Analysis 2017 List Management Discussion

I recall about 5 forward thrusts that broke down around ...

For what its worth Im not saying we shouldnt draft mids. I rate our needs wishlist as

1 x 60 goal roving KPF, 1 x good young Ruck, 4-6 A grade Mids (2 of whom are elite).
Good list Mal. Totally agree but that will take more than 8 draft picks/trades...

KPF - Possible options are 1st draft pick, trade for Schache or go for Tom Lynch end next year (RFA 2018).
Young Ruck - may get a mature player from VFL/minor leagues, late pick or need to trade.
A grade mids must come from draft (or a GWS trade).

So where do we get the picks?
Say we finish with #5, #41, #59, etc.
Casboult FA = maybe pick #19
Byrce to Adelaide = pick #16
(do not want to lose Kreuzer)
Byrne should also stay.

At best GWS let us get Hopper for #16 (or we go to draft).
#6 best available but probably a mid as it is unlikely a super talented KPF will still be available
#19 most likely another mid as unlikely a super talented KPF will still be available

That leaves us with trading next years first for Schache (high risk trade).
#41 and #59 probably needs based picks/ruck?

Holy ****.

Both of the ****ers too. Been in wheelchair for 2 months and off work.

For the record, I don't think you're disrespecting anyone on the list. You just think draftees are unproven until proven. And until then it's all potential. Surprised more shell-shocked Carlton supporters don't feel like this. And that higher draft picks have a higher chance of making it. Nothing controversial there either.

I think that whats annoying me, and and I have been a bit quick to anger. I'm not saying anything bad about McKay or Kerr or any of the blokes. Im not saying they are going to make it or they're not, just that (from a list management position) we need to look at them as unknown quantities at the moment and play the game with heads not hearts.

I would love nothing more than for Kerr and McKay to come on and be the next Buddy/ Roughy - It would make my absolute decade.

Im just being pragmatic from a list management position.

Same deal with Wiets. Based on what Ive seen to date, hes an infinitely better backman than forward. Now that could change of course, but quite simply Id rather (at this stage) view him as a long term backman (when Rowe, Simmo and ASOS retire) with our forwards coming from our list of forwards (at this stage McKay with the Kerr the outsider). When I look at it like that, we need another Key Forward with those two.

We were OK drafting 5 key backs, but apparently leaving it at one key forward and Kerr was enough. I reckon thats one or two short, and to give the team the best chance of winning the next flag, we need one or two more.

And a ruckman, and a shit load of A grade mids.

Lay off that shit mate, doctors had me on it for almost a year. Asked to get off as was destroying organs and not great for mind. Told I would be on it for life. Went cold turkey. Pain can be a real bitch, but better off without it. Two days is nothing....didn't sleep for two weeks. Gives a real insight
into the dramas "druggies" have getting clean.

Weening down to 100mg 2/day. Was smashing 3 x 200's recently.

I have a high drug tolerance thanks to attending a lot of raves and music festivals in my youth.

(And in my 30's and 40s.)

Im probably grumpy from the opiate withdrawal.

Both of the ******s too. Been in wheelchair for 2 months and off work.

Only the best to you Mal.....but do consider Coona's sage advice.
Had compressed nerve in the back not so long ago and as tempting as heavy duty medication may have been, I accepted the pain and glad I did.
Luckily somehow didn't end up having the op recommended earlier and things somehow ended up back in their place. Lucky me.
The cure can sometimes be worse than the symptoms.

Interesting that a couple of the names raised a couple of weeks ago and that didn't make all too much sense on face value, now have a connect of sorts.

Brisbane chasing Byrne.
Balic out for personal reasons.

Had compressed nerve in the back not so long ago and as tempting as heavy duty medication may have been, I accepted the pain and glad I did.
Luckily somehow didn't end up having the op recommended earlier and things somehow ended up back in their place. Lucky me.

I went the same way saying no to the OP. Didnt want screws and plates in my foot, and those lower limb injuries just dont heal sometimes.

When you break those heelbones, it screws up the joint between the heel bone and the metatarsals. All those little bones in the heel joint up there get all out of whack. Its like permanently messes you up. Plus the right one has cut the nerve off to my foot somehow so its like my foot is asleep barring the pain.

Its been two months so Im at the 'learning to walk again slowly and in great pain' stage. Ive been living on this couch for two months. Eating here, going to the toilet here in bottles. Sleeping here. Its enough to drive a brother mad.

Last time I engage in spontaneous drunken parkour at 2 in the morning after a night out on the turps. Probably should have outgrown it 20 years ago to be honest. Lying in a urine drenched dark alley at night with two shattered heel bones was far from enjoyable.

Live and learn, I guess.
I stopped leaping off fences onto my elbow some years ago.
There's one hell of a story behind that, but maybe best left alone here.

Maybe we can cross swords on a Body Management Discussion thread, some time :)
Take care mate.

I went the same way saying no to the OP. Didnt want screws and plates in my foot, and those lower limb injuries just dont heal sometimes.

When you break those heelbones, it screws up the joint between the heel bone and the metatarsals. All those little bones in the heel joint up there get all out of whack. Its like permanently messes you up. Plus the right one has cut the nerve off to my foot somehow so its like my foot is asleep barring the pain.

Its been two months so Im at the 'learning to walk again slowly and in great pain' stage. Ive been living on this couch for two months. Eating here, going to the toilet here in bottles. Sleeping here. Its enough to drive a brother mad.

Have just 'recovered' from multiple surgeries on my foot after I ruptured my lisfranc and broke around 8 bones. Was given opiates as well as codene. Didn't take any of it after only a few days out of hospital. Nasty stuff. Stuck with the anti inflams

Interesting that a couple of the names raised a couple of weeks ago and that didn't make all too much sense on face value, now have a connect of sorts.

Brisbane chasing Byrne.
Balic out for personal reasons.
Laugh at Dwayne on Sportsnight. Genuinely didn't know there was a Bennell and Balic both with the same first name. Thought that he had a major scoop with Harley Bennell being on unexplained leave. Wasn't as interested when he found out was Balic.

Can't really afford to lose Byrne.

But what if Schache has already told the Bears that the Blues is his destination club.

Makes sense then that they would pick off someone, offer overs and try to lure them north. Swann knows Byrne is quality.

A direct trade would have Bears fans ripping up memberships.

But would Schache + their second (c. 19) for Byrne + our first (c. 4th) work?

Having said that, I don't want to lose Byrne.

Have just 'recovered' from multiple surgeries on my foot after I ruptured my lisfranc and broke around 8 bones. Was given opiates as well as codene. Didn't take any of it after only a few days out of hospital. Nasty stuff. Stuck with the anti inflams

Im on the Lyrica for the nerve pain, and the tramadol for the general pain. The heel bone on the right foot has shifted slightly to the right from the looks of it, compressing that nerve. Took 7 weeks for the swelling to go down. Have no feeling on the heel of my foot to my toes on the right foot and am limping like Quasimodo and cant tolerate more than a a very short walk across the street. Only been out of the wheelchair for few days though so getting the hang of it again. Left foot is OK but really stiff in the joint and cant rotate the foot or walk on sloped ground yet.

Its the nerve thats really zapping me constantly, but the ankle joint (inside, like right in there) thats the bastard. I just thought it was a painful break but the docs are telling me Im gonna feel this sucker every step for the rest of my life. Worst break Ive done. Bilateral calcaneus fractures.

Back to work next week, so getting back into it. Only early days.

Hope your foot is holding up well mate. They're bastards to heal. Breaking both feet is a freaking nightmare.

Anywyas, back to the list management! Im off to the movies to see Alien with the girlfriend.

Im on the Lyrica for the nerve pain, and the tramadol for the general pain. The heel bone on the right foot has shifted slightly to the right from the looks of it, compressing that nerve. Took 7 weeks for the swelling to go down. Have no feeling on the heel of my foot to my toes on the right foot and am limping like Quasimodo and cant tolerate more than a a very short walk across the street. Only been out of the wheelchair for few days though so getting the hang of it again. Left foot is OK but really stiff in the joint and cant rotate the foot or walk on sloped ground yet.

Its the nerve thats really zapping me constantly, but the ankle joint (inside, like right in there) thats the bastard. I just thought it was a painful break but the docs are telling me Im gonna feel this sucker every step for the rest of my life. Worst break Ive done. Bilateral calcaneus fractures.

Hope your foot is holding up well mate. They're bastards to heal. Breaking both feet is a freaking nightmare.

Anywyas, back to the list management! Im off to the movies to see Alien with the girlfriend.
The twist is more obvious than us not getting Schache but its a decent film. Have fun.

Hope it gets better for you. Would seriously like to know how that movie rates...

Prediction:

We'll hear some clubs arc up about Silvagnis methods.
I can see it now. Mark it down as a certainty. :)

Alien Covenant? A sell-out. Shame it's going to take some time yet for people to 'get' Prometheus. Classic.

GF hasnt seen it yet which might make things hard to explain. Ah well. Aliens. People getting ripped to bits. Spaceships. Its all the same thing.

I'm just disappointed that the quiet themes of Prometheus have been propped up with the action, fans wanted.

It's now a hybrid of ideas as against a singular interesting theme. That's the way it goes.

I dont know if youve noticed but the Lions supporters think hes gone. The club dropped him this week:
http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/afl...s-resigned-to-losing-him-20170517-gw735o.html
Looks to me as if he's made his mind up in the past week or two and clubs are circling - including us.
Its looking pretty grim for them.

Grim because they're going to lose a forward?
I'd sooner Hipwood and they have Ballenden on his way.

Brisbane have no surprises coming up and if Schache is to go, they have the whip hand.........and just grab him again in the PSD. Good on them.
Richmond or Collingwood will pay overs and maybe we've just played a part in that happening......good for the poker player.

So I bow to you, coaching team. Bravo....:thumbsu:
Absolutely, the coaching team Bolts has put together should give us enormous hope for the future. I think I remember him having a strong focus on ensuring he assembled a team that have all coached on their own and thus could adequately provide useful input.

I've particularly liked:

-The use of a gameplan that favours the strengths/minimises the weaknesses of the playing group, that I can see having layers added once the appropriate players have arrived. Further to this, who knows if we get all the players we want? No premiership list is perfect and I feel Bolts would have no problem wringing all the potential out of any group he uses.
-Maximisation of the potential in players. Not all have high ceilings, but getting the most out of people says the coaching group uses them appropriately and their message gets through to them.
-The resilience, respect and humility Bolts instills in our draftees, and indeed the playing group as a whole. Everyone must understand the absolute honour it should be to play footy at the highest level, and play it at a footy club with a history as long and great as ours. In addition to this, footy is not to be seen as everything, and players must engage themselves with broader society to build more rounded and understanding characters. A career can be over in an instant, make the absolute most of it while you can, but be prepared for life afterwards.