NFL 2017 - NFL Draft

LOL

The Cowboys had first-round grades on 18 players and Taco Charlton was not one of them, according to Stephen Jones. As the second round looms, the Cowboys have one player with a first round grade still on their board.

Todd Archer ESPN Staff Writer

That was a CB and the thinking behind it was that CB depth is huge but DE depth is not so we went with our next best pass rusher and took him.

Gee you love everything Dallas! You post more about us than you do your own team or our supporters and how is our salary cap looking cause i may as well ask you!

I am more than happy with the pick....

aplus.JPG

That was a CB and the thinking behind it was that CB depth is huge but DE depth is not so we went with our next best pass rusher and took him.

Gee you love everything Dallas! You post more about us than you do your own team or our supporters and how is our salary cap looking cause i may as well ask you!

I am more than happy with the pick....

View attachment 363784

Who could argue with the great draft sage Trevor Ruszkowski?

Can you show me any of the more well known draftniks saying that he was the second best DE in the draft?

LOL

The Cowboys had first-round grades on 18 players and Taco Charlton was not one of them, according to Stephen Jones. As the second round looms, the Cowboys have one player with a first round grade still on their board.

Todd Archer ESPN Staff Writer
How does that work?

It's amazing that they didnt have a first round grade on THE SECOND BEST DE IN THE DRAFT!!!!!!! when all 18 first rounders were taken before the Cowboys picked including five DE . One thinks it's unlikely that they didnt have another DE higher really.

It's amazing that they didnt have a first round grade on THE SECOND BEST DE IN THE DRAFT!!!!!!! when all 18 first rounders were taken in before the Cowboys picked including five DE . One thinks it's unlikely that they didnt have another DE higher really.

We didn't call him the 2nd best DE in the draft the writer did and was also " Arguably " meaning you can make a case for it or against it.

At #28 the selection is fine IMO. I seriously doubt you will endorse any Cowboy selection no matter who it is though and attack anyone that thinks Taco maybe an ok prospect!

What about this bloke?

http://www.scout.com/nfl/cowboys/story/1737239-cowboys-de-issues-taco-charlton-as-draft-fix

That was written in December to FWIW. Regardless with people attacking a journo i like our pick and if anyone does not good luck to em!

He doesnt say that he's the second best DE in the draft, atleast that I saw. Could you quote the relevant passage?

I don't think that's a particularly well supported proposition. I object to it, because it's the usual process of overhyping everything Dallas. He might end up the second DE in hindsight, we'll see, but there are very few people who would claim he's the second best DE prospect in the draft as of today.

I don't object to you being happy with the pick. Thats one thing. But is there any real need to overinflate where this guy was rated, and by inference make claims about the four other DEs taken in the mean time?

Re: attacking journalists- that's not really my intention. It's just that's a claim quite far from the consensus and I'd generally be more hesitant to afford it weight when it's a guy who I've never heard of.

He doesnt say that he's the second best DE in the draft, atleast that I saw. Could you quote the relevant passage?

I don't think that's a particularly well supported proposition. I object to it, because it's the usual process of overhyping everything Dallas. He might end up the second DE in hindsight, we'll see, but there are very few people who would claim he's the second best DE prospect in the draft as of today.

I don't object to you being happy with the pick. Thats one thing. But is there any real need to overinflate where this guy was rated, and by inference make claims about the four other DEs taken in the mean time?

Re: attacking journalists- that's not really my intention. It's just that's a claim quite far from the consensus and I'd generally be more hesitant to afford it weight when it's a guy who I've never heard of.

That article was for perception of his overall talent. The other bloke said he could arguably be the 2nd best DE in the draft NOT the best right now and you jumped up and down saying he labelled him as the 2nd best which he did not!

Taco was also ranked 9th overall ( Every player on D and offense ) on the NFL draft grades.

At #28 you are not getting Myles Garrett grades but i am rapt with what we got in a massive position of need.

Defensive backs in this draft bat very low and are all very even from here on in hence why we went a pass rusher. I reckon a team can snag a Pro Bowler with a defensive back from the 3rd rd or lower this season and the hard part is snagging them!

Wouldn't be a proper Bigfooty nfl thread without an eagles/cowboys shitfight.

Boooooooooooooooooo i reckon STO may of been at the draft today! lol

That article was for perception of his overall talent. The other bloke said he could arguably be the 2nd best DE in the draft NOT the best right now and you jumped up and down saying he labelled him as the 2nd best which he did not!

Taco was also ranked 9th overall ( Every player on D and offense ) on the NFL draft grades.

At #28 you are not getting Myles Garrett grades but i am rapt with what we got in a massive position of need.

Defensive backs in this draft bat very low and are all very even from here on in hence why we went a pass rusher. I reckon a team can snag a Pro Bowler with a defensive back from the 3rd rd or lower this season and the hard part is snagging them!

Look, what you're saying it says is not what the plain words you provided say. It might be that the context isnt provided there, but when he says 'arguably the second best player at that position', that appears to be a reference to the present.

I don't disagree with your logic re: DBs. We're applying the same strategy I think, though i got excited for a minute there when I thought Lattimore would fall.

Boooooooooooooooooo i reckon STO may of been at the draft today! lol

I'm still booing McNabb. It's been a long haul, but I expect we'll retract our pick and take Ricky Williams somewhere in about 2022.

Look, what you're saying it says is not what the plain words you provided say. It might be that the context isnt provided there, but when he says 'arguably the second best player at that position', that appears to be a reference to the present.

I don't disagree with your logic re: DBs. We're applying the same strategy I think, though i got excited for a minute there when I thought Lattimore would fall.

Was the article written in December i gave you just inflating Dallas to like everything else in your opinion when a positive is written with our name next to it?

We hadn't even drafted him and the season was still going! It is no secret we struggle getting to the QB to anyone.

Wouldn't be a proper Bigfooty nfl thread without an eagles/cowboys shitfight.

Bah, this is nothing. Just a few jabs. The cowboy fans are just a bit jumpy. It's the offseason, they're out of form I guess.

Was the article written in December i gave you just inflating Dallas to like everything else in your opinion when a positive is written with our name next to it?

We hadn't even drafted him and the season was still going! It is no secret we struggle getting to the QB to anyone.

The article doesnt make the same claim? It doesnt compare to other prospects does it?

As I said, no worries if you think he'll be a player. But if you want to argue he's better than the DEs taken in front of him, thats an implied criticism and we should have that argument so we can refer back to it with mockery of the inferior player for years to come.

The article doesnt make the same claim? It doesnt compare to other prospects does it?

As I said, no worries if you think he'll be a player. But if you want to argue he's better than the DEs taken in front of him, thats an implied criticism and we should have that argument so we can refer back to it with mockery of the inferior player for years to come.

It is all opinion much like your own and i will back people writing those articles before some Australian Big Footy poster. ;)

Then why don't you back the vast majority of articles that don't have that opinion?

Cause it does not suit my agenda as a positive thinker much like what most of what you have said and balanced your argument on as the negative.

Dig hard enough you will find a positive and a negative on EVERY player to argue about till the cows come home.

Cause it does not suit my agenda as a positive thinker much like what most of what you have said and balanced your argument on as the negative.

Dig hard enough you will find a positive and a negative on EVERY player to argue about till the cows come home.

Isnt that the fun of the draft?

Truthfully there's almost no useful discussion that can be had on it, generally for some years, but it's the only interesting thing going on in the off season.

Isnt that the fun of the draft?

Truthfully there's almost no useful discussion that can be had on it, generally for some years, but it's the only interesting thing going on in the off season.

It is what it is i suppose.

Tomorrow it will get even better with the " That guy is crap " everywhere before they have even played a game at NFL level! :huh: :D

It is what it is i suppose.

Tomorrow it will get even better with the " That guy is crap " everywhere before they have even played a game at NFL level! :huh: :D

On the flip side I remember being convinced that we'd drafted an all pro when we took Ricky Sapp in like the 6th one year.

It was probably the last name.

On the flip side I remember being convinced that we'd drafted an all pro when we took Ricky Sapp in like the 6th one year.

It was probably the last name.

I though we drafted a spud QB with Dak last season as well but maybe listening to idiots like this is not helping!

People are to quick to write players off.

The draft is all about hope. Every team's draft can be looked at two ways - "the team reached and have no idea what they're doing"' or "these guys are legends and we got steals all through the draft"

The reality is that the draft is an absolute lottery, there's no such things as a team that consistently nails the draft. How players work out is dependant on so many variables that it's impossible to assess anything this early in the process.

I love the passion of fans at this time of the year, but TBH, most opinions are just that - opinions.

Normally, you run a website featuring small school players, what piques your interest into Conley?

I run a website. Plus,to be honest with you, I requested the police report. After reading it, I was shocked at the findings. There were so many holes. So, I began looking into it. No different than TMZ or any other media outlet.

How many inconsistencies did you see early on to call the allegations into question?

When you read the report and talk to people, you will be shocked. Conley’s character was grade A with people. Everyone, including coaches and friends spoke highly of him. At first, I did not know what I would find out. After talking to the witnesses, I was confident in my findings.

How did the timing of the allegations affect your investigation?

After talking to the witnesses, I felt the news had to get out there. I pushed it out as soon as possible. I wanted to make sure this kid had a true shot, if he’s not guilty of a crime. After my report and findings, I sent emails to every NFL team. I made sure I put the info out there for them.

Did any teams respond?

Yes, I did receive feedback. 18 NFL teams contacted me. I spoke to the Raiders four times. They showed the most interest. They wanted to know what I was getting out of the deal. I was not getting anything. I supplied them with the police report. They did their own investigation

Where do you think the Cleveland media went wrong initially?

I do not think Cleveland media did wrong. I think they did their job as well. Channel 19 obtained the video that showed the female at the club with them. That was monstrous. Cleveland Media brought it to light

Do you think the media treated this situation fairly, in respect to Conley an the accuser?

I do believe media treated Conley fair. While some wanted to jump the gun, others began to dig. Conley’s witnesses were key. The men in the room, as well as the anonymous female really opened it up. It was very believable.

Where do you think the investigation proceeds now?

Obviously, the investigation is still ongoing. The rape kit will still be a determining factor. It could crucify Conley or set him free. He was willing to take a lie detector test and passed . The witnesses were educated people willing to talk to anyone about the case. The problem was people did not contact them.

What specifically did the witnesses say that stood out most?

All the witnesses testimony were on point. I have performed investigations in the past and I have never seen a story match when three people tell it. Never! This was shocking to me. When the female witness talked to me and was tearing up. I knew there was truth. She blew the doors off for me. The Raiders talked to all the witnesses there. Simple. The only flaws appeared from the alleged victims report.

If the allegations prove false, should Conley seek damages. Also, have you been in contact with his agent?

Remember, Conley is not charged. These are allegations. But, if the rape kit comes back negative, I wish Conley could seek damages. Thankfully, he is still a first round pick. If this comes out, he may just hold his head up high and walk away. The kid is a humble kid

When did you speak to the witnesses?

They day the report was released. All three. The alleged victim was called six times and texted five, no returned calls

Whether Conley r*ped this woman remains unknown. At this time, no charges exist. While the case remains open for now, we must remain sensitive to the severity of the allegations. Cover32Raiders takes no side in this issue. Be that as it may, our sole goal is to provide readers with insight from a reporter conducting their own investigation.

The post Cover32 Raiders Exclusive Interview: The Gareon Conley Rape Allegation appeared first on Cover32.