Mega Thread 2017 Media Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter M_rash

C'mon, even Son-Son admits it was insensitive. It was a dumb joke to make about an indigenous player, and given what Son-Son has overcome, who could blame him.
I have no doubt Pavlich didn't intend for his joke to be viewed as racially motivated, but then I'm a white guy and don't ultimately get to make that call.
With the amount of casual racism around, it doesn't hurt to reflect rather than react.

C'mon, even Son-Son admits it was insensitive. It was a dumb joke to make about an indigenous player, and given what Son-Son has overcome, who could blame him.
I have no doubt Pavlich didn't intend for his joke to be viewed as racially motivated, but then I'm a white guy and don't ultimately get to make that call.
With the amount of casual racism around, it doesn't hurt to reflect rather than react.
Yeah I'm indigenous and thought it was fine. Each to their own I guess, some people like making a big deal out of nothing.

Well put.
We all know the quality of Pav's character & know he's one of the good guys but I'm sure given his time over again, he'd choose his words a little differently.

Well put.
We all know the quality of Pav's character & know he's one of the good guys but I'm sure given his time over again, he'd choose his words a little differently.
Yes, I agree. Let's take all spontaneity and humour out of the commentary just in case someone, anyone, might be offended.

My gast is flabbered!

After being repeatedly overlooked in the opening six rounds, forward-ruck Taberner came in against the Bombers and was the perfect foil for Cam McCarthy and Shane Kersten, offering another avenue to goal with Michael Walters again below his best.

What?

On Midland, it's more racist to assume that the comment was racially motivated than the comment itself was. FFS. Midland is a shithole. When Walters grew up there, 15-20 years ago, it was even worse. I went to school there, I get to say it was a shithole. I'm not black. Absolutely nothing to do with race whatsoever. If you're offended by it in any way, you're a ****ing flog.

The joke was about midland, and had nothing to do with race. Would be no different to some vic commentator making a joke about Dane Swan and Frankston.

Scratching my head here, like you.

Joke was about Midland, no comment about race.

I have friends who wear their Midland upbringing, as a badge of honour. They reckon that surviving Govo Stirling set them up for the real world. They are also very proud of being Dings.

Just a minute, was Pav saying Midland people steal, ............... waiting for the uproar from the Italian community !!!!!!. To me Midland is more Italian / Slavic.

Disappointing that Pav has to deal with the outrage circus. It hits everyone at one point or another it seems.
The only person who appears to be outraged is that plonker Brendan Foster who exists to hate on Freo. What an absolute jerk. How on earth is he employed?

Surely people here can see that these kinds of jokes aren't made about white players.
Maybe Pav is so colour blind he didn't realise the association he was making, but then that's the definition of casual racism.

If you look online most journos aren't submitting stories at the moment from the weekend games - there's a few articles that were probably written before the strike, and there's the stuff that's written by the staff that aren't out in solidarity with their colleagues.

Surely people here can see that these kinds of jokes aren't made about white players.
Maybe Pav is so colour blind he didn't realise the association he was making, but then that's the definition of casual racism.
Sorry, but you are an idiot.

Except that they do, the footy show used to always hang shit on Swan for being from Frankston. Every city has that one suburb that is a bit dodgy, and people make fun of. In this country, almost every one of those suburbs are mostly white, Midland included. The joke was about Midland not race.

Also it appears the name of one the elders who is quoted is Robert Eggington, not Robert Eddington (as the current article has it).

I don't agree. I've seen jokes about Dane Swan being the typical Broadmeadows bogan, Ben Brown looking like the average person from Launceston.

Here's one from a foxsports article
Taylor Walker (Adelaide forward) You can’t take the Broken Hill bogan out of the big man

They don't make the news in any sense though, because people see them for what they are- jibes about the perception of suburbs. Maybe Pav should have made the joke about Stephen Coniglio and he would have escaped the wrath, although as masai points out he might have upset the Italian contingent in midland!