2017 trade/draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter mattyc75

Patrick Keane‏ @AFL_PKeane 1m1 minute ago

West Coast has placed Sam Butler on the long-term injury list, with no replacement named from the rookie list at this time.

Could be all over for Butler now?

:(

I knew we had to put someone on the LTI to make room for NicNat to come back, but I thought Lycett or Allen were the obvious guys, not someone who's only supposed to miss another week.

Time must be up for him now, surely.

Whats wrong with Logue?

If we needed a tall back last year instead of mids I'd be happy with Logue. And if Gov did go Barrass and Logue would compliment each other nicely. One is a beast the other a bit more agile.

I wouldnt be unhappy at all with pick 5 plus Logue who went pick 7?

Just not a fan and wouldn't be on my list of players if I could take someone from Fremantle. Thought he was a big reach at 7 and don't really see the potential. Despite the leap I don't think at 189cm he is anything other more a rebounding mid-sized defender and we don't need any more of them.

Tucker and Blakely will be better players. :)

Is this where we discuss how much of a flog Brad Hardie is or is there a separate thread???

I love it how one minute he is writing how West Coast needs to move on the old guys, with Priddis a key focus. Nek minute, Priddis retires and he writes about how the players are pissed and at least one wants to leave. Nice one mate.

I would be worried if he wasn't so comprehensively wrong so often.

Just not a fan and wouldn't be on my list of players if I could take someone from Fremantle. Thought he was a big reach at 7 and don't really see the potential. Despite the leap I don't think at 189cm he is anything other more a rebounding mid-sized defender and we don't need any more of them.

He's at least 193 cm but yes I agree with you,he hasn't shown much so far.early days tho

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

We should be sniffing around Pickett at Carlton. Isn't getting much of a look in, Blues will be drafting more top line kids again and he wouldn't cost much, 3rd rounder at the most.

We were keen to draft him but GWS went waaaay to early with pick 4. Foot issues have held him back. Not a bad option off the HFF / bench.

What did Gov and Barrass show in their first year?

Gov was almost shown to door but he couldn't fit through it:huh: so he had to stay.:straining::D
As I said early days yet.but I'm not actually sure what position he is best suited for.

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

We should be sniffing around Pickett at Carlton. Isn't getting much of a look in, Blues will be drafting more top line kids again and he wouldn't cost much, 3rd rounder at the most.

We were keen to draft him but GWS went waaaay to early with pick 4. Foot issues have held him back. Not a bad option off the HFF / bench.

I think we missed our chance in the 2016 trade period.

If we didn't go for him then, I doubt we'd go for him now.

I think we missed our chance in the 2016 trade period.

If we didn't go for him then, I doubt we'd go for him now.

+ He wanted to go to Carlton because SOS was there

Where the **** is Keys?

Come on keep up with the news "He Retired Yesterday " from public life.

images-15.jpg images-14.jpg

Well Keys.............. Golly Good Show Old Boy.... hip hip hoorah and all that.

Sooo I herd that 2019 there is a high chance the both Gov brothers will be playing at FREO... For the love of god I hope this is not true. To put this rumour to rest I hope we pick up Mitch Gov at the end of the year

... or re-contract Jeremy ASAP

193cm

It's a good question and I think it's just going to have to come down to specific player v player comparisons.

In an ideal world there is a strong KPF prospect in our range at 10. At the moment I would probably be more confident in a mid like Dow/O'Brien/Higgins/Clark over a KPF prospect like Hayes or Balta.

That probably changes if Brander slides into contention for our pick (which seems unlikely at the minute).
I was listening to the AFL draft podcast from a couple of weeks ago - Will Sutherland was rated as one of the best KP's in the draft and he had only played school footy and the U18's. To not have any TAC exposure as a Victorian but still be rated so highly would either suggest he is very good, or the crop around him isn't that high quality.

On that front - we could be lucky and someone like Fogarty slides to us, he didn't have the greatest carnival- but he has tricks and genuine versatility.

Also, on a side note - they interviewed Oscar Allen on the podcast - he seems a very motivated young man. Wasn't happy with his performance (didn't think he gave a complete performance in the champs despite winning the larke medal) Given he would be a 3rd tall, I doubt he ends up with us, but whoever picks him will be impressed I think. Spoke really well.

Fair bit to play out this year, for all we know we may magically win our next 4 - but I much prefer the discussion on the draft in this thread than who's leaving us to join the mob down the road. ;)

Dream draft: Higgins (mid) with our first, Oscar Allen (fwd) with our second.
Allen is already listed as 193cm at 18 years of age, that's 3cm shorter than JJK. Think that would be fine for a key fwd.

Realistically, Allen won't be available at pick 30. Would need around pick 20 for a solid chance.