List Mgmt. 2017 draft thread

No one will be paying 2 first rounders Schache...
It may be what Brisbane want, but NO ONE will pay that for him

I suspect Collingwood might go close. They desperately need that KPF, or all their brilliant trading on of midfielders goes to waste and they have to start again. :p

They are saying the draft really thins out after pick 10 this year and as it stands even with two first rounders, we won't have a top 10 pick.
If we don't use one on Schache is it worth trading both our first rounders for a pick in the top 5?

Where do the guys in the know think Hayden McLean will go in the draft and could he be the answer to our second KPF problem.. 196cm dandy stingrays. Good contested mark and a pack buster by accounts... Bishop thoughts.....
Think he might be available at our picks say 10-18

Undrafted - key forwards than have the turning circle of the Titanic struggle to get drafted. Sandy Dragons - Ankle injury on the weekend.

Thanks mate
If we are to target a KPF through the draft instead or going after schache from brissie who do you think would be available around our picks ( I know it's still along way out from those positions being settled but I think ours and the geelong first that we have will be from 10-18 )

Thanks mate
If we are to target a KPF through the draft instead or going after schache from brissie who do you think would be available around our picks ( I know it's still along way out from those positions being settled but I think ours and the geelong first that we have will be from 10-18 )

Doubt we'll be able to get one at those picks - Noah Balta might be around (probably ends up top 10). No real other KPFs.

since i wrote my long piece about where i see the trade/draft period is going, things have changed immensely.

so here is my revised view

trade targets - Schache (gone, re-signed) im glad about this. has done nothing and the money being thrown around was stupid. Reid - his stocks at Sydney have just gone up again after last night, and i think we are a better chance at Tippett than reid at the moment. Fyfe - i think he re-signs with Freo.

so that means none of those 3 are likely to be at RFC next year. which leaves Jackson Trengove, Westhoff and Shoenmakers as FA talls. and i am not really keen on any of them. Trengove maybe.

Who i think will be delisted/trade bait this year.

Gone - Morris, Maric, Hampson, townsend, Hunt, Broad, Batchelor - poss Griff if his concussion issues rear again. How much money does that clear up? I reckon (without Griff) $2.5-3M per year (7 players at average $350-450k per year) sounds about right.

I think Elton will stay 1 more season as we will lose hampson and Maric and need tall cover.

I dont see many players being traded out.

So that will leave around 6-8 players to draft/trade in. 1 of them will be Pat Naish and we will upgrade Castagna.

So really, we have the ability to draft/trade in 4-6 players. I would LOVE them to throw the cheque book at Kelly. Maric, Hampsons, Hunts and Batchelors wages might be around $2.1-2.4m per year. Offer Kelly $850K (or $100k less than what we are offereing Dusty) per year, and the other $1M is still free. Probably $300-$400k of that goes do dusty's new contract.

Outs - 7 players - (~$2.8M/year)
ins - Kelly ($850k/year) - Dusty contract goes up to $900k/year. leaves around $1.6m per year (before the new CBA and after the increase of Dustys contract).

Naish and 4 kids will cost around $350K ($70k per year per player)
so that leaves around $1.3M per year. increase some other contracts and that will bring it down to about $700k left. Add in the new CBA and it'd be around $1m left.

We could afford Fyfe as well. :D

since i wrote my long piece about where i see the trade/draft period is going, things have changed immensely.

trade targets - Schache (gone, re-signed) im glad about this. has done nothing and the money being thrown around was stupid. Reid - his stocks at Sydney have just gone up again after last night, and i think we are a better chance at Tippett than reid at the moment. Fyfe - i think he re-signs with Freo.

so that means none of those 3 are likely to be at RFC next year. which leaves Jackson Trengove, Westhoff and Shoenmakers as FA talls. and i am not really keen on any of them. Trengove maybe.

Gone - Morris, Maric, Hampson, townsend, Hunt, Broad, Batchelor - poss Griff if his concussion issues rear again. How much money does that clear up? I reckon (without Griff) $2.5-3M per year (7 players at average $350-450k per year) sounds about right.

I think Elton will stay 1 more season as we will lose hampson and Maric and need tall cover.

So that will leave around 6-8 players to draft/trade in. 1 of them will be Pat Naish and we will upgrade Castagna.

So really, we have the ability to draft/trade in 4-6 players. I would LOVE them to throw the cheque book at Kelly. Maric, Hampsons, Hunts and Batchelors wages might be around $2.1-2.4m per year. Offer Kelly $850K (or $100k less than what we are offereing Dusty) per year, and the other $1M is still free. Probably $300-$400k of that goes do dusty's new contract.

ins - Kelly ($850k/year) - Dusty contract goes up to $900k/year. leaves around $1.6m per year (before the new CBA and after the increase of Dustys contract).

so that leaves around $1.3M per year. increase some other contracts and that will bring it down to about $700k left. Add in the new CBA and it'd be around $1m left.

Love your optimism. I doubt we'll do all you said. But if Hammer and Griff are done and dusted then we have big $ to throw around.

Could be interesting.

Doubt we'll be able to get one at those picks - Noah Balta might be around (probably ends up top 10). No real other KPFs.

So the dream of replenishing our KPF stocks slips away due to both us and Geelong playing well.

Oh well, they reckon 2018 is a bumper year for the draft.

Funny how next year is always going to be great. :)

We can't draft a tall just because our 22 desperately needs one. There's no way they'll be ready to go and we can't afford to reach when quality midfield depth would be just a valuable to our list.

Agree. Just because we draft a tall today in 2017 doesn't mean they're ready to go in 2018 and fix our problems. Very rare talls can come in and make an immediate influence.

Always take the best available for me.

How to Win the Off-Season Again: A Guide

Step #1: Re-sign Dustin Martin to 1.1m x 5 yrs

Step #2: Sell our 1st Rd pick (GEE) to GWS for Hopper or to Hawthorn for Jack Gunston. (Steak knives where necessary).

Step #3: Sign Sam Reid (SYD) via FA on no more than 700k (Which is only 580k roughly, prior to the CBA). Do not touch Kurt Tippett.

Step #4: Draft Oscar Clavarino (Dandenong Stingrays/VIC Country KPD, 194cm 80kgs, best defender in the draft) with our remaining 1st Rd pick. *Alternatively, if we have both our 1st Rd picks still, trade up to take Jarrod Brander, who will go anywhere from pick 3-7.

Step #5: Match Patrick Naish bid (somewhere around #20) with points.

They are saying the draft really thins out after pick 10 this year and as it stands even with two first rounders, we won't have a top 10 pick.
If we don't use one on Schache is it worth trading both our first rounders for a pick in the top 5?

If that's true I can't see why anyone would agree to do this type of trade with us.

Sounds good but 850 won't get Kelly.

$850 wont get kelly, Would have to be over a mil as thats what noth have offered and looks like they will even increase to more
Dusty - we will be lucky to sign for $1 mil

GWS kids is where we should be concentrating with our 2 first rounders, Kennedy,Hopper & Himmelberg are the 3 players we should be burning their ears

$850 wont get kelly, Would have to be over a mil as thats what noth have offered and looks like they will even increase to more
Dusty - we will be lucky to sign for $1 mil

GWS kids is where we should be concentrating with our 2 first rounders, Kennedy,Hopper & Himmelberg are the 3 players we should be burning their ears

What's the likelihood of selling 2 1sts for 3 GWS kids worth a 1st Rd pick each, and why would GWS consider it, in your opinion.

There is a few reasons for this.

These 3 players are getting games now but wont get as many games when all the GWS players are back from injury for example
Himmelberg wont be played at AFL level when the GWS team has Lobb,Cameron,Patton all playing.

These kids are about to finish their 2nd year as draftee's on min salary of $75,000 a year + $3,600 a game
So roughly if Himmelberg plays 20 games he will earn roughly $140k - But he wont play 20 games with the 3 big guns available , He would be on $300k+ if he moves as a base.

Jacob Hopper this year wont earn more than $100k but if he moves he will recieve $350k-$400k because clubs will pay more to move them, With this much pressure GWS wont be able to pay them and will lose players like Kelly and other players that are in their 21-24 year range and these are the players that they are needing to keep to have a shot at the flag. Simply GWS cant afford to pay them and players will want games and money so they need to trade them at a discount.

GWS also have Academy players to bring in and need draft picks, They dont have a 1st rounder and their 2nd doesnt have value for points, But our 2x 1st rounders are just perfect for them as its not a particular player but points required. our 2 1st rounders will have the same points value as #2

Where they were selected
#7 - Jacob Hopper
#13 - Matthew Kennedy
#16 - Harrison Himmelberg

We will roughly have #12 & #14 , So its not a massive discount for them but gives them Salary cap relief as well as 1st round picks, No club is going to offer any of these players a top 10 pick each - I really think we have a great chance to get these kids as a package but need to be really aggressive in trying to convince them to come across. I would offer all 3 of them $400k x 4 year deals

*Keep Dusty
*bring in the 3 GWS Kids
*our 3rd rounder - P.Naish
*GWS 3rd rounder - H.Balic
*Upgrade Castagna
* F/A - Levi Casboult

Retirements/Delistings
Maric,Morris,Hunt,Elton,Yarran,Broad,Hampson

Trade Table
Lennon,Miles,Batchelor,Edwards