Analysis 2017 List Management Discussion Part II

One forward (cheeky goal sneak), One running defensively good HBF and 3 quality midfielders short .... 5 players get it done SOS.

A decent multipurpose back up ruckman/forward is on the wish list as well.
Could already be on our list
Pickett
Byrne
Fisher
SPS
Cuningham

Just takes time for rookies to develop.

I just want to throw this idea out there. And I would prefer no Disneyland or Pollyanna influenced responses. Ok?!

Did the loss to Brisbane tell us that we are really behind them and North in our development despite being higher on the ladder than those two teams?

If so where are we going or not going?

Brisbane is a worthy discussion. Roos? i'm not so sure.. they can laud all the 8 kids they've debuted this year and sprinkle of others last year; but of these players, who among them shout out 150 game players? Dumont, Gardner.. perhaps I don't know their list well enough to add to this.

Our kids on the other hand, from the last two drafts, have already showed plenty. .. 2 out of 11 (Polson, Kerr) are unknowns in my opinion, with the rest I'm confident, will make it..

I just want to throw this idea out there. And I would prefer no Disneyland or Pollyanna influenced responses. Ok?!

Did the loss to Brisbane tell us that we are really behind them and North in our development despite being higher on the ladder than those two teams?

If so where are we going or not going?

As some have mentioned, North are yet to bottom out, showing that they are still competitive in most games without many wins. If they embrace bottoming out, they can top up with some good talent over the next 3 years and head back up the ladder.

I think the Lions are more akin to our position. The main difference in the 2 sides is probably the game plan/style. Fagan has adopted a more open, attacking brand, where Bolts is building defensively first. At this stage, I prefer our rebuild model, which is to sure up our backline then add attacking layers.

Even though the Lions are a 2 goal better side offensive wise, they leak 5 goals more a game, than us at the moment, which is hard to reverse when the game style is so attacking

Both sides will move up the ladder in the next 3 years

Interesting observation in the HUN about Swans Rising Star nomination and the rest of their backline - all recruited as "rookies" - now that is seriously smart/clever recruiting and player development.

I.e.

Melican and backline buddies Dane Rampe, Heath Grundy, Nic Newman, Jake Lloyd and Nick Smith are all rookie success stories drafted by Swans recruiter Kinnear Beatson.

They have an amazing strike rate the Swans.
Fantastically run footy club.

By the way when you say" if you fit the criteria" you're basically saying if your club is a sham!
Please let it go!

This is a competition not welfare
Fine. Then all handouts and academies need to stop as well. Which isnt going to happen.

Its not a level playing field. The fixture is a joke. Afl 'helps' every other struggling team in various ways.

Even the MRP doesn't adjudicate equally.

All these teams get handouts in various ways. Why shouldn't we put the hand out when its our turn?

Why does Brisbane have a leg up on us at the moment? Oh yeah, that's right, the priority pick and academy selections.

But hey we're to proud. Ooooh. So you are ok with staying at the bottom for longer then? I am not. I think the club needs to leave no stone unturned. Any advantage we can get should be pursued.

How is it different to the wealthy clubs doing high altitude training in the off season when poorer clubs go to portsea?

North supporters are talking about asking for it. Why shouldnt we? What happens if both North and Brisbane ask and receive a PP and we dont? Lets fall further behind.

But hey still proud right? I'll be more proud when we are winning regularly.

On SM-N920I using BigFooty.com mobile app

As some have mentioned, North are yet to bottom out, showing that they are still competitive in most games without many wins. If they embrace bottoming out, they can top up with some good talent over the next 3 years and head back up the ladder.

I think the Lions are more akin to our position. The main difference in the 2 sides is probably the game plan/style. Fagan has adopted a more open, attacking brand, where Bolts is building defensively first. At this stage, I prefer our rebuild model, which is to sure up our backline then add attacking layers.

Even though the Lions are a 2 goal better side offensive wise, they leak 5 goals more a game, than us at the moment, which is hard to reverse when the game style is so attacking

Both sides will move up the ladder in the next 3 years
Nah, its the two academy selections and the priority pick they got that are the difference.

Seriously, if we had 3 more picks from the last 2 drafts what do you think SOS would have done with them? Maybe someone like SPP would be playing for us.

Nah, its the two academy selections and the priority pick they got that are the difference.

Seriously, if we had 3 more picks from the last 2 drafts what do you think SOS would have done with them? Maybe someone like SPP would be playing for us.

It certainly helped, especially the academy picks, but I wouldn't say it was the difference to how both sides are progressing.

Fine. Then all handouts and academies need to stop as well. Which isnt going to happen.

Its not a level playing field. The fixture is a joke. Afl 'helps' every other struggling team in various ways.

All these teams get handouts in various ways. Why shouldn't we put the hand out when its our turn?

Why does Brisbane have a leg up on us at the moment? Oh yeah, that's right, the priority pick and academy selections.

But hey we're to proud. Ooooh. So you are ok with staying at the bottom for longer then? I am not. I think the club needs to leave no stone unturned. Any advantage we can get should be pursued.

How is it different to the wealthy clubs doing high altitude training in the off season when poorer clubs go to portsea?

North supporters are talking about asking for it. Why shouldnt we? What happens if both North and Brisbane ask and receive a PP and we dont? Lets fall further behind.

The draw will never be equitable and not "ALL" teams get handouts

I am sure Hawks & Cats didn't win flags on the back of handouts, nor did the Demons and Saints now climbing up the ladder.

Three main areas, that are crucial to building a successful group, IMO, in this order
  1. Recruitment/List Management
  2. Fitness/Medical Team
  3. Coaches/Development

Sure we can all see the difference now that SOS in charge of Recruitment & List Management (Compared to previous regimes )

I am sure Hawks & Cats didn't win flags on the back of handouts, nor did the Demons and Saints now climbing up the ladder.

Three main areas, that are crucial to building a successful group, IMO, in this order
  2. Fitness/Medical Team
  3. Coaches/Development

Sure we can all see the difference now that SOS in charge of Recruitment & List Management (Compared to previous regimes )

Look we most likely wouldnt get it anyway. My problem is people ruling out anything that may help because of how it would look. Who care what other people think?

Everything needs to be considered.

So father sons need to end too?
Plus even money handed out to struggling clubs?
All because you want us to go to the AFL with a sense of entitlement and plead our case!
Please give us a pick because we're Crap?

Seriously?

Lol

Look if another club was in our position with all our early picks ( say Collingwood or st kilda) tell us the truth.. Do you think it's right?
Take Carlton out of the equation
Pretend it's the saints trying this with the same history over fifteen years plus their previous history)

You don't think it's pathetic?

Look we most likely wouldnt get it anyway. My problem is people ruling out anything that may help because of how it would look. Who care what other people think?

Everything needs to be considered.

You're right we wouldn't get it
We'd be proving how hopeless we are
The dogs never did this... The kangaroos never did
It's just the pathetic clubs and the artificial clubs in alien states
Mekminit you end up having that kind of mentality

Sorry but you can't win flags on the back of pleading your case that you deserve it for being pathetic

I don't mind when they're handing them out mind you. That was the rule at the time but going there to plead that you're absolute crap and need short cuts so please can you?
That's kind of pathetic lol

But in this new age of self entitlement I suppose it's becoming normal

After 2015 the task for SOS was to replace everyone on the list who isn't Docherty and Cripps. Brisbane already had some young talent, plus they have the academy advantage. Plus they have senior mids that won't need replacing in 2-3 years time.

I'd say their list is ahead but the fact that it's so close, given the above factors, is testament to SOS and Bolts doing more with less.

Don't worry about Norf, they're still on the way down.
Why are we bringing up north?
When was the last time they won a spoon and had an early pick?

All because you want us to go to the AFL with a sense of entitlement and plead our case!

Seriously?

Lol

Look if another club was in our position with all our early picks ( say Collingwood or st kilda) tell us the truth.. Do you think it's right?
Pretend it's the saints trying this with the same history over fifteen years plus their previous history)

It's not pathetic it's diligent, you work within the rules of the competition and try and find an advantage from somewhere...it's no different off the field than on.

We asked for one last year in the knowledge it was never going to happen, we'll ask for one this year in the knowledge it probably won't happen.

But you add that to some of the rumours about Casboult and projected salary/years then it may just help get a very favourable compensation pick.

Just need to work with the makey uppey system, grand uber Gil is on record as saying he'd like to see clubs get better quicker and specifically gave Carlton as an example - just need to work it like a politician would.

You're right we wouldn't get it
We'd be proving how hopeless we are
The dogs never did this... The kangaroos never did
It's just the pathetic clubs and the artificial clubs in alien states
Mekminit you end up having that kind of mentality

Sorry but you can't win flags on the back of pleading your case that you deserve it for being pathetic

I don't mind when they're handing them out mind you. That was the rule at the time but going there to plead that you're absolute crap and need short cuts so please can you?
That's kind of pathetic lol

But in this new age of self entitlement I suppose it's becoming normal
I think all the money I get from the government to study is pathetic, but by God, I'm taking it.

My daughter who is a GWS academy player met him and Nick Haines a while ago and they were chalk and cheese. Haines spoke confidently and politely whilst Green couldn't utter more than grunts and groans. So she decided he was either dumb as a box of hammers or completely full of himself. Either or both could be his issue.
i believe this is actually because he is a very shy person, rather than rude or up himself

Seriously?

Lol

No its not pathetic. And if you cant see what i am saying, then nothing i say will change it.

Stubbornness is pathetic.

Not making full use of available resources is pathetic.

Pride is stupid in business. Take emotion out and leave it on the ground or in the stands. Has no place in the boardroom.

No I'm saying your comparison is wrong
What's the criteria?
How many games did we win last year?
Are you seriously going to go to the AFL and plead gross ineptitude and need picks!?
Here's something for you.. We're probably going to have to ask them for money soon too!( Fact)!
You're pleading that we're a total welfare club
Which would mean that you have no faith in the administration turning anything around without welfare!

I'm sorry mate we have had our fair share of priority picks over the years and I'm hoping that the club is now planning and executing better than having to just crawl for freebies
Not sure what you understand about hard work and planning superior to a sense of self entitlement for handouts being the answer
Never seen too many dole bludgers doing too great!
Let's do this properly!
The AFL stepped in and helped out Mebourne, both financially and in the way of compo for Frawley (instead of a PP).
They seem to be going okay.

2. Fitness/Medical Team
  3. Coaches/Development

Melbourne not getting hand outs? Seriously?
When was the last time the AFL talked a premiership coach out of retirement, then paid his contract for 3 years and put a CEO into a club?
The reason they are climbing the ladder is a result of this. Not to mention the millions the AFL have thrown their way. We in turn are taxed money that is helping support these clubs.