List Mgmt. 2017 draft thread

Whilst we do need KPF you still need to take best available with your high picks , From this early stage without watching any games and just going off whats been written in the media and from the astute watchers posting on bigfooty and other forums the 2 players that look like being available at our selections (if we dont trade them) that i like are Noah Balta & Nicholas Coffield

Coffield looks like he will be a classy player - Sounding alot like Deledio

https://www.afldraftcentral.com.au/2017/05/10/player-focus-nicholas-coffield/

Likelihood of having to use a 1st on Naish?

Also, I think it's almost a certainty that, if we keep both our 1sts, we'd draft a KPP and a MID. Balta and Wooller/Coffield ?

Late 1st-early 2nd for Naish. Balta + Coffield ideally, but Balta I still reckon breaks into top 10.

Whilst we do need KPF you still need to take best available with your high picks , From this early stage without watching any games and just going off whats been written in the media and from the astute watchers posting on bigfooty and other forums the 2 players that look like being available at our selections (if we dont trade them) that i like are Noah Balta & Nicholas Coffield

Coffield looks like he will be a classy player - Sounding alot like Deledio

https://www.afl*******************/2017/05/10/player-focus-nicholas-coffield/

Late 1st-early 2nd for Naish. Balta + Coffield ideally, but Balta I still reckon breaks into top 10.

My instincts and gut feel is that we will trade our 1st round picks this year or maybe just keep 1 but cant see us keeping both , But say we do
I wouldnt be too unhappy with a net result of - Hoping Balta gets to #12/#14 similar to Marshall last year
# 12 - Balta
# 14 - Coffield
#3rd - Naish

Likelihood of having to use a 1st on Naish?

Also, I think it's almost a certainty that, if we keep both our 1sts, we'd draft a KPP and a MID. Balta and Wooller/Coffield ?
Was it last year or the year before we trolled a few clubs by bidding on there father sons earlier than expected? Could bite us in the arse with Naish, unless we trade those picks away

We bid on Mathew Kennedy (GWS) that was matched - GWS doesnt have a 1st round selection and wouldnt bid on Naish even if they got early picks for Kelly
We also bid on Eric Hipwood (bris) - Cant see Brisbane bidding on naish with #1 or the port 1st rounder, Specially with their retention issue's

North would be the flogs that would bid with their 2nd rounder and maybe Saints,Blues,Dogs all with their 2nd rounders

Expecting a bid between #20-#25 roughly 850 points -20% we will need about 750-780 points we should lose both our 3rd picks and 4th pick will get pushed out

We bid on Mathew Kennedy (GWS) that was matched - GWS doesnt have a 1st round selection and wouldnt bid on Naish even if they got early picks for Kelly
We also bid on Eric Hipwood (bris) - Cant see Brisbane bidding on naish with #1 or the port 1st rounder, Specially with their retention issue's

North would be the flogs that would bid with their 2nd rounder and maybe Saints,Blues,Dogs all with their 2nd rounders

Expecting a bid between #20-#25 roughly 850 points -20% we will need about 750-780 points we should lose both our 3rd picks and 4th pick will get pushed out

Once the bid goes outside of Pick 18 the reduction is locked at 197 pts: So roughly 850 points goes down to roughly 653 points. (Which is better than 20%)

My instincts and gut feel is that we will trade our 1st round picks this year or maybe just keep 1 but cant see us keeping both , But say we do
I wouldnt be too unhappy with a net result of - Hoping Balta gets to #12/#14 similar to Marshall last year
# 12 - Balta
# 14 - Coffield
#3rd - Naish
No chance of that happening, club will bid on Naish forcing us to use our first pick, our best options this year are to trade both firsts and use later picks to take Naish.

We bid on them way later than expected. Was a surprise they were there.

If a club does they will **** themselves because we wont match.

No chance of that happening, club will bid on Naish forcing us to use our first pick, our best options this year are to trade both firsts and use later picks to take Naish.

Wont happen unless he is worth a first. Teams have already proved that academy and f/s players don't go for overs to force a team to match. In fact can only think of Himmelberg going earlier than phantom drafts (crows really liked him), the rest go later.

A club will still force us to use it, even if he ends up being a late first early/mid second rounder we will be forced to use one of our firsts on him.

trade into the 2018 draft which supposedly is better than this years. That's one way to avoid using either of our first rounders on Naish.
Funny how things change though, im almost certain last year they were spruiking this years draft as a super draft for talls, but that no longer seems the case.

A club will still force us to use it, even if he ends up being a late first early/mid second rounder we will be forced to use one of our firsts on him.

No way. He isn't rated a first.

Teams spend thousands of dollars and man hours trying to nail draftees. Guys like Naish are most likely to be low priority for scouts as they are likely to be unavailable, teams know the roundabout value but are not willing to overpay.

Guys like Brown, Silvagni, Daicos, Garthwaite, Hopper, Kennedy, Mutch, Bowes, Macreadie go later than expected because of this.

No way. He isn't rated a first.

Teams spend thousands of dollars and man hours trying to nail draftees. Guys like Naish are most likely to be low priority for scouts as they are likely to be unavailable, teams know the roundabout value but are not willing to overpay.

Guys like Brown, Silvagni, Daicos, Garthwaite, Hopper, Kennedy, Mutch, Bowes, Macreadie go later than expected because of this.

I remember one club telling me last year they didn't bother watching a few academy kids as they knew that the bid was going to be matched wherever - so they may as well focus on the other players in the pool.

Naish talked about as a late first/early second at the moment -- which means the bid will come in the 20s as you rightly suggest the picks go later than expected.

I remember one club telling me last year they didn't bother watching a few academy kids as they knew that the bid was going to be matched wherever - so they may as well focus on the other players in the pool.

Naish talked about as a late first/early second at the moment -- which means the bid will come in the 20s as you rightly suggest the picks go later than expected.
Im hoping the Kid gets to around your ranking area of #26 which would probably mean we lose our 2 3rd rounders and our 4th comes to around 55 range
would that be right or would be still hold GWS 3rd and our 4th and 5th get used for the points

Im hoping the Kid gets to around your ranking area of #26 which would probably mean we lose our 2 3rd rounders and our 4th comes to around 55 range
would that be right or would be still hold GWS 3rd and our 4th and 5th get used for the points

Highly doubt we use Pick 55 or anything that late. If we keep the picks we have I dare say we take the two first rounders and Naish + a rookie upgrade and pass remaining.

Do we actually HAVE to have Naish?
What's the point in paying overs just because his old man played for us?
If he was a Rioli, then that's different.
Bit like Silvagni and Daicos. Blues and Pies couldn't let them play for another club.

Provided he doesn't go first round, and I don't think he will, we actually get him when we shouldn't even if the points allocation mean we pay a fair price.

We use our first two picks... great. Naish still on the board.
Our next pick not until say pick 45 (3rd round)...
Someone bids on Naish in 2nd round, allowing us to take a 2nd round draft pick, with a our third round pick
We will need to combine some of the points for our fourth round pick to match the bid however
But if we are just using that 4th round pick for an upgrade, it is irrelevant as to how many points it's worth or how low the pick is (where not missing out on the talent because of the down grade)

So effectively the outcome is this:
We use our 2 x first rounders accoringly
Get a second round kid for a third round pick
upgrade a rookie to the senior list with a pick 10 places lower than it should be.

All this comes down too is Naish not being bid on before our two first round picks

We don't have to, but he's worth having. Dash and skill off half-back.

Provided he doesn't go first round, and I don't think he will, we actually get him when we shouldn't even if the points allocation mean we pay a fair price.

We use our first two picks... great. Naish still on the board.
Our next pick not until say pick 45 (3rd round)...
Someone bids on Naish in 2nd round, allowing us to take a 2nd round draft pick, with a our third round pick
We will need to combine some of the points for our fourth round pick to match the bid however
But if we are just using that 4th round pick for an upgrade, it is irrelevant as to how many points it's worth or how low the pick is (where not missing out on the talent because of the down grade)

So effectively the outcome is this:
We use our 2 x first rounders accoringly
Get a second round kid for a third round pick
upgrade a rookie to the senior list with a pick 10 places lower than it should be.

All this comes down too is Naish not being bid on before our two first round picks
If this eventuates & a tall or 2 slide to our pick (talls do tend to slide out of top 10) we are laughing.
In what is meant to be a shallow draft (drops away after about 30-40) we'll basically get 3 kids inside 30 even we don't have 3 top 30 picks.