2017 Membership - The March Towards 50k!

. HAWTHORN: 61,028

Sam Mitchell and Jordan Lewis have left town but that hasn’t stopped the Hawthorn faithful from signing up for 2017 in droves. The Hawks posted a record membership number in 2016 and they are well and truly on track to top that figure.

2015 Total: 72,924

2016 Total: 75,351

2. ADELAIDE CROWS: 61,000

After back-to-back finals appearances, the Crows are flying. Adelaide enjoyed record breaking membership numbers in 2016 and that trend will continue for 2017.

2015 Total: 52,920

2016 Total: 54,307

3. WEST COAST EAGLES: 54,661

Nic Naitanui is set to miss most of 2017 but there is plenty of excitement out west. Is it the Sam Mitchell factor?

2015 Total: 60,221

2016 Total: 65,188

08b7b0b0fc7148f5226829f78d979a11

Nic Naitanui is unlikely to play in 2017. Picture: Mitch BearSource: News Corp Australia
4. RICHMOND: 52,401

The Tigers might be coming off their worst season since 2012 but the additions of Dion Prestia and Josh Caddy into a new look midfield has given the fans plenty of reason to hope for a quick return up the ladder.

2015 Total: 70,809

2016 Total: 72,278

5. PORT ADELAIDE: 50,027

Long gone are the days when Port Adelaide had to cover seats at their home games because of low crowd numbers. Despite missing the finals for the past two years, the Power is on track for huge membership numbers in 2017.

2015 Total: 54,057

2016 Total: 53,743

6. ESSENDON: 45,536

How many Bomber fans want to be part of the comeback story? With the supplements saga finally behind the club, Essendon supporters can go into 2017 feeling very optimistic. With Michael Hurley, Jobe Watson and Cale Hooker joining number one draft pick Andrew McGrath, finals are on the agenda.

2015 Total: 60,818

2016 Total: 57,494

7. GEELONG CATS: 43,007

Another year of having the best midfield one-two punch in the game has Geelong up and about for 2017. The Cats broke the 50,000 membership barrier last year and they are just 7,000 shy of that number already. Their total of 43,007 is the highest membership number the Cats have had at Christmas. “Our target for 2017 is 57,000 members so we are heading in the right direction to achieve that goal,” Geelong’s chief executive Brian Cook said.

2015 Total: 44,312

2016 Total: 50,571

8. CARLTON: 33,270

Next year is shaping up as a tough one for Carlton. The Blues won just one of their final 11 games in 2016 and there could be more short term pain on the way while the likes of Jack Silvagni, Jacob Weitering and Caleb Marchbank continue to develop.

2015 Total: 47,305

2016 Total: 50,130

9. SYDNEY SWANS: 31,046

The Sydney Swans enjoyed a massive jump in membership from 2015 to 2016, rising a whopping 15.74 per cent. Can that trend continue? They may have lost Tom Mitchell in the off-season but with Lance Franklin still in his prime and young stars like Isaac Heeney and Callum Mills on the way through, the good times are showing no signs of slowing down.

2015 Total: 48,836

2016 Total: 56,523

10. ST KILDA: 31,000

The Saints are marching towards a return to September action and their fans know it. St Kilda’s membership numbers jumped a league high 16.07 per cent between 2015 and 2016 and the club is on track for another big tally. The Saints are well and truly on track to break last year’s mark of 38,009.

2015 Total: 32,746

2016 Total: 38,009

11. WESTERN BULLDOGS: 30,000

Fresh off last season’s flag heroics, the Dogs are eager for more success in 2017. For the first time in the club’s history, the Western Bulldogs have reached the 30,000 member mark before Christmas. The club has enjoyed a 16 per cent increase on reserved seat members and a 42 per cent increase on social club memberships from this time last year.

2015 Total: 35,222

2016 Total: 39,459

12. MELBOURNE: 29,426

It has taken a little while but the Melbourne rebuild is finally complete and the club is charging towards a top eight spot. With Jordan Lewis coming on board, the Demons are just 10,000 members shy of topping their 2016 mark.

2015 Total: 35,953

2016 Total: 39,146

13. NORTH MELBOURNE: 27,481

Is it a full rebuild at North Melbourne or can the Kangaroos play finals in 2017? After breaking their all-time membership record in 2016, the Roos face a tough challenge to top that mark next season.

2015 Total: 41,012

2016 Total: 45,014

14. BRISBANE LIONS: 14,877

A new coach, a new football manager and maybe a new captain, there is plenty to be excited about at Brisbane. Chris Fagan and David Noble are rebuilding the Lions from the ground up.

2016 Total: 25,408

15. GWS GIANTS: 10,002

An early Christmas present for the Giants with the club reaching 10,000 members before Christmas. Having made a preliminary final last season, the Giants will go into 2017 as the premiership favourites meaning now is the perfect time to jump on board the expansion club. It could be your best chance at securing guaranteed Grand Final tickets.

2015 Total: 13,480

2016 Total: 15,312

16. GOLD COAST SUNS: 7,294

The Gold Coast will be desperate to get their membership numbers going the right way. The Suns dropped 5.78 per cent between 2015 and 2016. So far they are well behind fellow expansion club GWS despite being in the AFL an extra year.

2015 Total: 13,643

2016 Total: 12,854

*Collingwood and Fremantle have not made their membership numbers public.

Wouldn't guarantee a GF ticket surely?
Participating clubs get 15,000 so most clubs have different memberships for GF access (like our social club).

Sydney didn't even use it's full allocation, because they didn't even have 15,000 members who wanted to go to the game or pay for a ticket etc. I had one family member get a ticket with their Sydney Melbourne membership. I had another family member, who with a regular Dogs membership, missed out on our ballot but got a standing room ticket from Sydney's left over allocation.

Say GWS have 20,000 members, like Sydney last year, not all of them can fly down to Melbourne etc. Even if you very liberally assume 50% of their members (heaps more than Sydney last year) take up a GF ticket there's still a 5,000 ticket leeway.

If you're somebody who goes to a lot of neutral games of footy in Melbourne, and you're not an AFL/MCC member, and it sounds kind of silly, I'd get a Giants Melbourne based membership. If you can live with the fact that you'll be getting a Giants cap through the mail, the price is only about $10 more than the cost of buying 11 tickets in Melbourne. You get access to the 4 games they play here in Melbourne plus any 7 other games. Plus obviously access to the grand final tickets.

Could take punt on a GWS membership on the chance we meet in the GF.

But if you did would you ever feel clean again?

I'm gonna do it just for the laughs that would ensue when I would the the solitary bulldog right in the middle of the solitary GWS bay at the G on Grand Final day!

My first membership was in 1983, the centenary year. Then i was a member off and on after that. I have been a continuous member since 1992, received my 25 year pin last year. Social club member since it became know as the EJ Whitten Social Club. Not sure what year that was.
Interesting about the 25 year membership pin, I have been a continuous member since 1982, and have never received one. I have been a social club member since about 1985. Has anyone else received a pin?

Interesting that we are getting excited about 30K by Xmas yet we are still way behind most clubs due to a lack of success in the last 60 years.
North had 45K in 2016 FFS.
At least we are growing and with the flag in the bank and marquis players aplenty we should be OK.

PS I have been a member for 43 years, I haven't received a pin. Don't care, just want more premierships now.

Interesting that we are getting excited about 30K by Xmas yet we are still way behind most clubs due to a lack of success in the last 60 years.
North have 45K FFS.
At least we are growing and with the flag in the bank and marquis players aplenty we should be OK.

PS I have been a member for 43 years, I haven't received a pin. Don't care, just want more premierships now.
North had 45k last season, they currently have 27.5k.

Still haven't received the membership pack or email.... renewed in early October. Surname starts with C so not sure what order they are working through but it can't be first in or alphabetical!

Hope it arrives before Christmas, would be nice for the kids.
The membership pack arrived during the week just in time for Christmas. All of the kids opened theirs this morning under the tree. My 7 year old daughter was so excited to get her Dahlhaus Clubhouse junior membership and goodies.

I agree with those who have commented on the quality of the merchandise this year. The Junior caps are also really good and improved from last year. Even my 7 year old said so without any prompting. Hasn't taken it off yet!!

Interesting about the 25 year membership pin, I have been a continuous member since 1982, and have never received one. I have been a social club member since about 1985. Has anyone else received a pin?

The Bulldogs records from post 89 are not that great mate.

Call the club and ask them and they will be able to look you up and rectify the issue.

I'm at 38 years in a row now although according to some I don't support our great club

[QUOTE="Mattdougie, post: 48238854, member: 144435" I'm at 38 years in a row now although according to some I don't support our great club[/QUOTE]

Sane here member since 1978