Mate if they match a contract offer, they get him on that contract. He doesn't go anywhere. That's restricted free agency.
What did you think 'matching' referred to???
We've got to spend this off-season. There's no way around that, and it'd be silly to absorb more than one contract, but that'd be from a GWS multideal again, if anything. It's silly not to expect us to go after Fyfe in a big way, and it's silly to think that anyone is thinking beyond end of 2018 in terms of the list build.
I'm not sure many staff have a contract for 2019.
Bullshit, I reckon they'd almost snap your hand off for that kind of deal. He might have only played 5-10 AFL games in two years despite being ready made. They can't possibly ask for what they paid for him if he hasn't really developed.
That shows you why clubs went hard last year:
FA - Vickery
Trade - Nankervis, Witts, Vardy
Draft - English, Darcy, Cameron, Abbott
Rookie draft - Draper, Filipovic, Ladhams, Marshall, McInerney, Strnadica, Lynch
Huge run on rucks, no idea why we didn't try and position ourselves a little better for this and get rid of one of Phillips or Gorringe with a late ND pick.
Fortunately, it means the gate is wide open for us this year and talent seen as ruck only is a good chance to slide. Hopefully we can find a way to use that to our advantage, otherwise it might be worth a look at Longer, who might want guarantees on senior footy after his spell at the Saints.
That's got to be Mills, then Oliver, then Parish, then Hopper, which is pretty much how it went down. All in the top 5 conversation though, and rightly so.
Bullshit you say ?
GWS would snap our hand off shaking on pick 16-18 for Hopper ?
Probably best you worry about what your own hands up to mate ...