Training 2017 - Preseason Training

Ibbotson is a great interception specialist but his awareness of players around the footy gets him run down with the ball all the time. Needs to change that. I'm not opposed to him being in the 22 but I don't see why a player like logue can't be that interception specialist by the highlight packages of him. He might be more aware and anticipate a player to catch him. We will soon find out i suppose.

It's weird, Ibbotson can spend nearly a whole season spudding it up, but when he turns up, wow. Round 23 versus the Western Bulldogs he was amazing. At 29 he's unlikely to become consistent, but you'd take 5-10 games per season at that level for him to earn his spot. He looks like the type that over thinks things. While his brain arrests in thought he's prone to get caught.

I hate it when Ibbotson and other defenders spend too much time working out where to kick the ball to.
But I don't just blame him. I blame the players up the ground who aren't providing a lead or running hard into space to provide an option.

Too many times last year, certain outside players were just walking around the ground when they didn't have the ball. As a result, the man with the ball had fewer options, decision making was slower, and the pressure from the opposition was greater.

Maybe it was a fitness thing and we will be better this year, and I think Brad Hill will make a big difference in this regard. Or maybe it was about being defensive and having no faith in the ability of your team mate to kick creatively, so they needed to stay near an opposition player in case things went pear shaped. Ibbotson said he never lost confidence in his own ability, but I think Freo players did lose confidence in their team mates ability last year.
Some of our new players will make their team mates look better. Brad Hill will provide options, McCarthy will make an average kick look like a pin point pass. Hopefully the team will gain confidence in each other as the season progresses.

Too many times last year, certain outside players were just walking around the ground when they didn't have the ball. As a result, the man with the ball had fewer options, decision making was slower, and the pressure from the opposition was greater.
With some behind the big sticks camera angles you could see the player with the ball (who was likely attempting to follow instruction about retaining possession) had absolutely zero uncontested options unless able to tonk the pill 80 metres.
I don't know if it was tanking/fitness or general disinterest in contributing but at times it was a disgrace.

With some behind the big sticks camera angles you could see the player with the ball (who was likely attempting to follow instruction about retaining possession) had absolutely zero uncontested options unless able to tonk the pill 80 metres.
I don't know if it was tanking/fitness or general disinterest in contributing but at times it was a disgrace.
Which turns into "kick it long up the line to Pav/Tabs," which turned into a turnover or a two on one contest, which turned into us as supporters "we always f$#ken kick it long to a player outnumbered and turn it over" rinse, repeat...

I think when you are watching all those video tapes you have Ryan and Cox mixed up. I doubt we would ever have Logue and Cox on the one line this year in the back half so being the theorist that you are you need to roll the tapes again and come up with better options.
Is that some kind of weird crack at me? I am the theorist as opposed to any other poster, yourself included?

The discussion is about who we have on our list who can plausibly play tall defender if the majority of our mature defenders go down in a catastrophic season. The comparison is between Hughes at 187 cm and Cox at 193.

If you have a different theory, that is fine by me.

G'day everyone!

Though I would post a couple of things I have noticed during my visits to training so far this pre season, I am really going to miss sitting under the fig trees with my coffee when I head back to work next week, especially as it is probably my last time watching the boys train at Freo oval!

I will split it into players for the most part although thought it was important to mention how different it has been watching training this year without pav, Barlow, de boer etc running around. The group is really quite young now which should make the season very interesting as I don't think anyone knows exactly what to expect this year. In saying this it I think it may effect our midfield prospects a bit if we get injuries. Obviously with a starting centre of Fyfe, Neale and Mundy we should be fine although if injuries take their toll on us we could the like of Blakey, tucker, Suban, S hill and D Pearce in there quite a bit as they seem to be the others doing a lot of the inside midfield drills.

Now onto the individuals:

McCarthy: I have been a huge fan since his draft year and was ecstatic that we finally got our man this year. Watching him in the small team game drills he looks lethargic and off the pace, regularly breaking into coughing fits. These are obviously not drill designed to show his strengths though as when he is in the full ground drills his speed off the mark is incredible. He is just such a natural forward, leads to the rights spots at pace, marks it and kicks the goal. As long as the mids are putting it into space for him he will kick a lot of goals this year.

Cox: very impressed with his size for a first year player, has very tidy skills and has the body to play senior footy at some stage this year.

Blakely: has come back very fit and covers a lot of ground, kicking is still an issue though as he regularly misses targets in match sims which are the closest part of training to a game. He missed Mundy in the pocket one week and when pressed by Ross about why he didn't hit him, blakely replied he didn't see him which left Ross flummoxed.

Hamling: Could be in our top 3 most important players this year, he is quick strong and has pretty good skills. Reminds me of the great Elvis, so no pressure!

Griffin: I have been very impressed, yes his kicking isn't perfect but his intercept marking is brilliant, moves a lot like Rance at Richmond, which obviously doesn't mean he will be as good but it's a start!

B Hill: absolutely lethal on the outside, just burns away from people and always hits his targets. Having him and Steve this year is going to be very exciting to watch. He is also always making sure he asks the coaches for clarification on anything that he doesn't get immediately, showing his willingness to improve in any way.

Fyfe: Freak, nothing else to say.

Son son: would love be to see this bloke as a captain at our club, evrything is done with class and he is always so vocal.

Darcy: the big fella has been very up and down which is completely expected but I've been so impressed with his second efforts in game sims, he is strong and wins taps but she really pushes to make an impact on the clearance. I'm excited about his potential and not quite as worried about the impending retirement of sandi.

All in all from what I've seen this has been a much better pre season than the last one. Ross is a lot more hands on than last year, which I think was one of our major downfalls. The energy is great with a young group and they all really get around each other during drills and huddles. Looking forward to an entertaining 2017 and watching this young team grow together!

I'm not saying play him right away I'm just pointing out he is a key defender unlike Hughes.
I think we will have more of an idea on how they are performing after match simulations, when the
white line fever kicks in.
I wouldn't pigeon hole any of the younger guys just yet either, a good example is Hamling, not many on
here rated him at all, Geelong even played him forward in the VFL. All Hamling needed was time to fill
out, and a different club, chance to play AFL.
Mathew Scarlett one of the greatest fullbacks was 192cm, Josh Gibson is 189cm?

G'day everyone!

Though I would post a couple of things I have noticed during my visits to training so far this pre season, I am really going to miss sitting under the fig trees with my coffee when I head back to work next week, especially as it is probably my last time watching the boys train at Freo oval!
Thanks for sharing your thoughts BigWill7 - nice to get perspectives from different posters.

From what I've seen I would pretty much agree with all your observations so far. Will be great to see how that translates when the rubber hits the road.

Blakely: has come back very fit and covers a lot of ground,
Agree with all you've said and this really stood out for me.Looks much fitter and stronger.Ran with Sheridan in the extended full ground run throughs last Friday and it was step for step.Great to see.He'll just keep getting better I reckon.

Pity he's blind but maybe we can get him a dog?

Saw Ballantyne at the airport last night; he said he was off to Tokyo for a few days for a business trip. Had a very large suitcase for a short business trip. Must have packed plenty of thermals.
Thats random to be going on a "business trip" right in the guts of pre season training.

On HUAWEI NXT-L09 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Obviously Ballas is off to do some specialised downhill skiing training. Otherwise WTF. I thought football was his business.

Going by the AFL site I think a few clubs are allowing the players a 3-4 day break either side of Aussie day. Will of course be their last break before getting into the practice matches.

Also... what a beast Sam is

12g%20241.jpg