Analysis 2017 List Management Discussion

While we're talking GWS discards, Buntine as a delisted free agent?

Just had an ACL... Sounds like a bit of a list clogger but has been in the right environment for 6 years,
Nah. He was supposed to be their Stratton, and he's never really earned it.

Would rather give another of their small stable of medium defenders a crack (Haynes, Finlayson, Corr, etc).

Get the distinct impression Bucks and Boek are being frozen out and might be up for trade though don't think we'd get a thing for the latter and maybe only a late pick for the former. Graham too but he won't get us a thing.
Wouldn't say frozen out.
For Bucks and Boek, I'd say they know where the coach and MC rate them and that is not in the first 30 players on our list.
They have an opportunity to prove coach and MC wrong.
Graham I think is making a good fist of his opportunity and should get a run in the Seniors if he keeps it up.

Sad to feel that Boekhorst will be gone at years end.
He wouldn't have cut it in a game like the one we had last week.
Got another 20 odd kicks on the weekend but nowhere near the impact of the dozen he would have had a couple of years back.
Just doesn't seem to have his heart in things right now. That may change but the damage may be done.

Seems as though we have to go back to the same well and get our 2/3 for 1's with GWS as we can't, nor won't, take on another dozen 18 year olds this year.
There are plenty of heads on the chopping block but at this early stage, I see Jaksch and Buckley surviving.....and right now, I'd like them to.

Can look back on this at years end and without factoring in any trades, but right now:

Gone: Gorringe, Lamb, Armfield, Boekhorst, Gallucci, Graham, Jones, Simpson retired. - 8 players
Fringe: Kerridge, Sumner (unfair, I know), White (although we'll probably keep him for another year) A.Silvagni, Glass-McCasker (although we should keep him), Thomas (not sure why, but wouldn't surprise should he remain for another year although any injury and that may not come about) - 6 players
Likely survivors: Buckley, Jaksch, Rowe (Another year seems likely on the cards) - 3 players

My 2 cents on Krueze .... I love Humphrey .... but would like to see him go hopefully in the following scenario .... good compensation for the club, he gets traded to a club that has a good chance for success and he is happy to go, abliet with a heavy heart.

I would dearly like to see him stay but the bottom line is that now when he is showing, finally (not his fault), what he is capable of, there are just way more pressing needs and his peak is now come at a time where it will be used up for nothing and then he will be a shell of this form when we are ready to launch.

It's a tough one for Humphrey and it breaks my heart but no player is bigger than the club and in the end a good trade for him will be a win/win for both player and club .... I and I would hope Humphrey could live with that.

Sad to feel that Boekhorst will be gone at years end.
He wouldn't have cut it in a game like the one we had last week.
Got another 20 odd kicks on the weekend but nowhere near the impact of the dozen he would have had a couple of years back.
Just doesn't seem to have his heart in things right now. That may change but the damage may be done.

Seems as though we have to go back to the same well and get our 2/3 for 1's with GWS as we can't, nor won't, take on another dozen 18 year olds this year.
There are plenty of heads on the chopping block but at this early stage, I see Jaksch and Buckley surviving.....and right now, I'd like them to.

Can look back on this at years end and without factoring in any trades, but right now:

Gone: Gorringe, Lamb, Armfield, Boekhorst, Gallucci, Graham, Jones, Simpson retired. - 8 players
Fringe: Kerridge, Sumner (unfair, I know), White (although we'll probably keep him for another year) A.Silvagni, Glass-McCasker (although we should keep him), Thomas (not sure why, but wouldn't surprise should he remain for another year although any injury and that may not come about) - 6 players
Likely survivors: Buckley, Jaksch, Rowe (Another year seems likely on the cards) - 3 players
Not sure what's happened to Sumner.... he has dropped off the radar.
He showed a lot last year .... do u have an inkling on what's happened?

Reckon our backline is pretty loaded now and we have Byrne returning soon enough .
I'm not against another salary dump player from the Giants whoever it may be if that helps land our reported targets at a discounted price again .
The strategy has worked well despite the genius Matthew Lloyds analysis, the salary dump players being able to be moved on soon enough but having Plowman , Marchbank and Pickett around for a decade .
Sheehan is also on the way back as well. But you're right, we are well and truly loaded up with defenders.

So no free agents this year in that scenario? That makes some sense. So we benefit from losing Kruez as FA (I hope we are still considering keeping him - hope his papers aren't stamped)
So we lose Kruezer possibly Gibbs who both would be on significant contracts hopefully Thomas ditto , maybe Jaksch on a handy $ term Jones yes again , armfield on reasonable money and any other players delisted that are above the minimum wage of draftees coming in . With salary cap going up significantly no FA coming in and draftees coming onto the list on minimum wage to replace all these players that some offers we will be putting to Hopper and Co ? . If the salary cap goes up 20% (dont know if that is correct ) we will have a monumental gap to fill in our TPP taking all that into consideration . Not sure some are thinking this through a little rejigging re front ended contracts to younger players aint going anywhere near meeting the TPP requirements .?

Exactly .... at this point in the rebuild I'd rather extend contracts, front loaded, to players we know are going to be part of the #17 push.

Reward those that deserve reward ..... sends a powerful message to all at the club ... put in, achieve and u will be looked after.

Not sure what's happened to Sumner.... he has dropped off the radar.
He showed a lot last year .... do u have an inkling on what's happened?

His first quarter last week was exciting but he faded thereafter. Not that the forward line saw a lot of good action, anyway.

Have felt for some time that he could be trialed in the back-line. We have nothing to lose and he may just be developed into the type that can sit on the Betts, Breusts, Camerons of the comp. Maybe.

I need a stiff drink after reading this, I'd filed Warnock away in the dark recesses of my mind.
I've got instant tremors.
I'm heading for my favorite rocking chair in the corner of a dimly lit room .
Mares tonight!
Worst trade ever, has anyone in AFL history made more money from a club for such little output?

Oh yeah Daisy.

Thing is I like Daisy and he does try his guts out and in reality not his fault ... his body is cooked .... but Warnock .... my question is how the ***** did the club allow Rogers to have his job so long when he was the stupidest spud of a recruiter for so long?

Someone should list all the crap Rogers heaped on this club .... my god it would be a monumental depressing read.

Exactly .... at this point in the rebuild I'd rather extend contracts, front loaded, to players we know are going to be part of the #17 push.

Reward those that deserve reward ..... sends a powerful message to all at the club ... put in, achieve and u will be looked after.
Im actually intimating that we will be going after a Fyfe or Martin or whatever else of quality is available ( if anything ) this year through FA .
Personally i wouldnt be offering too much more money to our younger players maybe extending contracts on a bit better money if they can . But even if we extended contracts on better money to the youngsters its not getting near the requirements imo . SOS has been fastracking the rebuild since he started i think we will see some big money offers to FA both this and next year .

Worst trade ever, has anyone in AFL history made more money from a club for such little output?

Oh yeah Daisy.

Thing is I like Daisy and he does try his guts out and in reality not his fault ... his body is cooked .... but Warnock .... my question is how the ***** did the club allow Rogers to have his job so long when he was the stupidest spud of a recruiter for so long?

Warnock came about in the Hughes era.

The only question that needs to be raised is; Why didn't we have a dedicated List Manager until only 2 years ago?
Swann, Icke, McKay making the big football decisions. How could this ever have been allowed.......Oh.....that's right.

His first quarter last week was exciting but he faded thereafter. Not that the forward line saw a lot of good action, anyway.

Have felt for some time that he could be trialed in the back-line. We have nothing to lose and he may just be developed into the type that can sit on the Betts, Breusts, Camerons of the comp. Maybe.

I saw quality in him last year ... so it's puzzling why he is out of favour ... maybe some personal issues are clouding him at the moment and he is not focussed but I don't see the club letting him go just yet ... if he is out of contract then I'd assume we would give him another year.

I like him, hopefully he turns it round.

Hi harker you dont think sumner would get killed in the marking contests if isolated by a betts or bruest ?

Warnock came about in the Hughes era.

The only question that needs to be raised is; Why didn't we have a dedicated List Manager until only 2 years ago?
Swann, Icke, McKay making the big football decisions. How could this ever have been allowed.......Oh.....that's right.
We were waiting for the true messiah to come home!

House Silvagni will lift our club to its former glory

I saw quality in him last year ... so it's puzzling why he is out of favour ... maybe some personal issues are clouding him at the moment and he is not focussed but I don't see the club letting him go just yet ... if he is out of contract then I'd assume we would give him another year.

I like him, hopefully he turns it round.

I like him too. Maybe Pickett simply took his spot for now.

I don't recall what his tank is like and without one, you will struggle in this side.
Other than that, I have no idea why the mini fall from grace.

Hi harker you dont think sumner would get killed in the marking contests if isolated by a betts or bruest ?

Yes, that's possible. I did see Pickett being used in the back-line because of exactly that reason and for his smarts and run.

Still think it would be worth a try as this may well be Simpsons last year.....I know....he's no Simpson, but neither was Simpson before he became Simpson.

Im actually intimating that we will be going after a Fyfe or Martin or whatever else of quality is available ( if anything ) this year through FA .
Personally i wouldnt be offering too much more money to our younger players maybe extending contracts on a bit better money if they can . But even if we extended contracts on better money to the youngsters its not getting near the requirements imo . SOS has been fastracking the rebuild since he started i think we will see some big money offers to FA both this and next year .

We are building good talent, I don't think anyone denies that, but like all clubs the squeeze will come, I just want the club to be smart .... no messiah complex, no paying overs for one player that leaves the rest thinking WTF ... I want the Geelong and Hawthorne model .... all playing for success and taking a little less for it. That's how dynasties are built.

I like him too. Maybe Pickett simply took his spot for now.

I don't recall what his tank is like and without one, you will struggle in this side.
Other than that, I have no idea why the mini fall from grace.
Yeah in the end u put the best 22 on the park .... that's footy.

Yes, that's possible. I did see Pickett being used in the back-line because of exactly that reason and for his smarts and run.

Still think it would be worth a try as this may well be Simpsons last year.....I know....he's no Simpson, but neither was Simpson before he became Simpson.
Simmos last year :eek: perish the thought simmo could go on for years yet :thumbsu:

No mate, that's not how it works. If a club matches an offer, the player then decides to stay or go. If he decides to go the two clubs work out a deal. Or they go to the draft.

lt might help to keep Sumner in the game but I don't think he's good enough overhead to play back. Same goes for Bucks really.