List Mgmt. 2017 draft thread

If Stephenson is there at 17, we would be mad not to take him, unless we have reason to believe these extra tests will actually come back with bad news.

We are coming off a flag and have 3 (hopefully 4) picks in the top 30. If that’s not a prime position to take a bit of a risk I don’t know what is. From all reports the kid has been given the tick by his own docs and specialists but clubs are waiting on their own second opinion, chances are they will come back all good as well.

Taking a risk on a top 5 talent at 17, in the position we find ourselves in as mentioned, is a no brainer

If Stephenson is there at 17, we would be mad not to take him, unless we have reason to believe these extra tests will actually come back with bad news.

We are coming off a flag and have 3 (hopefully 4) picks in the top 30. If that’s not a prime position to take a bit of a risk I don’t know what is. From all reports the kid has been given the tick by his own docs and specialists but clubs are waiting on their own second opinion, chances are they will come back all good as well.

Taking a risk on a top 5 talent at 17, in the position we find ourselves in as mentioned, is a no brainer
He might have Svt which isn’t to bad or something else in which exercise over a long period of time makes the heart have trouble pumping blood. If svt could be minor and fixed in the off season. Hopper had it and i get it to.

Patrick NAISH
15-Jan-99 | 180.6cm | 68.9kg | Northern Knights
“Naishy played only six games for us and we loved having him in the side. We could play in him a number of roles – he’s got enormous x-factor. His GPS numbers are already at an AFL level, which doesn’t get talked enough about him. When he gets the ball he can hurt the opposition and he’s really natural around goals. He worked hard with our tackling coach to improve in that area and he’s always the last one on the track having shots at goal and a bit of fun.” – Northern Knights talent manager Rhy Gieschen.

Kicking Marking Accumulating Cont. Ball Speed Agility Endurance Range
3.5 3.5 4 3 4 4.5 4.5 Top 25

So Stephenson is a top 5 talent
Brander last year was pick 1
Hayes was top 5 or top 10 talent
Naish some also had has top 10 talent

So after winning the flag we could recruit 4 kids who at one stage were all in the top 10.
If they all come alongas expected this draft could be pretty special for us and whilst we won't win 10 flags in a row by Gees we will be competing for a very long time.
add those guys to the 1-4 yr players we have now & we have a very bright future ahead.

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/af...t/news-story/fb03f7cc10948dcf2f465211f3e85446

Fox footy has us Stephenson, Brander, Hayes and Naish as well. Also, as Naish goes at 30 we won't be in deficit next year for our second rounder
79405b4faab04fcb0a5a208b3df6ee6c.gif

On SM-G930F using BigFooty.com mobile app
Please let this happen

I think he's overrated from the hype of being rated no.1 as an academy prospect. Barely touched the footy.

Tigs dont think u have to worry bout brander being a bust as with all academy and father sons they get over hyped early days but definatly think he is the best KPF in this draft.. Agile, Great hands, footbal brain, crashes packs and uses his body well forward needs to work on endurance like most 18yr old kp players but is the perfect apprentice to jack i think

Reckon Brander is a giant dud

Yeah I kind of agree. Reminds me a little of Kristian Jaksch (spelling), has the tools but can't put it together. Although at the same time I would back Leppa/Jack and Rutten/Rance to get the best out of him

Still love to get Balta or Taylor or Petty.Balta stocks have dramatically gone down.

Clubs believe Balta is very raw, so a gamble.

Friend of mine is close to his family and says Tigers and Dogs have shown him the most interest. Although clubs may now gain more interest knowing he will be available with their next picks.

From my perspective, I think we had genuine interest in him until it became clear that Brander could be available. This is just an opinion though, not from the same source. Could we be back in if Brander is off the table? Who knows? Personally, I'd be happy to take both of them given the luxurious position we find ourselves in.

I'd have no issues going with KPP x 2, Ruck x 1 and Naish. Either way, we will come out in a strong position and will be a fun draft night either way.

I think he's overrated from the hype of being rated no.1 as an academy prospect. Barely touched the footy.
Except for his 9 marks, 3 goals and 16 possessions against Vic Metro and his 25 odd possessions (against SA I think). Don't read too much into his TAC Cup this year. Playing forward at Bendigo was difficult especially towards the end of the year. Hadn't played or trained all year.

I have finally had a chance to look at some highlights of some of the draftees. One guy that stood out particularly to my untrained eye was Zac Bailey and it looks likely he will be available at our picks. Whats everyone else's thoughts on him? He looks ready to go to me, moves beautifully and has clean hands. His highlights show him continually taking the game on and releasing team mates into better positions from his natural aggressive running. Reminds me a bit of Joel Selwood with a bit more toe and a bit less ducking for frees. His the one I want, would be a great early chrissy prezzie. If you get a chance have a look at his highlights on the AFL website. Go tigs

Just had a look. Pretty solid. Nice ball winner

Tigs dont think u have to worry bout brander being a bust as with all academy and father sons they get over hyped early days but definatly think he is the best KPF in this draft.. Agile, Great hands, footbal brain, crashes packs and uses his body well forward needs to work on endurance like most 18yr old kp players but is the perfect apprentice to jack i think

Only problem he is as soft as butter. Hope I am wrong and he becomes a champion for us

Suns can't afford to take risks.They already been bent over with Weller.
And Josh Toy (different kind of risk but similar to Stephenson - assume they'll be gunshy)

Just posted on Bishops draft board.. I'd be stoked if we took Bailey at 17. Honestly looks better than Dow to me, though i'm just a nuffy behind a keyboard. Gee Bailey and Graham in the Midfield would compliment each other greatly.