Fixture 2017 Fixture

astrowizzle

Jul 3, 2007
Nerrigundah
Just putting it out there to see how everyone else views the likelihood of us kicking off 2017 at home.
We have players returning from the ASADA suspension, we have done it 2 times in 16 years, we have been battered from pillar to post this year. Surely something good has to come our way as a club and a supporter base.

I really hope the AFL does something nice for us for once but i am highly skeptical and believe they will prop up all the other pissant clubs in the league and give them home games ahead of us. I also reckon we will not be handed the softest draw in the competition which we should by finishing on the bottom rung this year.

http://www.essendonfc.com.au/news/2016-07-30/dons-aim-to-start-with-a-bang

Go the bombers!!

Wow. I knew we'd started interstate the last few years. And before that there were the couple of away games against north. Didn't realise there'd only been 2 rd1 home games the last 16 years. I was going to say id be happy to just have rd1 in Melbourne. But after seeing that i feel were due a rd1 home game. Which means it'll probably be another interstate start to the year.

Given the turn out in round 2 this year, I expect they'll do the same (yet) again. Essendon fans will rock up to our first home game regardless of whether it's round 1, 2, 3, whatever.
yeah true but it would be a nice gesture on the AFLs behalf to give us one to start off with. I reckon with all the players coming back and the crap players and supporters have gone through over the past 4 years it would be a full house round 1. I say give us the G

Who would the opponent be at the G? Already meeting Collingwood 5-6 weeks in, Carlton and Richmond will presumably play each other in round one.

You're right docklands it is. We can play one of the crows or GWS or Freo or WC. any one of the teams who we never see in melbourne.
our supporters alone will fill the stadium

We have a rival that wears the colours of piss and poo. Plus it's unlikely to be Easter so no EM game :cool:

In all seriousness, what I expect we'll get is:

- Double ups against Carlton, Collingwood, Richmond, Brisbane and Hawthorn (because I can see them screwing us with a gun team, just hoping it's the piss and poo)
- Interstate trips to Brisbane, GWS, North Melbourne, Port Adelaide and Fremantle (Freo for obvious reasons. I want that record actually)
- 9 MCG games (5 home, 4 away), (Carlton x2, Collingwood x2, Richmond x2, Hawthorn x2, Geelong)
- 8 Docklands games (Adelaide, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Melbourne, St. Kilda, Sydney, West Coast, Western Bulldogs)
- Home game round 1 (Not sure if this is actually expecting it or wishful thinking).

- Double ups against Carlton, Collingwood, Richmond, Brisbane and Hawthorn (because I can see them screwing us with a gun team, just hoping it's the piss and poo)
- Interstate trips to Brisbane, GWS, North Melbourne, Port Adelaide and Fremantle (Freo for obvious reasons. I want that record actually)
- 9 MCG games (5 home, 4 away), (Carlton x2, Collingwood x2, Richmond x2, Hawthorn x2, Geelong)
- 8 Docklands games (Adelaide, Brisbane, Gold Coast, Melbourne, St. Kilda, Sydney, West Coast, Western Bulldogs)
- Home game round 1 (Not sure if this is actually expecting it or wishful thinking).

Melbourne game will be at the G. It's how it's been for a while. Geelong at Docklands.

We all know that the AFL are pushing to relocate Norf to Tassie but that's a little premature mate...

I expect the ambition is that the club / fans will want to repeat the 'walk to the G' in round 1 to signify the rebirth of the club.... Therefore it will be at the MCG. Melbourne or Hawthorn shape as the most likely opponents. If a win to start is seen as critical (if you know what I mean), then maybe it will be the Dee's. If a huge crowd and emotion against an old foe, then it will be Hawthorn.

It'd actually be a bit of a kick in the nuts to Essendon members if the team was forced to play away for the opening round AGAIN, especially given all that has happened. It'd be just taking the piss if on top of that, we are also playing interstate. It's not even asking for a special favour from the league, but more just for something resembling fairness. Look at these round 1 figures for the last decade:

VICTORIAN CLUBS

Carlton- 4 away, 0 interstate
Collingwood- 6 away, 2 interstate
Essendon- 9 away, 5 interstate
Geelong- 6 away, 2 interstate
Hawthorn- 4 away, 2 interstate
Melbourne- 2 away, 0 interstate
North Melbourne- 4 away, 2 interstate
Richmond- 6 away, 1 interstate
St Kilda- 6 away, 4 interstate
Western Bulldogs- 3 away, 2 interstate

Expecting a round 1 trip to Perth to play Freo (no return fixture!)

The last 2 years fixtures was the main reason I cancelled my 4 gold memberships. Kids afternoon sport clashing with Sunday arvo games (Saturday afternoon is now a bigger problem with both boys playing basketball). Going along to junior sport and watching them lose knowing it was costing $150 odd bucks in unused tickets was so frustrating. Moneys tight and missing games due to other commitments hurt. Club needs to get success to get better time slots.

Fixture 2017 Fixture