Analysis 2017 fixture

• Thread starter Thread starter schmuttt

Anyone here wondering why an MCG tenant and a club from Geelong are playing at a ground neither call home? Strange from the AFL.
Who else is sick of playing down at Geelong? Nearly every year we 'have' to play down there because they need to fill their quota of home games at the ground, yet won't play the big crowd drawing clubs in Geelong? So we get 'forced' to play down there. The fixture is so unfair it's a joke..
Not so much 'won't' but more so not allowed. We ask for those clubs yearly and get rejected. Meaning clubs like yours get a disproportionate amount of games in Geelong. It's not right.

Anyone here wondering why an MCG tenant and a club from Geelong are playing at a ground neither call home? Strange from the AFL.
I think it's mainly because KP won't be available until round 9 or so? Even so it does seem a bit odd, they'd get a much bigger crowd at the G considering both clubs have good support in the MCC.

Yeah bit strange.
But I'm just glad we don't have to play the Cats down there again!!

My preference is for a tabular system, similar to the EPL. It would mean reducing the AFL Como to about 14 teams.

State leagues should lead into a playoff for an AFL place or 2 each year.

We should increase the number of rounds to make sure each team plays twice, and have larger lists to cope.

It's a massive change to swallow so I couldn't see any commission having the balls to put it forward, but until each team plays twice, it's a load of shit.
Exactly right. The comp pretty much has no validity until each team plays each other either once, or twice per year. End of argument.

Going to rank what i think the percentage of winning is, cause i got nothing better to do until R1. Based off where fixtures are based at
Vs st kilda - %50, At Etihad %40
Vs Carlton - %75
Vs Geelong - %30
Vs Freo - %60
Vs Richmond - %85
Vs Essendon - Unknown
Vs Hawthorn - %50
Vs Adelaide - %20
Vs North Melbourne - %70
Vs Collingwood - %65
Vs Western Bulldogs - %20
Vs West Coast - %50
Vs Sydney - %30
Vs Port Adelaide - %70
Vs GWS - %20
Vs Brisbane - %85

Now i'm going to look at the marketing or financial side of our Fixture
1 Saturday, March 25 St Kilda Etihad 4.35pm Foxtel
Not a great result for TV round 1, Good result for St Kilda. two up and comers will draw a crowd to Etihad​
2 Carlton MCG Home 3.20pm Seven
Winnable game, at a home game against a vic club we haven't had for a while. If Carlton beat the tigers Round 1, we will get a pleasant crowd to the MCG, more even if we win. 40k i'd expect, 50k possible​
3 Saturday, April 8 Geelong Cats Etihad 4.35pm Foxtel
Another Fugly timeslot​
4 Saturday, April 15 Fremantle MCG Home 1.45pm Foxtel
Winnable game on a Saturday arvo, good fro a home crowd but not much more​
5 Monday, April 24 Richmond MCG Away 7.25pm Seven
Monday night football was a failure with crowds, but very great with TV. Much like Sunday last year the crowd is an exception as there is a public holiday the following day. Big crowd and HUGE TV exposure​
6 Sunday, April 30 Essendon Etihad 1.10pm Foxtel
Good crowd i'd assume, doesn't add much to us though​
7 Sunday, May 7 Hawthorn MCG Home 3.20pm Seven
Melbourne vs Hawthorn rivalry is back on! The hawkers will show up for Lewis and we'll come hoping for a repeaqt of last year, should reach 40k, could get up to 50k. Great result playing home to another big vic team​
8 Saturday, May 13 Adelaide Crows Adelaide Oval Away 7.10pm Foxtel
Bad that isn't on FTA, as this game would have great reach if it where. Two attacking sides at one of the best venues in Australia, prime time slot​
9 Sunday, May 21 North Melbourne MCG Home 3.20pm Seven
Another home game against another Vic team, granted not a big one. and i expect North so slide so i can't see many North supporters rocking up, but pretty good none the less​
10 Saturday, May 27 Gold Coast SUNS TIO Traeger Park Home 4.05pm Foxtel
Really can't add more to this other than Alice looks nice and NT money​
11 Bye
12 Monday, June 12 Collingwood MCG Home 3.20pm Seven
We know the drill. Big crowd, Big day. Good if collingwood are competitive next season​
13 Sunday, June 18 Western Bulldogs Etihad Stadium Away 3.20pm Foxtel
Unfortunately no FTA exposure against the premiers. Seems like the pink lady game has been dumped which is unfortunate​
14 Saturday, June 24 West Coast Eagles Domain Stadium Away 5.40pm Seven
I can't recall the last time we had an interstate game broadcast on FTA. Perhaps 2013? good for us exposure wise​
15 Friday, June 30 Sydney Swans MCG Home 7.50pm Seven
Finally! And we're hosting it. Would be great if it was another vic team, but i really can't complain. Sydney still have a good following. Our supporters should rock up if we're going alright​
16 Sunday, July 9 Carlton MCG Away 3.20pm Seven
Same is R2, but we don't make a return on the crowd​
17 Saturday, July 15 Adelaide Crows TIO Stadium Home 7.10pm Seven
The last time a TIO game was broadcast on FTA was in 2011. Good contest and FTA + NT money = Good​
18 Saturday, July 22 Port Adelaide MCG Home 2.10pm Foxtel
Been a while since with hosted port R1, 2013 was the last time. traditinal 2:10 timeslot​
19 Saturday, July 29 North Melbourne Blundstone Arena Away 1.45pm Foxtel
Will be marketed for last years result​
20 Saturday, August 5 GWS GIANTS Manuka Oval Away 1.45pm Foxtel
Not much there​
21 Sunday, August 13 St Kilda MCG Home 1.10pm Foxtel
If we are both pushing for finals, a nice crowd hopefully​
22 Sunday, August 20 Brisbane Lions MCG Home 1.10pm Foxtel
Winnable game, can't add much more to it​
23 TBC Collingwood MCG Away TBC TBC
Not a bad way to Finnish the year, however our away game​

Going to rank what i think the percentage of winning is, cause i got nothing better to do until R1. Based off where fixtures are based at
Vs st kilda - %50, At Etihad %40
Vs Carlton - %75
Vs Geelong - %30
Vs Freo - %60
Vs Richmond - %85
Vs Essendon - Unknown
Vs Hawthorn - %50
Vs Adelaide - %20
Vs North Melbourne - %70
Vs Collingwood - %65
Vs Western Bulldogs - %20
Vs West Coast - %50
Vs Sydney - %30
Vs Port Adelaide - %70
Vs GWS - %20
Vs Brisbane - %85

Now i'm going to look at the marketing or financial side of our Fixture
1 Saturday, March 25 St Kilda Etihad 4.35pm Foxtel
Not a great result for TV round 1, Good result for St Kilda. two up and comers will draw a crowd to Etihad​
2 Carlton MCG Home 3.20pm Seven
Winnable game, at a home game against a vic club we haven't had for a while. If Carlton beat the tigers Round 1, we will get a pleasant crowd to the MCG, more even if we win. 40k i'd expect, 50k possible​
3 Saturday, April 8 Geelong Cats Etihad 4.35pm Foxtel
Another Fugly timeslot​
4 Saturday, April 15 Fremantle MCG Home 1.45pm Foxtel
Winnable game on a Saturday arvo, good fro a home crowd but not much more​
5 Monday, April 24 Richmond MCG Away 7.25pm Seven
Monday night football was a failure with crowds, but very great with TV. Much like Sunday last year the crowd is an exception as there is a public holiday the following day. Big crowd and HUGE TV exposure​
6 Sunday, April 30 Essendon Etihad 1.10pm Foxtel
Good crowd i'd assume, doesn't add much to us though​
7 Sunday, May 7 Hawthorn MCG Home 3.20pm Seven
Melbourne vs Hawthorn rivalry is back on! The hawkers will show up for Lewis and we'll come hoping for a repeaqt of last year, should reach 40k, could get up to 50k. Great result playing home to another big vic team​
8 Saturday, May 13 Adelaide Crows Adelaide Oval Away 7.10pm Foxtel
Bad that isn't on FTA, as this game would have great reach if it where. Two attacking sides at one of the best venues in Australia, prime time slot​
9 Sunday, May 21 North Melbourne MCG Home 3.20pm Seven
Another home game against another Vic team, granted not a big one. and i expect North so slide so i can't see many North supporters rocking up, but pretty good none the less​
10 Saturday, May 27 Gold Coast SUNS TIO Traeger Park Home 4.05pm Foxtel
Really can't add more to this other than Alice looks nice and NT money​
11 Bye
12 Monday, June 12 Collingwood MCG Home 3.20pm Seven
We know the drill. Big crowd, Big day. Good if collingwood are competitive next season​
13 Sunday, June 18 Western Bulldogs Etihad Stadium Away 3.20pm Foxtel
Unfortunately no FTA exposure against the premiers. Seems like the pink lady game has been dumped which is unfortunate​
14 Saturday, June 24 West Coast Eagles Domain Stadium Away 5.40pm Seven
I can't recall the last time we had an interstate game broadcast on FTA. Perhaps 2013? good for us exposure wise​
15 Friday, June 30 Sydney Swans MCG Home 7.50pm Seven
Finally! And we're hosting it. Would be great if it was another vic team, but i really can't complain. Sydney still have a good following. Our supporters should rock up if we're going alright​
16 Sunday, July 9 Carlton MCG Away 3.20pm Seven
Same is R2, but we don't make a return on the crowd​
17 Saturday, July 15 Adelaide Crows TIO Stadium Home 7.10pm Seven
The last time a TIO game was broadcast on FTA was in 2011. Good contest and FTA + NT money = Good​
18 Saturday, July 22 Port Adelaide MCG Home 2.10pm Foxtel
Been a while since with hosted port R1, 2013 was the last time. traditinal 2:10 timeslot​
19 Saturday, July 29 North Melbourne Blundstone Arena Away 1.45pm Foxtel
Will be marketed for last years result​
20 Saturday, August 5 GWS GIANTS Manuka Oval Away 1.45pm Foxtel
Not much there​
21 Sunday, August 13 St Kilda MCG Home 1.10pm Foxtel
If we are both pushing for finals, a nice crowd hopefully​
22 Sunday, August 20 Brisbane Lions MCG Home 1.10pm Foxtel
Winnable game, can't add much more to it​
23 TBC Collingwood MCG Away TBC TBC
Not a bad way to Finnish the year, however our away game​
Huge effort mate!!

Honestly I think it's a seriously favourable fixture to us all things considered.

6 interstate games: 2 in the NT (Gold Coast in Alice, Adelaide in Darwin), GWS @ Canberra, Adelaide @ Adelaide, Eagles @ Perth, North @ Tas

Double ups Against Adelaide, North, St Kilda, Collingwood, Carlton

Our bye comes the week after we play in Alice (finally)

Three games at the MCG to finish the season off.

We should play finals off the back of that.

Completely agree.

If we win round 1 we 'should' be at least 7-3 at the bye, which would set us up for the last 12.

Not so much 'won't' but more so not allowed. We ask for those clubs yearly and get rejected. Meaning clubs like yours get a disproportionate amount of games in Geelong. It's not right.

Honestly I'm mind****ed by this call by the AFL. Would definitely get a better crowd at the MCG, and obviously not everyone has to play a home game at Etihad anymore because we don't have one. You should beat us regardless of the ground but considering both clubs records at Etihad it favours you even more at least.

You campaigners going to complain we got Etihad four times?

I'm Happy we actually play Geelong and Essendon there. Sick of playing away to the bombers at the G, and sick of going down the highway.
We have Two prime time FTA Night games in Melbourne. Hosting the swans on Friday and playing away to the tigers Monday night. Thought we might have gotten two friday games, but i sense the AFL is testing the waters with us.
I am. Until they fix the tomato sauce issue anyway.

Now it's time to play my favourite game, What prime time games the other non finals sides have.

9th St Kilda - 4 Friday Games (WTF), 3 Saturday = 7 primetime
10th Port Adelaide - 1 Friday, 3 Saturday, 2 Thursday = 6 primetime
11th Melbourne - 1 Friday, 3 Saturday (one WA time), 1 Monday = 5 primetime
12th Collingwood - 2 Fridays, 1 Thursday, 2 Saturdays = 5 primetime
13th Richmond - (Excluding opening round) 1 Thursday, 1 Monday (us), 6 Saturday = 8 primetime (Second most)
14th Carlton - (Excluding opeening round) 1 Friday, 4 Saturday = 5 primetime
15th Gold Coast - (No Friday) 7 Saturday = 7 primetime
16th Fremantle - (No Friday) 6 Saturday night games (WA time) = 6 primetime
17th Brisbane - (No Friday) 3 Saturday night games = 3 primetime
18th Essendon - (Don't take to much notice) 2 Fridays, 8 Saturday = 10 primetime (The most)

SO we only have 5 primetime games equal with Collingwood and only Brisbane has less. Seems fair

Now it's time to play my favourite game, What prime time games the other non finals sides have.

13th Richmond - (Excluding opening round) 1 Thursday, 1 Monday (us), 6 Saturday = 8 primetime (Second most)
18th Essendon - (Don't take to much notice) 2 Fridays, 8 Saturday = 10 primetime (The most)

SO we only have 5 primetime games equal with Collingwood and only Brisbane has less. Seems fair
F****** Essendon

I really don't understand why we are "celebrating" the return of the drug cheats with a plum round 1 Saturday night fixture either.

Equalisation

The biggest issue I see is that we only play Richmond once! That could be the difference between making the finals and not. The fix is in!

I'm happy with the no home games at Etihad and not playing geelong at skilled for once. Think I might try get to an interstate match, most likely Canberra possibly Adelaide or tas, but I would really love to go to Darwin or Alice Springs. Overall I'm pretty happy with the draw bring on 2017 already.

Just realised our Friday night game will be coming off three consecutive six day breaks and a trip to Perth. Hopefully the Swans don't flog us by 100.

Initial thoughts:

HAPPY WITH:
- Early Home game against Carlton
- Not playing at Skilled
- The teams we play twice are very good, considering
- Believe it or not, I like that we are playing 3 games in 6 weeks at Etihad... Which means consistent exposure. If we can't win at least 1 (ideally 2) of those games we are doomed forever. Saints are 50/50 and Essendon we should pop; Cats who knows.
- Home Friday night game against the Swans... I honestly did not see that coming at all.

NOT HAPPY WITH:
- Many, many 6 day breaks

- The bye after Alice Springs. Cool. But we play the QB the following round.... so we would have had a 9 day break anyway. Don't know why we couldn't have the bye after the Darwin game. Too much sense maybe?

- ^^ Following the Darwin game we have a pretty rough month: Darwin --> Melbourne --> Tasmania --> NSW. Admittedly we don't have to travel really long distances in the patch but still a lot of travelling. If we can win 2/4 of those games we'd be doing well enough.

These gripes aren't exactly inductive of blood-boiling rage, just things I noticed which I wish were improved but you're never going to get the perfect season fixture (unless you are a reigning Premier or Essendon). Overall assessment = happy with the fixture and think it reflects where we're at.

I like the club has a post highlighting 6 benefits of the fixture and the last one is "No Home game at Etihad".