Game Day 2017 National Draft

The OP for our new picks must be accurate and informative. Who should do it?

• Anyone

Votes: 39 35.5%
  • Wait for TD

Votes: 71 64.5%

Has Balta got Depression?

No - he just doesn't give a s**t about football off the field from the write up I saw on him.

That's probably not such a big deal later on in a (successful) career, but early on when the process of learning your craft can be intense it does raise a bit of a question mark about what his application levels might be at AFL level as a higher pick (you really want the character box to be ticked as much as possible early in the draft), as you need more than just natural ability to make it.

Having said that he does have a ton of natural ability and the physical attributes are obviously there, so I can't see him lasting until 38.

Yes. We will now pick Higgins and it will be a fantastic selection.

Its been long proven that you don't necessary need height and size to play this game - see Brent Harvey, Caleb Daniel etc

Higgins was the best TAC footballer last year. No. 1 ranked for champion data so from a moneyball/stats point of view, he really should be our pick, if he is available at pick 6.

No. Just no.

We don't want the kid who was dominant in junior footy, want a kid who was good at junior level and has the potential to be dominant at AFL level with pick 6.

There is long, long trail of Morrish medal winners who only end up being just ok at AFL level.

Higgins was the best TAC footballer last year. No. 1 ranked for champion data so from a moneyball/stats point of view, he really should be our pick, if he is available at pick 6.
He should only be a Moneyball pick if he dominated in the stats most closely correlated with winning games of football, not just racking up possessions.

No. Just no.

We don't want the kid who was dominant in junior footy, want a kid who was good at junior level and has the potential to be dominant at AFL level with pick 6.

There is long, long trail of Morrish medal winners who only end up being just ok at AFL level.

Jarryd Blair for example.

No - he just doesn't give a s**t about football off the field from the write up I saw on him.

That's probably not such a big deal later on in a (successful) career, but early on when the process of learning your craft can be intense it does raise a bit of a question mark about what his application levels might be at AFL level as a higher pick (you really want the character box to be ticked as much as possible early in the draft), as you need more than just natural ability to make it.

Having said that he does have a ton of natural ability and the physical attributes are obviously there, so I can't see him lasting until 38.
Not caring about footy off the field is no problem imo. The ability to switch off and concentrate on other things rather than footy 24/7 is important to maintain a balanced lifestyle. Swan was exactly the same and I’m pretty sure the reigning Brownlow medallist is too, although I’m not sure Balta is the same type of partier they are (let’s face it he probably is/will be :p )

So not sure if this is based on anything from the club but there seems to be a school of thought amongst draft watches that Collingwood will go for whoever slides out of Rayner/Dow/LDU/Cerra/Brayshaw with Cerra & Brayshaw the ones most likely to slide to our pick.

So not sure if this is based on anything from the club but there seems to be a school of thought amongst draft watches that Collingwood will go for whoever slides out of Rayner/Dow/LDU/Cerra/Brayshaw with the Cerra & Brayshaw the ones most likely to slide to our pick.

I've heard Cerra (a couple of times now). Brayshaw doesn't slip past Freo. Both Lions and Dockers keen.

If you're looking at the whole body of work then it's hard to go past Reid being an elite CHB with an AA nod and he as very good at both ends before the injuries set in.

Even as recently as 2016 his quality was evident with how he really stabilised our set up down back when he returned.

If you wanted our top 5 at this point in time then the answer would be different, but that is not what you were asking.

It is, I just meant not on future potential. Some people will put a player in our top 5 who is still improving on the up and doing a bit of crystal balling.

A healthy and fit Reid is definitely a top 5 player for us but I'm starting to wonder if we haven't seen his best days and if his body will allow him to recapture it, last year he wasn't a top 5 player for us (and he likely wasn't in 16 over the whole year) so therefore he is currently off recent form out of it imo.

If someone asked our most important 5 players for 2018, I hazard my 5 would be different to recent top 5 players on performance(and Reid will feature in top 5 importance). Sorry, if I wasn't clear on it earlier.

Do you reckon Shane was at the gym with the weapon?

Edit. Shane Charters. Gone Critical

2000: James Hird suffers navicular stress fracture of the foot. "Radical" specialist treatment in the USA allowed him to return in 2000, career ending for most people.

2003/04 - James Hird has Navicular Injury, Shane Charter helps him recover from it. Shane Woewodin and Luke Darcy also receive dietary advice Shane Charters,

Shane Charters known for doping.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...illionaires-to-james-hird-20130419-2i5m1.html
Charter said in 2002-2003 he had about 30 AFL players from six clubs on his books. One of those clients was James Hird, then making his way in the stockbroking firm Goldman Sachs JBWere.

Its been long proven that you don't necessary need height and size to play this game - see Brent Harvey, Caleb Daniel etc

This guy gets it

I'd be less surprised with Hine calling my name on draft night than Higgins lol. No chance.

Higgins stylistically reminds me quite a bit of Beams. Particulary his releasing hand pass. But I don't think he has Beams size to be as impactful?

Off topic, but the loss of Beams I think really hurt us badly and worse than people think (if he'd stayed fit). At the time he left us he was one of the best at ball retention kicking inside 50. Something we've had difficuulty with of late (not comparing to Higgins here).

Higgins stylistically reminds me quite a bit of Beams. Particulary his releasing hand pass. But I don't think he has Beams size to be as impactful?

Off topic, but the loss of Beams I think really hurt us badly and worse than people think (if he'd stayed fit). At the time he left us he was one of the best at ball retention kicking inside 50. Something we've had difficuulty with of late (not comparing to Higgins here).
Beams and Swan were huge outs. Shaw too, but Beams is that goal kicking midfielder that makes us more dangerous. Need JDG to fill his shoes from 2018.

Is Cerra Beams like?

Blair and Rodan were the best TAC players in their years and were correctly not taken in the drafts. A lot of little guys develop early and have an advantage at underage level over their less developed peers. Like them I think there is a legitimate question as to whether Higgins has hit his peak as an underage footballer. He has obvious physical limitations and his skills are overhyped imo. The natural footballer tag that gets thrown around to these guys is actually a euphemism for we think your short and slow and a suspect kick. I also think his well publicised professionalism could be viewed as a net negative because it reinforces the view that he has already got all he can out of his ability and even then there is a definite question mark to how he will physically cope with the senior game. I would not be keen on drafting him with any pick in the top 20 tbh.

Higgins reminds me a little of Rockliff. Just wins heaps of the ball, but just lucky there's no metres gained stat in the TAC Cup.

Don't get me wrong, I respect Higgins for what he's had to do to get people to look past his height and smarts that rival Balta, but blokes like Cal Twomey just talk him up too much because he wins awards because he's ready-made. I doubt he plays full-time midfielder at the highest level anyway because of his size. He's too slow to play outside and too small to play inside. Which means he's a small forward who pinch hits in the midfield. He will probably averaged 70 odd SC points in his first season and everyone will be frothing at the mouth, but I'm expecting that and think from a fantasy perspective he's in that 90PPG mark long-term, not a Rockliff type scorer, and from a football point of view, he's best 22, probably around that 12-18 mark, but think his 10-15 expected draft range will be about right in this draft. Cal makes it sound like it's ridiculous that he's not top five, but he loves his Caulfield boys and the points above are why Higgins is not top five. Too slow outside, too short inside. Small forward.

Cerra for Beams is not a bad comparison. He has class and honestly could have been #1 had it not been for injuries. If his body is right he would be daylight robbery at #6. Can play outside or in and just cruises around covering the ground pretty well. Not too much wrong with Cerra aside from his speed which while everyone pictures him to be like Daniel Cross, he's still slightly above average. His been negatively portrayed because he's competing with Dow, Davies-Uniacke, Rayner and Stephenson, all of whom have burst speed out of a stoppage (or power in Rayner's case) and Cerra doesn't. He's not slow though, just not as fast as them.

To be fair to Higgins, he's 178cm. Blair is 172 and Rodan is 173.

I'm not keen on picking someone under 180cm at pick 6, but Higgins is tall enough to be good enough. Could be a really good pick up for someone later in the first round.

Higgins reminds me a little of Rockliff. Just wins heaps of the ball, but just lucky there's no metres gained stat in the TAC Cup.

Don't get me wrong, I respect Higgins for what he's had to do to get people to look past his height and smarts that rival Balta, but blokes like Cal Twomey just talk him up too much because he wins awards because he's ready-made. I doubt he plays full-time midfielder at the highest level anyway because of his size. He's too slow to play outside and too small to play inside. Which means he's a small forward who pinch hits in the midfield. He will probably averaged 70 odd SC points in his first season and everyone will be frothing at the mouth, but I'm expecting that and think from a fantasy perspective he's in that 90PPG mark long-term, not a Rockliff type scorer, and from a football point of view, he's best 22, probably around that 12-18 mark, but think his 10-15 expected draft range will be about right in this draft. Cal makes it sound like it's ridiculous that he's not top five, but he loves his Caulfield boys and the points above are why Higgins is not top five. Too slow outside, too short inside. Small forward.

I didn't mean to say he was Beams in quality just his style, gait and mannerisms remind me of him. Especially that hand ball technique.

Would Pendles be a good pace comparison to Cerra?

I didn't mean to say he was Beams in quality just his style, gait and mannerisms remind me of him. Especially that hand ball technique.

Would Pendles be a good pace comparison to Cerra?

Over 20m Pendles might be a tad quicker he's about 3.02 to Cerra's 3.09 but again with injuries Cerra might get closer to that. They are probably pretty similar in the way that pace doesn't really affect them too much because of the way they move and their class.

Balta will get close to our #38 from all reports, but he goes just before, so those with their fingers crossed don't get too excited on the night. Hearing mid 30s.
What is going on with Balta.
A few months ago he was being talked about as a possible top 10, since then he just keeps sliding and sliding and sliding.

Brown has greater future scope as a midfielder though. He'll get a bid at least. Don't expect it to be that high though. But it worries me when it's BA saying it because his contacts regarding Pies rumours are spot on.

BA is very good around this time and Lot of his Stuff he Says comes True

Balta will get close to our #38 from all reports, but he goes just before, so those with their fingers crossed don't get too excited on the night. Hearing mid 30s.

He might get close but I be Shocked IF Balta gets to 38. Small Chance he does would we pick him anyway?