Game Day 2017 National Draft

The OP for our new picks must be accurate and informative. Who should do it?

• Anyone

Votes: 39 35.5%
  • Wait for TD

Votes: 71 64.5%

Will be interesting to see how murphy goes if his a spud at 39 will show how incompetent hine is as he would of grabbed him at 6
Might be an idea to speak with those working for other clubs in junior player identification.
I've been told by high ups of premiership clubs, that Hine is as well regarded as anyone in junior talent identification.
Take that as you will. Just what I'm told, and not just once.

That said, the two picks of Stephenson and Murphy were BOTH in the high up picks of the phantom drafts of those that make their profession out of such things.
Take that as you will.

Now if our pick or picks are a bust, so be it. Nothing guaranteed in this business. You just make the best decisions on the information you have. If there are constant poor picks you review who is doing what.

But I'd say our earlier picks have been very solid over the past few years: De Goey, Moore, Scharenberg, Freeman (total bust! But chronic injuries!) Grundy (steal of the draft!) Elliott (that special deal thing allowed then with GWS in formative years) Pendlebury, Thomas. Then a bit deeper in the draft Fasolo, McLarty (unknown this stage).
Looking at those we've done ok.

There's others ofcourse deeper in the draft which is regular guesswork. We've had some nice wins, Maynard, Langdon. Ofcourse others have fallen by the wayside.

Might be an idea to speak with those working for other clubs in junior player identification.
I've been told by high ups of premiership clubs, that Hine is as well regarded as anyone in junior talent identification.
Take that as you will. Just what I'm told, and not just once.

That said, the two picks of Stephenson and Murphy were BOTH in the high up picks of the phantom drafts of those that make their profession out of such things.
Take that as you will.

Now if our pick or picks are a bust, so be it. Nothing guaranteed in this business. You just make the best decisions on the information you have. If there are constant poor picks you review who is doing what.

But I'd say our earlier picks have been very solid over the past few years: De Goey, Moore, Scharenberg, Freeman (total bust! But chronic injuries!) Grundy (steal of the draft!) Elliott (that special deal thing allowed then with GWS in formative years) Pendlebury, Thomas. Then a bit deeper in the draft Fasolo, McLarty (unknown this stage).
Looking at those we've done ok.

There's others ofcourse deeper in the draft which is regular guesswork. We've had some nice wins, Maynard, Langdon. Ofcourse others have fallen by the wayside.

Beams was a handy pick in the 20’s

I think we will need to use that pick to land the Gold Coast captain next trade and FA period!

Would we? Wouldn’t GC be better off taking a compo pick, assuming we are above them on the ladder.

Unless we can land Lynch without handing over our first pick, i’d rather just go to the draft in the hope of landing a potential 10 year KPP. While it’s still early, I believe there will be a great opportunity in finding one next year.

Beams was a handy pick in the 20’s
I'm sure I left a few out.
I think we've been pretty good with what we pick overall.
Not our Achilles heel.

Would we? Wouldn’t GC be better off taking a compo pick, assuming we are above them on the ladder.

Unless we can land Lynch without handing over our first pick, i’d rather just go to the draft in the hope of landing a potential 10 year KPP. While it’s still early, I believe there will be a great opportunity in finding one next year.

Yes it's a possibility that GC would be better off taking a compo pick but also a possibility that we may need to manufacture a trade (like Geelong did with the Crows on Danger) to get it done.

I would give over our first pick in a heartbeat (even in a super draft) for Lynch who is a bona fide gun KPF who only just turned 25 in October; but that's just me.

With only 3 picks in the draft I'm not sure how he wanted us to fix all our problems.

He's definitely got a bias to Hawthorn and a hatred to Collingwood.

It's becoming pretty obvious now if it wasn't already.

I don't bother to read his Crap. Feel Sorry for the Frankston Dolphins

With only 3 picks in the draft I'm not sure how he wanted us to fix all our problems.

He's definitely got a bias to Hawthorn and a hatred to Collingwood.

It's becoming pretty obvious now if it wasn't already.
Don't always agree with everything you write, but this is bang on.

He is so pathologically Hawthorn that if Hawthorn decided to all take dumps on the new bollards of Burke street he'd be saying "Hawthorn have done it again. Genius move, the way they manure the plants yet deficate the bollards. The genius Hawthorn unlocked their game plan"

And he's totally pathologically spiteful to Collingwood.

Don't always agree with everything you write, but this is bang on.

He is so pathologically Hawthorn that if Hawthorn decided to all take dumps on the new bollards of Burke street he'd be saying "Hawthorn have done it again. Genius move, the way they manure the plants yet delicate the bollards. The genius Hawthorn unlocked their game plan"

And he's totally pathologically spiteful to Collingwood.

Maybe he's just mad that Wrighty ( a great Collingwood man) is keeping him from the job he covets (but is not really that good at!)

Surely Hawthorn would not be that stupid.
And when they tell Gary b politely to go away or if it's Jeff doing the telling it won't be polite but earthy.

Then let's see the pathological simpleton write how good Hawthorn was to reject him.

He is so far up their backsides he must eat their polyps for breakfast lunch and dinner.

The person that gives sos a run as most over rated bore in football.

(SOS still the worst over rated one, buckenara second. But massive flogs the pair of them)
Don't leave out Kingy...saying Richmond were the big winners of the draft.
WTF Freo got two gun 10year mids/ leaders?
He's so biased from his tiger coaching stint!
Usually takes a shot a pies!

Yep he's in the mix for drink the own bath water award.
Never liked him.
Up himself something shocking.

and his Love of North. Though he tipped us to win the Flag at Start of the 2010 Season

Ib
Pick 70 was confusion by Hine in an attempt to soften the Murray trade. We never delisted the extra player required to take 70 into the draft meaning our only four picks were 6, 38, 56 and 61. Plus Hine had said pre-draft we'd only be selecting three players.

Ultimately 56 was used to match Port's bid for Brown and we passed at 61 (adjusted to 60 during the draft) with Port selecting Barry two picks after our pass. The way things played out we could have had both Brown and Barry.

To take matters out of our hands Port would have needed to select Barry at pick 50 or earlier.
I dunno man was just a theory

Hadn't updated this for a while. Can't say I'll be able to take it much further unless one of these people have an updated power rankings (not phantom) that I haven't noticed.

View attachment 438861
Was just going through to compare your rankings vs where people actually went and who got overlooked and thought I'd point out Knightmare has updated his rankings at some point (last Tues or earlier) and now has extended rankings out to 50 (Murphy at 49) plus some of his earlier order has changed. Don't know about some of the others as not sure where they post them. KM's is https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/knightmares-2017-draft-almanac.1161261/
Thanks heaps for keeping track of this!

By that logic Murphy is destined to be a dud.

Obvious you ain't a fan
Wonder what will change that cemented opinion?
Gee get off the kids back mate
Ever since he was drafted you're been negative
Glad we're got seasoned recruiters and scouts at swans
At this point his cost was around the same as TYLER
BUT HE HAS WHAT WE NEED
He has a mature body With heaps of upside
Let's hope he ain't reading
Like others have

Game Day 2017 National Draft