Analysis 2017 List Management Discussion

Why would Kelly accept 4.2 mil over 6 years when he could more than double that with 3 extra years?

Unlikely he would I agree.

But who knows, north might land Dusty instead, also they have to satisfy GWS in a deal, something we are more likely to be able to do.

Interesting what we will do with this "money" we have to recruit. At the end of 2017 our options should look like this

Docherty Weitering Plowman
Macreadie Marchbank Williamson (Sheehan Byrne Rowe Silvagni Simpson G-Mac)

Kruezer Curnow Murphy
SPS Cripps Fisher (Cuningham Polson Charlie)

Wright McKay Pickett
LeBois Phillips Silvagni (Jaksch Sumner Gallucci Kerr)

Int: ?

Depth: Palmer Kerridge Smedts (That's 34 players)

Defence looks set and is talented with options
Midfield lacks real depth, quality ball use and some leg speed
Forward line has options but another tall would be good

Says to me the target needs to be midfielders and quality ones (they can also play anywhere). One or two through FA and then another 5-6 through the draft is still vital and early picks are still needed. Pick 1-3 and a first rounder for Gibbs will help. Can't trade them.
Still think that backline is too tall & Byrne gets a game over Macreadie. Or Weitering spends more time forward.
McKay might push one of the two rucks out too

Wasn't he set to go to Colingwood bar a failed medical? He may have repaid us, but he was certainly open to leaving Carlton. You would assume he would be open to it again, especially if a team is in a premiership window like GWS for instance. Its worth exploring at least him leaving and what we could get in return, say a Hopper, an inside mid we desperately need.
He wasn't set to go anywhere. There were rumours flying about all over the place that he'd failed medicals at several clubs, but nothing was ever proven. Kreuzer has consistently stated he doesn't want to leave Carlton and is very happy playing for us. I don't know what the monetary terms of his contract were, but I reckon me might have taken a cut to stay with us... which would fit with what we all know about him turning down a million a year contract with GWS.

And really... Kreuzer for Hopper in any sort of trade would be a win for GWS.

Still think that backline is too tall & Byrne gets a game over Macreadie. Or Weitering spends more time forward.
McKay might push one of the two rucks out too
Plowman could go into the middle...

He wasn't set to go anywhere. There were rumours flying about all over the place that he'd failed medicals at several clubs, but nothing was ever proven. Kreuzer has consistently stated he doesn't want to leave Carlton and is very happy playing for us. I don't know what the monetary terms of his contract were, but I reckon me might have taken a cut to stay with us... which would fit with what we all know about him turning down a million a year contract with GWS.

Kreuzer for Hopper would be a win for GWS? Mate if we got that trade I'd run to the nearest closet and laugh my guts out. I love Kreuzer but he has max 3 years footy ahead of him. Hopper has a whole career

After watching the bulldogs last night they could really use a ruckman like kreuzer and they have plenty of talented players running around not getting a game we could definitely use

Personally, if Kreuzer has a great season and is back to his best form then we would be cutting off our noses to spite our faces. We had this argument two years ago when he first got to FA and then he came out and repaid the club with a good year... and so far this year, it looks like he is back to his best form with his work following a bounce or throw in.

Unfortunately, it is also the type of around the ground work that's going to get other clubs interested. Unless Phillips or Korchek rapidly improve, we might let go of Kreuzer and not have a decent replacement for him in the wings.

Its a tough call, i am for it (trading) but it will be with a heavy heart. Our club imo has failed Murphy, Kruz, Gibbs but not providing a team for them to challenge for a GF. If we were 1-2 years further ahead in our rebuild then i wouldn't be keen for Kruz to go but if this season and his next 2 are to be his best it will be a waste as he does not have the midfield to utilise his talents.

The Hawks, Dogs, Cats and even the Tigers this year have shown you can get good output from rucks picked up for late picks.

I would only be interested in Cruz leaving if it were to get us a band 2 or 3 compo, if not then i don't think its worth it.

GWS did not "happily lose" Marchbank.

But they can't force uncontracted players to re-sign.

All they can hope to do is get the best return possible in a trade - or lose them for nothing in the draft.

All best 22 players decide to leave for more $ there is not much GWS can do about it.
I think I said they did not 'happily' lose Marchbank and drove a hard bargain?
Of course when a player's contract is up then the club might have to accept less than best depending on the ominated club. But GWS could drive a bargain in part because Marchbank is a good player and we wanted him, and in part because Carlton had no 'leverage' with the PSD as a few clubs could have picked before Carlton.
Can't see a walkout of all Best 22 with GWS expecting success, but GWS could make a stand if it does not get suitable compensation and force the player into draft or PSD. Imagine GWS have scenario tested for just this.

After watching the bulldogs last night they could really use a ruckman like kreuzer and they have plenty of talented players running around not getting a game we could definitely use
They have Boyd, Campbell, Roughead and English. Shows what happens when 1 or 2 are injured.

Cruz is a much better player than Campbell and Roughead imo. English is 19 and most rucks don't become consistent performers for several seasons. The only issue would be the role they see Boyd playing.
They are a team in contention for the flag. Improving their list even by a little could be the difference between winning and losing a gf.

I like your thinking Dane.

The position the Bulldogs find themselves in with just Boyd really able to ruck is the same as Carlton with just Kreuzer, and something we would have to manage if we lose Kreuzer.

Roughead has played well in the ruck. Think he's being underestimated.

Roughhead and Boyd appear to be first choice.
Campbell as backup.
Then English as emerging ruck.

I don't think the dogs are that desperate. If they want to play Roughead elsewhere they might chase a ruck otherwise l wouldn't bother.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

IMHO, and what I gather from our 'The Journey' videos Bolton is all about getting level-headed, mature, responsible, good-natured (note. this does not mean soft) players. All his talk about making sure you shake peoples' hands and introducing yourself when you first meet them really shows he's a person who teaches personal development -not just being good at footy. This is a big reason why I don't think we will go after people such as Rockliff or Martin. They are not of the ethos Bolton desires for Carlton.

yep couldn't agree more skidoos , i spotted a few things last week with Martin , he kicks a real good goal and wants to check the big screen straight up his Captain wants to look him in the eye almost pleading in a way to bond in a sense and he's aloof as..thats cool , he's not in a navy blue strip , and he's a gun but agree don't want and more importantly Bolts don't wants ( i hope )

Agree in a way, attitude is important, but I'd have Dusty at the Blues. He is a gun and has the rare ability to win a game off his own boot.

I am going in at 12.30 just to watch it.
If anything to report will on Sunday night unless I am depressed by our game.
I think that you're now pissed after our win against the scum... give us the report tomorrow!

Build round Cripps, Kelly, Hopper, SPS for future midfield.

Or Shiel and Hopper. We use some of that $3 million that we have spare to offer them contracts they can't refuse.

We use a first this year (obtained trade from Adelaide via the Gibbs trade) and next year's first round draft picks to pay for them, plus we forward them whatever change Adelaide give us for Gibbs.

Let's assume Adelaide give us their first round pick this year and we swap our third round for their second. They get Bryce Gibbs.

We on trade Adelaide's first and second round picks this year and our first round pick next year.

We get one of (Kelly or Hopper) plus Shiel. We still have our own first round pick this year to use in the top 5, plus Ben Silvagni next year.