Competitions 2017 Phantom Draft

Pick #14 - Sydney Swans - Lochie O’Brien
Midfielder - 184cm - 77.4kg
Bendigo Pioneers - VIC Country
Plays like: Isaac Smith

I’ve tried to scout the Swans board for opinions on their first pick, with varied opinions on the type of player. Nonetheless, barring a player sliding through it was clear that their primary needs were a midfielder and speed. The Swans have a need for some more speed through the midfield and off the half-backline. That’s where O’Brien comes in.

Lochie has good speed and is a running machine. Swans fans could get excited about the Bendigo product streaming off the half back, across the wing and delivering the ball lace out onto the chest of Buddy in finals footy. Aside from his endurance, O’Brien’s key asset is his incredible left foot. Classed as the guy you want to lead to, he’s been likened to Andrew Gaff - a type of player the Swans just do not have. He's also a little like Isaac Smith - a good size and the right set of traits for the modern day wingman.

Despite this, he doesn’t come to the draft without shortcomings. His story has been well documented across 2017, with the Geelong Grammar midfielder coming into 2017 with huge expectations. Unfortunately for him, he didn’t quite achieve the consistency he would’ve liked and by his own admission didn’t have the best year.

Still, in the ‘Bloods’ system, Lochie O’Brien could well become a weapon and play early in 2017. His commitment to making it at the top level is strong and a place in the first round is fair.

Also looked at: Charlie Constable is one that keeps coming up among Swans fans, but seems to be sliding a little more as the draft gets closer. There should also be plenty of inside midfield options available later on. Nathan Murphy has been strongly linked to the Swans - a 188cm utility with plenty of talent.

You're up Coona Blues

Pick #15 - Brisbane Lions - Lachlan Fogarty

Midfielder/Forward - 179kg - 75kg

Fogarty has been extensively linked with Brisbane on the rumour mill, so is easy to select here.

Repeatedly caught my eye in the televised Vic Metro games. Tenacity, pressure, tackling all traits to endear a young player
to all prospective recruiters. Remember noting that his TOG percentage was lower than some of the more vaunted names in
the draft. Can find the ball and has a very good range of skills. Slightly undersized, but an extremely solid and willing
performer, with the admirable quality of being a two-way runner. Regarded by many as a forward first, seemingly based on
his manic defensive work, which would transfer to the modern pressure forward role. Tough little customer, likely ready to go
early in his career.

I see him as a genuine midfielder, who's strengths offer the perfect opportunity to integrate in to the Lion's midfield, via their
largely unsettled and developing forward line. Reputed to be a mate of Rayner, who I have taken at #1. Go home factor at
least partially negated.

Next Western Bulldogs Pablito

This draft has me about as inspired as a lesbian listening to Turnbull speak at a gay rights rally. That said this kid looks the goods and whoever picks him up will be pretty pleased with themselves.

Richmond Pick #17: Ed Richards
Ed ran a 2.89 sec 20m sprint this year.
Unlike others who do similar things Ed actually uses it in games. You can see him taking the ball and just bursting away from opponents.
Unlike others Ed can actually calmly hit a target while at full speed. His kicking efficiency of 75 per cent was the best out of any of the TAC Cup players invited to the National Combine.
Unlike others Ed can calmly hit a target 50 to 60 meters away while at full speed.
Unlike others Ed can hit the right target while running at full speed.
Unlike others I would love to see Ed called out by Bolts on draft night :)
He's a serious weapon who's been hidden from view due to injury and choosing to play mostly for his school.

Coona Blues

Pick #18 - Brisbane Lions - Nathan Murphy

Forward/Utility 188cm 80kg

Trying to identify a genuine pick is a hell of a task, even this early, especially when "Go Home" is considered.
Allen, Constable, Bailey and Garner considered. Have academy big boy Ballenden to match when called on.
Already taken small mid, Bailey off, Constable on same list as Rayner if we judge the worst from time trial?
(edit Constable taken earlier, working of tracker...no biggie)
Murphy doesn't have the forward scope of Allen, but is a genuine utility, perhaps better suited in defence
adding another dynamic to a developing young list.

Rumoured to have plenty of interest in the top 10, and displayed elite vision and kicking on the highlight
reels on offer. Recently defected from cricket and a real wild card in the draft, how much upside does he have?

Enter Arr0w for the Gold Coast

Pick #19 - Gold Coast - Zac Bailey

Inside Midfielder - 181CM 81KG - DOB 23/09/99

Bailey has explosive speed from the contest, generally winning the ball in tight, then clearing from the pack. Despite recording 2:98 over 20 metres, he seems even quicker over the first 5 or 10 metres. Bailey is generally a good kick, but does have odd moments of poor delivery. When he doesn't have the ball, he hunts the man and applies strong, bone crushing tackles. Very good two-way runner, generally recording a good balance of rebound 50's versus inside 50's. Like most quick players, has a very good leap and can take a strong contested mark. Reminds me of Rory Sloane in terms of intensity, toughness, contested ball winning style, with a mix of Richard Douglas early speed. Relocated to SA from NT, 3 years ago to enhances his chances of being drafted.

Given the quality of GC's KPP's, the departure of Ablett, the age of Barlow & Rosa and a lack of burst speed at the coalface, Bailey would be a great addition to the likes of extractors such as Brodie & Fiorini and will allow guys like Swallow & Weller to play more at first or second receiver where they will be more damaging.

Other considerations: Ling, Spargo, Garner

Pick 22 (WCE) - Timothy Kelly
Height: 182cm
Weight: 81kg

Mature aged (23 is mature apparently) WAFL player who has an outstanding year culminating in Kelly running second in the Sandover. A highly skilled mid/forward who has been able to consistently rack up big numbers in the middle throughout the year. He has also demonstrated an ability to hit the scoreboard when up forward - including a bag of 7 along with several 3 goal games. It might seem a bit early to pick a a mature aged player, however Kelly is ready made and a number of Victorian clubs have been keeping a close eye on him. Should start from round 1, rotating between wing and half-forward.

TerryWallet

Pick #23 (GEEL) - Lachie O'Brien

2nd highest on my board left and a needed pick for the Cats as well i reckon. I'm very very confident my 1st highest pick will be available at my next Pick after North:).

So O'Brien it is here. Cats have been having issues with a few of their pacy skilful players. Motlop has left. Murdoch doesn't seem up to it. And Cocky, Parfitt, Gregson and McCarthy have worrying injury histories. So O'Brien has the opportunity to make a spot for himself in this hard at it but not over quick team.

He has had a bit of a down year but he has the weapons to be a potentially good AFL outside mid. He isn't a real hardball winner yet, but importantly, he isn't windy imo. He will get his share of contested ball but will do the most damage with his reading of the play, spread, and delivery.

Pick #23 - Lachie O'Brien

2nd highest on my board left and a needed pick for the Cats as well i reckon. I'm very very confident my 1st highest pick will be available at my next Pick after North:).

So O'Brien it is here. Cats have been having issues with a few of their pacy skilful players. Motlop has left. Murdoch doesn't seem up to it. And Cocky, Parfitt, Gregson and McCarthy have worrying injury histories. So O'Brien has the opportunity to make a spot for himself in this hard at it but not over quick team.

He has had a bit of a down year but he has the weapons to be a potentially good AFL outside mid. He isn't a real hardball winner yet, but importantly, he isn't windy imo. He will get his share of contested ball but will do the most damage with his reading of the play, spread, and delivery.

hasn't he been picked already?

Pick #23 - Lachie O'Brien

Already taken. I wouldve taken him at 17 or 20 as well

WCE bid on Patrick Naish.

gandaal whattaya say?

I was hoping people would forget about him :D

Matched

Jimmae please adjust the draft order accordingly.

I think I use 25 and get back Pick 63 or something similar.
This was actually a really good test for my bid calculator, as given the Tigers had pick 25, there was a remainder despite only using one pick.

The pick was 67, which is further down the order than the Tigers' last live pick, so the points are actually lost.

upload_2017-11-18_18-1-53.png

Updating the order now, but effectively, the Tigers' pick 25 becomes 21, and picks 21-24 shuffle down one in the order.

Pick #23 (GEEL) Sam Taylor

I feel it's a touch early, but then again i don't really like much of the runners left, so i guess this is why Steven Wells has said they are in the right spots to snaffle some talls.

I think it is a good draft for KPD's and could easily have taken Clavarino, Balta or Petty at one of the Cats picks around this mark but i think Taylor might just be the most sure of this lot(tough call). Taylor is a great intercept mark which is a pre-requisite these days and also good 1 on 1. Looked good in the Carnival and continued that form into the back of the year.

Harry and Hendo coming towards the end and only Ryan Gardner developing as a maybe KPD at the Cattery. Stewart and Kolo are more tweeners.

Neadsy83

Here's one of my promised write ups.

Pick #20 Oscar Allen

This is Oscar Allen. He's too short to play modern day key position AFL apparently.

upload_2017-11-18_18-29-1.png

This is Jack Riewoldt. The current Premiership CHF (sickening isn't it?).
upload_2017-11-18_18-26-15.jpeg

The difference in their height is 2 cm.

This is definitive proof that my wife is a liar. Size DOES matter.

Pick 24 - Charlie Spargo

I love a little romance in life and also with footy so I have gone with a boomer replacement at this selection. His old man was only 19 games short for him to be F/S eligible.

Had he not been injured for the majority of the season then he would have definitely been a top 20 pick and he certainly fills a need for North as Harvey hasn't been replaced and the subsequent delisting of Thomas makes this a priority.

Charlie is quick and agile so will apply good defensive pressure when forward and knows where the goals are. Also has a great fitness base so will be able to spend plenty of time up the ground.

I think he will make a fine league footballer and be a regular for North in the coming seasons. I expect a minimum 100 games from him.

TerryWallet you're good to go!

Pick #25 (GEEL) Sam Hayes

Too good a prospect to overlook when your rucks are Zac Smith, Rhys Stanley and break glass backup option Ryan Abbott. Geelong are in the now for 2-3 years and can go with Smith during that period. Perfect time to nab dual AA ruckman Hayes and build him up through their development system.

Hayes has the game to be a topline Ruck/Forward at AFL level when physically developed. When the talent is there with ruckmen, grab em young just like anyone else. Brodie Grundy, Sean Darcy and soon Tim English are testament to that.

Over to Blugazi

Competitions 2017 Phantom Draft