Gold Coast
Something to ponder.....
Stats for this year so far
Melican 20yo and played 12 games.....151 disp 45 marks 1 goal 22 tackles
Fiorini 19yo and played 10 games..... 219 disp 58 matks 4 goals 29 tackles

and from the weekend's games
Melican 15 disposals 9k 6h 3 marks 3 tackles
Fiorini 29 disposals 13k 16h 7 marks 4 tackles

Am I missing something here..............

I'll let you draw your own conclusions
Melican is a tall lock down defender - Fiorini midfielder - vastly different roles . Stat comparison means nothing in this case.

Stroppy

Apr 14, 2015
Gold Coast
Dubs
I am hoping that we get no nominations this year.
A chip on the shoulder of some of these players would be great.
"Can't get no respect!!!!!"

Plus, it has not exactly been great for us in our 7 year history.

2011. Trent, Zac Smith, Matera, Dave Swallow (cursed!!!!!)
2012. Caddy (double cursed!!!!)
2013. JOM, TomNich (triple cursed!!!!!!!!)

2014. KK, Jack. (improvement)
2015. Saad, Touk. (good)
2016. 2MP. (good)

OB11

Feb 4, 2010
Gold Coast
76ers
Melican played very well. On nick Riewoldt and beat him hands down a number of times. I'm not altogether surprised.

Had/Have Roo in all my fantasy teams - he is a shadow of his former self and good on the kid for beating a player with a once great name

OB11

Feb 4, 2010
Gold Coast
76ers
I am hoping that we get no nominations this year.
A chip on the shoulder of some of these players would be great.
"Can't get no respect!!!!!"

Plus, it has not exactly been great for us in our 7 year history.

2011. Trent, Zac Smith, Matera, Dave Swallow (cursed!!!!!)
2012. Caddy (double cursed!!!!)
2013. JOM, TomNich (triple cursed!!!!!!!!)

2014. KK, Jack. (improvement)
2015. Saad, Touk. (good)
2016. 2MP. (good)

I love this comment

Whoever the coach is next year can just take the young kids aside and tell them that they have to be outstanding to be noticed up here, they need the team to win to get noticed - if you can do everything you can to take your games to the next level we can start doing both

JRyan23

Oct 6, 2016
Gold Coast
Gary Ablett took 52 games, to have 30+ disposals, Fiorini took 2 games, and has had 20+ in 9/12 games.

JRyan23

Oct 6, 2016
Gold Coast
upload_2017-7-25_9-29-15.png

Fiorini's stats compared to every player eligible for the Rising Star

Sunraysia

Mar 16, 2015
Gold Coast
View attachment 395939
Fiorini's stats compared to every player eligible for the Rising Star
I love Fiorini - on record saying he'd be this years rising star.
But he isn't impacting games despite his disposals . Seems rushed at times and lacking composure - gets the stat without the care sometimes.
That said he's only young and is sure to be a star for us going forward. As others have said he's well ahead some good names in terms of disposals gathered to this stage of his career.
As far as rising star goes - I'm thinking the judges mark him down because he's first in uncontested disposals.....

Aug 7, 2013
Gold Coast
Rams, 76's, Brewers
Adams, Crouch & Merrett all averaged 21 in their 2nd season (he's ave 22) and they all ave 28-30 disposals a game by their 4th. Not saying he's going to be as good as them but he's tracking really well for a teenager who's played 12 games. Composure and disposal will improve.

Jul 11, 2006
Chermside
Gold Coast
See Below
Fiorini wasn't that great on the weekend. Butchered the ball a lot. Melican played a great game. He deserved it
Should be noted that SUNS has a hard on for Melican.

Fiorini was robbed.

gcsunsfc

Oct 24, 2012
Gold Coast
Milwaukee Bucks
Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 3.33.56 PM.png
Screen Shot 2017-07-27 at 3.35.15 PM.png

These two have had pretty good years
Will get nominated before the year is out hopefully

From my perspective the remaining contenders in order of best play this year are:

Brayden Fiorini
Jarred Berry
Dan Houston
Matthew Kennedy
Sean Darcy
Jason Castagna
Ben Ainsworth
Lewis Young
Bailey Williams
Ryan Clarke

Everyone else

gcsunsfc

Oct 24, 2012
Gold Coast
Milwaukee Bucks
If Fiorini had kicked a few more goals would have boosted his chances further
I thought he would be that goal kicking wingman but not really hit the scoreboard much

JRyan23

Oct 6, 2016
Gold Coast
View attachment 396622 View attachment 396623

These two have had pretty good years
Will get nominated before the year is out hopefully

From my perspective the remaining contenders in order of best play this year are:

Brayden Fiorini
Jarred Berry
Dan Houston
Matthew Kennedy
Sean Darcy
Jason Castagna
Ben Ainsworth
Lewis Young
Bailey Williams
Ryan Clarke

Everyone else
I reckon this is Fiorini and Ainsworth's best chance. Berry is out, Houston is out. Only Darcy and Young are threats I feel. Hopefully one of them gets it this week

gcsunsfc

Oct 24, 2012
Gold Coast
Milwaukee Bucks
I reckon this is Fiorini and Ainsworth's best chance. Berry is out, Houston is out. Only Darcy and Young are threats I feel. Hopefully one of them gets it this week

If Richmond flog us and Castagna kicks 3-4 he'll get nominated.
The melbourne media love beating up Richmonds smalls and Castagna always gets a mention
Been talked about a lot more across general footy media that Fiorini thats for sure

Sunraysia

Mar 16, 2015
Gold Coast
If Richmond flog us and Castagna kicks 3-4 he'll get nominated.
The melbourne media love beating up Richmonds smalls and Castagna always gets a mention
Been talked about a lot more across general footy media that Fiorini thats for sure
Flogging on the cards - looking at the team and potential tests before Saturday.
But... Fiorini or Ainsworth may play a blinder.
But.....if they do... guaranteed Melbourne judges will be looking elsewhere....

JRyan23

Oct 6, 2016
Gold Coast
Flogging on the cards - looking at the team and potential tests before Saturday.
But... Fiorini or Ainsworth may play a blinder.
But.....if they do... guaranteed Melbourne judges will be looking elsewhere....
Very true, but expect Gaz to play. Small forward line for Tigers anyway, but still probably destroy us

Sunraysia

Mar 16, 2015
Gold Coast
Very true, but expect Gaz to play. Small forward line for Tigers anyway, but still probably destroy us
Hope your Gaz expectation is right - it is a home game after all - so chances are greatly increased ...

SnusCG

Aug 30, 2016
Gold Coast
melbourne media love beating up Richmonds smalls and Castagna always gets a mention
On that topic, honestly think that if Daniel Rioli didn't have the last name Rioli he would either be playing in the 2's or would just be an underperforming second year small forward. Gresham and Ah Chee from the same draft have outperformed him both years both statistically and just from watching the games but the media froth over Rioli like he's the next Eddie Betts

gcsunsfc

Oct 24, 2012
Gold Coast
Milwaukee Bucks
On that topic, honestly think that if Daniel Rioli didn't have the last name Rioli he would either be playing in the 2's or would just be an underperforming second year small forward. Gresham and Ah Chee from the same draft have outperformed him both years both statistically and just from watching the games but the media froth over Rioli like he's the next Eddie Betts

Hmm I don't know
I think Rioli has pretty good flashes
Stats fairly underwhelming though

Mini GF

May 21, 2017
Southern GC-the beautiful city
Gold Coast
This is not a judgement just an observation

I'm really surprised how much this rising star award which really is just a rookie of the year award generates debate and conversation.

I would've thought if one of our boys got it then all it would do is drag up his salary request, so in some ways it's a poison chalice.

Aug 2, 2012
Gold Coast
Golden State Warriors
This is not a judgement just an observation

I'm really surprised how much this rising star award which really is just a rookie of the year award generates debate and conversation.

I would've thought if one of our boys got it then all it would do is drag up his salary request, so in some ways it's a poison chalice.
Omeara won the rising star