BigFooty Official 2017 Official Big Footy Phantom Draft

The Phantom draft wasn't supposed to start until Wednesday most wouldn't be around because of a Melbourne holiday so thanks to Quig Chris and LM for starting early

Anyway back to the draft every time I hear about LDU I only get more depressed we have pick 1 and need the inside midfielder I would rather reach for Brayshaw or take Rayner at pick 1

Good problem to have.

The more I read/see LDU the more apparent it becomes he's the best prospect in this draft. Powerful, athletic, good skills and still with a heap of improvement to come IMO.

He, Cripps, Setterfield and Bontempelli are going to have some big battles over the next 10 years.

If you're alluding to heights, it's somewhat surprising that LDU is only 187, rendering him a relative midget compared to Cripps & Bontempelli.
Even our recent acquisition in Kennedy, is taller than LDU. He sure looks bigger than he is.

Brodie may have a say in that grouping in the not too distant future, being a bull at 190cm

Stephenson at 2 is a bit odd, seeing as he'll likely last to 5. Instead of taking whoever is left over from Dow and Cerra, why not just take the option that fits Freo better? Unless you see them as being equal in every way.

I'm sure he would have been there at #5. But if he's your #1 ranked player in the draft, do you risk the 10% chance of him not being available? The selection of Dow or Cerra doesn't bother me much, I pretty much do have them equal and they'd both be good fits for Fremantle. There was little risk with Carlton always going to go for Rayner if available.

Stephenson at 2 is a bit odd, seeing as he'll likely last to 5. Instead of taking whoever is left over from Dow and Cerra, why not just take the option that fits Freo better? Unless you see them as being equal in every way.

Not guarenteed he lasts to 5

I would be shocked if North passed on him. Completely shocked.

Hi guys bloody heck started already!?!?

Well I predicted Quigs and Chris' picks, but I thought LemmingMaster might go Cerra. In which case:

Pick 4: Adam Cerra - medium midfielder

Fors:
1. Fast and accurate handballs and often to high impact spots just as he is about to get caught, drawing opposition players and freeing up his own players.
2. Neat kick (high efficiency) with high impact into the forward 50 – often the man to deliver into the forward fifty and does this well.
3. Always on the move
4. High possession getter and doesn't look to have any endurance issues
5. True midfielder though looks to have the outside skills to play on a flank / wing as well.
6. Good mover through traffic.
7. Consistent – didn't have a down game through the championships.
8. Decent medium size
9. Decent number of goals for a centre midfielder.

Against:
1. Would guess he may only be average speed or doesn't go full tilt all the time.
2. Average midfield mark, nothing special here.
3. Good mover through packs but not a “explosive” type that makes multiple side-steps or using strength to bash his way through.
4. Been injured a number of times.

Writeup pretty much as per last time. I still view as better than Dow and close to LDU as the best player in the draft.

If there is a position open as the GWS picker I would be more than happy to fill the role
You will note all the participants are regular contributors to this forum and have established some credibility in this area. Not sure someone with total of 7 posts will get a gig. There are others who have the knowledge and cred that are well in front. This is not to disrespect or disregard your knowledge or understanding of the potential draftees but perhaps if you start contributing and sharing your wisdom first.

I keep searching for your posts, I still remember your Fyfe call.

Been out of the loop for a few years now. I've seen little this year but I like a fellow named Stoddart. (think how you spell it) He's a diamond in the rough type, but am sure you're all over it.

Luckily I picked Ysaye's selection right, because I did this write up this morning. And I really didn't want to have to do another. No real surprises from me here, Dow wont last until #5 in the real thing.

Pick 5 Fremantle - Paddy Dow
(185cm, 78kg midfielder from Bendigo Pioneers/Vic Country)

With the season over, I've started going back and having another look at many of the top prospects. And I've probably been guilty of overlooking Paddy Dow. At the start of October I had him at #12 on my overall rankings, and didn't buy into him being the potential #1 pick. But since then, I've come to appreciate his game more. He didn't propel himself up the draft order, he more climbed the ladder one rung at a time through consistency. Unfortunately, his season ended early with shoulder surgery before he could lock down the #1 spot.

I think one of the main reasons I rated Dow lower was because I have always liked the flashier types. He doesn't have the pure x-factor of Rayner, the forward ability of Stephenson or the power of Davies-Uniacke. Dow is just a very good footballer. Of all the players in the draft, he has the most well rounded game without any obvious weakness. His last game of the season before injury saw him finish the stat line of 35 disposals, 7 marks, 7 inside 50s, 6 clearances and 2 goals in a complete performance. He's an option to rest up forward, he's a decent overhead mark for someone his size. But he's first and foremost an inside midfielder, he's good in traffic with quick hands. Can win his own ball, and has the speed and initial burst to escape the stoppages. That's his x factor, the thing that probably only one other player in this draft can match. Dow can rove the tap, escape the pack and kick a goal. I don't want to compare him to Gary Ablett Jnr, but in that regard...

Like I said before, I don't think Dow has any major weaknesses to his game. There are times when he might not be as noticeable, has faded in and out of games at points throughout the last couple of seasons. But that's the same of anyone. And even when Dow has a quiet day, he'll still get his 15 or so touches. His hands in close are very good, perhaps doesn't always look further up the ground. But when he does break free, his field kicking is good in space.

Didn't test at the Combine because of injury, but if history is anything to go by then Dow likely would have been top 5 in the 20m sprint and agility testing. And for Fremantle fans, they'll no doubt appreciate a Vic Country midfielder. There are rumours around every player, whether they'll be okay with an interstate move or not. And who knows until it happens. But it's hard to find anyone who has a bad word to say about Dow, with many regarding him as a future leader.

So again, what would Fremantle actually do here?
Well, Paddy Dow is a no brainer. Except the fact he won't still be on the board. They'll likely take him at #2 if Brisbane pass. Otherwise I expect it would be Adam Cerra or Andrew Brayshaw, with a WA tall being an outside chance.

Did I consider anyone else?
I'd have loved to take Sam Hayes. I think he'll prove to be a very good pick wherever he ends up going. Best tall in the draft. Darcy Fogarty would have been an option too, but I can take South Australians later on. Also, if I had a pick in the 10-20 range I wouldn't hesitate in using it on Zac Bailey. When I said earlier that only one player in the draft can match Dow's burst from stoppages, Bailey is that player.

**** you guys are slow

It’s a public holiday in Melbourne just so you know.

Big footy mod you must think you have some status or something. It’s a footy forum all it is, get over yourself

Sorry mate - I don't live in Victoria; I was actually at work and I didn't actually get lunch apart from grabbing some scraps from the Cup lunch between meetings. Also I was expecting us to start tomorrow.

There were three names I considered. Darcy Fogarty, Aaron Naughton and Noah Balta.

Any of the three could be the best KPP in the draft, but I'm going Darcy Fogarty.

#6 Collingwood - Darcy Fogarty
193cm, 90kg

Growing 4cm over the past year, I'll back in the scope to develop in the high impactful Fogarty which in addition to his sizeable talent can see Fogarty become one of the best in this draft.

After coming into the season a possible number one overall selection, Fogarty, due to a knee injury (small meniscus tear) he has played through (a good sign that he is willing to play through injury), his output and impact has been far below expectation.

While he's had a poor year. He's a genuine utility who plays with a style, impact and presence akin to Jake Stringer. Fogarty is expected to begin his career as a key forward, but in time I expect Fogarty becomes some blend of a key forward/inside midfielder who will give you the impact in either position depending on where you are needing it most. It will just take him time to develop his endurance which will take 3-4 years, before we're likely to see him up the field.

Darcy Fogarty (SA)

Best position: Utility

Height, weight: 193cm, 90kg

Recruited from: Glenelg

Projected draft range: top 10

Similar to: Jake Stringer

October Ranking: 6

Strengths:

Strength

Contested ball winning

Clearance winner

Contested marking

Body-on-body strength

Fend offs

Stands up through tackles

Courage

Competitiveness

Versatility to play anywhere other than ruck

Scoreboard impact

Clean ball user by hand and foot

Vision

Decision making

High leaper

Evasion

Agility

Weaknesses:

Endurance

Unclear best position

Inconsistent 2017 performances and production

Poor Under-18 Championships

Pick 7 - St Kilda: Andrew Brayshaw, 184cm, 82kg, Inside Midfielder (Vic Metro / Sandringham Dragons)

BIO - After smashing the combine by winning the Yo-yo test, top 5 finish in the 2km time trial and top 10 agility scores, Andrew has thrown himself into top 5 consideration. Younger brother of Melbourne's Angus, Andrew is super competitive, wins the footy on the inside and then uses it well on the outside. Andrew wins the footy with ease and i consider him as one of the few inside mids to display class on the outside, he will be a ripper to whatever club he ends up at.

RATIONALE - Always going to take my best available mid here. Brayshaw, Dow, Cerra or Stephenson will fall at this pick on draft night

WHO ELSE? - Clark, Constable, Brander but Brayshaw was best available

There were three names I considered. Darcy Fogarty, Aaron Naughton and Noah Balta.

Any of the three could be the best KPP in the draft, but I'm going Darcy Fogarty.

#6 Collingwood - Darcy Fogarty
193cm, 90kg

Growing 4cm over the past year, I'll back in the scope to develop in the high impactful Fogarty which in addition to his sizeable talent can see Fogarty become one of the best in this draft.

After coming into the season a possible number one overall selection, Fogarty, due to a knee injury (small meniscus tear) he has played through (a good sign that he is willing to play through injury), his output and impact has been far below expectation.

While he's had a poor year. He's a genuine utility who plays with a style, impact and presence akin to Jake Stringer. Fogarty is expected to begin his career as a key forward, but in time I expect Fogarty becomes some blend of a key forward/inside midfielder who will give you the impact in either position depending on where you are needing it most. It will just take him time to develop his endurance which will take 3-4 years, before we're likely to see him up the field.

Darcy Fogarty (SA)

Best position: Utility

Height, weight: 193cm, 90kg

Recruited from: Glenelg

Projected draft range: top 10

Similar to: Jake Stringer

October Ranking: 6

Strengths:

Strength

Contested ball winning

Clearance winner

Contested marking