the 2 best players from this draft, both have high ceilings. I think Stephenson's heart problem has been overstated though and he will go in the top 8 somewhere.

Yeah.

You'd think there would have to be groupthink-like paranoia amongst the recruiters for him to last to 15

I think the only people who can really make that call is our clubs doctors. If he is available at pick 15 and we don't take him, I think it's safe to guess the doctors' medical conclusion.

Yeah, as hard as it is to see the club overlook a potential bargain, I think you’ve got to accept that the medical staff are the only ones both qualified and informed to make a call on a situation like this.

Just on that, what if another doctor at another club gives him the green light?

If the opinions of our medical staff aren't unanimous is it worth the risk when we've got a healthy and safe Fogarty/Higgins available at 15?

It might not be a clear cut decision. The medical advice might not be to rule him out completely.

AFL Talent Manager, Kevin Sheahan was exhorting clubs to get all the expert medical information available on Stephenson and not rely on hearsay or broadbrush rumours.

Unless Sheahan is pushing his barrow for some unknown reason, there doesn't seem to be any reason why he (in his position) would downplay a serious condition, if it exists.

THE COACH of the TAC Cup's most-wanted list has warned AFL recruiters to overlook match-winner Jaidyn Stephenson at their peril.

Club officials are still frantically pouring over Stephenson's medical results after becoming aware of a heart irregularity at the NAB AFL Draft Combine in October.

It is the biggest talking point for Darren Bewick's talent-laden Eastern Ranges and the draft in general.

The Ranges are in rarified air, with the potential for double-digit draftees on Friday night, headlined by silky midfielder and possible No.2 pick Adam Cerra.

Only four clubs – Port Adelaide Magpies with 11 in 1992 and Western Jets and Northern Knights (both 1994) and Claremont (1991) with 10 – have achieved that in the national draft's 31-year history.

Stephenson may slide into the late teens after once being considered a top-five selection, with premier Richmond doing its due diligence in the chance he is available at pick 17.

But Bewick said the drama about Stephenson's health was a gross overreaction and that the forward-midfielder had X-factor and could "win a game off his own boot".

AFL.com.au understands Stephenson's family has a history of the heart condition and played high-level sport without an issue.

"I'd suggest the clubs passing him up will regret it in three or four years' time when they see him running around," the dual Essendon premiership star told AFL.com.au.

"He's one of our hardest workers on the track and he plays a very explosive game, so if it was going to be a problem then we would have seen it and it would have affected his footy.

^^^^^^

Thanks for putting this up mate...

^^^^^^

Thanks for posting this mate...best commentar6 Ihave read on an ind

^^^^^^

Just on that, what if another doctor at another club gives him the green light?

Different doctors have different opinions quite commonly, and that's before even getting into environmental considerations from different locations he might be drafted to, for example.

My take is that Stephenson and/or manager hearing that the WCE at pick #13 are suggesting to the 7 Melbourne based clubs before that... hey things are cool, it's all good, pick me, PLEASE!

Probably been asked 50 times,but what time does the draft start (Brisbane time)? 5:30 or 6:30?

Just checked on the afl website which has 7pm melb time as the start. I thought it was 530 too. Who knows.

QLD time table.

Combine & Draft show on Fox Sports at 4:30pm. Seriously not worth watching once they start talking their mock draft.

Draft show starts at 5:30pm. Actual draft starts at 6pm. Not sure if Gil will dribble on for 10 minutes to begin the draft.

My take is that Stephenson and/or manager hearing that the WCE at pick #13 are suggesting to the 7 Melbourne based clubs before that... hey things are cool, it's all good, pick me, PLEASE!

If the Eagles go for Stephenson, that could result in Oscar Allan being available to us.

Well, his heart condition won’t go away if he’s taken 10 picks later - one club will eventually take him. Might as well just take him with our pick if he’s supposedly that good. Only issue I could potentially see is the heat in Brisbane being a problem?

2017 Draft thread