2017 trade/draft thread

• Thread starter Thread starter mattyc75

What about jack Trengove RFA this year. Can't recall if he was just another outside mid but if his body ever holds up could be another cheap fixeruper. Seems to be forgotten about. Thoughts?
I thought he would be a star when I saw him play early in his career but injury and playing for a basket case of a team ruined him. It's a no from me.

I know this potentially is going to create some heated responses but here goes.

Watching last night and even other games I wonder if one of our biggest strengths has been exploited by opposition coaches to expose and take advantage of our biggest weakness?

What I mean is we have several exceptional intercept marking defenders in McGovern, Barras, Hurn and Sheppard that now opposition teams have learned to run the ball through the middle, lower their eyes and not kick long forward. This has then exploited our biggest weakness being our midfield and lack of pace.

So what do we do about that from a list perspective?

Would say trading McGov to Freo in the long run balance our list better?

Would rather trade McKenzie. He still has a couple of good years left but is surplus to our needs.

Trade them all. Only players to keep.. Duggan, Shuey, JK, NN and McGovern.

Still have that lingering suspicion we will flick our pick 9 for two of the GC's picks in the 20s, using one for McGovern (or using it ourselves to fill our list spots).

Regardless, I've kept a rolling phantom draft of my own just to try and get a feel for who I'd expect to be available for our pick 9 (even though it's so early).

I think we can safely rule out Rayner, Luke Davies-Uniacke and probably Adam Cerra. Then (although to a lesser extent) I'd expect Paddy Dow and Jarrod Brander to be off the board by the time our pick rolls around. At this early juncture, I'd expect a few of the following group to be in our range:

Nick Coffield (190cm HBF/MID - Classy but no guarantees to be a mid)
Jack Higgins (178cm FWD/MID - See above, competitive player but height may be a concern)
Joel Garner (184cm MID/DEF - Skilfull mid/def that has bolted up the rankings lately)
Jaidyn Stephenson (189cm FWD/WING - Explosive, tall wingman, question mark is consistency)
Darcy Fogarty (191cm KPF/MID - Competent big bodied mid at U18 level but will he be another Jack Darling at the next level?)
Lochie O'Brien (184cm MID - Outside mid with elite kick that lacks contested game)
Joel Garner for me, just so that we can say that Joel Garner is playing for us now.

Not sure I can support the Eagles if that prick Thomas ends up playing for us. Surely there's no chance of that happening?!

I'd be calling Jack Martin's manager - how is Jack enjoying life on the Gold Coast, their coaching merry go round and the fact that everyone else (OMeara, Prestia, Smith etc etc etc etc) have left in recent years. Don't be the one to turn off the lights Jack.

Edit - inserted 'be' in last sentence

He was never quick but now would likely lose a race with priddis. Lost kicking depth, agility, speed and power. Completely ruined by injury.
What a great draft that was for Melbourne

Four picks in the top 20. You'd be absolutely laughing if that was us.

1. Scully - gone
2. Trengove - gone
11. Gysberts - gone
18. Tapscott - gone

Lucky for them they got Gawn with 34 because after winning the spoon that year no one else in that entire draft/RD is now playing for them. Helps when you win spoons consistently

What a great draft that was for Melbourne

Four picks in the top 20. You'd be absolutely laughing if that was us.

1. Scully - gone
2. Trengove - gone
11. Gysberts - gone
18. Tapscott - gone

Lucky for them they got Gawn with 34 because after winning the spoon that year no one else in that entire draft/RD is now playing for them. Helps when you win spoons consistently

They sacrificed their clubs identity and senior players to make this happen too. As bad or worse than anything crazy vossy did.

Joel Garner for me, just so that we can say that Joel Garner is playing for us now.

Not sure I can support the Eagles if that prick Thomas ends up playing for us. Surely there's no chance of that happening?!
Same thing here. You would have the have an AFL hiatus if we got Thomas.

Remember we were definitely picking up Ballantine this time last year as well and that didn't happen so I won't worry just yet.

I think we can safely rule out Rayner, Luke Davies-Uniacke and probably Adam Cerra. Then (although to a lesser extent) I'd expect Paddy Dow and Jarrod Brander to be off the board by the time our pick rolls around. At this early juncture, I'd expect a few of the following group to be in our range:

Nick Coffield (190cm HBF/MID - Classy but no guarantees to be a mid)
Jack Higgins (178cm FWD/MID - See above, competitive player but height may be a concern)
Joel Garner (184cm MID/DEF - Skilfull mid/def that has bolted up the rankings lately)
Jaidyn Stephenson (189cm FWD/WING - Explosive, tall wingman, question mark is consistency)
Darcy Fogarty (191cm KPF/MID - Competent big bodied mid at U18 level but will he be another Jack Darling at the next level?)
Lochie O'Brien (184cm MID - Outside mid with elite kick that lacks contested game)

Cerra may slide but that would be a dream come true.

You can add Constable, Brayshaw and Clark to that list as all three are climbing fast up draft boards.
All have been good post Championships.

Clark has been prolific for The Stingrays since the Championships amassing large numbers and kicking goals, he has already answered the question of his ability to transition into a genuine midfielder.
Focus will be firmly on Coffield to see if he can do the same and if he can then I would expect him to rocket up the board into even top five contention.

What are the knocks on Fogarty? Seems to me he could be what we've been crying out for for years, a big bodied mid with an aggressive side to him but it also seems that he has a few tricks up his sleeve too.

And his body looks capable of playing senior footy next year

You can add Constable, Brayshaw and Clark to that list as all three are climbing fast up draft boards.

Clark has been prolific for The Stingrays since the Championships amassing large numbers and kicking goals, he has already answered the question of his ability to transition into a genuine midfielder.
Focus will be firmly on Coffield to see if he can do the same and if he can then I would expect him to rocket up the board into even top five contention.
monacle ,what do you know about Trent mynott? Seems like a great pick up with our second or hopefully 3rd

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

I hope we are looking at Lucas Webb from the bulldogs. If he is keen to go to GC surely he would rather go to WC where the club has a better future.. We could definitely fit him into the squad.
What do you reckon he's worth? I think a third rounder should get it over the line. Young mid struggling to get games.

Would be instantly competing for a position in the 22 and is in the age bracket for us. Would do more I think than Gov Jr to help us along for our next window.

From what I've seen of him this year, he wins contested ball and has neat disposal. Good size at 187cm and not slow either.

What do you reckon he's worth? I think a third rounder should get it over the line. Young mid struggling to get games.

Would be instantly competing for a position in the 22 and is in the age bracket for us. Would do more I think than Gov Jr to help us along for our next window.

From what I've seen of him this year, he wins contested ball and has neat disposal. Good size at 187cm and not slow either.

Out of contract so i think maybe a 3rd rounder? Chuck in Lamb as a sweetener?

He would perfectly into the midfield and should rotate with Shuey & Partington in the forward line to give some flexibility. Leave Yeo & Duggan down back.

100% agree about Gov Jnr who i think is handy but not someone we need as he isnt a KP player. I have been very impressed with Jake waterman who is a similar player. Waterman has come back with a limited

My Best 22 next year if everyone fit and firing.

Hurn Barrass Shep
Duggan Gov Yeo

Parto Sheed Gaff

Waterman Darling Webb
Rioli JK Jetta

Bench: Venables Vardy Nelson Lecra

Ruck: Nic Nat, Shuey, Redden

monacle ,what do you know about Trent mynott? Seems like a great pick up with our second or hopefully 3rd

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

Would agree with your thoughts Mynott would be a solid pick up latter in the draft and yes 3rd round is more where I see him going. Trent is more an outside player than inside and is very skinny so he will need time to add some mass before being considered for playing AFL. Good skills and gets a lot of it , I will be tracking his progression for the remainder of the Tac Cup season.

Like the look of his team mate Tom North a bit more as he is a tough no nonsense hard arsed inside midfielder in the Luke Dunstan mold. I have him right is the slot for contention as a pick with our second rounder.

For me a lot would depend on what type of player we took with our first as a way of example if we took a quality outside player such as O'Brien with our first then I would want an inside mid with our next midfield selection.

Will watch with interest how the Eastern Rangers midfield fares come Tac Cup Finals as they have a star studded midfield with : Cerra, Garner, Moore, North and Mynott and they get good service from Haynes in the ruck .

Forgot about Clark tbh. Brayshaw is bolting, will be interesting to see where he goes. I think currently he's in the teens still but we're a long way out. I could see us liking him.

Thoughts on Garner as a mid?

Just fix the midfield rather than relying on the intercepting strengths of the defenders.

Also think Sheppard should be expected to provide more run so we aren't relying on so few players in the middle to move the ball forward. Like Hurn, Sheppard plays tall which means we often playing with what is effectively 4 or 5 'tall' defenders. Hence smaller running forwards tend to kill us

Shep actually ran off half back a couple of times vs Carlton. Looks considerably quicker on the dash than Duggle and Nelson. Seems a really underutilised resource since 2015 IMO.

Fingers are now crossed that MM signs a two year deal with the Crows. I'm not keen on sacrificing our draft position to pick up Mitch and I sure as hell hope Fremantle don't get him.

Hopefully in two years we'll be topping up and he's ready to come home.

What are the knocks on Fogarty? Seems to me he could be what we've been crying out for for years, a big bodied mid with an aggressive side to him but it also seems that he has a few tricks up his sleeve too.
Injury somewhat. There's word he is trying sternly to stay in SA.

[QUOTE="dajesmac, post: 51874855, member: 83933"[
Thoughts on Garner as a mid?[/QUOTE]

Not convinced that he will become a genuine mid . But he needs more exposure in that role, so its an assessment formed for a small sample base. Certainly has a silky skill set and that left foot of his is top quality. He makes good decisions and uses it well . At this point in time I see him as a quality HBF that may develope as a player who could do a rotation in the midfield when required .
But if I had to punt of Garner or Coffield becoming a genuine mid then my money would be on Coffield as he is a much bigger bodied player at 190 cm and 83 kg.

• Injury
  • Poor champs
  • Has a physical advantage over the players his age which may not translate to the AFL
  • Is he just a third tall at the next level?