Draft Review 2017 - Revisit the 2017 AFL draft

Maybe should check out your own back yard. Desparately need inside mids yet you decided to keep that mass hole on your list wide open by brining in flankers. It’s just going to add your 13 year drought.

Cunners is an elite clearance mids fwiw and the type of player you need.

Im happy with who we have added this off season and who we are banking on to deliver in the coming years.
- Stringer WILL NOT play KPF that the WBD so desperately needed him to play (we have a current All Australian for that)
- Langford is transtioning from rangy HFF into inside mid
- Darcy Parish was forced onto the outside because of the returning 12 but expect he will see more inside midfield minutes in '18
- We've got some Andy McGrath bloke who will eventually end up a Marc Murphy type inside/outside type
- Devon Smith showcased his ability to win the ball as a mid in his early years at GWS when he finished top 3 (iirc) at the club B&F.
- We have a plethora of kids who showcased plenty at VFL level that could end up best 22 players at years end (Mutch, Laverde, Begley)

So yeah, pretty happy with where the club is headed. No point picking a type for the sake of it. Houlihan according to many was a 20's prospect. BZT fills a list need (we have quite literally zero KPP's under 23 and he as a KPD compliments the defensive unit we hope to develop well as more of a lock down type) whilst the Guelfi pick could end up the best of the lot with his upside showing in his 3 years of development at WAFL level both as a goal kicker (22 goals in 19 games) and as a midfield player (averaged mid > high teen possessions for a 19 y.o is pretty damn good for a kid who played the majority of the season in the seniors).

I'm happy with where our list is at. A much better list than many have/will give it credit for (yourself included no doubt).

You do know it's not all done in game mode, yeah?

Knowing the Stingrays people well enough, they have told me last year was as important a year for LDU as his previous 3 years in an elite system. The development he showcased through coaching stints, off field homework was absolute first class.

I'll back in my source to note what type of player he was 24 months ago to who he is now. A vastly different and superior, more balanced (inside/outside) player with every opportunity to become a 200 game AFL player.

Mate I’m a former line coach at the Stingrays under Graeme Yeats and a close friend of Craig Blacks.

LDU was the best kid in the country, hence the u/15 All-Australian, national MVP etc, he missed his 16th and 17 years.

The bullshit you are sprouting is completely wrong, you originally stated he was an inside mid only, then conceded “some outside only”, 5 minutes of watching the kids agility, speed and power is enough to demonstrate to any half decent judge, he’s the absolute definition of an inside/outside mid.

He didn’t just “transform” this year, he simply wasn’t injured.

Your “sources” are wrong.

Im happy with who we have added this off season and who we are banking on to deliver in the coming years.
- Stringer WILL NOT play KPF that the WBD so desperately needed him to play (we have a current All Australian for that)
- Langford is transtioning from rangy HFF into inside mid
- Darcy Parish was forced onto the outside because of the returning 12 but expect he will see more inside midfield minutes in '18
- We've got some Andy McGrath bloke who will eventually end up a Marc Murphy type inside/outside type
- Devon Smith showcased his ability to win the ball as a mid in his early years at GWS when he finished top 3 (iirc) at the club B&F.
- We have a plethora of kids who showcased plenty at VFL level that could end up best 22 players at years end (Mutch, Laverde, Begley)

So yeah, pretty happy with where the club is headed. No point picking a type for the sake of it. Houlihan according to many was a 20's prospect. BZT fills a list need (we have quite literally zero KPP's under 23 and he as a KPD compliments the defensive unit we hope to develop well as more of a lock down type) whilst the Guelfi pick could end up the best of the lot with his upside showing in his 3 years of development at WAFL level both as a goal kicker (22 goals in 19 games) and as a midfield player (averaged mid > high teen possessions for a 19 y.o is pretty damn good for a kid who played the majority of the season in the seniors).

I'm happy with where our list is at. A much better list than many have/will give it credit for (yourself included no doubt).
You won’t touch the ball against the physically strong midfields. Swans showed you how far away from winning finals you are. You didn’t improve your biggest weakness in the off season.

Your list is 8th best. It’s why your 8th in the flag betting. Betting agenicies don’t have bias like fans do.

Really? Because this thread is such a scientific exercise.
Relax dude, why so defensive? Re-read my post and the post I am replying to and think for a second. My comment basically was refuting the bloke I replied, who was taking a dig at the Fremantle's draftee's gf and reading way more in to a screen grab than should be.

In simpler terms, I'm on your side.

i just like posting those 3 names :)
Yeah, i actually enjoy the trade period more than draft night when we’re players.

Plus you have some idea of what you’re actually getting :)

Relax dude, why so defensive? Re-read my post and the post I am replying to and think for a second. My comment basically was refuting the bloke I replied, who was taking a dig at the Fremantle's draftee's gf and reading way more in to a screen grab than should be.

In simpler terms, I'm on your side.

Mate, he was taking the piss. There's nothing to "refute" lol

Mobile rucks are the go in modern footy. Hayes aint that. Why do you think he slid to 47?

All you need is a guy who can kick some goals and play forward which he has the ability to do. The best ruck in the comp last year was a pure tap ruckman who could mark well which is exactly how this guy plays.

who are you talking about?

you could have had ldu or dow and one of the players you took. crazy in my opinion but mathew lloyds brother knows better.
Considering Matthew Lloyd is mentoring Haileybury where Brayshaw and LDU play and Brad Lloyd is list manager of Freo, you don’t think Brad would’ve picked Matthew’s brain about Brayshaw and LDU. If LDU was considered better than Brayshaw then we’d have taken him with 2. I trust Brad and the scouting network did their due diligence on all of the prospective top 10 and picked accordingly.

Then call it a prediction thread.

Your worthless opinion is based on the posts of Knightmare, a bigfooty poster. If you're going to start putting winner and loser labels on clubs based on amateur input, then there's no helping you.
So cos he doesn' have a microphone in front of him sprouting shit to get attention like most "football experts" his opinion is not worth any thing?

Considering Matthew Lloyd is mentoring Haileybury where Brayshaw and LDU play and Brad Lloyd is list manager of Freo, you don’t think Brad would’ve picked Matthew’s brain about Brayshaw and LDU. If LDU was considered better than Brayshaw then we’d have taken him with 2. I trust Brad and the scouting network did their due diligence on all of the prospective top 10 and picked accordingly.

Do you think that the go home factor might have come in to play?

People will take $8 they can keep over $10 that they have to repay in 2 years.

You all clearly have low expectations. "Already a gun"

He is at the same level as hrovat. If gresham is a gun what on earth did that make boomer?
Well, Hrovat has been in the AFL since 2013 and is set to enter his 6th season in 2018. Meanwhile, Gresham started in 2016 and has only played for 2 seasons. He is one of the better performing players of the 2015 draft (~ top 7 or 8) in my opinion based on output so far.

I reckon he has the tools to improve even more with maturity and experience.