Game Day 2017 National Draft

The OP for our new picks must be accurate and informative. Who should do it?

• Anyone

Votes: 39 35.5%
  • Wait for TD

Votes: 71 64.5%

That disappoints me a little as I was really hoping we'd go for Fogarty or Brander at 6. I guess I'd like a plan B to be developing for us if we miss out on Lynch next year.

I also feel as though we have so many defenders already, I don't see the need like others do. We could use some pace back there which Coffield has, but if we've given up our 2018 2nd rounder for Murray then we obviously rate him and should back him in. Is Murray a similar type to Coffield?
Things change right up until draft night as we've seen, it's more of how the outlook appears currently. Coffield is a taller, more skilful version of Murray and more versatile. While he has predominantly played off half-back, Coffield played up forward in stints earlier in the year and on the wing, booting four goals in round one. So he's certainly not just locked back there. I think his polish and speed is what attract us to him.

How accurate have these types of whispers been in the past from this far out? I don't get any info on who we like, but I had myself convinced we must be looking closely at Brander for him to come out and say that he'd like to come to a club like us where he can have an impact straight away. Also, Shade saying Darcy is moving into defence made me think we must be going KPF at 6.

Most of the things I hear are from people that have connection to the Pies' recruiting team or people within in the club. As I mentioned earlier in the thread, I think the fact that we've been touted by Cal Twomey that we'll take a KPP, the reporter has asked Brander, "How would it feel to play for Collingwood?" or words to that effect. No-one comes out and picks a club randomly I don't think, after all he knows Fremantle were into him too and I think they were leaning more towards him than Naughton to be honest.

I've seen quite a few draft watchers claim Brander is a bit of a reach for the Pies at 6 recently. Most people had him around the mark in their power rankings until the last couple of weeks in which he's started slipping. I don't really understand how a player continues to slip once all the U18 games are finished. I would have thought the only power rankings that are still shuffling should be the clubs and that would all be based on how they interview. Is Brander really a big reach at 6?

I would probably put Brander in that 10-15 bracket myself on pure power rankings. In terms of KPP, he's probably the #1, although it depends if you put rucks in there, as Hayes would stake a case for impact, certainly over the course of the season. I wouldn't be disappointed taking Brander at #6, but I would prefer Coffield, or if one of the other top mids drop. Yes there is that KPP need, but with such a high pick you should go best available IMO, especially if the player is considerably better. Coffield is no shrimp himself to be fair at 190cm.

While on the topic of Brander I've noticed some phantom drafts have him dropping a long way down the 1st round (past GWS). GWS have pick 11 and would have thought Brander was no chance for them to get once the Academy zone changed for them. Do you think they would let him slip past them if he fell that far? I can't imagine they'd let him go as they'd know him better than any club (I guess if they did let him slide it wouldn't say much for him).

GWS might consider him, but as we know they are not really short on KPF, so they would have to have an eye on him in the KPD stakes. But even then, they have Haynes, Davis, Tomlinson etc. who aren't old, so I think he would certainly come into consideration, but they might opt for a small forward which they are crying out for with the departures of Stevie J and Devon Smith. It is why Jack Higgins has constantly been linked to them there.

If Dow, LDU, Rayner, Cerra and say Brayshaw went top 5 who would you take at 6 for the Pies?
I would take Coffield. If not Coffield, I'd probably take Brander next, then Bonar or Stephenson, then Constable, then Naughton. I think Coffield ticks the most boxes of all those players. Bonar has the most upside, but I'm a little nervous to use #6 even though it sounds like Saints will use #7 or #8. Stephenson has plenty of upside, but his kicking is something I don't think we can afford to have much more of, given he rushes and can blaze away without thinking too often. He has some great moments, but also some mind boggling ones.

I think if Fremantle take Coffield, I could also see us considering Brayshaw, we've interviewed him (along with probably everyone in the top 10), and while he is not a need, I can picture us liking him. But for many months I've been pretty set on Coffield to take with #6, certainly if available.

Going to be interesting to see if we do pick him if available now that Moore seems to be going to CHB.

We would not need Him IF Moore going back. Rather Draft Noughton and keep Moore Forward

Bit of an update for the Eagles Board Mock Draft where I have Collingwood, we've only just started the 4th round so have 60 and 68 left before we call it off.

Pick 6 was Nick Coffield - Was keen on Brander initially but after reading some thoughts here and looking at other phantom drafts my thoughts were sufficiently swayed. Couldn't let Coffield pass.

Pick 39 was Harry Petty - One of the better key backs in the draft. Named in the AA Under 18 Championships side and was South Australia's MVP.

Pick 56 was Tyler Keitel from West Perth/ WAFL - My preference was for Hugh Dixon but he fell a couple of picks earlier so than I decided to hunt for some more mature key position talent from the state leagues. The better performing KPF's were either already linked to AFL club like Brett Eddy, had previously been on a list Jono Freeman (BL) and Jordan Lisle (BL) or were 25 years + in 2018.

Nothing against that age bracket but with Keitel only being 22 next year I thought he has a few more years of senior footy left in him than the others do.

Pick 60 and 68 I've got my eye on some more age players and maybe draft aged players that have slided .

Bit of an update for the Eagles Board Mock Draft where I have Collingwood, we've only just started the 4th round so have 60 and 68 left before we call it off.

Pick 6 was Nick Coffield - Was keen on Brander initially but after reading some thoughts here and looking at other phantom drafts my thoughts were sufficiently swayed. Couldn't let Coffield pass.

Pick 39 was Harry Petty - One of the better key backs in the draft. Named in the AA Under 18 Championships side and was South Australia's MVP.

Pick 56 was Tyler Keitel from West Perth/ WAFL - My preference was for Hugh Dixon but he fell a couple of picks earlier so than I decided to hunt for some more mature key position talent from the state leagues. The better performing KPF's were either already linked to AFL club like Brett Eddy, had previously been on a list Jono Freeman (BL) and Jordan Lisle (BL) or were 25 years + in 2018.

Nothing against that age bracket but with Keitel only being 22 next year I thought he has a few more years of senior footy left in him than the others do.

Pick 60 and 68 I've got my eye on some more age players and maybe draft aged players that have slided .
I would be pretty damn happy with this draft. I really like Dixon too. Would you have taken him at 39 if Petty was gone or did you have your eye on someone else?

Petty was my second preference at 39 behind Toby Wooler and ahead of Oscar Clavarino.

Dixon at 39 would maybe a little but early but you are running the risk he isn't available with that early 4th round pick.

Petty was my second preference at 39 behind Toby Wooler and ahead of Oscar Clavarino.

Dixon at 39 would maybe a little but early but you are running the risk he isn't available with that early 4th round pick.
Yeah fair enough. I think Wooller will go in the second round as well as Petty. I wouldn’t take Clavarino before the 4th round so I would be happy if we took Dixon before him.

Was Fogarty available at 6? If not, then for mine you’ve made perfect selections. If he was still available then :mad:

I don’t pretend to know anything about the kids but the debate is interesting to read.

certainly understand the need for a Kpp but with Moore Mclarty and maybe some high confidence in landing lynch maybe best available is the go even if on face value a midfielder or defender is surplus to requirements. It’s the first high pick we’ve had in years so we don’t want to waste it on anybody who isnt worthy of being pick 6 just because we have a development need in a certain area.

Tough call.
If Moore goes back with Dunn and we have Mclarty and Reid as back up, going by the Richmond model I think we are ok for KPP.

Expect big cox to have a break out year and teaming up with our other high fliers up forward.

Christ you've jumped ship completely.....think you'll find that things aren't as bad as your making out and it's good to see Bucks and the club putting faith into the development and improvement of our young list.....bottom 4 you say, care to have a wager that we don't finish bottom 4 next year bud......I mean if ya gunna dig the heels into the club like this then maybe put ya money where mouth is......cause although I'm optimistic I reckon we can push for the 8 next year, just need a few things to go our way.......Christ look at Richmond, there nothing special and look what they did!!
Mate if not bottom 4 will be very close. Richmond have a much better list obviously. And they traded in for needs and they developed some talent from the draft. Top 8 that is a joke right. By "if everything goes right " you mean 8 teams have massive injury lists, embroiled in a massive league drug scandal or some kind of plague we categorically will not finish top 8. Dead rubber games when there is nothing left to play for do not count for anything. The cord should have been cut years ago. Example Brisbane. Same Same with us look where they are ? Hell i reckon by the end of 2018 they may very well overtake take us.
This season we hardly had injuries till late but we still are free falling considering immediate list addressing was not done and our development of players is stagnant at best how can you see us improving ? You are the exact kind of supporter that Eddie the media fluffer has coaxed into believing that Collingwood in the AFL matter anymore

The draft's Mr Reliable

Callum Twomey October 23, 2017 9:43 PM

Nick Coffield The Northern Knights product is a defensive playmaker with a turn of speed
IT WAS during the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships that Nick Coffield established himself as an AFL player of the future.

The talented defender came into the national carnival with good form behind him playing at TAC Cup level for the Northern Knights, but stepped it up a notch in Vic Metro colours.

He averaged 22 disposals, at 74 per cent efficiency, and four marks a game across the championships, which saw him named in the All Australian side as a defender.

WHY-THEY-SHOULD-PICK-HIM.jpg

Coffield is a general defender who has excellent closing speed, good game sense, solid skills and can create plenty of drive out of the back half. He ran a 2.91-second 20-metre sprint at the NAB AFL Draft Combine, which highlighted his brilliant take-off pace and movement.

At 190cm, Coffield is also a nice size to match up on a range of forwards, and because of his pace he can also be used to shut down quicker, smaller types who present a threat. He averaged 21 disposals at TAC Cup level this season and uses the ball well out of the backline. He was also captain of the Knights, highlighting his strong leadership qualities.

Coffield's ability to take the game forward was also evident in his scoring power. He averaged nearly a goal a game at TAC Cup level this season (13 in 16 appearances for the Knights), which included a four-goal haul in the opening game of the season.

the-query.jpg

The question on Coffield will be his ability to play in the midfield at the next level and whether he has the running capacity to move there more permanently than the stints he had in there this season.

plays-like.jpg

Some similarities have been made between Coffield and Melbourne defender Michael Hibberd in the way Coffield can really patrol a back half and take care of a number of things at once.

draft-range.jpg

Coffield came into top-15 reckoning as the year grew longer, and he's certainly in that mix with the draft inching closer.

bottom-line.jpg

Mobile, quick and versatile, Coffield is Mr Reliable across half-back. You can depend on him to clean up a mess, but also to start an attacking play with the ball in his hands.

Tomorrows-Heroes-Nick-Coffield.jpg

I really like this draft.

I'm curious, what's the knock on Keitel's game? What has held him back? Or is he just a late bloomer?

Out of interest is Ben Paton still available?

Would you really go coffield he is once again that ugly heights like the rest of our defense. We already have howe, scharenberg, langdon and goldsack who are around the 190 mark we need someone who can play big against the really big key forwards if drafting a key back

Forget his height. Consider his playing qualities. Speed, excellent field kick and decision making, great agility and game awareness, defends well and wins a lot of footy. He's everything we want in a half back that gives us delivery and quick transition. As well as run and carry. With future scope for the midfield. Ironically I reckon people would be more excited if he were 186cm, which seems a little contrary to me. He also frees up Maynard for a move on-ball.

I really like this draft.

I'm curious, what's the knock on Keitel's game? What has held him back? Or is he just a late bloomer?

Out of interest is Ben Paton still available?

Paton went to St. Kilda at pick 45.

The knock on Keitel would probably be because he was a later bloomer physically. The change of clubs and new surroundings probably didn't help him to adjust to his first year of senior footy, 2nd year he cemented himself in the West Perth back line and this year became a key forward with great effect.

Think there may be some off field attitude issues as well that would get ironed out in a professional environment.

Paton went to St. Kilda at pick 45.

The knock on Keitel would probably be because he was a later bloomer physically. The change of clubs and new surroundings probably didn't help him to adjust to his first year of senior footy, 2nd year he cemented himself in the West Perth back line and this year became a key forward with great effect.

Think there may be some off field attitude issues as well that would get ironed out in a professional environment.

Thanks for the info. What are his strengths as a player? I must admit I don't know a lot about him besides the fact he performs well and can play key forward and back.

What are your thoughts on Keitel Snoop Dog and Knightmare?

We need a freak, an impact player, Coffee doesn't strike me as that

Fogarty Balta Bonar all seem risky for different reasons but they are also explosive

Players impact in different ways. You wouldn't call Pendlebury a "freak" and certainly not "explosive" but I think it's fair to say he impacts the game ;) Coffield impacts the game in the same way.

Personally I'd take a consistent impactful player over a player like say Stevie J who yeah can tear a game open, but he can also have poor games. Players like Pendlebury rarely have poor games, maybe one in every 30/40 games.

I also feel as though we have so many defenders already, I don't see the need like others do. We could use some pace back there which Coffield has, but if we've given up our 2018 2nd rounder for Murray then we obviously rate him and should back him in. Is Murray a similar type to Coffield?

I think the biggest difference between Coffield and Murray will be the chances of them becoming a B grade or greater long term player. Top 10 players have a strong likelihood of being that and it would be a major disappointment if your top 10 pick doesn't turn out that way. Coffield brings some speed and superior ball use which we are crying out for. Murray brings speed even more so and we would love him to become a Saad or similar. Still the chances of that happening are much more unknown.

He has played 2 seasons at NEAFL , the last being solid. Whether he can step up remains an educated guess and I would say there is as much chance of him only playing a handful of games or none as that of him making it. Coffield gives much more certainty and a much higher expected ceiling. I don't see getting Murray as precluding picking Coffield. For mine he is a player that fits a need for us and I would love him in black and white.

I don’t pretend to know anything about the kids but the debate is interesting to read.

certainly understand the need for a Kpp but with Moore Mclarty and maybe some high confidence in landing lynch maybe best available is the go even if on face value a midfielder or defender is surplus to requirements. It’s the first high pick we’ve had in years so we don’t want to waste it on anybody who isnt worthy of being pick 6 just because we have a development need in a certain area.

Tough call.
Yep. I think the majority of the time it's draft for talent, trade for need.

We need a freak, an impact player, Coffee doesn't strike me as that

Fogarty Balta Bonar all seem risky for different reasons but they are also explosive

I understand the sentiment, but Coffield is very quick, takes the game on, and also has good kicking skills...as well as leadership qualities.

So I think he'll be more than just an average player. I think he'll have real impact. The article compares him to Michael Hibberd, and he became Melbourne's most impactful player this year, with most teams opting to tag him by years end.

I'd definitely be happy with a player like this...especially since half back remains a weakness of ours. Whilst we probably have a bigger need for KPP's, running defenders are still very much a needs based selection as well.

Game Day 2017 National Draft