List Mgmt. 2017 draft thread

Love how a 23-year-old state leaguer from the third-best state league is easily an upgrade on two AFL premiership players, one of whom won the B&F of the best state league.

Other than that and beside the fact you're wrong on Naish (both his talent and that we'll take him), good job. I like Ballard.
It's all subjective as every team, even premiership ones have their role players.
I think he'll be a better player than both those mentioned, that's all.

Interesting choices but can't see us passing on Naish at 21 and also bidding on Ballenden (Pretty sure there is a gentleman's agreement not to bid on each other's players) as part of the swap of draft picks,

Also we can only pick 5 players in the draft at this stage, unless we delist another player.
For interests sake, we decided to go to the end of round 4 regardless of how many live picks the teams currently have hence the extra pick :)

A few of thoughts:

1. A lot of Sandgropers, four! I get your perspective is different to Victorians, which isn't necessarily a bad thing by the way.

2. I like the Oscar pick, especially with Balter and Brander already taken, although he would have to play forward to make sense.

3. The Kelly pick is interesting, but for me McIntosh and Townsend are different players. McIntosh is a wingman who uses his height and endurance to get outside ball, Townsend is a hard-nosed medium forward who uses uses height, intensity and athleticism to get goals. As a wingman and medium forward, they're a bit different. I rate Townsend fairly highly and like what I've seen as he has the ability to create matchup issues, and I'm not sure Kelly has that ability.

3. Ballard is interesting, my question is does he ever play KPP?

4. Naish will be picked by Richmond. I understand why some people may be unsold on Naish, he has no inside game and most teams don't play many guys who are purely outside. Nevertheless, he has weapons relevant to making it as a wingman, including breakaway speed and good kicking skills. I feel like he could be the guy to take over McIntosh's role as even though Kamdyn is taller, he doesn't really take many marks anyway, and Naish has better speed and kicking skills. I'd be fairly comfortable taking him at 25. Endurance may be an issue, McIntosh's endurance is great, but I don't know about Naish's endurance

5. I don't like the Dixon pick, mainly because if you're a KPF that's been passed over 54 times, history tells us you wont make it. Clubs still very much rate KPFs as good ones are hard to find and height is one of the easiest tools to kick goals with, as you can just bomb it to a gun forward and they'll do the rest; they don't require precision going forward. You can close down space on the turf but it's hard to do that in the air. So I'm getting red flags if he's not being rated in the top 20 or, being generous, 30. The only way you do that is if you think somehow every other club is wrong (unlikely) or if some guy is a headcase or has been incredibly injured. I'd prefer to pick midfielders as there's always a lot of midfielders in a draft and one is bound to fall which you can work on. Midfielders are more fixable than KPFs, as junior midfielders are often overweight, played in the wrong position, haven't been given proper training, need to work on endurance etc. Whereas with KPFs, they either either have it at 18 years of age or don't, even though they take longer to come on.

6. Not sure about Ryan, he's 23 years old and is undersized, and I'd prefer to keep Townsend. If Richmond keeps their 50s picks I'd rather have a crack at a junior. I feel like mature aged state leaguers can be found in the rookie draft a la Lambert.

7. Jones makes a lot of sense, would be cheap and is a nice height. Again though, a project ruck can generally be found in the rookie draft, but I'm splitting hairs.

That said, I reckon this feels like a draft Richmond will get, even though I doubt Richmond will pick these guys specifically. Wont get our first preference, will get some weird picks, and some that some will say could have been picked later.
Thanks for the feedback mate, much appreciated.
Yeah I'm biased towards to WA players for obvious reasons...Although I really do believe both Kelly and Ryan will end up being gems.

Think you’ve done well for sure. Think you may be wrong on naish though. Think he is a talent. Seems to have time with the footy, doesn’t panic and has the confidence to take the game on. I think anywhere from 20 to 30 for him is a good get and considering our discount, really is a no brainer.
But good job!
Thanks mate.

That would be correct. Same with Lever.

Bonar on the other hand is being hyped more on the back of his athletic ability and odd flash at TAC Cup level. He is more of a project whereas Burton and Lever were destined to be stars provided they could get over their injuries.
You saying Bonar could be a flop?

:D I really need to get a restraining order done so this so called Dale Weightman dude cant impersonate me again.
He,s been riding your dog coat tails for too long.:D

I'm really hoping Taylor doesn't commentate games with Bonar.

"WOWEE! Bonar thrusts the ball long and deep into the forwardline, does he score? Oh he misses, needs to work on his accuracy does young Bonar!"
boner alert.gif

"WOWEE! Bonar thrusts the ball long and deep into the forwardline, does he score? Oh he misses, needs to work on his accuracy does young Bonar!"

Imagine if he ever kicks a checkside goal

"BONAAARRNAAANAAA WITH THE BANANANANANAAAAAAAAAA!!"

Is it actually pronounced Bonar? Cos that’s hilarious