2017 EXPECTATIONS

• Thread starter Thread starter Nantes

We will improve slightly and show some competitiveness agst top sides. We will beat Geelong (please ffs!). We will trade 1st rnd draft picks for a mature gun CHF as top priority to have real tilt in '18 and '19 with a new coach, before full rebuild.

I know everyone jokes about Dimma, but I reckon this would be the best time for the players before he comes back. I think they would have enjoyed some fresh coaches and confidence. I fear the players after all this will have lost faith, respect and not take him seriously. I can just imagine training at the moment...

Vlastuin: "Hey Rancey, you looking forward to Dimma coming back with his super game style?"

Rance: "Yeah, I heard he nicked a copy of Clarkos 2012 game plan so he's keeping it fresh. By the way, Jack, have fun playing back pocket."

Jack: "Piss off mate."

The whole change-room laughs.

And sadly yes, this is a 2017 expectation.

However, Rance was adamant Hardwick was the man to take the Tigers forward.

“Absolutely. I don’t believe you can judge a coach on one year,” he told Fox Sport’s AFL Tonight.

“He’s shown some fantastic development signs with a lot of our younger players and he’s a very good structural, caring coach.

“I definitely believe that with him and Trent (Cotchin) at the helm, we’ll be moving on from this year.

I know everyone jokes about Dimma, but I reckon this would be the best time for the players before he comes back. I think they would have enjoyed some fresh coaches and confidence. I fear the players after all this will have lost faith, respect and not take him seriously. I can just imagine training at the moment...

Vlastuin: "Hey Rancey, you looking forward to Dimma coming back with his super game style?"

Rance: "Yeah, I heard he nicked a copy of Clarkos 2012 game plan so he's keeping it fresh. By the way, Jack, have fun playing back pocket."

Jack: "Piss off mate."

The whole change-room laughs.

And sadly yes, this is a 2017 expectation.
It will actually be interesting to what DH has to say. I'll be seeing whether he will focus on the actual coaching side of it bc he actually has been inept in this area and his new helpers will be the tacticians and motivators behind him. Hopefully he will be made just as the button pusher on their advice. If it all comes off he will look like a super coach.

Why would he lie to the media?

I jest.

But in all seriousness I believe trust and respect is completely gone. Put it like this, if you have an issue with your bathroom and you call a plumber around seven times and even then he still hasn't achieved anything, do you try a new plumber or go with the same guy? Exactly, rhetorical question. However, if you unfortunately contracted him for the 8th and 9th visit do you keep him to save money yet further likeliness of ruining your bathroom, or do you cut your losses and take a risk on another plumber? Hard call, I agree. It looks like the old plumber is coming back so we may as well grab a drink set on deck and hope he finally does a decent job.
Now you've thrown a spanner in the works.

Well you can keep watching your ticking clock...
Meanwhile the grown ups will take on the challenge and strive to improve.
I know who has the more ennobling existence.
That's right it took DH seven years to realise he had finally grown out of his L plates. Forgot about that maturing experience he underwent in October.

Why would he lie to the media?

I jest.

But in all seriousness I believe trust and respect is completely gone. Put it like this, if you have an issue with your bathroom and you call a plumber around seven times and even then he still hasn't achieved anything, do you try a new plumber or go with the same guy? Exactly, rhetorical question. However, if you unfortunately contracted him for the 8th and 9th visit do you keep him to save money yet further likeliness of ruining your bathroom, or do you cut your losses and take a risk on another plumber? Hard call, I agree. It looks like the old plumber is coming back so we may as well grab a drink set on deck and hope he finally does a decent job.[/QUOT

So you ignore what Rance, Riewold,t Dusty et al actually say. You believe Dusty does not trust and respect Hardwick?
Clearly haven't been paying attention at all. Do some research, look at some clips, and form an opinion with some actual foundation to it.
Because frankly, that post above is unfounded muckraking crap, the likes of which normally comes from the bloke who likes your post.

That's right it took DH seven years to realise he had finally grown out of his L plates. Forgot about that maturing experience he underwent in October.

Your secret language coming out again?
I've no idea what you're talking about.

Hardwick is a dead end. That was clear 3 years ago yet we stilled signed him on again.

People want to shower the club in praise for getting rid of BLK and FJ and then bringing in Balme, but who ****ing resigned Hardwick for no reason, dumped us with BLK in the first place, hired a player manager to run our footy department and kept going to the well with the leagues worst recruiter, Francis ****ing Jackson? The same ****ing nobs. Well bravo, they are fixing their own mess but there were plenty of us who said they were heading down the wrong street right from the start. So **** you Gale and Peggy, if you were up to **** all you'd not have made the mistakes in the first place.

Expectation: that we will see some of the best talent that has come to the club achieve nothing in the careers, much like Richo.

You've never heard someone say "I was too young for the job" or that they were too inexperienced? its human nature to look at your own faults and be critical of yourself.

So hardwick conned the club because he said 6 years later that he was too young for the job?
Why would you take the job on if you felt you weren't ready ?
Oh I see for the bikkies . Read the article as he sheds a damning opinion of himself. The clown couldn't even remember ( calculate really ) how old he was at the time. I think I'll go and sit on my rocker for 12 hours in my man cave. Lol.

Why would you take the job on if you felt you weren't ready ?
Oh I see for the bikkies . Read the article as he sheds a damning opinion of himself. The clown couldn't even remember ( calculate really ) how old he was at the time. I think I'll go and sit on my rocker for 12 hours in my man cave. Lol.

he thought he was ready at the time?

I think we will finish between 10 or 16, we lost 3 games by over 100 points
this year, we did not tackle, surprise surprise dogs had most tackles of 2016,
Hardwick will be under so much pressure, our midfield is ok, but our forward
line and backline are shite.

Funnily enough I reckon Hardwick can coach. He lost his way given the amount of delegating he did and a lack of coaching talent on the books at the assistant level.

The changes made do two things. Forces Hardwick back on the tools to focus on his core competency and brings some outside in perspective from other league teams.

These are good moves - lets face it the club does not want to sack Hardwick. He should be given a full year in the new structure to see how it goes. You can't make the changes that have been made and expect a top 4 finish.

Although I was against his reappointment time to shut our collective traps and get onboard the tiggy train for next year. It'll be bumpy but whoever said supporting this club was easy.